Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP

01245 493 939

Also known as - Gepp Solicitors

Gepp Solicitors can trace its lineage back to 1768 when Edward Gepp, Attorney, set up his first office in one of the rooms of his house in Chelmsford High Street. Today the firm is a Full-Service Law Firm with over 100 staff which has a reputation for finding the right advice for their clients. Providing an excellent service is one of their goals and the team at Gepp Solicitors review their feedback in order to improve both the quality of service and legal advice they offer.

4.8/5 706 Customer Reviews 706 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors

706 Customer Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    631
  • Very Good
    47
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    3
  • Awful
    14

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Roger Tydeman and Elaine Ellis
Verified Roger Tydeman and Elaine Ellis Added 1 week ago Report to admin
March 24, 2020 20200324205203

Residential Conveyancing

5

We were quite satisfied with the way your company handled our business

Was this review helpful? Yes

Janet
Verified Janet Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
March 17, 2020 20200317205203

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

I received a very efficient, professional and helpful service in the drawing up of my will and lasting powers of attorney and was pleasantly surprised by the cost.

Solicitor named in this review: Lisa Carter

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jean Miller
Verified Jean Miller Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 14, 2020 20200314205204

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

100% satisfied with all the information and help I received from initial enquiry to completion of the work.

Solicitor named in this review: Georgia Bolton

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ian Shipton
Verified Ian Shipton Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 14, 2020 20200314205204

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Excellent service. No adverse comments.

Solicitor named in this review: Gregory John

Was this review helpful? Yes

Joan Claydon
Verified Joan Claydon Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 14, 2020 20200314205204

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

I think the money should have been paid out altogether not two people having paid so much. It could have made things difficult.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul Snook
Verified Paul Snook Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 12, 2020 20200312205203

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Very satisfied with the service received. Would recommend Gepp to friends.

Solicitor named in this review: Georgia Bolton

Was this review helpful? Yes

Janet
Verified Janet Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 12, 2020 20200312205203

Employment

5

I was very pleased with the professional way the written material I provided was assessed, and with the clarity of the advice provided. I felt listened to.

Solicitor named in this review: Alexandra Dean

Was this review helpful? Yes

helen
helen Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 12, 2020 20200312134324

i would NEVER recommend using this firm

1

We used Gepps for our house move. They were slow to respond, if they responded at all, and they really came across as not wanting to have to communicate with us. I should have been able to get a discount through my work but they refused to give it. If it hadn't been for our estate agent who wavered their fee so we could get our discount, they wouldn't have given it to us. This suggests to me that they do not value the client experience at all.

Once the move was over, we went to another solicitor to get our Wills and Declaration of Trust done (because we never wanted to have to deal with Gepps again). Thankfully, we got this done otherwise we wouldn't have found out that Gepps had registered our property with the Land Register incorrectly. Once we contacted them to get the mistake corrected, they then had to cheek to make us pay the land registry fee again. (Although this was only a small amount, it was the principle that we were having to pay when they made the mistake). We have since found out that, even though we moved in August, they owed us over £200 and they had not told us by March. If we had not noticed their mistake with the Land Registry, I don't know when they would have deigned to have returned the money.

I really would advise anyone to just stay away from this company. There are far more efficient and friendly solicitors out there. The only positive is that they have a really friendly and helpful receptionist.

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 12 March, 2020

Dear Helen, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We are sorry that the service we offered in 2019 did not meet with your expectations. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please do feel free to contact us at any point. Kind regards, Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Avril Cartwright
Verified Avril Cartwright Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 10, 2020 20200310205204

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

No criticism as we received excellent service throughout

Solicitor named in this review: Gregory John

Was this review helpful? Yes

Malcolm Nunn
Verified Malcolm Nunn Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
March 07, 2020 20200307205203

Residential Conveyancing

5

Gepp Solicitors have been very professional, far superior than others I have used. Communication was clear and quick resulting in a speedy conclusion to my conveyancing

Solicitor named in this review: Shah Bakar

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Jane
Jane Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 12, 2020
Collected on
20200312122930

Jane

5

Excellent service, provided by Michael Callaghan and his team to resolve our problem very promptly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

lynn
lynn Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 03, 2020
Collected on
20200303125249

lynn

5

I would like to thank Michael the Notary for his help in sorting out our property sale (overseas) I found him professional polite and very informative, especially as I have never used a Notary before I would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 03 March, 2020

Dear Lynn, Thank you very much for your five star review! Our Notary service is relatively new, so this feedback is most welcome; we are glad that we could make the process informative and easy for you. We will pass on your kind comments to Michael Callaghan. Please do return to us in the future if there is anything else that we can help you with. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Harriet
Harriet Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 11, 2020
Collected on
20200211163758

Harriet

5

Swift, compassionate and straightforward. Michael Callaghan, Partner, assisted me with a matter I wanted turned around in just one week even though he was clearly very busy at the time. I could not recommend Gepp enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 11 February, 2020

Dear Harriet, Thank you very much for your five star review! We will pass on your kind comments to Michael Callaghan, who will be very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the service provided. Please do return to us in the future if there is anything else that we can help you with in the future. Best, Gepp Solicitors

trudy
trudy Added 2 months ago Report to admin
January 23, 2020
Collected on
20200123123533

trudy

1

don't go on review sites but felt I had to as very unhappy with Gepps so only one star

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 February, 2020

Dear Trudy, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We are sorry that the service we offered did not meet with your expectations. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please contact me at daviss@gepp.co.uk or 01245 228133. Kind regards, Spencer Davis

A
A Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
November 20, 2019
Collected on
20191120190931

A client

1

My wife and I, first time buyers tried to buy a house and we decided to use Gepps as our solicitors. This was a big mistake and resulted on us losing the house. We will try to be as honest as possible and say exactly what happened.
After requesting quotes from different solicitors we were happy with the quote Gepps gave us so we paid the deposit. After this moment, things changed and we found ourselves chasing them from day 1. We were expecting a supportive and friendly solicitor to help us with a transaction we had never made, however Mrs Worley was very unhelpful, unwilling to give us guidance and quite rude on the phone, always unhappy to talk. We felt that they were no longer interested in us since they had our deposit.
At some point we raised these concerns and communication improved on her part, however we had to chase her all the time and we always felt unguided and unsupported.

However, the real issue was that they didn't calculate the stamp duty correctly and we realised, the day before exchanging contracts, that we had to pay approx. £10000 more than expected. This is something we couldn't afford, we were told that there had been a mistake on their part and that they might be able to look into the case and try to reduce this amount but it was far too late for us. We couldn’t complete the transaction due to their terrible service and we were extremely disappointed, however not totally surprised because we could see the lack of support and communication from day 1 and now we wonder why we didn't see this coming. We never got one single apology from Mrs Worley who showed arrogance at all times, lack of support and lack of professionalism and she even accused us of not being honest with our bank.

We were gutted and very disappointed with Gepps so we decided to raise a formal complaint. We had to wait quite a long time but to be fair we have to say that we felt that they the complaint team took us seriously (for the 1st time) and looked at our concerns in detail. We were offered a refund and a £200 compensation (approx.). They also assured us that they would look into putting measures in place to avoid this happening to more people.

We do hope that our story, which is as honest as it can possibly be, help other people to choose the right solicitor and avoid Gepps.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 26 November, 2019

Dear Alvaro and Sara, I am sorry to learn of your frustration with the service that you received from our conveyancer, Charlotte Worley, during the unsuccessful purchase of your property. The comprehensive review you have posted has allowed me to examine what happened and given me the opportunity to reply personally. I apologise that the level of service that you received was not at the level that we should have provided. In light of your feedback, we have met to address your concerns and have made changes to the way that we tell clients about any increases in the Stamp Duty Land Tax (SDLT) that they may have to pay. Unfortunately, SDLT has become increasingly complex and we realise that we could have done more to help you understand the amount that you would have to pay at an earlier stage of the process. Once again, I am sorry that you have had a poor experience but I'm pleased that you felt that our complaints partner listened to you and resolved your formal complaint in a way that was acceptable to you. If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me. Best, Mike Cubbin, CEO

About This Branch

Description

Gepp Solicitors can trace its lineage back to 1768 when Edward Gepp, Attorney, set up his first office in one of the rooms of his house in Chelmsford High Street. Today the firm is a Full-Service Law Firm with over 100 staff which has a reputation for finding the right advice for their clients. Providing an excellent service is one of their goals and the team at Gepp Solicitors review their feedback in order to improve both the quality of service and legal advice they offer. The Firm is organised into several different departments; Commercial Law, Criminal Law, Dispute Resolution, Employment Law, Military Law, Family Law, Private Client (dealing with Wills, Probate and Trusts as well as tax, estate and succession planning), Commercial and Residential Property and Rural Services (Agriculture Law). With its main office in Chelmsford and a smaller office in Colchester, the firm is well placed to offer its services to clients across the County of Essex. Serving business and private clients, Gepp Solicitors pride themselves on offering a traditional personal service. Very few businesses reach their 250th birthday. They have, and they believe the reason for their longevity is that their blend of the highest levels of service, professionalism and legal advice has won the trust of the County after faithfully serving it for generations.


Legal Services
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Media and Sports
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Consumer Rights
  • Restoration of licence
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Fraud
  • Transfer of title
  • Civil partnerships
  • Trusts
  • Property Disputes
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Disqualification removal
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Tax
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Professional Conduct
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Architects
  • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Separation Agreement
  • IT professionals
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Signs and signal offences
  • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Professional trustees
  • Death by dangerous driving
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Failure to furnish identification
  • Collaborative Law
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Extending your Lease
  • Convicted in absence
  • Discretionary disqualification
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Assault
  • Child Law
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Insurance brokers
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Housing disputes
  • Theft
  • Professional Discipline
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Speeding offences
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Death By Careless Driving
  • Dangerous vehicle conditions
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Drunk in charge
  • Litigation Law
  • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Driving without insurance
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Injunctions
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Driving Whilst Unfit
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Driving Without Due Care
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Barristers
  • TUPE
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Careless driving
  • Valuers
  • Drugs offences
  • Part Time Workers
  • Buying at auction
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Flexible Working
  • Lease Extensions
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Child contact
  • Separation
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Professional Negligence
  • Financial advisors
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Engineers
  • Children
  • Drug driving
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Wills
  • Social Services
  • Family Mediation
  • Employment Contracts
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Financial Matters
  • Injunctions
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Drink driving
  • Housing Management
  • Mobile phone offences
  • Road rage incidents
  • Accountants
  • Family Leave
  • Serious injury by dangerous driving
  • Pension Law
  • Dangerous driving
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Surveyors
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Transfers of equity
  • Probate
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Trusts
  • Leasehold properties
  • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
  • Redundancy
  • Planning
  • Gardening Leave
  • Tax consultants
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Travel rights
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Housing Associations
  • Failure to provide a blood sample
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Pension and property advice
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Military
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Stopping and reporting
  • Failure to provide a specimen
  • Criminal Damage
  • Stress at Work
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Special Reasons
  • Repossessions
  • Right to Manage
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Failing to notify DVLA
  • Driving whilst disqualified
  • Driving without a licence
  • Senior Executives
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Taxi offences
  • Appeal driving conviction
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Notice of intended prosecution
  • Family law
  • Exceptional Hardship
  • Business Crime
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Goods vehicles - operators licence
  • New Driver Provisions
  • Early return of driving licence
  • Recognition of disqualification
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Remortgaging
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Credit Control
  • Environmental policy law
  • Agency agreements
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Equestrian property
  • Management buyouts
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Corporate Law
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Competition law
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Asset Tracing
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Finance
  • Share option schemes
  • Developer disputes
  • Planning law
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Franchising
  • Rights of way issues
  • Mediation
  • Employment - business
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Purchase of development land
  • Data Protection
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Summary Judgment
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Intellectual Property
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Commercial Leases
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Statutory Demands
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Tax
  • Farming disputes
  • Development plot sales
  • Setting up a business
  • Commercial Law
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Corporate finance
  • Agricultural land for sale or development

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000