Request a callback

Book an appointment

How EMG Solicitors Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of EMG Solicitors Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using EMG Solicitors Limited. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 1%
Overpriced 4%
About Right 93%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used EMG Solicitors Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how EMG Solicitors Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used EMG Solicitors Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how EMG Solicitors Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that EMG Solicitors Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    626
  • Very Good

    32
  • Average

    7
  • Poor

    6
  • Awful

    17

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Sarah

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Sarah

June 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing on auction sale

EMG were appointed for me on an auction sale. Everything went through smoothly and Callum kept me informed as the transaction was completing. There was a slight hiccup with the transfer of funds but I was able to contact Callum who investigated and sorted the issue promptly. Although the process was largely automated I still felt I was receiving a personal service from Callum.

Was this review helpful?

Joanne

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Joanne

June 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stress free purchase

Callum was extremely efficient and kept me updated every step of the way! Made the whole house buying process stress free! Highly recommend

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Michael

June 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

132 Bek Road

Very good experience. Always kept up to date and they kept the whole process very simple and straightforward.

Was this review helpful?

Sylvia

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Sylvia

June 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

emg solicitors

My experience over a number of years with various tricky situations has been outstanding. I have received immediate attention and action with a warm, personal touch. Samantha has explained everything carefully and I have no doubt she has my best interests at heart.

Was this review helpful?

Robert

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Robert

May 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale and purchase of house

Fantastic service. Professional and friendly and was pretty much stress free, would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Connor

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Connor

May 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

15 st Ives gardens

Ashley and Lauren were exceptional. They replied very quickly to any questions we had and the whole process was smooth and easy.

Was this review helpful?

Geoffrey

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Geoffrey

May 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Property sale

We recently sold our property and found the whole experience was dealt with smoothly and professionally. We would like to thank Ashley and Abi for all their help.

Was this review helpful?

Hayley

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Family law

Hayley

May 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great support and service

Gemma was excellent from the start, very clear with advice and straight to the point. With Gemma’s help I was able to obtain the result required and had great support throughout the process. Gemma is very knowledgable and has been wonderful throughout this whole process

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Family law

Anonymous

May 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Worth your trust

Honest guidance and support from Gemma resulted in the relatively speedy conclusion of my recent matrimonial issues, all of which helped me tremendously - both emotionally and physically.

Was this review helpful?

Emily

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used EMG Solicitors Limited.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Emily

May 14, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very caring and kind

We instructed EMG on the sale and purchase of our new home, Ashley and Lauren were absolutely amazing - always able to get in touch with them and nothing was too much to ask. This took a lot of stress out of the move and we would certainly use EMG again. Couldn’t be more helpful, kind and considerate!

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Richard

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Richard

April 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Richard

I wanted to leave a positive review for EMG as they helped us when buying a house. They were well priced and very efficient, prompt and helpful throughout the process. Thanks!

Was this review helpful?

Wayne

Matter Type:

Commercial Leases

Wayne

April 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wayne

I have dealt with Gwen, and EMG, over many years, and have always found them extremely knowledgable, professional,, and incredibly personable… Everything I want from a legal team.

Was this review helpful?

ADAM

ADAM

April 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

ADAM

Prompt, helpful service at all times.

Was this review helpful?

Zheng

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Zheng

February 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Zheng

Ashley Garthwaite is so friendly, informative, helpful and supportive. She is the one that helped me through everything within very tired time frame. I was soooo impressed. Could not recommend more.
Thanks Ashley and Lauren, you are great.

Was this review helpful?

Marcus

Marcus

February 01, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Marcus

Avoid EMG at all costs!!. Totally incompetent - my experience was of being passed from pillar to post as the solicitor representing me (Julia Middleton) was either constantly on leave or unavailable and then constantly fobbed me off on to other underqualified colleagues (who were equally unaware or out of touch with the details of my case). The firm routinely overcharges for what is extremely poor quality service - including multiple frivolous charge items. Far more focused as a firm on profit generation than they are on customer service - would strongly recommend you look elsewhere. I entrusted my child arrangements case to this firm and its a decision I bitterly regret as they did nothing but let me down from start to finish whilst making exorbitant, excessive and quite frankly extortionate charges for the privilege. I am now seriously considering taking my concerns about their (mal)practice to the ombudsman to investigate further. Do yourself a favour and employ anyone else than these people!!

Was this review helpful?

EMG Solicitors Limited are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Being a North East based business with our head office in the historic City of Durham, we are passionate about our roots. As a result we enjoy our involvement in a number of community initiatives which help us take forward our enthusiasm and passion. Visit our Community Support page. EMG Solicitors are a niche and award winning Legal 500 firm who specialise in Court of Protection, Deputyships, Family Law & Mediation, Disputes & Litigation, Employment, Residential Conveyancing, Commercial Property, Notarial, Lasting Powers of Attorney and Wills, Trusts & Probate.

Practice areas

EMG Solicitors are a niche and award winning Legal 500 firm who specialise in Court of Protection, Deputyships, Family Law & Mediation, Disputes & Litigation, Employment, Residential Conveyancing, Commercial Property, Notarial, Lasting Powers of Attorney and Wills, Trusts & Probate.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Employment
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Extending your Lease
    • Housing disputes
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Trusts
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Employment - business
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation