Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 1%
Overpriced 15%
About Right 82%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    836
  • Very Good

    57
  • Average

    10
  • Poor

    4
  • Awful

    21

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

January 11, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Residential Conveyancing

We are incredibly grateful for the thorough service we received . We had a couple of properties fall through because Shah's great attention to detail meant he spotted problems, which saved us huge problems in the future. Although disappointing at the time , we are so appreciative of the thorough and sound Legal advice
10/10!!

Was this review helpful?

Christopher Padfield

Christopher Padfield

January 07, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Agricultural / Rural

I have used Gepps for many years. As our business and legal requirements have grown and become more complex our reliance on Gepps has grown considerably. I am very happy to recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Kevin

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Kevin

December 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Outstanding Conveyancing services

Have previously used the Bakshi Dhanda Team for a smaller property matter. Used them again for a residential property sale and as before, they were extremely helpful and also responsive to changing circumstances.
Could not recommend the team and GEPP the firm enough - they're no.1!

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Matter Type:

Wills

Peter

December 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Gepps offer a very professional & reliable legal service. They provide a family oriented personalised service which is lacking in many larger legal firms. Please keep it that way!

Was this review helpful?

mandip360

Matter Type:

Investment and buy to let properties

mandip360

December 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

conveyancing

worst experience with a solicitor, paid extra just to swap solicitors as they don`t know what they are doing

Was this review helpful?

Colin Appleby

Matter Type:

Wills

Colin Appleby

December 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

My experience always to my satisfaction and therefore fully recommendable.

Was this review helpful?

Paula

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Paula

December 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Employment

I highly recommend the services of Gepp. No hidden costs or dragging out their service. It was clear, precise and speedy which what exactly what I was looking for. I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

November 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

I am very pleased with the service provided by Gepp - professional, courteous and efficient. I particularly liked the way details were understood and remembered even when mentioned just once. I will use again if the need arises.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

November 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Residential Conveyancing

It was a smooth transaction from start to finish. Any obstacles were explained and dealt with efficiently.

Was this review helpful?

Joe M

Matter Type:

Family law

Joe M

November 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Family

The whole process went as smooth as possible with the help, reassurance and expertise of Dorjan. If it wasn’t for this firm and Dorjan’s work I wouldn’t have the outcome I have.
Couldn’t be more satisfied

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Steve

Steve

August 28, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Steve

Georgia Bolton , we cannot recommend her highly enough. Today, she pulled out all the stops to allow our legal papers to be sworn and witnessed, when so many others let us down. Her approach was professional, polite , efficient and trouble free. We certainly would not hesitate to recommend her for any legal services you may require.

Was this review helpful?

Phillip

Phillip

August 28, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Phillip

We'd like to thank all at Gepp solicitors, especially Georgia who assisted us today in a delicate probate issue. The professionalism, attention to detail and quick turnaround were exceptional. Congratulations on a job well done.

Was this review helpful?

pilotmaria

pilotmaria

August 22, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

pilotmaria

Would not recommend.

First time buyers of our very first home. Overall communication bad. It took us around four months to get our purchase though, due to signed papers getting ‘lost’ and needed to be resend.

Bad communication update from our solicitors team. We had to make several calls to the team (after hearing nothing from them for weeks) and ask if they had everything that they needed. After each call there would be something missing, or they would say that they had everything, and weeks later ask us where a document was. This regardless of how many times we asked to get it confirmed that they had everything needed.

We will not use again, nor will we recommend this Solicitors Firm.

Was this review helpful?

Sara

Sara

August 16, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sara

I cannot recommend Filomena Sterkaj highly enough. Filomena's calm, professional approach, which was always honest, allayed any concerns during every meeting, email or phone call I experienced. On one occasion, a problem arose I was concerned about; Filomena's team contacted her whilst on annual leave and I received a return call within 15 minutes, problem professionally sorted and another weight expertly lifted from my shoulders!

Always feeling Filomena was there every step of the way providing such an efficient, knowledgeable and personable service ensured this process was as stress free as possible for myself and family. Keen to ensure I understood and was content with every decision throughout, if you require a Solicitor specialising in Family Law, I thoroughly recommend contacting Filomena Sterkaj and her team.

I wouldn't hesitate in using the services of Gepp Solicitors should the need arise in the future. All staff I encountered were professional, efficient and friendly. Many thanks once again for your unending support Filomena, it was greatly appreciated.

Was this review helpful?

Phil

Phil

August 06, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Phil

Absolute charlatans, avoid at all costs

Was this review helpful?

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Gepp Solicitors can trace its lineage back to 1768 when Edward Gepp, Attorney, set up his first office in one of the rooms of his house in Chelmsford High Street. Today the firm is a Full-Service Law Firm with over 100 staff which has a reputation for finding the right advice for their clients. Providing an excellent service is one of their goals and the team at Gepp Solicitors review their feedback in order to improve both the quality of service and legal advice they offer. The Firm is organised into several different departments; Commercial Law, Criminal Law, Dispute Resolution, Employment Law, Military Law, Family Law, Private Client (dealing with Wills, Probate and Trusts as well as tax, estate and succession planning), Commercial and Residential Property and Rural Services (Agriculture Law). With its main office in Chelmsford and a smaller office in Colchester, the firm is well placed to offer its services to clients across the County of Essex. Serving business and private clients, Gepp Solicitors pride themselves on offering a traditional personal service. Very few businesses reach their 250th birthday. They have, and they believe the reason for their longevity is that their blend of the highest levels of service, professionalism and legal advice has won the trust of the County after faithfully serving it for generations.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Driving offences
    • Appeal driving conviction
    • Careless driving
    • Convicted in absence
    • Dangerous driving
    • Dangerous vehicle conditions
    • Death By Careless Driving
    • Death by dangerous driving
    • Discretionary disqualification
    • Disqualification removal
    • Drink driving
    • Driving Whilst Unfit
    • Driving Without Due Care
    • Driving whilst disqualified
    • Driving without a licence
    • Driving without insurance
    • Drug driving
    • Drunk in charge
    • Early return of driving licence
    • Exceptional Hardship
    • Failing to notify DVLA
    • Failure to furnish identification
    • Failure to provide a blood sample
    • Failure to provide a specimen
    • Goods vehicles - operators licence
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Mobile phone offences
    • New Driver Provisions
    • Notice of intended prosecution
    • Recognition of disqualification
    • Restoration of licence
    • Road rage incidents
    • Serious injury by dangerous driving
    • Signs and signal offences
    • Special Reasons
    • Speeding offences
    • Stopping and reporting
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
    • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution