Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Backhouse Solicitors Ltd Compares

Value for money

This firm - 98%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Backhouse Solicitors Ltd on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Backhouse Solicitors Ltd. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 7%
About Right 92%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Backhouse Solicitors Ltd and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Backhouse Solicitors Ltd performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Backhouse Solicitors Ltd and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Backhouse Solicitors Ltd compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Backhouse Solicitors Ltd offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    420
  • Very Good

    10
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    10

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Olive

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Olive

April 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Time Wasters

Please avoid backhouse solicitors. Lucy took on the conveyancing process first for about 4weeks, and appropriate response from our part was sent to her. Followed by about 2weeks of no communication from them, we thought all has been settled. Until after the lender agreed to give us the mortgage, and then another staff called Alfie then contacted us, and started asking the same set of questions that Lucy asked about 6weeks before. Alfie and Lucy were not professional in their dealings with us and they will intentionally send you messages just before leaving the office, so as to delay the whole process. They were so cold and unfriendly over the phone both to me and to my husband who has been the one in contact with them from the start of our dealings with backhouse, before he got frustrated with their delay tactics and I took it upon myself to call and indicate my displeasure in their services. We supplied all they required from us but they kept delaying the process for 2 and half months. When two people are buying the property, backhouse only email one and don't copy in the other party. When this was brought forward to them, they said because from the start one of the parties involved didn't copy the other, so they continued emailing that way. So transparency is poor with Back house Solicitor. We had to call Backhouse staff and we terminated our dealings with them as they were dragging on forever even after all other parties have successful executed their own part of the dealings. Also, asking to be given the contact information for the complaint department, they promised to send it but I had to keep calling to request for it. Eventully, I was directed to someone who claimed to be the head, but who would rather not listen to their client's complaint or listen to recorded phone conversations between their staff and a client, but rather talk over the clients raising her voice at the client in the process. Please if you do not want your time and money wasted, stay away from Backhouse Solicitor! I would never recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

David

Matter Type:

Disputed Probate

David

March 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic highly professional service

Having been badly messed about by the solicitors we had used various times in the past, we spoke to Backhouse. From first call to completion Backhouse understood exactly what we were looking to achieve. Immediate appointment was given and Tina identified and executed a solution to meet our needs and wishes. Tina is an exceedingly warm and friendly, highly professional and knowledgeable person who explains everything in easy to understand lay terms. We were delighted by how she made the process so stress free and with the solutions she executed to deliver our peace of mind wishes. Would definitely recommend Backhouse and this young lady.

Was this review helpful?

Jamie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Jamie

January 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale of Property

Liz and the team did a fantastic job of completing the sale of our mums property prior to christmas holiday.
10/10 all round and what a great job.
Many thanks
Jamie Beasley

Was this review helpful?

Carrie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Carrie

September 11, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

100% Recommendation

I have and will continue to recommend Rebecca Prout at Backhouse for the rest of my days. We had an incredibly difficult sale and at every single step of the way Rebecca was there with a calm hand and utter professionalism. When it came down to the wire on the deadline Rebecca worked tirelessly to get the sale over the line. There are few words to describe how grateful I am to Rebecca and her colleagues. A first class Team.

Was this review helpful?

Al

Al

August 03, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

I would not recommend

We did not have a good experience with Backhouse. Their communication and documentation was unclear. Ultimately, our house purchase didn't go through (due to the developer also not being transparent) and we were left almost £1000 out of pocket to Backhouse with their fees and charges.
Do not expect to be sent a clear invoice. Beware the "optional" clauses which you can "send" money for but will not receive an invoice about.
Trying to discuss this with them is like cutting your nose off to spite your face. They didn't even bother to answer or return my calls. So, I would not recommend their services.

Was this review helpful?

David

Matter Type:

Employment Law

David

June 20, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service

I would very much recommend this company, the professional working relationship and personal touch throughout was excellent.
Thank you Backhouse!

Was this review helpful?

A

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

A

April 06, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Backhouse Solicitor's are excellent.

The whole team from reception, Ben Mowl & Liz Searl in particular have been exceptional. I have had two seperate files opened with Backhouse Solictors of which both were time sensitive and both have been quick, painless and easy for myself to go through. I will not hesitate in reccomending them to freinds and family.

Was this review helpful?

Hugh

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Hugh

November 30, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Outstanding Service

Over the past few years we have used Backhouse Solicitors for a number of legal procedures, transfer of equity, LPA, Wills and lastly selling a property. The service has been absolutely first class. The property team have been absolutely amazing and I and my family will all ways be grateful for the excellent work that Sarah and Rebecca have done to expedite this matter.

Was this review helpful?

Murali

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Murali

November 27, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellence!

The team at Backhouse Solicitors are amazing. They gave me great legal advise with all the options and outcomes that would arise to help me see what needed to be done with my situation. They were friendly, honest, professional and brilliant.

Was this review helpful?

Jai

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Jai

July 04, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

NEW PURCHASE

I have just recently completed on buying my first ever house, and a big thank you to Holli Mason and Hannah for all of their help it went really smoothly from start to finish, any questions i had or help that i needed they responded quickly, nothing was of any trouble, and i would like to give them both a big big thank you :)

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Thomas

Thomas

June 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thomas

We have used Liz and the team at Backhouse for three property transactions now and as always, top service, friendly team and efficient! Thank you Rea & Tommy

Was this review helpful?

Simon

Simon

June 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Simon

Melanie and Madalina at Backhouse Solicitors did a great job at getting our rather complicated house move over the line. They provided great communication and did everything in a timely way. I thought the price was quite reasonable as well. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Matthew

Matthew

May 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Matthew

Madalina and Melanie were both very professional, precise and responded within the hour which was very important. Very impressed dealings of the purchase and sale of my properties, I would use Backhouse again. Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Ray

Ray

May 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ray

We used this company for the first time starting in February 2024, all the staff worked very hard for us and I can honestly say they were first-class. Each time I had a query it was dealt with quickly and emails from their office came back straight away with my queries solved. I will be recommending this company to friends - we have bought a few properties over the years but no solicitor has been as speedy, helpful and efficient as Megan Ryan.......

Was this review helpful?

Katie

Katie

May 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Katie

Rhys was amazing. He was so helpful helping us create wills. We will defo use Backhouse Solicitors for future legal stuff. Thanks guys

Was this review helpful?

Backhouse Solicitors Ltd are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Backhouse Solicitors is a family-owned firm of specialist, problem-solving solicitors based in Chelmsford, Essex. Our experienced team offers expert help and legal advice to clients across Chelmsford, throughout Essex and further afield.

Practice areas

Legal Services for Individuals: Employment Law Buying, Selling or Re-mortgaging your property Preparing your Will Lasting Power of Attorney Probate and Estate Administration Divorce and Family Law Legal Disputes and Litigation Deeds of Trust Legal Services for Business Employment Law and HR services Business contracts and T&Cs Buying, Selling or Restructuring your business Shareholder and Partnership Agreements Buying, Selling or Leasing your business premises Start-up legal advice Debt Recovery Litigation and contract disputes Independent Legal Advice for directors raising finance

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Collective Actions
    • Consumer Credit
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
  • Employment
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Settlement Agreements
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Change of name
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Divorce
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Extending your Lease
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
Book an appointment