Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Howells LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Howells LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Howells LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Howells LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Howells LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Howells LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Howells LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    235
  • Very Good

    11
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Anonymous

March 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tackled it perfectly

Wendy Bailey managed my divorce excellently, she knew it would be a difficult case but she faced and tackled it perfectly and I am so glad she represented me and completed my divorce successfully xx

Was this review helpful?

Simon

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Simon

January 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale and future purchase

This was my first experience with Howells Conveyancing and i wasn't overly impressed with my solicitor at the beginning of the file being opened, its fair to say that this particular person has now moved on and i couldn't have been HAPPIER with the response from Howells.

Emma has been a breath of fresh air since grabbing the file with both hands. Her communication is EXCELLENT, knowledge of the file and the selling process EXCELLENT. I couldn't have been happier and i can tell she genuinely cares about her clients and doing the very best possible.

I look forward to passing over any Sales or Purchases in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Sayam

Sayam

December 16, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

New house purchase

We started the process of buying our new house about 4months ago..... still nowhere near completion...every other week it was we need this, we need that oh sorry we need this..then to top it all off our main solicitor decided to leave the company and then we have a new solicitor who wants take a review...and see where we are i mean come on please... i hope we are being treated the same as every one else mmmh..who knows...please its not my fault...the lead guy leaves and you need a review..
.. honest hard-working people... work.for direct line group in case you wondering.

Just want this over with please howells.....tried speaking to my new solicitor kept saying she is engaged all the time weirdly..mmmh again...
..anyway please could we finish this in a matter of.hours...pleaseeee..!!!!

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

November 18, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

With great professionalism

The whole process of making a Will with Millie was excellent. She explained calmly, clearly and re-capped, went over it, answered questions etc with great professionalism. I was surprised how well she did all this over the phone. We would always ask for Millie to do our legal work in the future. A star!

Was this review helpful?

James

James

November 04, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Outstanding service

Oustanding service even through Covid 19 restrictions was hampering everyones abilities

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

October 05, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Extremely impressed

I have been extremely impressed with Clare. She has been honest, supportive, professional and even attended to my case on her day off. She has a calm and reassuring manner and a way of empathising with clients' personal circumstances which results in her tailoring good employment advice to what is best for the individual. I have dealt with a number of solicitors (in other specialities) in the past and have found Clare to be one of the best. I would not hesitate to recommend her to anyone. Thank you Clare; I really appreciate your assistance.

Was this review helpful?

Kate

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Kate

February 07, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Leon at Howells was GREAT !

I had the privilege of dealing with a man called Leon at Howells Solicitors.
He has handled all the difficulties (there were many left over by incompetent previous solicitor) with charm, skill and a high level of efficiency. I trust Howells and I recommend Leon highly to anyone with land or property to sell. THANKS LEON!

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Landlord and Tenant

Anonymous

July 18, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Supporting and understanding

Tracy was very helpful, supporting and understanding of my situation and I am truly greateful for her dealing with my case and getting a positive result.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

July 14, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Good work

Keep up the good work - thanks

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Donna

Donna

July 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Donna

Excellent service from Sharon and the team. Made everything very clear and answered any correspondence or query the same day. Couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful?

Lynne

Lynne

June 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lynne

I had a Will made and all the staff were amazing (especially Millie). Would recommend to all my friends.

Was this review helpful?

stewart

stewart

May 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

stewart

Good contact with this Business

Was this review helpful?

Jay

Jay

January 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jay

Howells came to my aid at an unexpected and urgent time, in relation to my children.
Patient, professional, and supportive are just some of the words I can find to describe the matrimonial / family team. They are knowledgeable and compassionate, and will support you every step of the way. Thank you so much.

Was this review helpful?

matty

matty

November 04, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

matty

Possibly the best solicitors in the uk and deffiently the best in south yorkshire

Was this review helpful?

Howells LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Howells Solicitors has more than 40 years’ experience of providing high quality legal advice. We have expert solicitors in key areas of personal law from family and matrimonial to personal injury, wills, probate and clinical negligence as well as residential conveyancing, employment and taxi licensing. We also have a highly experienced criminal defence department to give advice and representation in all areas including arrest, court appearances and prison law. Howells is committed to offering expert legal advice to every individual who seeks it, to improving access to justice and our clients’ experience of the law, and to deliver a customer-focused, value-based service at all times. We are different at Howells. You are at the heart of what we do, which is why we pride ourselves on being friendly and approachable and making sure that you always get personal attention and a top quality service, whether you are a private paying client or are receiving publicly funded legal aid. The vast range of services we offer means that we can help you in all key stages of life, as well as the times that you hadn’t planned for. Howells are also active members of the local and legal community with a strong reputation of charitable work, attending local community events and having membership at professional and local organisations.

Practice areas

Property & Conveyancing Wills, Trusts and Probate Family Law Divorce and Separation Medical Negligence Accident and Personal Injury Care Proceedings Employment Law Inheritance Tax Planning and Trusts Lasting Powers of Attorney Actions against the Police Human Rights Inquests Housing Benefits and Credits Criminal Defence

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Actions against the police
    • Actions against the police
    • Excessive force or assault
    • Human rights breaches
    • Malicious prosecution
    • Police negligence
    • Wrongful arrest or false imprisonment
  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Domestic violence
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Harassment
    • Juvenile
    • Legal aid
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Sexual allegations including Rape and Sexual Assaults
    • Theft
  • Driving offences
    • Appeal driving conviction
    • Careless driving
    • Convicted in absence
    • Dangerous driving
    • Dangerous vehicle conditions
    • Death By Careless Driving
    • Death by dangerous driving
    • Discretionary disqualification
    • Disqualification removal
    • Drink driving
    • Driving Whilst Unfit
    • Driving Without Due Care
    • Driving whilst disqualified
    • Driving without a licence
    • Driving without insurance
    • Drunk in charge
    • Early return of driving licence
    • Exceptional Hardship
    • Failing to notify DVLA
    • Failure to furnish identification
    • Failure to provide a blood sample
    • Failure to provide a specimen
    • Goods vehicles - operators licence
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Mobile phone offences
    • New Driver Provisions
    • Notice of intended prosecution
    • Recognition of disqualification
    • Restoration of licence
    • Road rage incidents
    • Serious injury by dangerous driving
    • Signs and signal offences
    • Special Reasons
    • Speeding offences
    • Stopping and reporting
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
    • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
  • Human rights
    • Human rights
    • Judicial review
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Cycling Accident
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Serious Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
    • Mental Health
    • Mental Health Legal aid
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Opening times

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • Closed
  • Closed
Book an appointment