Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors

01606 48777

Welcome to Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd, one of Cheshire's leading law firms based in Northwich and serving clients throughout the North West. We are a well-established firm specialising in Family Law, Child Care, Residential Property, Wills & Probate including Care of the Elderly and Personal Injury. A number of our solicitors have specialist accreditations in their areas of law and we are able to provide additional services such as Family Mediation. We offer Fixed Fee Divorce for low income clients through our associated business Cheshire Family Law. While our normal office hours are 8.30am to 5.00pm Monday to Friday, flexible appointments to suit you outside these hours can be arranged with prior notice and for the less able, home or hospital visits are also available.

4.7/5 94 Customer Reviews 94
Recommended by
101 Verified Clients
like Glynn and Kath
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

94 Customer Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    82
  • Very Good
    7
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    4

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Hazel
Verified Hazel Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 15, 2019 20190115162000

Professional and personal service through probate

5

I would definitely recommend Susan Howarth again, they provided me with a very professional service whilst dealing with my husband's estate.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors responded to this review on 23 January, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 12, 2019 20190112100808

Good, local, reliable solicitors

4

Have use Susan Howarth on a number of occasions and the staff are all pleasant and answer any queries promptly. Will use again.

I have used these solicitors again to purchase a new home and the staff worked hard to support me through the process.

Was this review helpful? Yes

GOLDGATH
GOLDGATH Added 1 month ago Report to admin
December 28, 2018 20181228151724

AWFUL SERVICE - AVOID!!!

1

I was given unclear and misleading advice on the divorce protocol. The staff showed little empathy towards my case. Vicky Poole, the solicitor, was distant and unapproachable. She did not return calls or emails - the last time I spoke to her I had to call her. Sarah Curbishley, the paralegal, was downright rude and lacking in integrity. She caused me to act on the basis of untruthful information. Earlier she provided me with incorrect information on the timing of my divorce papers quoting four weeks - when I deigned to chase up weeks later with two emails, she described me as "continually emailing" - this after eleven weeks. In short, due to the fact that I did not feel they were on my side, the experience was truly traumatic. AVOID!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors responded to this review on 03 January, 2019

Dear Agatha, We’re sorry you feel you’ve had a bad experience with our practice, particularly as we genuinely pride ourselves on how we personally interact with our clients and have built a strong reputation for providing realistic, accurate and professional legal advice, particularly in the field of family law. It is unfortunately entirely outside our control when the court has delays and/or backlogs with processing applications which is frustrating both for clients and ourselves. However, we always keep clients fully informed in these circumstances. We would much prefer to discuss this with you in person and look to resolve those issues that are in our control. Please do get in touch by contacting Susan Howarth on 01606 48777 at your earliest convenience. Kind regards SH&Co.

Andrew
Andrew Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
November 30, 2018 20181130123322

Complicated Leasehold surrender and Grant of new Commercial Lease

5

Susan Howarth and Company had represented our Company before and when we entered into protracted negotiation with our New Landlord, we contacted them to advise and guide us through the transaction. Although it took over 18 months for the deal to complete, we felt fully supported and feel that we received good advice so that we ultimately got the deal we wanted.

We would not hesitate to use Susan Howarth and Company solicitors again in the future and would highly recommend their services.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicky
Nicky Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
November 29, 2018 20181129190043

House purchase

5

The firm were amazing, friendly, extremely responsive, explained everything and kept us fully informed on everything.
They made buying a house easy.
Would highly recommend the firm.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jane
Jane Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
November 28, 2018 20181128222032

Excellent service

5

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors have been my personal and business solicitors for over 10 years. The solicitors are knowledgeable in all aspects of the law and the support staff are equally as knowledgeable and helpful. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a solicitor for business or personal matters.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 3 months ago Report to admin
November 18, 2018 20181118000000

Ms Stride and all the staff who dealt with me were professional and pleasant.

5

I was totally satisfied with the service I received. All the staff who dealt with me were professional and pleasant. Ms Stride was reassuring, patient and most helpful. I would definitely recommend Susan Howarth & Co. to other people in need of a solicitor.

Was this review helpful? Yes

P
P Added 3 months ago Report to admin
November 18, 2018 20181118000000

Knowledgeable in all aspects of family law

5

Extremely fair, understanding, caring and knowledgeable in all aspects of family law.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tania
Tania Added 3 months ago Report to admin
November 16, 2018 20181116000000

Very friendly and understanding.

5

Excellent service all round.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Julie
Julie Added 3 months ago Report to admin
November 14, 2018 20181114063412

Excellent and Professional

5

I have used Susan Howarth & Co 3 times in the last 6 years and each time they provided an excellent and professional service, providing lots of advice. I am aware of someone who visited a different solicitor for the same purpose as me recently and was not given all the essential advise that I was.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors responded to this review on 15 November, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and your valuable feedback Julie. To hear that our clients value the advice we provide and the service we deliver to the extent that they come back to us each time they need a solicitor is the biggest compliment and it means the world to us. Thank you :-) Kind Regards, SH&Co.

Reviews collected on

David
David Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
January 28, 2019
Collected on
20190128164247

David North

4

An outstanding legal practice, pity more practices don't subscribe to this firm's way of handling their clients affairs

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors responded to this review on 30 January, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Claire
Claire Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
January 24, 2019
Collected on
20190124154812

Claire Horner

5

Very impressed with the service I received. Sarah dealt with my case whilst she was on holiday so that when I arrived at my appointment everything was ready for signature. Very professional, efficient and friendly service. Thank you for making my case as easy as possible for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes

John
John Added 2 months ago Report to admin
November 28, 2018
Collected on
20181128192330

John Astall

5

A very timely and efficient conveyancing.
All work completed to correct deadlines.
I will recommend my contacts to use their services.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sam
Sam Added 3 months ago Report to admin
October 30, 2018
Collected on
20181030100618

Sam Ridsdale

5

The company, and particularly John Spittle, handled the conveyancing of my house purchase excellently in every respect. They kept me up to date throughout the process, quickly handled the little glitches that came up with the seller and were very easy to deal with at all times. I would have no hesitation recommending the company to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes

LeighDanny
LeighDanny Added 3 months ago Report to admin
October 27, 2018
Collected on
20181027103218

LeighDanny Tench

5

They were very helpful, and kept me updated with my case as it was quite a complicated one.

Thank you again Sarah and Team.

Barbara

Was this review helpful? Yes

Fonzo
Fonzo Added 4 months ago Report to admin
October 24, 2018
Collected on
20181024095457

Fonzo Tom

5

great firm, sound advice.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jacqui
Jacqui Added 4 months ago Report to admin
October 23, 2018
Collected on
20181023133114

Jacqui Edge

5

I was so pleased, and relieved, at choosing Susan Howarth & Co for helping me write my Will. Emma Stride, solicitor, was so kind and helpful. She gave me lots of advice and made me think of the various scenarios which may occur in the future for which I needed to plan. I would still be in a muddle now about what to do if it wasn't for Emma's guidance. Also, the rest of her colleagues were kind and very professional, which inspires confidence at difficult time. Thank you all.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Michael Added 4 months ago Report to admin
October 14, 2018
Collected on
20181014141042

Michael Regan

5

We were very pleased with the service that we received in setting up new wills. Emma explained the process clearly and made it easy to do what we needed to. She was particularly helpful in respect of drawing our attention to, and dealing with, some aspects that we had not previously thought about. The documents were provided promptly, as were responses to the questions we had. Overall I would not hesitate to use Susan Howarth again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jessica
Jessica Added 4 months ago Report to admin
October 11, 2018
Collected on
20181011172432

Jessica Foulston

5

We used Susan Howarth Solicitors to purchase our freehold.
They explained the whole process before we made any commitments and the whole process was smooth.
The receptionist was very helpful every time I rang, letting me know what where everything was up to.
I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them to our friends and family!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ruth
Ruth Added 5 months ago Report to admin
September 15, 2018
Collected on
20180915160137

Ruth Smith

4

Good service, friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors

  • Susan Howarth

    Head of Family Department. Qualifying as a solicitor in 1993, Susan has over 25 years’ experience specialising in all aspects of Family Law, with a passion for family finances and expertise in divorce,domestic abuse and the Children’s Act cases. Susan established Susan Howarth & Company in 1997 and remains Director and Head of Family Law. Susan’s extensive knowledge, experience, understanding and compassion has been gained from her work in family law in addition to her prior work in the fields of probation, psychiatric and child abuse social work, and voluntarily with victims of domestic abuse spanning more than 20 years. Susan has always believed that everyone has the right to access justice and helping get client’s lives back on track is what matters most. Susan has been a member of the Law Society Family Law Panel since 1999 and is the practice Supervisor for WIQS accreditation.

  • Victoria Poole

    Victoria has worked in the legal sector since she was 16. Working initially as an office junior, she progressed through legal secretary and paralegal before qualifying as a member of the institute of Legal Executives in 1997 and being admitted as a fellow in 1999. Victoria specialises in all aspects of Family Law, including divorce, finances, domestic abuse, the Children’s Act and mediation. Victoria joined Susan Howarth & Company in January 2005 and was appointed a Director in 2017. Victoria is a Resolution-trained Mediator, a Resolution Accredited Specialist in Domestic Violence and Children Law (private), an FMC Accredited Family Mediator (all issues) and is the practice Supervisor for CQS accreditation. Committed, compassionate and honest is how clients frequently describe Victoria as she is incredibly dedicated and has an extraordinary work ethic, often ‘going that extra mile’ for her clients. For Victoria, it’s simple – her focus is on making a difference and helping her clients when they are often at their most vulnerable.

  • John Spittle

    John studied Law at Cambridge University and qualified in 1969. Throughout his career, John has gained broad experience in many areas of law, but for many years has specialised in Residential Conveyancing, Wills & Probate. After setting up his own practice in 1975, it grew through amalgamations and internal growth to become the largest legal practice in Warrington. John held the position of Senior Partner up until 2009, after which he practiced as a Consultant Solicitor until 2017. Joining Susan Howarth & Company in July 2017, John works alongside David Williams in further developing the Residential Property department.

  • Jeanette Birch

    Jeanette qualified as a solicitor in 1994 and has specialised in all aspects of Family Law including divorce, finances, domestic abuse and the Children’s Act, since 1997. A member of Resolution National Children’s Committee and the Law Society’s Advanced Family Panel, Jeanette joined the Family Law department at Susan Howarth & Company in 2016. Jeanette enjoys the variety of her work and that every day is different – genuinely enabling clients to move on with their lives by helping resolve difficulties gives her the greatest satisfaction. With an empathetic and patient approach, Jeanette’s dedication and kindness stands out, with her clients often making a point of highlighting their appreciation.

  • Stephen Jones

    Qualifying as a solicitor in 2002, Stephen specialises in all aspects of family law since, with particular expertise in child care and adoption. A member of Resolution National Children’s Committee and the Law Society’s Children’s Panel, Stephen joined the Family Law department at Susan Howarth & Company in 2017. Working alongside Lauren Martin in the child care and adoption department, Stephen represents children via their court-appointed guardian and in such cases, will represent parents, grandparents and wider family members. Stephen undertakes all advice and case preparation as well as conducting all of his own advocacy. Stephen adopts a pragmatic approach to his work, providing realistic advice to his clients – he enjoys the variety of his work and in particular the challenge of pursuing an argument when many around him think differently.

  • Lauren Martin

    After completing a first degree in Psychology and a second in Law, Lauren undertook legal executive exams followed by the Legal Practice Course whilst simultaneously gaining commercial legal experience and qualified as a solicitor in 2016. Lauren joined the Family Law department at Susan Howarth & Company in 2012, has specialised in Children Law since 2016 and is a member of Resolution. Working alongside Stephen Jones in the child care and adoption department, Lauren represents parents, grandparents and wider family members. Lauren undertakes all advice and case preparation as well as conducting the majority of her own advocacy. Offering a calm, sensible and balanced approach, Lauren enjoys working with a diverse range of clients and in particular, helping give more vulnerable clients a voice.

  • Emma Stride

    Emma qualified as a solicitor in 1990 and has always specialised in Wills and Probate (estate administration), Powers of Attorney and Court of Protection. Emma joined Susan Howarth & Company in January 2018 and heads up our private client department. Emma deals mainly in drafting Wills, Inheritance tax planning, Lasting Powers of Attorney, Court of Protection applications and estate administration. Emma is a long-standing member of the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners and of the Law Society’s Private Client Section. Emma is highly dedicated and methodical, and enjoys creating order out of chaos. However, her focus is always on her clients – she gets huge satisfaction from applying her legal knowledge to help and guide clients, particularly those she meets at our free weekly Wills & Probate drop-in clinic.

  • David Williams

    Qualifying as a solicitor in 2000, David specialises in all aspects of commercial and residential property. David joined Susan Howarth & Company in July 2018 and heads up our Property department. David offers a friendly and practical approach to property transactions. In his spare time David supports Manchester City (for his sins!) and plays badminton. His favourite film is a toss-up between The Good The Bad and The Ugly and Star Wars – it’s a lifetime’s debate! Expertise Commercial Property Freehold and Leasehold commercial property sales and acquisitions Development site acquisitions and sales Landlord and Tenant negotiations Secured lending Option agreements Overage agreements Pre-emption agreements Lock out agreements Residential Property Residential Sales Residential Purchase Transfer of equity Remortgages Purchase of shared ownership property and new builds First Registration Qualifications LLB Law Degree

About This Branch

Description

Additionally, we offer a range of FREE drop-in clinics every week: our Family Law clinics run 8-9am and 5-6pm every Tuesday and Thursday; our Wills and Probate clinic runs 12-2pm every Wednesday; and our Senior Citizens clinic also runs 12-2pm every Wednesday. We pride ourselves on offering a first class service which is sensitive to our clients needs but is also efficient and cost effective. The firm is recognised by the Law Society as achieving high standards of practice management and client care and we have been awarded the prestigious Lexcel accreditation in recognition of this. We have also recently been recognised as one of the top 500 law firms in the UK for our family and care specialist areas in the Legal 500. Our highly experienced staff ensures you will receive the right advice from the right people at the right time. Please contact us and we will be happy to offer you the help and advice that you need.


Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000