Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP

01245 493 939

Also known as - Gepp Solicitors

Gepp Solicitors can trace its lineage back to 1768 when Edward Gepp, Attorney, set up his first office in one of the rooms of his house in Chelmsford High Street. Today the firm is a Full-Service Law Firm with over 100 staff which has a reputation for finding the right advice for their clients. Providing an excellent service is one of their goals and the team at Gepp Solicitors review their feedback in order to improve both the quality of service and legal advice they offer.

4.8/5 724 Customer Reviews 724 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors

724 Customer Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    648
  • Very Good
    47
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    3
  • Awful
    15

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Sharon
Verified Sharon Added 1 day ago Report to admin
July 02, 2020 20200702215039

Outstanding Service and compassionate

5

I asked them to assist in an affidavit for my Mother for a court case I have in the US. They couldn’t have been more professional. Everything I asked their help and assistance with, they acted on immediately. Above all they were compassionate to our situation. They truly care about their clients. I would love to have them represent me in my case, as I have all the confidence that they have the best interests of their clients at heart, with the highest level of expertise and professionalism.

Solicitor named in this review: Filomena Sterkaj

Was this review helpful? Yes

Maureen Fisher
Verified Maureen Fisher Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
June 11, 2020 20200611101705

5 Stars

5

5 Stars

Solicitor named in this review: Raine Cozens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
June 11, 2020 20200611100701

Very efficient friendly service

5

Very efficient friendly service

Solicitor named in this review: Bakshi Dhanda

Was this review helpful? Yes

Loveday
Verified Loveday Added 1 month ago Report to admin
June 01, 2020 20200601205203

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Gepps is a family solicitor at its heart. Our family have used them for many years on many topics, and it is the relationship and personal touch, with continuity over the years, that makes them a firm I would recommend to anyone.

Solicitor named in this review: Danny Carter

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christine Robinson
Verified Christine Robinson Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 10, 2020 20200510205203

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Very pleased with Danny Carter regarding my Will.

Solicitor named in this review: Danny Carter

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan
Verified Susan Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 07, 2020 20200507205204

Residential Conveyancing

5

Shah was fantastic and helped me to complete on a difficult sale and purchase - would highly recommend. The support provided by Chris and Jacqui was also amazing.

Solicitor named in this review: Shah Bakar

Was this review helpful? Yes

Zhou
Verified Zhou Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
May 05, 2020 20200505130018

Highly recommend

5

I would highly recommend Gepp Solicitors home conveyancing service!

Solicitor named in this review: Bakshi Dhanda

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tim & Margaret
Verified Tim & Margaret Added 2 months ago Report to admin
May 05, 2020 20200505125728

Conveyancing

5

Although offered to meet/talk on phone anytime, we felt it would be useful to have a brief face to face meeting at the start to explain processes (as we last moved 30 years ago) + also enable us to put a face to the voice. Also more communication, by email especially when no progress has been made, to save us chasing up, particularly when about to exchange contracts.

Solicitor named in this review: Bakshi Dhanda

Was this review helpful? Yes

Aqil
Aqil Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 30, 2020 20200430164817

House purchase

5

We used Gepp as our solicitors for our house purchase and in particular Bakshi & her team.

They were absolutely brilliant in all areas and never once caused any hassle or problems for us. They are very professional in their job and are very meticulous in the work carried out. They were a pleasure to work with and we cannot thank them enough for aiding us in purchasing our first property.

They always kept us in the loop and had everything under control. They were more than happy to answer any questions we had and always reported back to us in an efficient manner. Bakshi & her team are great at what they do and if you want solicitors who really make a house purchase smooth, then I Gepp and Bakshi are the place to go. Thank you to Bakshi & the team for making everything go smoothly.

I would always recommend their services.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ivor
Verified Ivor Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 23, 2020 20200423205203

Residential Conveyancing

5

Would recommend Gepps services

Solicitor named in this review: Deborah Conroy

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Jane
Jane Added 3 months ago Report to admin
March 12, 2020
Collected on
20200312122930

Jane

5

Excellent service, provided by Michael Callaghan and his team to resolve our problem very promptly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 20 April, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

lynn
lynn Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 03, 2020
Collected on
20200303125249

lynn

5

I would like to thank Michael the Notary for his help in sorting out our property sale (overseas) I found him professional polite and very informative, especially as I have never used a Notary before I would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 03 March, 2020

Dear Lynn, Thank you very much for your five star review! Our Notary service is relatively new, so this feedback is most welcome; we are glad that we could make the process informative and easy for you. We will pass on your kind comments to Michael Callaghan. Please do return to us in the future if there is anything else that we can help you with. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Harriet
Harriet Added 4 months ago Report to admin
February 11, 2020
Collected on
20200211163758

Harriet

5

Swift, compassionate and straightforward. Michael Callaghan, Partner, assisted me with a matter I wanted turned around in just one week even though he was clearly very busy at the time. I could not recommend Gepp enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 11 February, 2020

Dear Harriet, Thank you very much for your five star review! We will pass on your kind comments to Michael Callaghan, who will be very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the service provided. Please do return to us in the future if there is anything else that we can help you with in the future. Best, Gepp Solicitors

trudy
trudy Added 5 months ago Report to admin
January 23, 2020
Collected on
20200123123533

trudy

1

don't go on review sites but felt I had to as very unhappy with Gepps so only one star

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 February, 2020

Dear Trudy, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We are sorry that the service we offered did not meet with your expectations. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please contact me at daviss@gepp.co.uk or 01245 228133. Kind regards, Spencer Davis

A
A Added 7 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
November 20, 2019
Collected on
20191120190931

A client

1

My wife and I, first time buyers tried to buy a house and we decided to use Gepps as our solicitors. This was a big mistake and resulted on us losing the house. We will try to be as honest as possible and say exactly what happened.
After requesting quotes from different solicitors we were happy with the quote Gepps gave us so we paid the deposit. After this moment, things changed and we found ourselves chasing them from day 1. We were expecting a supportive and friendly solicitor to help us with a transaction we had never made, however Mrs Worley was very unhelpful, unwilling to give us guidance and quite rude on the phone, always unhappy to talk. We felt that they were no longer interested in us since they had our deposit.
At some point we raised these concerns and communication improved on her part, however we had to chase her all the time and we always felt unguided and unsupported.

However, the real issue was that they didn't calculate the stamp duty correctly and we realised, the day before exchanging contracts, that we had to pay approx. £10000 more than expected. This is something we couldn't afford, we were told that there had been a mistake on their part and that they might be able to look into the case and try to reduce this amount but it was far too late for us. We couldn’t complete the transaction due to their terrible service and we were extremely disappointed, however not totally surprised because we could see the lack of support and communication from day 1 and now we wonder why we didn't see this coming. We never got one single apology from Mrs Worley who showed arrogance at all times, lack of support and lack of professionalism and she even accused us of not being honest with our bank.

We were gutted and very disappointed with Gepps so we decided to raise a formal complaint. We had to wait quite a long time but to be fair we have to say that we felt that they the complaint team took us seriously (for the 1st time) and looked at our concerns in detail. We were offered a refund and a £200 compensation (approx.). They also assured us that they would look into putting measures in place to avoid this happening to more people.

We do hope that our story, which is as honest as it can possibly be, help other people to choose the right solicitor and avoid Gepps.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 26 November, 2019

Dear Alvaro and Sara, I am sorry to learn of your frustration with the service that you received from our conveyancer, Charlotte Worley, during the unsuccessful purchase of your property. The comprehensive review you have posted has allowed me to examine what happened and given me the opportunity to reply personally. I apologise that the level of service that you received was not at the level that we should have provided. In light of your feedback, we have met to address your concerns and have made changes to the way that we tell clients about any increases in the Stamp Duty Land Tax (SDLT) that they may have to pay. Unfortunately, SDLT has become increasingly complex and we realise that we could have done more to help you understand the amount that you would have to pay at an earlier stage of the process. Once again, I am sorry that you have had a poor experience but I'm pleased that you felt that our complaints partner listened to you and resolved your formal complaint in a way that was acceptable to you. If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me. Best, Mike Cubbin, CEO

About This Branch

Description

Gepp Solicitors can trace its lineage back to 1768 when Edward Gepp, Attorney, set up his first office in one of the rooms of his house in Chelmsford High Street. Today the firm is a Full-Service Law Firm with over 100 staff which has a reputation for finding the right advice for their clients. Providing an excellent service is one of their goals and the team at Gepp Solicitors review their feedback in order to improve both the quality of service and legal advice they offer. The Firm is organised into several different departments; Commercial Law, Criminal Law, Dispute Resolution, Employment Law, Military Law, Family Law, Private Client (dealing with Wills, Probate and Trusts as well as tax, estate and succession planning), Commercial and Residential Property and Rural Services (Agriculture Law). With its main office in Chelmsford and a smaller office in Colchester, the firm is well placed to offer its services to clients across the County of Essex. Serving business and private clients, Gepp Solicitors pride themselves on offering a traditional personal service. Very few businesses reach their 250th birthday. They have, and they believe the reason for their longevity is that their blend of the highest levels of service, professionalism and legal advice has won the trust of the County after faithfully serving it for generations.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000