Request a callback

Book an appointment

How HCR Law Compares

Value for money

This firm - 97%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of HCR Law on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using HCR Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 83%
About Right 16%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used HCR Law and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how HCR Law performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used HCR Law and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how HCR Law compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that HCR Law offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    309
  • Very Good

    7
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Harriet

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Harriet

May 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service from HCR resi prop team

Thanks so much to Jessica Watson and Paige Sheehy who assisted my husband and I on the purchase of our first home. Jessica in particular made the whole process go smoothly and considering how daunting it was for us, she made it that much more bearable! Her guidance and support throughout was invaluable, she even answered my endless silly questions and was always on hand if we needed to get in touch. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend HCR and Jessica to anyone needing to buy a home.

Was this review helpful?

Beth

Matter Type:

Financial Matters

Beth

April 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Decline in service.

I was really happy with the service I had received until around December of last year when I believe the firm was taken over and underwent some changes and I also had a change in the solicitor representing my case. I feel the hand over of my case was poor, the firm have justified this to me as being because I declined an introductory phone call with my solicitor. I made the choice to decline the offered call due to being assure they had handled the handover and due to already having an upcoming scheduled a call (which wasn’t handed over and thus wasn’t received despite me mentioning to the secretary). I also feel like my new solicitor was miss assigned as when she took over my case I was finished on the family matters and moving on to financial matters, which meant she was unable to advise and had to outsource a lot of the work, this is also apparently my fault for not knowing her knowledge base and flagging it up to the firm when I was informed she was taking over my case. I feel the service has rapidly declined whilst my bill has increased. You can imagine my displeasure at being charged £20 for an email thats context was ‘does 3pm work for you?’. My new Solicitor seemed very good at chasing up for non urgent updates but never appeared available for anything that was time sensitive. I was also never made aware when she was out of office which resulted in delay waiting for work that she would out source on her return anyway. I did launch an internal complaint, however got the expected response defending their service with a few disingenuous feeling apologies for their ‘minor’ errors. While I acknowledge the majority of the errors were minor it feels like the quantity of them was definitely not. I did feel their response was disappointing in that it too got details wrong, at no point did they attempt to talk to me in person about the complaint so I felt parts were also quite assumptive or miss informed. At this point I’m more than willing to pay my final bill and be done with the hassle of this whole process and to cut ties with this firm, so I don’t think I’ll escalate my complaint further, I’m also very anti-confrontational which in hindsight I see appears to give them a bit of leeway to justify their quality of service. I would have highly recommended this firm back in November but I definitely wouldn’t now. I definitely won’t be using them again and if I could go back I probably would of changed representation, especially knowing that they are happy with the quality of service they have provided in the last 6 months.

Was this review helpful?

Judith

Judith

March 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

APPALLING DISGRACEFUL COMPANY

This is one of the worst experience I have ever encountered
This company has caused me immense and irreconcilable financial and emotional stress
All they want is more and more of your money

Was this review helpful?

Rachel Keefe

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used HCR Law.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Rachel Keefe

January 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

HCR Family Law Team - 5* Review

I wholeheartedly endorse James Osborne - Partner, HCR Family Law and his incredibly skilled solicitor team of Kelly and Lauren. Experiencing a separation and going through a challenging divorce is undoubtedly a tough ordeal. However, James and his team were a blessing during these difficult circumstances. James, Kelly, and Lauren approach their work with a strong emphasis on honesty, fairness, and a genuine concern for their client's well-being. Their advice is backed by their exemplary expertise in Family Law. If you need a team that prioritises their clients' best interests, I warmly endorse James and his Family Law team at HCR

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Matter Type:

Divorce

Richard

January 10, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce Proceedings

Nadia and her team have been fantastic throughout. During such a stressful time in my life I really felt looked after. Emails were responded to and actioned very swiftly and if a conversation was required Nadia would make time for me. Although I felt heard and understood, moreover Nadia skilfully cut through the detail that wasn't relevant to the task in hand so that time and energy was spent wisely. I was represented robustly by Nadia but in a way that was fair minded and avoided needlessly inflaming the situation between both sides. I didn't overly focus on costs or hourly rates in my choice of Solicitor and I'm so pleased I didn't, Nadia and her team undoubtedly represent true value for money. I can't thank Nadia enough

Was this review helpful?

Colin

Colin

September 18, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review left for Harrison Clark Rickerbys

We have had a long association with Hewitsons and will continue under the new company.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

August 26, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review left for Harrison Clark Rickerbys

Laura was excellent throughout the process. She kept me well informed without me needing to chase her. I always felt listened to and that she genuinely cared. I would definitely recommend Laura to others

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

August 25, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review left for Harrison Clark Rickerbys

I am so pleased with the kind and efficient help from solicitor Salvatore D'Arrigo.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

August 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent communication

Alexander and Hennah are a credit to your company, with excellent communication and advice throughout the process. We would like to thank them for dealing with us professionally even when there were lots of tight deadlines and issues to deal with. Best wishes from our new home!

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

August 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review left for Harrison Clark Rickerbys

Emma was very detailed when discussing my will and the various options available to me, whilst also being patient whilst I sorted the admin and got around to prioritising the final editing and signing. Would definitely recommend Emma and HCR to any others looking to get a will done.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Jon

Jon

April 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jon

James Osborne is, in my opinion, the best Family Law specialist in Worcester. He and the team helped me with a Childcare dispute and the service and representation was first class. I highly recommend this professional firm of solicitors and will be forever grateful for the positive outcome.

Was this review helpful?

Chris

Matter Type:

Probate

Chris

November 11, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Chris

Superb, friendly service from the probate department. Speedy, helpful guidance every step of the way. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

David

David

October 24, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

David

Best solicitor firm in Worcester imo in terms of breadth of services and quality of staff

Was this review helpful?

Luke

Luke

September 12, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Luke

Excellent advice and very professional

Was this review helpful?

Isabel

Isabel

August 25, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Isabel

All went well. Staff accommodating, friendly and professional

Was this review helpful?

HCR Law are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

At HCR Law our passion for people extends beyond our office doors and into the communities we work in. Our work in the community ranges from supporting local causes to helping new and established businesses thrive. In addition to the charities supported by our own charitable foundation, our employees regularly raise money for projects and charities in the communities where they live and work. With more than 800 people across 10 locations, the impact of this care and energy is tangible.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
    • Pre-publication advice
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Business Crime
    • Fraud
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Human rights
    • Human rights
    • Judicial review
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Asylum and Deportation
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Human Rights
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Refugee Family Reunion
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Professional trustees
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment