Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP

01245 493 939

Gepp Solicitors can trace its lineage back to 1768 when Edward Gepp, Attorney, set up his first office in one of the rooms of his house in Chelmsford High Street. Today the firm is a Full-Service Law Firm with over 100 staff which has a reputation for finding the right advice for their clients. Providing an excellent service is one of their goals and the team at Gepp Solicitors review their feedback in order to improve both the quality of service and legal advice they offer.

4.8/5 647 Customer Reviews 647
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors

647 Customer Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    577
  • Very Good
    44
  • Average
    8
  • Poor
    3
  • Awful
    13

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
paul
Verified paul Added 5 days ago Report to admin
January 23, 2020 20200123205220

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

l have used Gepp Chelmsford for many years after migrating from London. Work undertaken has been diverse, but completed most satisfactorily.

Solicitor named in this review: Gregory John

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kieran Carrigan
Verified Kieran Carrigan Added 5 days ago Report to admin
January 23, 2020 20200123205215

Residential Conveyancing

5

Very good efficient service, good value for money, would use again. (conveyancing/property disposal).

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jo Mathieson
Verified Jo Mathieson Added 5 days ago Report to admin
January 23, 2020 20200123205214

Residential Conveyancing

5

I have recommended Reema to my friends who are moving house. I had such an easy time with Reema and Demi who have been amazing at helping me buy my house. Efficient, contactable, kept me up to date, can't fault them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lorna Marshall
Verified Lorna Marshall Added 5 days ago Report to admin
January 23, 2020 20200123205214

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Very helpful and understanding staff.

Solicitor named in this review: Lisa Carter

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rita Wilks
Verified Rita Wilks Added 5 days ago Report to admin
January 23, 2020 20200123205210

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

All the staff were very friendly and helpful and from beginning to end I received excellent service. It was particularly useful to be given a quotation of costs at the outset and the matter was completed within the time scale agreed

Solicitor named in this review: Georgia Bolton

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified David Added 1 month ago Report to admin
December 14, 2019 20191214141317

Separation agreement

5

Filomena is very professional and astute solicitor. Importantly, for me, she had great empathy and had to time to not only hear me, but also listen to me. I didn’t feel rushed in explaining myself.

Solicitor named in this review: Filomena Sterkaj

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 06 January, 2020

Dear David, Thank you very much for your kind words about Filomena. We are glad our family team offered a fantastic service for you. Please do return to us in the future if there is anything else that we can help you with. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robert
Verified Robert Added 1 month ago Report to admin
December 05, 2019 20191205205202

Crime

4

Following a potential worrying report to the Police and my employer being advised I was extremely worried about the situation. I was able to quickly consult the appropriate solicitor who fully discussed the matter with me, The law as it stands, Police procedure in relation to the matter and advising me that nothing further is likely to occur and no offence occurred. Nearly 18 months have passed and I have heard nothing further concerning the matter.

Solicitor named in this review: Roger Brice

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 06 January, 2020

Dear Robert, Thank you very much for your review. We are glad our team could assist, please do return to us in the future if there is anything else that we can help you with. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified David Added 1 month ago Report to admin
December 05, 2019 20191205000000

Family Law

5

David recommends Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP

Solicitor named in this review: Filomena Sterkaj

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 06 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steven
Verified Steven Added 2 months ago Report to admin
November 27, 2019 20191127205203

Family

4

I found that Gepp and Co treated me with the utmost respect at all times and always did as I requested.

Solicitor named in this review: Sally Ward

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 04 December, 2019

Dear Steven, Thank you very much for your kind words. We're glad that you had a positive experience with Sally and that we could help you. Please do return to us in the future if there is anything else that we can help you with. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mandy Jeeves
Verified Mandy Jeeves Added 2 months ago Report to admin
November 26, 2019 20191126205202

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Gepps provided an excellent service. They wee extremely helpful. I have already recommended them to friends and family.

Solicitor named in this review: Georgia Bolton

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 04 December, 2019

Dear Mandy, Thank you very much for your lovely review, and for recommending us to your family and friends. We're glad that you had a positive experience with Georgia. Please do return to us in the future if there is anything else that we can help you with. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

trudy
trudy Added 5 days ago Report to admin
January 23, 2020
Collected on
20200123123533

trudy

1

don't go on review sites but felt I had to as very unhappy with Gepps so only one star

Was this review helpful? Yes

A
A Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
November 20, 2019
Collected on
20191120190931

A client

1

My wife and I, first time buyers tried to buy a house and we decided to use Gepps as our solicitors. This was a big mistake and resulted on us losing the house. We will try to be as honest as possible and say exactly what happened.
After requesting quotes from different solicitors we were happy with the quote Gepps gave us so we paid the deposit. After this moment, things changed and we found ourselves chasing them from day 1. We were expecting a supportive and friendly solicitor to help us with a transaction we had never made, however Mrs Worley was very unhelpful, unwilling to give us guidance and quite rude on the phone, always unhappy to talk. We felt that they were no longer interested in us since they had our deposit.
At some point we raised these concerns and communication improved on her part, however we had to chase her all the time and we always felt unguided and unsupported.

However, the real issue was that they didn't calculate the stamp duty correctly and we realised, the day before exchanging contracts, that we had to pay approx. £10000 more than expected. This is something we couldn't afford, we were told that there had been a mistake on their part and that they might be able to look into the case and try to reduce this amount but it was far too late for us. We couldn’t complete the transaction due to their terrible service and we were extremely disappointed, however not totally surprised because we could see the lack of support and communication from day 1 and now we wonder why we didn't see this coming. We never got one single apology from Mrs Worley who showed arrogance at all times, lack of support and lack of professionalism and she even accused us of not being honest with our bank.

We were gutted and very disappointed with Gepps so we decided to raise a formal complaint. We had to wait quite a long time but to be fair we have to say that we felt that they the complaint team took us seriously (for the 1st time) and looked at our concerns in detail. We were offered a refund and a £200 compensation (approx.). They also assured us that they would look into putting measures in place to avoid this happening to more people.

We do hope that our story, which is as honest as it can possibly be, help other people to choose the right solicitor and avoid Gepps.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 26 November, 2019

Dear Alvaro and Sara, I am sorry to learn of your frustration with the service that you received from our conveyancer, Charlotte Worley, during the unsuccessful purchase of your property. The comprehensive review you have posted has allowed me to examine what happened and given me the opportunity to reply personally. I apologise that the level of service that you received was not at the level that we should have provided. In light of your feedback, we have met to address your concerns and have made changes to the way that we tell clients about any increases in the Stamp Duty Land Tax (SDLT) that they may have to pay. Unfortunately, SDLT has become increasingly complex and we realise that we could have done more to help you understand the amount that you would have to pay at an earlier stage of the process. Once again, I am sorry that you have had a poor experience but I'm pleased that you felt that our complaints partner listened to you and resolved your formal complaint in a way that was acceptable to you. If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me. Best, Mike Cubbin, CEO

Nikki
Nikki Added 3 months ago Report to admin
October 01, 2019
Collected on
20191001213104

Nikki

5

We used Gepp for conveyancing after having an awful experience elsewhere and they have been simply excellent. We've had two purchases fall through (difficult vendors) and have now completed on our dream home. Our solicitor Reema and her assistant Demi have been excellent! Fast to respond and push things through to completion. We can't thank Reema enough and I would highly recommend Gepp for conveyancing - most efficient service you'll ever get!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 08 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Tracey
Tracey Added 4 months ago Report to admin
September 19, 2019
Collected on
20190919234940

Tracey

5

Wonderful and welcoming staff. Worth your buck.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 26 November, 2019

Dear Tracey, Thank you for the lovely review! Please do return to us in the future if we can help you with anything else. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Carol
Carol Added 5 months ago Report to admin
August 31, 2019
Collected on
20190831074328

Carol

5

Excellent service from all the staff

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 03 September, 2019

Dear Carol, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are pleased to have been of service. If we can be of any further help in the future please do not hesitate to come back to us. Best, Gepp Solicitors

About This Branch

Description

Gepp Solicitors can trace its lineage back to 1768 when Edward Gepp, Attorney, set up his first office in one of the rooms of his house in Chelmsford High Street. Today the firm is a Full-Service Law Firm with over 100 staff which has a reputation for finding the right advice for their clients. Providing an excellent service is one of their goals and the team at Gepp Solicitors review their feedback in order to improve both the quality of service and legal advice they offer. The Firm is organised into several different departments; Commercial Law, Criminal Law, Dispute Resolution, Employment Law, Military Law, Family Law, Private Client (dealing with Wills, Probate and Trusts as well as tax, estate and succession planning), Commercial and Residential Property and Rural Services (Agriculture Law). With its main office in Chelmsford and a smaller office in Colchester, the firm is well placed to offer its services to clients across the County of Essex. Serving business and private clients, Gepp Solicitors pride themselves on offering a traditional personal service. Very few businesses reach their 250th birthday. They have, and they believe the reason for their longevity is that their blend of the highest levels of service, professionalism and legal advice has won the trust of the County after faithfully serving it for generations.


Legal Services
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Driving Whilst Unfit
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Part Time Workers
  • Family Mediation
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Insurance brokers
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Mobile phone offences
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Flexible Working
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Trusts
  • Drugs offences
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Employment Contracts
  • Housing disputes
  • Engineers
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Goods vehicles - operators licence
  • New Driver Provisions
  • Valuers
  • Pension Law
  • Special Reasons
  • Children
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Property Disputes
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Separation Agreement
  • Accountants
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Repossessions
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Recognition of disqualification
  • Early return of driving licence
  • Failure to provide a blood sample
  • Professional Conduct
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Collaborative Law
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Family law
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Remortgaging
  • Discretionary disqualification
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Drug driving
  • Financial advisors
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
  • Leasehold properties
  • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
  • Financial Matters
  • Criminal Damage
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Convicted in absence
  • Right to Manage
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Professional trustees
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Separation
  • Gardening Leave
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Notice of intended prosecution
  • Civil partnerships
  • Death by dangerous driving
  • Buying at auction
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • IT professionals
  • Architects
  • Failure to provide a specimen
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • TUPE
  • Failing to notify DVLA
  • Injunctions
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Wills
  • Housing Management
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Planning
  • Extending your Lease
  • Taxi offences
  • Media and Sports
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Social Services
  • Litigation Law
  • Military
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Travel rights
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Lease Extensions
  • Assault
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Professional Negligence
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Family Leave
  • Failure to furnish identification
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Driving without insurance
  • Child contact
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Transfer of title
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Tax consultants
  • Injunctions
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Disqualification removal
  • Exceptional Hardship
  • Speeding offences
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Surveyors
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Death By Careless Driving
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Stress at Work
  • Appeal driving conviction
  • Trusts
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Redundancy
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Signs and signal offences
  • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Dangerous driving
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Pension and property advice
  • Tax
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Consumer Rights
  • Business Crime
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Dangerous vehicle conditions
  • Drink driving
  • Housing Associations
  • Driving without a licence
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Professional Discipline
  • Child Law
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Probate
  • Transfers of equity
  • Driving whilst disqualified
  • Serious injury by dangerous driving
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Regulatory Defence
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Restoration of licence
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Fraud
  • Driving Without Due Care
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Road rage incidents
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Careless driving
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Barristers
  • Stopping and reporting
  • Drunk in charge
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Theft
  • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Equestrian property
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Employment - business
  • Competition law
  • Corporate Law
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Intellectual Property
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Tax
  • Environmental policy law
  • Franchising
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Developer disputes
  • Commercial Leases
  • Rights of way issues
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Purchase of development land
  • Share option schemes
  • Asset Tracing
  • Management buyouts
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Planning law
  • Farming disputes
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Setting up a business
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Finance
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Data Protection
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Summary Judgment
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Mediation
  • Agency agreements
  • Development plot sales
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Corporate finance
  • Credit Control
  • Statutory Demands
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Commercial Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000