Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors

01606 48777

Welcome to Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors Ltd, one of Cheshire's leading law firms based in Northwich and serving clients throughout the North West. We are a well-established firm specialising in Family Law, Child Care, Residential Property, Wills & Probate including Care of the Elderly and Personal Injury. A number of our solicitors have specialist accreditations in their areas of law and we are able to provide additional services such as Family Mediation. We offer Fixed Fee Divorce for low income clients through our associated business Cheshire Family Law. While our normal office hours are 8.30am to 5.00pm Monday to Friday, flexible appointments to suit you outside these hours can be arranged with prior notice and for the less able, home or hospital visits are also available.

4.9/5 35 Customer Reviews 35
Recommended by
42 Verified Clients
like Andrew and Nicky
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

35 Customer Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    33
  • Very Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Andrew
Andrew Added 1 week ago Report to admin
November 30, 2018 20181130123322

Complicated Leasehold surrender and Grant of new Commercial Lease

5

Susan Howarth and Company had represented our Company before and when we entered into protracted negotiation with our New Landlord, we contacted them to advise and guide us through the transaction. Although it took over 18 months for the deal to complete, we felt fully supported and feel that we received good advice so that we ultimately got the deal we wanted.

We would not hesitate to use Susan Howarth and Company solicitors again in the future and would highly recommend their services.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicky
Nicky Added 1 week ago Report to admin
November 29, 2018 20181129190043

House purchase

5

The firm were amazing, friendly, extremely responsive, explained everything and kept us fully informed on everything.
They made buying a house easy.
Would highly recommend the firm.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jane
Jane Added 1 week ago Report to admin
November 28, 2018 20181128222032

Excellent service

5

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors have been my personal and business solicitors for over 10 years. The solicitors are knowledgeable in all aspects of the law and the support staff are equally as knowledgeable and helpful. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a solicitor for business or personal matters.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
November 18, 2018 20181118000000

Ms Stride and all the staff who dealt with me were professional and pleasant.

5

I was totally satisfied with the service I received. All the staff who dealt with me were professional and pleasant. Ms Stride was reassuring, patient and most helpful. I would definitely recommend Susan Howarth & Co. to other people in need of a solicitor.

Was this review helpful? Yes

P
P Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
November 18, 2018 20181118000000

Knowledgeable in all aspects of family law

5

Extremely fair, understanding, caring and knowledgeable in all aspects of family law.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tania
Tania Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
November 16, 2018 20181116000000

Very friendly and understanding.

5

Excellent service all round.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Julie
Julie Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
November 14, 2018 20181114063412

Excellent and Professional

5

I have used Susan Howarth & Co 3 times in the last 6 years and each time they provided an excellent and professional service, providing lots of advice. I am aware of someone who visited a different solicitor for the same purpose as me recently and was not given all the essential advise that I was.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors responded to this review on 15 November, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and your valuable feedback Julie. To hear that our clients value the advice we provide and the service we deliver to the extent that they come back to us each time they need a solicitor is the biggest compliment and it means the world to us. Thank you :-) Kind Regards, SH&Co.

KD
KD Added 1 month ago Report to admin
November 10, 2018 20181110000000

Susan Howarth is a professional, grounded solicitor.

5

She always gave me realistic, sound advice and guided me through a very difficult period with her years of experience and a touch of sympathy. Susan’s PA Leanne and the rest of her staff were always helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jacqueline
Jacqueline Added 1 month ago Report to admin
November 05, 2018 20181105000000

Emma Stride went above and beyond to help me produce my very difficult will.

5

Emma was always kind and helpful and sensitive to my situation. I very much appreciate the professional way your business is conducted.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brown
Brown Added 1 month ago Report to admin
November 01, 2018 20181101000000

Conveyancing service.

4

Very impressed with the thoroughness of the conveyancing service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors

  • Susan Howarth

    Head of Family Department. Susan Howarth began her career in 1971 in the probation service after completing a degree in economics, moving on in 1974 to work as a team leader at a psychiatric hospital. She then began working for social services in 1977, specialising in the field of child abuse. In 1987 she began to study for her second degree, in law, qualifying in 1991. She was then articled to a Manchester law firm for two years and upon qualification in personal injury and family law work, became a qualified mediator in 1997. In April of that year she set up her own practice determined to draw on her broad experience of life and family law issues. Susan is a member of the Law Society Family Law Panel, Resolution and Associates of Personal injury Lawyers. Her practice rapidly developed a reputation for professionalism, legal expertise and sensitivity in family law and the business grew. In January 2000 she invited Jane Williamson, an experienced family law practitioner, to join the firm as a partner.

  • Victoria Poole

    Victoria started her career in the law in 1987 working as a paralegal in the area of criminal law, personally injury and family law. In 1997 Victoria qualified as a member of the institute of Legal Executives being admitted as a fellow in 1999. In 2010 Victoria was admitted as a Chartered Legal Executive. In 1997 Victoria specialised in the area if family law, including domestic abuse, separation, divorce, financial settlements, pre-nuptial agreements, cohabitation agreements and children matters. Victoria is a member of Resolution and in 2012 she trained and qualified as a Resolution Family Mediator. On the 19th February 2015, Victoria was accredited by Resolution as a specialist in Domestic Abuse and in Children, gaining specialist status under the Resolution scheme. To enable Victoria to become a Resolution Accredited Specialist, she had to pass a tough independent assessment to show her skills, expertise and knowledge. In 2016, Victoria gained recognition by the Family Mediation Council to undertake All Issues Mediation, which includes all aspects of family mediation. As a family mediator Victoria is committed to assisting parties to find their own resolution to their family dispute, thus help avoiding expensive and lengthy Court proceedings. Victoria joined the practice in 2005 and is a long-standing, highly-valued member of the Family Law department who’s made significant contributions to the firm. In 2017, Victoria was appointed as a Director of the firm. Victoria has an approachable non-judgemental approach to clients. Victoria represents clients in both the Family Proceedings Court and County Court. In her personal time Victoria enjoys spending time with her young family, going to the theatre, reading and socialising with friends.

  • Jeanette Birch

    Qualifying as a solicitor in 1994, Jeanette spent 3 years practicing Crime, Family Law and Civil Litigation before specialising in Family Law. Joining Susan Howarth and Company Solicitors in 2016, Jeanette brings a wealth of experience in Family Law, covering all areas of divorce, separation, cohabitation, prenups, postnups, preCiPs, postCiPs, children matters and finances. Jeanette is a member of both Resolution and the National Resolution Children’s Committee. Formerly a member of the Law Society Advanced Family Panel, she also has almost 10 years’ experience lecturing in Law for the Open University. A busy working mum of two, in her ‘spare’ time Jeanette is a keen cyclist and a life member of Manchester Wheelers, a track racer for Team Brooks Cycles-Cronshaw Coaching and she also fosters and rehomes cats for a local charity.

  • Stephen Jones

    Qualifying as a solicitor in 2002 and joining Susan Howarth & Company Solicitors in 2017, Stephen brings a wealth of knowledge and over 15 years of post-qualification experience in Family Law and Child Care proceedings. A member of both Resolution and the National Resolution Children’s Committee, Stephen’s work in his previous role at Bell Lamb & Joynson Solicitors led to him being accepted onto The Law Society’s Children’s Panel enabling him to accept instructions from Guardians. A busy working dad of two, if he’s not chauffeuring his daughters to Rainbows, street dance, swimming and gymnastics (to name but a few clubs!), Stephen enjoys playing football and squash in his ‘spare’ time.

  • Lauren Martin

    Having completed her two degrees, the first in psychology, the second in law, Lauren joined Susan Howarth & Co Solicitors in 2012, previously gaining legal experience at firms in Stockport and Stoke-on-Trent. Whilst working on the Care Department headed by Jane Williamson, Lauren completed her legal executive exams. Soon after, she was offered a Training Contract by the Directors and qualified as a Solicitor in 2016. Lauren advises parents and family members in relation to Public Law, Childcare proceedings, Adoption and disputes with Social Services, representing clients in Cheshire, Liverpool and Manchester. She frequently advises clients diagnosed with mental health illnesses and learning disabilities and works with those dealing with addiction and domestic abuse. She takes a sensitive and non-judgemental approach to advising clients, whilst ensuring that they receive practical advice from the outset.

  • John Spittle

    A Cambridge University graduate, John qualified as a solicitor in 1969 and quickly went on to set up his own practice Spittle & Howard in 1975. Transitioning to Spittles for a short period in 1989, the practice amalgamated to became Forshaw Spittles in 1990 and rapidly expanded through internal growth and further amalgamations, to ultimately become the largest legal practice in Warrington. John held the position of Senior Partner between 1975 and 2009, retiring from this position in 2009 to became a Consultant Solicitor in what is now FDR Law. Throughout his career, John has specialised in Residential Conveyancing, Wills & Probate, and Lasting Power of Attorney. A past President and Secretary of Warrington Law Society, John is also a former President of the Association of North Western Law Societies. A vastly experienced, highly-respected and reputable solicitor, John joins Susan Howarth & Company in July 2017 to work alongside Ray Melia to further develop the Property Department. Married for over 50 years, with two children and two grandchildren, John’s personal interests lie in current affairs, sport (particularly rugby, soccer and cricket), shooting and gardening.

  • Emma Stride

    Qualifying in 1990 and specialising in Private Client law, Emma Stride is a highly experienced and reputable solicitor, joining Susan Howarth & Company Solicitors in January 2018 to head up the Wills and Probate Department. A long-time member of STEP (The Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners), Emma brings a wealth of knowledge and over 25 years of post-qualification experience in Private Client law, encompassing Wills, Powers of Attorney, Probate/Estate Administration, Court of Protection and Care of the Elderly. As a busy working mum, Emma values her 'spare time' and loves nothing more than long walks with her 2 Labradors.

About This Branch

Description

Additionally, we offer a range of FREE drop-in clinics every week: our Family Law clinics run 8-9am and 5-6pm every Tuesday and Thursday; our Wills and Probate clinic runs 12-2pm every Wednesday; and our Senior Citizens clinic also runs 12-2pm every Wednesday. We pride ourselves on offering a first class service which is sensitive to our clients needs but is also efficient and cost effective. The firm is recognised by the Law Society as achieving high standards of practice management and client care and we have been awarded the prestigious Lexcel accreditation in recognition of this. We have also recently been recognised as one of the top 500 law firms in the UK for our family and care specialist areas in the Legal 500. Our highly experienced staff ensures you will receive the right advice from the right people at the right time. Please contact us and we will be happy to offer you the help and advice that you need.


Legal Services
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Family Mediation
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Housing disputes
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Remortgaging
  • Lease Extensions
  • Leasehold properties
  • Transfers of equity
  • Housing Associations
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Wills
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Children
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Buying at auction
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Injunctions
  • MRSA Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Separation
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Civil partnerships
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Financial Matters
  • Against The Council
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Child Law
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Housing Management
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Dental Negligence
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Right to Manage
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Medical Negligence
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Property Disputes
  • Social Services
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Family law
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Litigation Law
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Probate
  • Child contact
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Injunctions
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Pension and property advice
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Commercial Leases
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000