Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Herrington Carmichael Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Herrington Carmichael on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Herrington Carmichael. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 7%
About Right 91%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Herrington Carmichael and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Herrington Carmichael performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Herrington Carmichael and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Herrington Carmichael compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Herrington Carmichael offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    480
  • Very Good

    18
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    2
  • Awful

    3

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Kya

Kya

February 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyance

Annari's team including Jessica and Charlotte helped us with our move. Both were very responsive and helpful. Our conveyance process with them was quick and painless. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Arnold

Matter Type:

Wills

Arnold

February 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

A job well done.

I was delighted with the service I received. Professional advice and guidance were given in a friendly and clear way, and the necessary documentation was of the highest standard. I was very well pleased with everything.

Was this review helpful?

Marcus

Matter Type:

Divorce

Marcus

February 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alys Taylor

Alys has been very professional and accommodating to my personal situation. Alys has been direct to the point and at no time has she come across as fee generating like a lot of solicitors. Alys is a big asset to Herrington Carmichael that is why I will be using your company in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Chaos

Matter Type:

Divorce

Chaos

February 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Above and Beyond: My Exceptional Experience with a standout solicitor

From the moment I embarked on what promised to be a daunting legal journey, I knew I needed a solicitor who was not only knowledgeable but also empathetic to the emotional complexities of my case. Fortuitously, I found exactly that and so much more.

From our initial consultation, it became evident that my solicitor possessed a rare blend of compassion and razor-sharp acumen. They approached my case with a warmth and understanding that immediately put me at ease, making me feel seen and heard in a situation where such feelings are often scarce.

Throughout the proceedings, their expertise was unmistakable. They demonstrated an exceptional ability to distill complex legal concepts into clear, actionable advice. Every strategy was on point, every decision carefully weighed, and the guidance I received was always in my best interest, reflecting a deep respect for my personal circumstances and desired outcomes.

What stood out to me the most, however, was the way they managed to maintain a sense of humanity in the legal process. They were not only my advocate but also my ally, offering support and reassurance during the most stressful moments. I felt genuinely cared for, which is something I hadn’t expected from a legal professional but now realize is invaluable.

Their dedication went beyond the call of duty. Deadlines were met with time to spare, and communications were consistent and informative. They explained each step of the process, ensuring I was fully prepared for what was to come. My concerns were met with prompt and thoughtful responses, and I was never left in the dark about the status of my case.

For anyone in need of legal assistance, I cannot recommend this solicitor enough. They have not only been a legal representative but also a guiding light through a challenging time. Their work ethic, empathy, and dedication are a credit to the profession, and I am profoundly grateful for their assistance.

Was this review helpful?

JOHN

Matter Type:

Financial Matters

JOHN

February 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alys Taylor

I found Alys to be extremely supportive and pro active in my divorce matter. Alys kept me updated of developments and how the matter would run and based on my circumstances, I know that she was very mindful to try to work as economically as possible.

Unfortunately in my matter, the other side had a limited income and therefore it was probable that the court would favour them in terms of dividing cash and assets and therefore I had to take a pragmatic view and make a settlement which I knew in the spirit of my relationship with my wife, was not equal, correct or fair but in terms of how the court would view the case, and as Alys explained, I could push the matter to a hearing but additional legal cost may not be recovered by any increase in the settlement achieved.
Alys was in regular contact to explain this and offer advice and support and I appreciated the regular contact we had.

I would very much thoroughly recommend Alys

Was this review helpful?

Harj

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Herrington Carmichael.

Matter Type:

Child Custody

Harj

January 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Child custody and finances

Penny has been amazing from start to finish. She has great experience in family law which ultimately meant she was able to provide realistic advice and guidance during a time which was quite stressful.

Penny always explained the rationale behind her advice and despite me facing numerous allegations, she ensured my children have amazing amount of quality time with their father, including 50/50 in all school holidays.

Worth every penny..!

Was this review helpful?

Hossam

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Hossam

January 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

The team helped me to buy a new house in a seamless process and clarify every step if needed

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Herrington Carmichael.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

December 27, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Have always used Herrington and Carmichael for any legal work. Over the years they have attended to several wills, power of attorney and inheritance tax advice. Their advice is sound and expedited quickly.

Was this review helpful?

Ranjiv

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Herrington Carmichael.

Matter Type:

Wills

Ranjiv

December 21, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

WILL& PROTECTION OF MY FLAT

ALL STAGES WERE EASY TO UNDERSTAND INCLUDING YOUR CHARGES.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Thomas

Thomas

October 22, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thomas

Polite and friendly staff, was exactly what I wanted when seeking legal advice

Was this review helpful?

suzie

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

suzie

August 16, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

suzie

amazing solicitors for my sale and purchase . highly recommend

Was this review helpful?

Melanie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Melanie

July 16, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Melanie

Absolutely outstanding! Natasha and Jo made the entire process of selling and buying a house so much easier for us, even with the frustrating parts!!!
It has been like having a friend in the know. Always very quick to respond, very knowledgeable, trustworthy and reliable. Jo and Natasha always answered all my questions never making me feel silly even though a silly question or two may have happened on my part!
It has been like having a friend in my corner. They should both be very proud of the way they conduct themselves and I honestly can't recommend them enough!!! A big huge thank you from us for making what is said to be one of the most stressful life experiences as easy as it possibly could be! Highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Matter Type:

Disputed Probate

Mark

June 08, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mark

Harriet Greener sorted out my Inheritance Provision family Dependants Act 1975.
She helped me & my brother 100% to 🏆 Win. In Chess the best defense is attack if she was a Chess player she would be World class? She is a credit to Herrington Carmichael if you need a Dispute Solicitor get her.

Was this review helpful?

Tricia

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Tricia

April 27, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tricia

I used Herrington and Carmichael for the sale of my property. Toby initially looked after me and was helpful and delightful. Caroline oversaw my sale with great professionalism; all emails and phone calls were dealt with in a timely fashion. I thought that the fees were reasonable too. I would highly recommend Caroline and would certainly use her services again.

Was this review helpful?

Herrington Carmichael are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Herrington Carmichael is a full service law firm offering legal advice to UK and international businesses as well as individuals and families. Herrington Carmichal offers legal advice to UK and International businesses as well as individuals and families. Rated as a ‘Leading Firm 2023’ by the legal directory Legal 500 and listed in The Times ‘Best Law Firms 2023’. Herrington Carmichael has offices in London, Farnborough, Reading, Ascot and Wokingham. We believe in our traditional values of excellent service and value for money and our clients appreciate our innovative, proactive and friendly approach. It is the long-term client relationships that are the foundations of our 175 year old business. In 2019, Herrington Carmichael won ‘Property Law Firm of the Year’ at the Thames Valley Business Magazines Property Awards, ‘Best Medium Sized Business’ at the Surrey Heath Business Awards and we were voted IR Global’s ‘Member of the Year’ by the members in our international network

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Human Rights
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • In-house training
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment