Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Prettys Solicitors LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 91%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Prettys Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 98%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Prettys Solicitors LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Prettys Solicitors LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 100%
No 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Prettys Solicitors LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Prettys Solicitors LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Prettys Solicitors LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    170
  • Very Good

    18
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    4

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Prettys Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

July 01, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Making a will

I went to Prettys to make a will and Lorna guided me through the process. She has a great legal knowledge and made the process very simple and straightforward. I found her to be professional, but also very friendly and approachable. I was kept fully aware and her advice was easy to understand.

Was this review helpful?

Mr & Mrs Harris

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Prettys Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Mr & Mrs Harris

July 01, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Smooth process from start to finish

The advice given was honest, straightforward and sensible. The service I received was great value for money, and Lorna was very friendly and approachable.

Was this review helpful?

Caroline

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Prettys Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Caroline

July 01, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Would recommend

I found Prettys to be very professional, and were a pleasure to deal with. I would definitely use again, and recommend to others.

Was this review helpful?

Mr & Mrs M Porter

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Prettys Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Mr & Mrs M Porter

June 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Making our will

Having recently lost our son we needed to rewrite our will. We found our lawyer was very sensitive to out situation. We never felt rushed or pressured and it was handled with care. They gave us good advice and was all handled swiftly and professionally. 10/10

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Prettys Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

June 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Last Will & Testament

Having suffered v. serious illness requiring very serious treatment, I approached the making of a will feeling nervous and a little weak.

Looking back I cannot believe how efficiently, and with kindness the will was soon completed. I am completely happy with the result.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Prettys Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

June 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Would use again

Prettys were professional, efficient and friendly. They were a pleasure to deal with and I would use again. My solicitor made the entire process painless and straightforward.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Prettys Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

June 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent

Prettys provided and excellent, timely and knowledgeable service. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Marcus

Matter Type:

Family law

Marcus

May 25, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very happy

The expert advice and service I received from Georgina was invaluable and ensured a very quick and fair outcome to my situation. She was always available to help and any queries were dealt with very speedily. She has an easy manner and I always felt that she had my interests and well being very much at the forefront of her mind. Costs were completely transparent from the start. I would thoroughly recommend Georgina and would like to thank her for her excellent service.

Was this review helpful?

Christine

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Prettys Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Christine

May 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fixed fees

Lorna is very knowledgeable and proactive. The process was smooth, and the advice was easy to understand. I would use Prettys again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Prettys Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

May 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Refreshing approach

I would use Prettys again because it was a first class service and a smooth process. Laura was a pleasure to deal with and has great legal knowledge. The responses were timely and I was kept fully aware throughout.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Tim

Tim

April 27, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tim

Extremely professional , and helpful, highly recommended, very impressed

Was this review helpful?

Julian

Julian

January 02, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Julian

What a fabulous conveyancing team. We wanted to move house before Christmas, so like most people we were in a hurry to get the conveyancing done. We used Penny and her team about 10 years ago, she sorted out a "land locked" problem a previous Ipswich firm had not picked up on - I chose Prettys because I knew they covered every little detail and were a safe pair of hands. This time they picked up and sorted a land registry problem and despite the additional work and complications they got everything through in 8 weeks and hit the deadline. Thanks Prettys.

Was this review helpful?

Dave

Dave

December 13, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dave

Great Solicitors, everybody we have met has been lovely, helpful and professional.

Was this review helpful?

julia

julia

December 07, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

julia

emma is very understanding while we are going through difficult times with our loved 1 great listener professional and listens been great help recommend

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Andrew

November 07, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Andrew

Always polite and helpful. Visited their art exibition for local artists , which they support at no cost to artists. Prettys most helpful in resolving House Deeds issue.

Was this review helpful?

Prettys Solicitors LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Prettys is one of East Anglia’s larger law firms, with an office in Ipswich. We are a recognised leader in both commercial law and personal law, with wide-ranging experience acting on behalf of both UK and non-UK clients. Founded in 1906 through a partnership of Bernard Pretty and Arthur Leighton, today the firm is widely known for providing effective advice and innovative solutions to businesses and individuals. Our solicitors work regionally across East Anglia, nationally and internationally, and we are passionate about taking care of each one of our clients on an individual basis. We have been awarded the Law Society’s prestigious Lexcel quality mark for our commitment to providing effective practice management and excellent client care. We are committed to recruiting, training and developing lawyers from their first day at work through to becoming a partner in the firm. Prettys is a member of Galexy, the international association of lawyers. Prettys is regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Terrorism Abroad
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
    • Maritime and Shipping
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment