Bell Lamb & Joynson

03444 124348

Bell Lamb and & Joynson Solicitors were established in 1821, and being one the oldest firms in the North West of England. We have nearly 200 years’ worth of experience and expertise to call upon in assisting you in your legal matters. From our office network in Liverpool, Runcorn and Warrington we serve the residents across the North West of England and beyond. Our biggest strength and why we are continually recommended by clients is the personal approach that we provide together with treating clients as individuals and their issues as our own.

4.9/5 31 Customer Reviews 31
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Bell Lamb & Joynson compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Bell Lamb & Joynson on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Bell Lamb & Joynson offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

31 Customer Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    29
  • Very Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Jamie
Jamie Added 1 month ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
July 26, 2019 20190726125715

Mixed review but overall use another solicitor

2

This may have been the worst service I have ever had. Period!

I felt there was zero communication or help with this company through 90% of my journey buying my first property. I was told to send my deposit and told the completion was done when in fact it wasn’t due to incompetence and lack of communication from BL&J. I was ignored several times on emails, I received no further help when I needed to ask questions as I have never done this before. I spoke to one of employees on the phone regarding the miscommunication with BL&J and the vendors solicitors for completion and she proceeded to talk down to me and blaming other people.

I could not believe she would talk to a client like this and how ridiculous she sounded.

The process in all took nearly 5 months and I got ingored several times whilst emailing them.

However, two senior employees realised how I have been treated whilst they where not dealing with my case and proceeded to help me in the kindest manner and apologised for there colleagues actions.
Once again thank you to them people.

Overall I will never use this firm again and I advise anybody else to do the same!

A representative from Bell Lamb & Joynson responded to this review on 31 July, 2019

Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review. We welcome all feedback we receive, good and bad, as we are always looking at ways to improve the service that we offer. We have investigated the matters you raise, and we apologise if you feel that our service did not meet the high standards that we set and we of course take your feedback seriously and will use it to improve the service that we offer. We don’t always get it right, but you will see that ordinarily we have very high levels of client satisfaction which has been recognised nationally with this firm winning an award for client care just last week. We appreciate that buying a home is incredibly frustrating and the process is very slow and is often outside of our control. We as a firm have invested heavily in IT to help speed the process up, however much of the industry is yet to adopt a more modern approach in this regard. The average time that it takes to complete a residential property transaction in England and Wales is now 18 weeks. Only a few years ago it was 12 weeks. This demonstrate that in an age when generally a lot of what we do in life is quicker and easier, this Is not the case with residential conveyancing. We are pioneering firm in this regard and are actively engaging to help improve the process. We appreciate that does little to alleviate your frustration but those are the simple facts. We note that your transaction was completed in just over 16 weeks which is inside the national average. We are normally able to complete matters well inside the national average but that was not the case with your matter. Several factors played a part in this which included poor communication from the seller’s solicitor, documents having to be signed and returned from abroad (and then being incorrectly executed) and confusion about the mortgage deed. At the outset of the matter we provide a full detail of the process and indicate what is required at each step together with our service standards, which includes that all emails are responded to within 2 working days and all telephone calls if we are not able to deal with in the first instance within 1 working day. Every single email and telephone call from you were responded to within our agreed and published service levels and furthermore, the majority on the same day. In addition, you were communicated key stage updates as the matter progressed and were able to track the process online or via our mobile phone app which would have advised you as to where your transaction was up to and what the next step in the process were. Unfortunately, in an effort to complete to your desired time frame and a communication issue between this firm and the seller’s solicitor the initial completion was aborted resulting in a week’s delay. This was unfortunate and can happen in conveyancing. We note that you comment yourself that this was rectified quickly and clearly to your satisfaction which demonstrates our high standards of customer care that we aim to deliver. We are sorry to hear that you feel that our service levels did not meet your expectations and we will feed that back to the team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robert
Verified Robert Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 05, 2019 20190705151714

Fab service

5

Laura and her team were absolutely brilliant
Would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes

Suzanne
Verified Suzanne Added 7 months ago Report to admin
February 14, 2019 20190214084609

Fantastic with divorce

5

Friendly yet professional all the way through my divorce. Kept me informed, reassured me through the worst parts and helped me to get an outcome that was perfect for me and my family. I cannot thank you enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stuart
Verified Stuart Added 9 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
December 07, 2018 20181207204202

Will, probate, conveyance

5

First class service
Polite, professional , with key stage updates
Would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nick
Verified Nick Added 10 months ago Report to admin
October 22, 2018 20181022091934

Excellent personal service

5

The team at BLJ (especially Peter Green and Jeremy Rawson) provided me with excellent service throughout the duration of my case

A representative from Bell Lamb & Joynson responded to this review on 04 November, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lydia
Verified Lydia Added 11 months ago Report to admin
October 19, 2018 20181019200209

Family law and also criminal law

5

At first I was recommended BLJ by a friend during a rather difficult period with my ex partner father of my child, which ended up in the family courts. I then also used them for criminal law and again advice regarding my family during that time. The solicitor s I had we’re brilliant honest, helpful and hardworking for me and my family.

A representative from Bell Lamb & Joynson responded to this review on 04 November, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Margaret
Verified Margaret Added 12 months ago Report to admin
September 18, 2018 20180918212748

House purchase and sale

5

All went smoothly with my house purchase and selling my solicitor and assistant were very good .

A representative from Bell Lamb & Joynson responded to this review on 19 September, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rosalie
Verified Rosalie Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 22, 2019 20190822201816

So kind and helpful.

5

Rachel, Ciera and Tiffany were with me every step of the way through the conveyancing process. Every phone call was returned or answered within a few minutes. Their price for their services was second to none and they responded super quick when I first rang to say I was accepting a quote I had found online. The only thing I would advise is to keep in contact with everyone via telephone rather than relying on the app they offer as it doesn't seem to update as quickly as it could, but the fact they have an app helps by giving you a detailed idea of the time line of the process if you are new to buying a house.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 26, 2019 20190726130558

Excellent

5

All i can say is THANKYOU to all the team in walton vale....felt comfortable as soon as we walked into office....kept upto date from beginning to end of trial. I recommend them to anyone... Deserve more than 5stars. Thankyou again to all the team. From pam

Was this review helpful? Yes

Terence
Verified Terence Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 24, 2019 20190724203016

House Sale - Frodsham, Cheshire 2019

5

I used Bell, Lamb & Joynson for the sale of my house in Frodsham.

I was very happy with the service I received. Their online system for tracking the progress of my sale was very impressive and easy to use. I received regular updates on progress and any queries I raised were responded to very promptly.

I would definitely recommend BLJ and would use their services again in the future.

T. Vaughan

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

As a firm we have specialist 24 hour, 365 days a year criminal department with solicitors that are highly respected leaders in their field having being involved in some of the most prominent criminal trials in the North West of England and beyond. We are in the top 20% of criminal law providers by volume in England and Wales. A family department dealing with all aspects of public and private family law with vastly experienced solicitors on hand to assist you in complexities of the issues surrounding your family. In so far as the firm’s private client departments you can rest assured that whether it’s the first time you are buying a house or you are moving onto your subsequent home, if its making a will or lasting power of attorney or dealing with the probate of a loved one’s estate we at BLJ are here to help and support you across our office network in, Liverpool, Runcorn and Warrington.


Practice Area

Criminal Law, Conveyancing, Family Law, Motor & Road Traffic Law, Personal Injury, Powers of Attorney, Wills & Probate.


Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000