Debenhams Ottaway Solicitors

01923 857 171

We are a multi-service, innovative law firm based in Hertfordshire, known for delivering clients outstanding service and our award winning legal advice. We are proud of our past, progressive in our outlook and unrelenting in our dedication to growth through doing more for our people, our personal and business clients and our communities.

4.7/5 69 Customer Reviews 69
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Debenhams Ottaway Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Debenhams Ottaway Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

69 Customer Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    58
  • Very Good
    6
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    4

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Louise
Louise Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 05, 2019 20190805010000

I very much appreciated all that you did to get the deal to completion!

4

Thank you for handing the sale of our house. I very much appreciated all that you did to get the deal to completion! From my side it was very painless.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Richard Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 04, 2019 20190804010000

Thanks!

5

Thank you for your assistance in completing the sale of a public company he was the managing director of and majority shareholder]. I appreciate that you weren’t involved from the start...but you are a sure credit to Debenhams Ottaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Michael Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 04, 2019 20190804010000

He is one of the good guys!

5

Nigel is a highly personable individual with a strong customer focus and commitment to quality service delivery. Nigel manages to combine commercial, result focused action with a friendly and very human interaction.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Caroline
Caroline Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 03, 2019 20190803010000

Communication was great.

5

I felt people got back to me with answers to my questions and the printed breakdowns of the process of buying a house were very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anne
Anne Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 02, 2019 20190802010000

Karen is someone in whom we have considerable trust.

5

Karen is a highly efficient solicitor who guided us through the conveyancing process in a very friendly and professional manner.

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
James Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 01, 2019 20190801010000

The service and advice was excellent throughout.

4

Thank you to you and your team for all the help with the purchase of our new home. We’ll be back in touch with Debenhams Ottaway to deal with other matters. In the meantime, I have recommended you to a number of colleagues.

Was this review helpful? Yes

jason
jason Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 31, 2019 20190731095124

Great client service

5

Rachel Hyndman is an excellent lawyer who has recently written Wills for me and my wife. She clearly understands the area of Wills and trusts extremely well and found solutions to some of our more complex issues. But above all she is a delight to work with, down to earth, explaining everything carefully and in plain English.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Howard
Howard Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 19, 2019 20190719010000

It is a pleasure working with the Debenhams Ottaway employment team.

5

My thanks to Louise Attrup for her speed, diligence and closing before the deadline.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ovidiu
Ovidiu Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 18, 2019 20190718010000

I just want to say thanks so much for your wonderful services.

5

I just want to say thanks so much for your wonderful services.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bryan
Bryan Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 17, 2019 20190717010000

Absolutely excellent service.

5

I dealt with Simon Tucker on a dispute I was having with a letting agent. Simon gave great, practical advice, which ensured the matter reached the conclusion in the way I wanted in a reasonable timeframe. I found Debenhams Ottaway to be very responsive and trustworthy - their main concern was what was right for me as a client, not how much money they were going to make from the work.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Jay
Jay Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 21, 2019
Collected on
20190921102629

Jay

5

We recently dealt with Ruth Boulton who acted as the sellers solicitor (I work for the agent who dealt with the sale) and had a great experience. She helped get the sale over the line and would work with her again!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Leivi
Leivi Added 8 months ago Report to admin
March 28, 2019
Collected on
20190328013340

Leivi

5

great staff, knowledgeable and organised, brilliant at their work. I highly recommend their legal services.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michele
Michele Added 1 year ago Report to admin
February 02, 2018
Collected on
20180202123645

Michele

5

Excellent and fast service from this firm which dealt with the sale and purchase of properties on my behalf.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Francesca
Francesca Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 16, 2017
Collected on
20170316102053

Francesca

5

Dealt with Peter Hayes from this firm for years and always received an excellent service

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lewis
Lewis Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 05, 2019
Collected on
20191005055535

Lewis

1

Invited me in early for a coffee, then billed me for that time!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Debenhams Ottaway Solicitors responded to this review on 19 January, 2017

Dear Mr Johnstone, Providing great client service is very important to the team at Debenhams Ottaway so I am very sorry to see your review. I would like to talk with you to find out more. Please feel free to call me on 01727 837161 - Julia Taylor, Director.

About This Branch

Description

We are proud of our past, progressive in our outlook and unrelenting in our dedication to growth through doing more for our people, our personal and business clients and our communities.


Legal Services
  • Redundancy
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Part Time Workers
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Professional Negligence law
  • IT professionals
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Surveyors
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Annulment
  • Domestic Violence
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Architects
  • Child contact
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Professional Negligence
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Medical Negligence
  • Insurance brokers
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Elderly care
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Litigation Law
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Pension and property advice
  • Accountants
  • Legal aid
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Child Custody
  • Employment Law
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Injunctions
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Military
  • Barristers
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Housing disputes
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Separation Agreement
  • Planning
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Family Leave
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Media and Sports
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Transfers of equity
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Child Abduction
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Buying at auction
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Child Access
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Remortgaging
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Family Mediation
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Flexible Working
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Senior Executives
  • Child Law
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • TUPE
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Second charges
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Housing Associations
  • Separation
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Financial advisors
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Pay Issue
  • Disputed Wills
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Right to Manage
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Probate
  • Child Maintenance
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Valuers
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Dental Negligence
  • Tax consultants
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Employment Contracts
  • Wills
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Engineers
  • International
  • Property Disputes
  • Housing Management
  • Professional trustees
  • Disputed Probate
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • International Divorce
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Social Services
  • Children
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Professional Discipline
  • Divorce
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Financial Matters
  • Trusts
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Family law
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Repossessions
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Civil partnerships
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Purchase of development land
  • Commercial Law
  • Contract law
  • Rights of way issues
  • Management buyouts
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Summary Judgment
  • Data Protection
  • Statutory Demands
  • Development plot sales
  • Asset Tracing
  • Developer disputes
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Employment - business
  • Slander
  • Agency agreements
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Intellectual Property
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Credit Control
  • Corporate finance
  • Competition law
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Tax
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Corporate Law
  • Commercial Leases
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Debt Recovery
  • Finance
  • Franchising
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Share option schemes
  • Environmental policy law
  • Insurance
  • Setting up a business
  • Small businesses
  • Planning law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1800
  • 0900 - 1800
  • 0900 - 2000
  • 0900 - 1800
  • 0900 - 1800
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000