Request a callback

Book an appointment

How EMG Solicitors Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of EMG Solicitors Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 2%
Overpriced 4%
About Right 92%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used EMG Solicitors Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how EMG Solicitors Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used EMG Solicitors Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how EMG Solicitors Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that EMG Solicitors Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    273
  • Very Good

    16
  • Average

    4
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    7

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Martin Robert

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Martin Robert

June 23, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent from Start to Finish

Callum and the team at EMG were/are amazing. Will definitely recommend them to anyone looking for conveyancing.

Was this review helpful?

Martin Gordon

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Martin Gordon

June 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great advice relating to bridging loan and house purchase

We were impressed by Richard Swinbank and team who helped guide us through a relatively complex purchase of a house from someone's estate, funded by bridging finance. Good communication and a very practical approach helped us to meet the original completion date without any slippage. Will certainly be using the firm for our house sale.

Was this review helpful?

Neil Melvyn

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Neil Melvyn

June 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale

Very friendly and communication was prompt and detailed.

Was this review helpful?

Lewis

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Lewis

June 18, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Purchase of 25 bramble close

Callum and his team went above and beyond to try help sort problems out from the sellers Solictor. Everything we had to do was handled quick and easy nothing was hidden from me very and straight to the point from everyone. All staff within the firm who I spoke to were very polite and professional wouldn’t go anywhere else if I was to move house again

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Richard

June 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

EMG First home

Lauren Trueman & Jessica Skidmore were very helpful throughout the whole process of buying our first home. We have had a very good experience with all at EMG and Lauren has always been there to take all calls when needed. Thank you again.

Was this review helpful?

Emy Maria

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Emy Maria

June 12, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

emg solicitors

emg solicitors were very professional and proactive in helping us from the beginning. We enquire about it and straight away we got a response and that continued till the end. They also made it very easy to understand and kept me on the loop of what I needed to wait for or what was happening. We had a couple of queries that were more uncommon and they were ready and patient to help us out. We would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Matthew Joseph

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Matthew Joseph

June 09, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

First time buyet

Can’t thank Lauren enough for all her help and support throughout a very stressful time.

Was this review helpful?

Gary

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Disputed Trusts

Gary

June 09, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will

Really good communication and prompt response to query. Will was produced and drafted with minor changes happily made following review. Recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Ian

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Ian

June 08, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Standard House Sale?

STRESSFUL!
A "mis-communication" informed me that my buyer had withdrawn from the sale.
It seemed the process was drawn out and I had to press for action and updates.
My estate agent phoned me to ask why I had not returned paperwork which was completed and returned by hand the day after receiving.
However the sale was finally completed.

Was this review helpful?

Jayne

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Jayne

June 07, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Great communication and service throughout. Really helpful and fast response

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Matthew

Matthew

April 29, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Matthew

Very efficient, friendly service. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Brooke

Brooke

April 27, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brooke

EMG solicitors made the purchase & process of our first home so easy & stress free! We would highly recommend their services and wouldn’t use anyone else after the great service we have received. Richard & Paige we both really helpful throughout the whole process and we’re always able to answer and queries we had it explain anything we want too sure about. Thank you again!

Was this review helpful?

Pete

Pete

April 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Pete

Great service with buying our first home, thank you to Callum and the team for helping us and sorting out the inevitable issues that came along!

Was this review helpful?

Graham

Graham

March 22, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Graham

I used EMG for conveyencing as well as other services and found them to constantly deliver excellent services.

Was this review helpful?

Miss

Miss

March 19, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Miss

Great. Julia sorted out our court hearing to force a sale on a property for a relationship that ended 12years ago. We used Emma for the sale, and now we're using them again for purchase of a new home. Thank you all

Was this review helpful?

EMG Solicitors Limited are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Being a North East based business with our head office in the historic City of Durham, we are passionate about our roots. As a result we enjoy our involvement in a number of community initiatives which help us take forward our enthusiasm and passion. Visit our Community Support page. EMG Solicitors are a niche and award winning Legal 500 firm who specialise in Court of Protection, Deputyships, Family Law & Mediation, Disputes & Litigation, Employment, Residential Conveyancing, Commercial Property, Notarial, Lasting Powers of Attorney and Wills, Trusts & Probate.

Practice areas

EMG Solicitors are a niche and award winning Legal 500 firm who specialise in Court of Protection, Deputyships, Family Law & Mediation, Disputes & Litigation, Employment, Residential Conveyancing, Commercial Property, Notarial, Lasting Powers of Attorney and Wills, Trusts & Probate.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
    • Mental Health
    • Mental Health Legal aid
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation