Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Herrington Carmichael Compares

Value for money

This firm - 97%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Herrington Carmichael on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 4%
Overpriced 9%
About Right 86%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Herrington Carmichael and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Herrington Carmichael performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Herrington Carmichael and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Herrington Carmichael compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Herrington Carmichael offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    290
  • Very Good

    9
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Tracy

Tracy

July 29, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic service from Charlie Rason

We as a family recently lost our darling aunt. Fortunately our aunt had appointed Bonnetts as executor, and they were subsequently amalgamated with Herrington Carmicheal. Our appointed inheritance executive was Charlie Rason (now Jones), she has been amazing throughout the process, answered our questions promptly. None of us have been through the probate process before and it was a learning curve for us all, so having Charlie help us through it was great. She is very professional, friendly and extremely knowledgeable. Thank you

Was this review helpful?

chanda

chanda

July 16, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

I would highly recommend to my family and friends. Always providing us an update with a clear communication. The whole team are great and I will definitely use this service again in the future. Thank you so much for doing my work so smoothly.

Was this review helpful?

Gerald

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Gerald

June 23, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Herrington Carmichael - by far the best for house sale and purchase

Everyone from Herrington-Carmichael who have helped us with the sale of our house and purchase of our new one have been professional, efficient but friendly and approachable.
We are in our 70s, have bought and sold a number of properties. This is far and away the best firm of solicitors we have ever met.
They are very highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Nina

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Nina

June 19, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

Pam was efficient and communicative throughout. Her advice and attention to detail was great She was also kind and patient which was essential as we had a very challenging chain!

Was this review helpful?

Diana

Diana

May 25, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale and purchase

MJ and her team were incredibly helpful, courteous and friendly. They always responded in a timely manner. The sale in particular was very complex and they dealt with everything so our buyers could complete by the Stamp duty deadline. I would have no hesitation in recommending them.

Was this review helpful?

Curtis

Matter Type:

Investment purchases and Buy to Let

Curtis

May 11, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Good service

Following an appalling auction experience. Anna Svensson picked up my case and dealt with all the matters very professionally. I will not hesitate to use the services from this practice again.

Was this review helpful?

Alexis

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Alexis

May 03, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Settlement Agreement

Herrington Carmichael we’re excellent as usual, fast response, thorough analysis of the agreement with sensible recommendations. Final sign off was provided very quickly which helped speed the overall process up. Thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Gordon

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Gordon

April 22, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

There are Angels

There are Angels
They say moving is stressful but the team I had on board throughout my sale and purchase pulled out all the stops to get both over the line. In all I had six dealing with all the aspects on both.
I had a problem that my lease showed a parking space my Landlord just took away to build a driveway to another property. He thought it could be resolved with a Variation Agreement but the Land Registry rejected this so my team got to work with surrendering my original lease issuing a new one but in the name of my purchasers to speed things up and saved the day.
I cannot thank them enough for a tremendous job and being so helpful throughout

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

John

John

May 02, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

John

I engaged Herrington Carmichael 6 years ago for a property purchase and returned to them recently to handle a sale and purchase. Jo and her team (including Ellena) completed our house purchase without a hitch. All aspects of the transaction were handled in a professional, efficient and friendly manner. 10 out of 10. Let's hope the sale goes as smoothly.

Was this review helpful?

tricia

tricia

May 02, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

tricia

Jo and Ellena supported me with the sale of my flat, they were both great, kind, supportive, efficient with no fuss, making it as easy as possible for me, thanks ladies

Was this review helpful?

Simon

Simon

April 19, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Simon

This was our second property transaction through Herrigton Charmichael and once more the quality and professionalism of service from Kate and Joshua was exceptional. It's never as straightforward as you want it to be and it was a reassuring relief to have them batting on our side throughout.

Was this review helpful?

Tony

Tony

March 29, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tony

Pam at Herrington Carmichael was great for our purchase and sale. Any issues that arose were dealt with efficiently and we completed faster than expected.

Was this review helpful?

Anony

Anony

March 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Anony

Awful firm, avoid them at all costs!! At the start of this year I was offered the opportunity to extend the lease on the property I own by the management company for the development where I live. Herrington Carmichael were the appointed solicitors for the work to be completed through. To start off with I had to make payment in full upfront of over £1300 before any work had been completed. The whole process was painful from start to finish, not once did I have a phone conversation with the person that was supposed to be doing the work. Even though I tried to have phone conversations with the Solicitor in charge, every piece of communication I received from them came via e-mail making it seem very impersonal to me. On more than one occasion postal correspondence that was supposed to be sent to my bank was sent to the wrong address which held up the process. Eventually I had to specifically request for signed forms to be sent to my bank by recorded delivery (something that I would have thought a solicitors firm would do automatically). As a client I felt that I wasn't valued at all mainly as I had been made to pay for the work up front so therefore I was continually having to chase them from that point until the work was completed. Take it from me as someone who has had the unfortunate experience of dealing with this firm, if you don't want stress and a major headache do not use this firm for any legal work you require!

Was this review helpful?

Herrington Carmichael are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Herrington Carmichael is a full service law firm offering legal advice to UK and international businesses as well as individuals and families. Rated as a ‘Leading Firm 2022’ by the legal directory Legal 500 and ranked in Chambers UK. Herrington Carmichael has offices in London, Camberley and Wokingham. Our historic connection with our local area consolidates our position as a leading source of legal advice in Surrey, Berkshire, Hampshire and the Thames Valley region. We believe in our traditional values of excellent service and value for money and our clients appreciate our innovative, proactive and friendly approach. It is the long-term client relationships that are the foundations of our 175 year old business. In 2019, Herrington Carmichael won ‘Property Law Firm of the Year’ at the Thames Valley Business Magazines Property Awards, ‘Best Medium Sized Business’ at the Surrey Heath Business Awards and we were voted IR Global’s ‘Member of the Year’ by the members in our international network

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Human Rights
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • In-house training
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment