Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Herrington Carmichael Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Herrington Carmichael on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 5%
Overpriced 10%
About Right 85%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 91%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Herrington Carmichael and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Herrington Carmichael performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 91%
No 9%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 92%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Herrington Carmichael and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Herrington Carmichael compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 92%
No 8%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Herrington Carmichael offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    79
  • Very Good

    4
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    4

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Rebecca

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Rebecca

January 12, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Consider your options before using

We used Herrington Carmichael for the purchase of our new build property. They were listed as one of the recommended conveyancers for our development. On reflection, we should have used a solicitor that wasn’t familiar with the site/builder so they challenged but the process pushes you to exchange in 28days.

Whilst they were quick to do the onboarding and checks, we were essentially dealt with by junior/inexperienced staff that are used to continuously repeating the new build conveyancing process with no questions asked by the client. When we questioned specific terms of the report/deeds/contract provided, responses lacked detail, didnt understand the initial concern or were dismissive and there was a real reluctance throughout to challenge the contract terms/developers on our behalf. At times, we were re-writing emails to be sent onto the developers solicitors to ensure the points were captured correctly.

We also struggled to arrange calls to discuss the report and everything was scattered in emails so we now have many threads with various responses to sort through (no online portal to organise paperwork, responses and reports as available with national competitors priced similarly). Often, you are dealing with an admin team member rather than a conveyancer particularly when nearing completion. Emails started with ‘hey’ and lacked professionalism of a conveyancing firm particularly for the most expensive purchase of your life. We did not feel H-C had our best interests at the centre of the transaction.

We have recently sold a property with another national conveyancing firm (with a similar fee structure) and the service through that transaction was what we would expect. Unfortunately, this service fell short and we wouldnt use again or recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Samantha

Samantha

January 11, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Above and Beyond

We used Herrington Carmichael when we sold our home and brought a new build with David Wilson. There was a problem with a slither of land at the house we were selling and Annari Holmes and Laura Oakley went above and beyond to sort this quickly. They always answered my emails, many of which were sent during times of mental stress and a bout of Covid so were often nonsensical!! The team were patient with me especially and I really appreciate all the work and effort made to ensure we exchanged and completed in a timely manner. Thank you so much. Would definitely recommend Herrington Carmichael.

Was this review helpful?

Hazel

Hazel

January 04, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic service

It is refreshing to deal with a solicitors that actually cares about their client - great communications throughout the process of purchasing a new build property.

Holly, Annari and the supporting team have all been fantastic. Remaining professional, approachable and friendly throughout during a time limited period in order to complete and exchange deadline from the property developers.
Holly ensured this happened. Her tenacity to overcome the challenges laid before us under tough conditions during a pandemic and a deadline was made as smooth as could be by Holly and the team simply "getting on with the tasks at hand".

I couldn't recommend the team enough as words cannot describe how grateful we are in securing our dream home. Herrington Carmichael made it happen - THANK YOU

Was this review helpful?

Hazel

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Hazel

January 04, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic service

It is refreshing to deal with a solicitors that actually cares about their client - great communications throughout the process of purchasing a new build property.

Holly, Annari and the supporting team have all been fantastic. Remaining professional, approachable and friendly throughout during a time limited period in order to complete and exchange deadline from the property developers.
Holly ensured this happened. Her tenacity to overcome the challenges laid before us under tough conditions during a pandemic and a deadline was made as smooth as could be by Holly and the team simply "getting on with the tasks at hand".

I couldn't recommend the team enough as words cannot describe how grateful we are in securing our dream home. Herrington Carmichael made it happen - THANK YOU

Was this review helpful?

Alex

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Alex

December 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic from all the team at Herrington Carmichael

The whole team were superb throughout the process of buying and selling our property. It was a particularly challenging case as our previous solicitors had made some huge errors in registering our original property, almost preventing a sale. However, Annari, Kerry, Adrienne et al were incredibly helpful, informative and transparent throughout the entire process, a process which was entirely new to us and initially, quite daunting. Even at times where I wanted to just break down every tiny little aspect of the case, they were always willing to give me time on the phone to go through everything.

Quite simply, in the future, we will be seeking to use Herrington Carmichael again and will recommend them to any friends who are looking to buy or sell their property.

Thanks again,

Alex and Shannon

Was this review helpful?

Jenna

Matter Type:

Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves

Jenna

November 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great help from Kerry

I was put through straightaway to Kerry who I spoke to about a new restrictive covenant matter and Kerry very kindly gave me some very helpful pointers which I am very grateful for. Kerry was very patient and had a lovely tone. What a pleasant lady to deal with. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Cheryl

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Cheryl

May 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent communicators

Zoe has been really helpful on the purchase of our home, she has been really responsive, getting back to us really quickly and providing good advice. We have been really happy with the service and would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Lesley

Lesley

April 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

House move Bagshot to Angmering.

We have been delighted with the service we have received from Herrington & Carmichael for the sale of our house and purchase of our new one They kept us informed on every step of the sale and purchase and were extremely professional in all aspects of our dealings. We would not hesitate to recommend their services, particularly Leanne and Tanya. Thank you both.

Was this review helpful?

Megan

Megan

February 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Reassuring and approachable

We used Herrington Carmichael when purchasing our first ever home. They were brilliant during the entire process. Very approachable, friendly and understanding. They always kept us in the loop. We had some set backs and delays, but H&CM always kept us informed and reassured. I have to give a special thank you to Annari and Mary-Jane hwho have been absolutely brilliant! So thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Jodie

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Jodie

December 18, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Got there in the end!

had a really stressful time with the sale of my property but Herrington Carmichael- in particular Jo/Clare/Kate were really helpful. Cheapest quote I got out of another two solicitors. They understand and specialise in shared-ownership unlike other solicitors (my buyers!).

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Melvin

Melvin

December 31, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Melvin

Dealt very well and at reasonable cost with aborted house sale & purchase (buyer dropped out at contract) and subsequent sale & purchase. Helpful and easy to contact Would use again and happy to recommend

Was this review helpful?

Lucy

Lucy

December 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lucy

Really poor service, made the experience of buying first home all the more stressful. Left countless voicemails and emails asking to speak over the phone, they seem to only communicate by email. Multiple errors on documents and email comms. Would not recommend

Was this review helpful?

Choi

Choi

December 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Choi

Aaron and his team have been very professional, helpful, supportive and thoughtful throughout the entire process. I would highly recommend Herrington Carmichael and especially Aaron if you require their services. Personally I think based on the work that had to be carried out along with the great service provided, it was excellent value for money. Thank you once again!

Was this review helpful?

Puneet

Puneet

December 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Puneet

Awesome experience working with Pam Kamel - She was extremely professional, proactive and patient in closing our deal - working with a very difficult opposite party. Highly recommend Herrington Carmichael as they have a great pool of conveyancing experts. Thank you again!

Was this review helpful?

Pierre

Pierre

November 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Pierre

We highly recommend Herrington Carmichael to home buyers. Their swift response, attention to detail and legal advise is immense. We are happy with the Services they have given to us and value is great.
A wonderful group from telephone operators to the Solicitors.
Thank you Holly Bray, Ellan Skeet, Mary- Jayne for the calls and emails.

Was this review helpful?

Herrington Carmichael are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Herrington Carmichael is a full service law firm offering legal advice to UK and international businesses as well as individuals and families. Rated as a ‘Leading Firm 2021’ by the legal directory Legal 500 and ranked in Chambers UK. Herrington Carmichael has offices in London, Camberley and Wokingham. Our historic connection with our local area consolidates our position as a leading source of legal advice in Surrey, Berkshire, Hampshire and the Thames Valley region. We believe in our traditional values of excellent service and value for money and our clients appreciate our innovative, proactive and friendly approach. It is the long-term client relationships that are the foundations of our 175 year old business. In 2019, Herrington Carmichael won ‘Property Law Firm of the Year’ at the Thames Valley Business Magazines Property Awards, ‘Best Medium Sized Business’ at the Surrey Heath Business Awards and we were voted IR Global’s ‘Member of the Year’ by the members in our international network

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Human Rights
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • In-house training
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment