Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP

01245 493 939

Also known as - Gepp Solicitors

Gepp Solicitors can trace its lineage back to 1768 when Edward Gepp, Attorney, set up his first office in one of the rooms of his house in Chelmsford High Street. Today the firm is a Full-Service Law Firm with over 100 staff which has a reputation for finding the right advice for their clients. Providing an excellent service is one of their goals and the team at Gepp Solicitors review their feedback in order to improve both the quality of service and legal advice they offer.

4.8/5 864 Client Reviews 864 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors

864 Client Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    777
  • Very Good
    53
  • Average
    10
  • Poor
    4
  • Awful
    20

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
P Howson
P Howson Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 08, 2021 20210408145509

Wills, Trusts and Probate

4

Matter Type: Wills

You understand what we wanted and promptly gave the appropriate advise

Solicitor named in this review: Gregory John

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 16 April, 2021

Dear P Howson, Thank you so much for our review, we're thrilled Gregory could of been of assistance and gave you the advice you were after. If we can help you at any time in the future please do not hesitate to let us know. Best, Gepps

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
March 29, 2021 20210329150226

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Matter Type: Wills

Professional, helpful, first rate service

Solicitor named in this review: Lisa Carter

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 16 April, 2021

Thank you so much for our 5 star review. It's always a pleasure to see our clients are satisfied with the service they received, and especially to be described as first rate. If we can help you at any time in the future please do not hesitate to let us know. Best, Gepps

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jessica
Jessica Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
March 29, 2021 20210329085609

Excellent service - Bakshi Dhanda Team

5

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale

I am currently dealing with Bakshi Dhanda Team for my transaction. I have found the team, to include Bakshi, Harjot and Ruth to be so friendly, helpful and professional. Couldn’t wish for a better service. Would definitely recommend them and look forward to using them again in the future.

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 16 April, 2021

Dear Jessica, Thank you so much for our 5 star review and we're so pleased that Bakshi and team have delivered a great service. We have passed on your kind words to the team. If we can help you at any time in the future please do not hesitate to let us know. Best, Gepps

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sarah
Sarah Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
March 28, 2021 20210328090325

Employment

5

Matter Type: Employment Law

Alexandra was brilliant. She dealt with the case professionally and made sure that any discrepancy was resolved. My company were trying to push for a quick close even though parts of the contract were incorrect. Alexandra stopped this, got them to extend the date to give us time to make sure everything was covered before we proceeded. Would 100% recommend and would use their services again.

Solicitor named in this review: Alexandra Lee Dean

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 16 April, 2021

Dear Sarah, Thank you so much for our 5 star review and we're so pleased that Alexandra was able to help. We have passed on your kind words to Alexandra. If we can help you at any time in the future please do not hesitate to let us know. Best, Gepps

Was this review helpful? Yes

Olly
Olly Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 26, 2021 20210326163030

Home sale and purchase

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Second time using Gepp Solicitors for our home move. Outstanding, efficient service. Will be using again in future.

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 16 April, 2021

Dear Olly, Thank you so much for our 5 star review. We have passed on your kind words to the team and wish you all the best in your new home. If we can help you at any time in the future please do not hesitate to let us know. Best, Gepps

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ethan
Ethan Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 25, 2021 20210325125101

Disappointing & Shocking.

1

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

We sold a property from July 2020 - December 2020 with Bakshi Dhanda.

I find it interesting to see similar experiences in many of these reviews (reviews we wish we'd read before instructing). These resonate very closely to our experience. These include:

Receiving a very different service as soon as you hand over your deposit.

A clear lack of communication.

A disregard for following up on correspondence within a timely manner.

A tardy manner of working.

And a serious lack of professionalism. Our Agent had to step in regarding the manner in which we were being spoken to by Bakshi over email.

In short, a disappointing, frustrating and unapologetically poor service throughout the duration of the matter with Bakshi and team, as representative of Gepp Solicitors.

In what could have been a fruitful partnership, we now look to take our immediate business elsewhere, where we'll be selecting our solicitor much more cautiously. Truly a conveyancing horror story for the ages..

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 01 April, 2021

Dear Ethan We are very disappointed to hear we were unable to manage your expectation when acting in your purchase last year. We take all clients comments seriously, whether good or not so. We would very much like to have the opportunity of discussing your review further if you so wish. Please contact Spencer Davis on 01245 228133 or daviss@gepp.co.uk

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
March 19, 2021 20210319105728

Residential Conveyancing

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Excellent response to all enquires. Friendly and professional approach from all members of the firm contacted.

Solicitor named in this review: Muhammad Shah Abu Bakar

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 24 March, 2021

Thank you so much for leaving us a 5 star review. We wish you many happy memories in your new home. If there is anything we can assist with in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. Best, Gepps

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
March 19, 2021 20210319105418

Residential Conveyancing

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Very polite, helpful and efficient firm. We would use again.

Solicitor named in this review: Bakshi Dhanda

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 24 March, 2021

Thank you so much for leaving us a glowing review, we're glad our team delivered a five star service. Wishing you all the best in your new home. If there is anything we can assist with in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. Best, Gepps

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
March 19, 2021 20210319104947

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Matter Type: Wills

Very pleased with every aspect of meeting. Any queries we had were explained to us.

Solicitor named in this review: Gregory John

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 24 March, 2021

Thank you so much for leaving us a 5 star review, we're so pleased you were happy with the service received. If there is anything we can assist with in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. Best, Gepps

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dominic
Dominic Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
March 18, 2021 20210318205539

First time buyer

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

First time buyer.

Harjot acted for me in my purchase of a leasehold property which involved complex lease extension and taking this into account, Harjot is very thorough and meticulous, she explained in detail each process and stage in layman’s terms and was always available to answer my daily calls and keep me updated throughout the transaction. Even when I believed that the transaction would compete within couple months, it proved to become complex in nature due to the lease extension and in turn created many delays in the transaction since there were 3 separate solicitors acting in the lease extension in addition to the sellers solicitor and my own. Harjot went above and beyond and contacted each firm of solicitors dealing with the lease extension to obtain updates and also managed to keep 2 other agents in the chain updated. It was because of Harjot’s professional manner, proficiency and methodical approach that pushed the transaction to a swift conclusion. All I can is that my interests were best protected throughout and was extremely pleased with the positive outcome. I cannot thank Harjot and her skilled team enough for all their tremendous hard work. I will definitely be recommending them in future.

Solicitor named in this review: Harjot Grewal

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 19 March, 2021

Dear Dominic Thank you for your glowing 5* review. Your kind words will be passed on to Harjot and her team this morning. We are so pleased we were able to help you secure your first purchase even with the complexity involved. If we can help you at any time in the future please do not hesitate to let us know. Best, Gepps

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Steve
Steve Added 7 months ago Report to admin
August 28, 2020
Collected on
20200828204027

Steve

5

Georgia Bolton , we cannot recommend her highly enough. Today, she pulled out all the stops to allow our legal papers to be sworn and witnessed, when so many others let us down. Her approach was professional, polite , efficient and trouble free. We certainly would not hesitate to recommend her for any legal services you may require.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Phillip
Phillip Added 7 months ago Report to admin
August 28, 2020
Collected on
20200828140844

Phillip

5

We'd like to thank all at Gepp solicitors, especially Georgia who assisted us today in a delicate probate issue. The professionalism, attention to detail and quick turnaround were exceptional. Congratulations on a job well done.

Was this review helpful? Yes

pilotmaria
pilotmaria Added 7 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
August 22, 2020
Collected on
20200822042609

pilotmaria

1

Would not recommend.

First time buyers of our very first home. Overall communication bad. It took us around four months to get our purchase though, due to signed papers getting ‘lost’ and needed to be resend.

Bad communication update from our solicitors team. We had to make several calls to the team (after hearing nothing from them for weeks) and ask if they had everything that they needed. After each call there would be something missing, or they would say that they had everything, and weeks later ask us where a document was. This regardless of how many times we asked to get it confirmed that they had everything needed.

We will not use again, nor will we recommend this Solicitors Firm.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 27 August, 2020

Dear Maria, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very disappointed you do not appear to have received the usual 5* service offered by Gepps. We have successfully helped hundreds of clients move during and post lock down and have received a large number of glowing testimonials. However, lockdown did change the complexity of the conveyancing process with additional layers of scrutiny. Sadly not every transaction goes to plan and we can only but apologise if your first purchase was not as exciting as it was hoped to be. Should you wish to discuss your concerns further please email mail@gepp.co.uk

Sara
Sara Added 8 months ago Report to admin
August 16, 2020
Collected on
20200816073310

Sara

5

I cannot recommend Filomena Sterkaj highly enough. Filomena's calm, professional approach, which was always honest, allayed any concerns during every meeting, email or phone call I experienced. On one occasion, a problem arose I was concerned about; Filomena's team contacted her whilst on annual leave and I received a return call within 15 minutes, problem professionally sorted and another weight expertly lifted from my shoulders!

Always feeling Filomena was there every step of the way providing such an efficient, knowledgeable and personable service ensured this process was as stress free as possible for myself and family. Keen to ensure I understood and was content with every decision throughout, if you require a Solicitor specialising in Family Law, I thoroughly recommend contacting Filomena Sterkaj and her team.

I wouldn't hesitate in using the services of Gepp Solicitors should the need arise in the future. All staff I encountered were professional, efficient and friendly. Many thanks once again for your unending support Filomena, it was greatly appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 27 August, 2020

Dear Sara, Thank you very much for your amazing and detailed review. We pride ourselves on going above and beyond for clients, and we are glad that you are happy with the outcome of your case. Please do return to us in the future if there is anything else that we can help you with. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Phil
Phil Added 8 months ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin
August 06, 2020
Collected on
20200806184840

Phil

1

Absolute charlatans, avoid at all costs

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 27 August, 2020

Dear Phil, We are very disappointed you do not appear to have received the usual 5* service offered by Gepps. Should you wish to discuss your concerns further please email mail@gepp.co.uk

About This Branch

Description

Gepp Solicitors can trace its lineage back to 1768 when Edward Gepp, Attorney, set up his first office in one of the rooms of his house in Chelmsford High Street. Today the firm is a Full-Service Law Firm with over 100 staff which has a reputation for finding the right advice for their clients. Providing an excellent service is one of their goals and the team at Gepp Solicitors review their feedback in order to improve both the quality of service and legal advice they offer. The Firm is organised into several different departments; Commercial Law, Criminal Law, Dispute Resolution, Employment Law, Military Law, Family Law, Private Client (dealing with Wills, Probate and Trusts as well as tax, estate and succession planning), Commercial and Residential Property and Rural Services (Agriculture Law). With its main office in Chelmsford and a smaller office in Colchester, the firm is well placed to offer its services to clients across the County of Essex. Serving business and private clients, Gepp Solicitors pride themselves on offering a traditional personal service. Very few businesses reach their 250th birthday. They have, and they believe the reason for their longevity is that their blend of the highest levels of service, professionalism and legal advice has won the trust of the County after faithfully serving it for generations.


Regulated By:
Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000