Bell Lamb & Joynson

03444 124348

Bell Lamb and & Joynson Solicitors were established in 1821, and being one the oldest firms in the North West of England. We have nearly 200 years’ worth of experience and expertise to call upon in assisting you in your legal matters. From our office network in Liverpool, Runcorn and Warrington we serve the residents across the North West of England and beyond. Our biggest strength and why we are continually recommended by clients is the personal approach that we provide together with treating clients as individuals and their issues as our own.

4.9/5 22 Customer Reviews 22
Recommended by
23 Verified Clients
like Stuart and Suzanne
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Bell Lamb & Joynson compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Bell Lamb & Joynson on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Bell Lamb & Joynson offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

22 Customer Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    21
  • Very Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Suzanne
Verified Suzanne Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 14, 2019 20190214084609

Fantastic with divorce

5

Friendly yet professional all the way through my divorce. Kept me informed, reassured me through the worst parts and helped me to get an outcome that was perfect for me and my family. I cannot thank you enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stuart
Verified Stuart Added 5 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
December 07, 2018 20181207204202

Will, probate, conveyance

5

First class service
Polite, professional , with key stage updates
Would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nick
Verified Nick Added 6 months ago Report to admin
October 22, 2018 20181022091934

Excellent personal service

5

The team at BLJ (especially Peter Green and Jeremy Rawson) provided me with excellent service throughout the duration of my case

A representative from Bell Lamb & Joynson responded to this review on 04 November, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lydia
Verified Lydia Added 7 months ago Report to admin
October 19, 2018 20181019200209

Family law and also criminal law

5

At first I was recommended BLJ by a friend during a rather difficult period with my ex partner father of my child, which ended up in the family courts. I then also used them for criminal law and again advice regarding my family during that time. The solicitor s I had we’re brilliant honest, helpful and hardworking for me and my family.

A representative from Bell Lamb & Joynson responded to this review on 04 November, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Margaret
Verified Margaret Added 8 months ago Report to admin
September 18, 2018 20180918212748

House purchase and sale

5

All went smoothly with my house purchase and selling my solicitor and assistant were very good .

A representative from Bell Lamb & Joynson responded to this review on 19 September, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Angharad
Verified Angharad Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 07, 2019 20190507113149

Very professional, helpful and efficient process

5

As a first time buyer, the experience of dealing with Bell Lamb & Joynson was very straightforward, all steps were clearly explained and I was kept informed throughout the whole process. My solicitors were Amy Keggin and Cíara Furey and they were both very friendly, helpful, professional and informative throughout the whole process. I was even emailed and provided documents out of hours, which was very useful for me. It took less than 2 months for exchange and completion and this was due to the efficient and smooth running process of Bell Lamb & Joynson. I particularly liked the online portal checklist and the automatic emails, which informed of the steps that had been completed. Overall, I was very impressed with the service provided; I highly recommend Bell Lamb & Joynson for conveyancing and would happily be using them again in the future, thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
Verified James Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 07, 2019 20190407175817

Great Advice and Outcome

5

From he outset Mike gave us a realistic assessment of possible outcomes and advised best strategy considering circumstances.

The approach was balanced explaining potential risks and benefits and resulted in a positive outcome.

Overall we were very impressed with the service provided.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Denis
Verified Denis Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 19, 2019 20190319165920

my case

5

I gave some comments regarding the great help Darren Jones provided, on the questionnaire attached to the client care letter. Unfortunately, I had not mentioned Jeremy Rawson who represented me at QE II Crown Court, and without whom, I dread to think what the outcome would have been for me. In that daunting environment, he dealt with my case in a truly professional and sterling way.

Solicitor being reviewed: Jeremy Donald Rawson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Mark Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 15, 2019 20190315145146

Purchase and sale bell lamb and Joynson

5

My sale and purchase was very smooth on behalf of the bell lamb & joynson, very helpful and professional. I’d like to personally thank Tia Bazley who made everything easy, and was very efficient going above and beyond to make my transactions less stressful. Would defiantly recommend and would happily use again in the future, thanks again .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Polly
Verified Polly Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 07, 2019 20190307110254

Excellent service

5

Cíara Furey handled my property purchase from start to finish. As a first time buyer I was unsure of the procedures but Cíara was very helpful and explained each stage to me, laying out which actions I needed to take or what information I should provide, and what she would handle for me.

Cíara was very approachable and friendly. She kept me updated and I always knew what was going on. Any delays on the sellers’ side was always chased up promptly.

I felt very confident that Cíara and her colleagues handled the purchase efficiently and professionally throughout and highly recommend Bell Lamb & Johnston.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Bell Lamb & Joynson

  • Ruth Scarisbrick

    Ruth joined the firm in November 1985 after completing her articles with Hereford City Council where she was fortunate to receive a broad training in all aspects of civil law. Ruth quickly found her aptitude was for family law and has specialised in divorce, children and care work for the past twenty years. Ruth has been a member of the Law Society’s Children Panel since 1996 and was one of the first Resolution accredited specialists. Ruth is keen to see her cases through from start to finish and wherever possible conducts her own advocacy in the Family Proceedings, County and High Courts. PROFESSIONAL QUALIFICATIONS 1982 BA (Hons) Law North Staffs Polytechnic 1985 Admitted as a solicitor 1996 Children Panel 1989 Resolution (formerly Solicitors’ Family Law Association) Accredited Specialist PERSONAL: Ruth married Stuart in 1987 and at the same time took up supporting Widnes Rugby League Club. She continues to be a season ticket holder. Ruth’s other hobbies (when time permits) are reading, music (she is a regular attender at Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra concerts and also contemporary music concerts, both classical and popular) and travel.

  • Peter Green

    Peter joined the firm in 1992 and after qualifying as a Solicitor in 1995 chose to specialise in criminal and personal injury cases. Peter is a member of the Duty Solicitor Scheme and undertakes a broad criminal case load ranging from simple motoring offences to the most serious cases of robbery, and in the Crown Court. Peter continues to undertake Police Station attendances and is an important member of the BLJ Criminal team who operate a rota system to ensure that clients can be represented at any time of any day in any Police Station 365 days of the year. Peter also conducts a wide range of personal injury cases specialising in Road Traffic accidents, tripping and slipping cases and accidents at work. Peter believes in personal contact with his clients and will always ensure that he is available to see his clients when they need to see him. PERSONAL: Peter has been an Everton season ticket holder for over 20 years and has a passion for rock music, regularly attending concerts, he has also more recently become a keen and enthusiastic golfer .

  • Mike Leeman

    Mike attended Calday Grange Grammar school on the Wirral and then studied at Sheffield Hallam University followed by the University of Sheffield before starting his training contract with the firm in 1996 qualifying as a solicitor in 1998. Mike became a partner in 2001 and is head of the criminal department and is the firms COLP. Mike specialises in Criminal and Motoring Law and has vast experience in this field having started advising suspects in police stations from 1993 whilst studying at University. As a higher court advocate Mike can represent clients in cases from the Magistrate courts right through to the Court of Appeal. Mike has vast experience in all criminal cases ranging from simple theft allegations right up to High Profile Murders, allegations, Fraud and Drug supply cases and has an exceptional understanding of allegations that involve information technology. Away from the office Mike lives in Lydiate with his partner and has 2 children. A sports fanatic having played football and rugby but with a real passion for Tennis, which he still plays and competes on a regular basis. Mike is actively involved as a volunteer within the sport and is a qualified Tennis referee.

  • Julian Tutchener-Ellis

    Julian qualified as a solicitor in 1998 and has specialised in criminal litigation and advocacy ever since. He has been a panel Duty Solicitor since 1999 and has acquired the Higher Rights of Audience qualification which facilitates representation in all criminal courts across the land. He has operated as a defence lawyer in West Mercia and Staffordshire prior to coming to Cheshire and has a wide ranging experience which encompasses all criminal matters ranging from minor road traffic offences and public disorder incidents to offences involving drug trafficking, and . Although Julian specialises in criminal cases he also advises and assists clients on Powers of Attorney, Court of Protection, Wills and Probate. In his spare time, Julian spends time with his family and even works out at the gym when time permits!

  • Jannina Barker

    Jannina joined the firm in October 2017 and specialises in the preparation of Wills, Lasting Powers of Attorney and the administration of estates. Jannina is a Graduate Chartered Legal Executive with over 8 years of experience in this area and 15 years of experience working in Law. Jannina’s clients often comment on her friendly and approachable manner. Seeing a Lawyer can often be very daunting and she aims to make the whole process as easy as possible. Jannina takes great pride in her work and in helping her clients through very sensitive and difficult times. Peace of mind is vital and Jannina strives to make a difference in her clients lives whether that be planning for their own future or helping with a bereavement.

  • Laura Cartwright

    Laura joined Bell Lamb & Joynson in 1989 initially as a Legal Secretary. Since then, Laura has benefited in the firms continued investment in its staff and In 2012 she qualified as a Chartered Legal Executive and is experienced in all aspects of residential conveyancing including remortgages, shared ownership, new build and leasehold properties. In 2018 Laura became department head of conveyancing. Laura also has many years experience in making Wills and dealing with the Administration of Estates.

  • Michael Ogden

    Mike joined Bell Lamb & Joynson in March 2017 and work as a residential conveyancing solicitor in the Runcorn office. He specialises in sales and purchases, re-mortgages, equity releases and transfers of equity. He has previously worked in number of firms in the North West, both city centre and on the high street. Mike completed his Law Degree at Sheffield University and his Legal Practice Course with the College of Law in Chester. Mike’s hobbies include going to the gym (if that can be can be called a hobby), playing football (in the loose sense of the word) and socialising with friends. He is another of the growing band of Liverpool FC supporters within the firm.

  • Terlei Jones

    Teleri studied Philosophy and Ethics at degree and Masters level and taught at a secondary school for 5 years before converting to Law in 2005. She studied the Graduate Diploma in Law and the LPC at the College of Law in Chester and received a distinction in each. In 2007 she moved to Liverpool to complete her training contract and began specialising in Family Law in 2008. She qualified as a solicitor in 2009. Since then she has represented clients in all aspects of family law and can advise on private law Children, Divorce and Financial Order matters. Teleri’s passion is public law children matters and became a member of the Children Law Panel in November 2015. After almost 10 years in Liverpool Teleri joined BLJ in May 2017. Teleri is an experienced advocate and enjoys representing her clients at court from the start of the case to the end. Personal: As her name suggests, Teleri is from Wales and is fluent in Welsh and passionate about all things Welsh. She is a mother of 2 little boys who keep her very busy in her spare time. She is interested in music, art, cooking, history, travelling and reading when time permits.

  • Charlotte McNally

  • Jane Hedges

    Jane attended Broughton Hall High School and St Edward’s College in Liverpool before studying law at Liverpool Polytechnic and Chester Law College. She was admitted as a solicitor in 1995 and soon after became a Duty Solicitor. Jane has practised in a number of firms in Liverpool, Wirral and Chester both as a solicitor and partner. Jane has advised and represented Clients from the police station through to the Crown Court. Jane achieved her Higher Court (Criminal) rights of audience in 2010 and has long experience helping Clients in a wide range of criminal cases. She also has experience of dealing with transport law prosecutions and has represented Clients before the Traffic Commissioners at public inquiries. Jane lives with her partner and their daughter. She loves reading, plays guitar and supports Everton FC.

  • Helen Schofield

  • Mark

  • Mike Leeman

    Mike attended Calday Grange Grammar school on the Wirral and then studied at Sheffield Hallam University followed by the University of Sheffield before starting his training contract with the firm in 1996 qualifying as a solicitor in 1998. Mike became a partner in 2001 and is the firms managing partner, head of crime and the firms COLP. Mike specialises in Criminal and Motoring Law and has vast experience in this field having started advising suspects in police stations from 1993 whilst studying at University. As a higher court advocate Mike can represent clients in cases from the Magistrate courts right through to the Court of Appeal. Mike has vast experience in all criminal cases ranging from simple theft allegations right up to High Profile Murders, allegations, Fraud and Drug supply cases and has an exceptional understanding of allegations that involve information technology. Away from the office Mike lives in Lydiate with his partner and has 2 children. A sports fanatic having played football and rugby but with a real passion for Tennis, which he still plays and competes on a regular basis. Mike is actively involved as a volunteer within the sport and is a qualified Tennis referee.

  • Peter Green

    Peter joined the firm in 1992 and after qualifying as a Solicitor in 1995 chose to specialise in criminal and personal injury cases. Peter is a member of the Duty Solicitor Scheme and undertakes a broad criminal case load ranging from simple motoring offences to the most serious cases of robbery, and in the Crown Court. Peter continues to undertake Police Station attendances and is an important member of the BLJ Criminal team who operate a rota system to ensure that clients can be represented at any time of any day in any Police Station 365 days of the year. Peter also conducts a wide range of personal injury cases specialising in Road Traffic accidents, tripping and slipping cases and accidents at work. Peter believes in personal contact with his clients and will always ensure that he is available to see his clients when they need to see him. PERSONAL: Peter has been an Everton season ticket holder for over 20 years and has a passion for rock music, regularly attending concerts, he has also more recently become a keen and enthusiastic golfer .

  • Teleri Jones

    Teleri studied Philosophy and Ethics at degree and Masters level and taught at a secondary school for 5 years before converting to Law in 2005. She studied the Graduate Diploma in Law and the LPC at the College of Law in Chester and received a distinction in each. In 2007 she moved to Liverpool to complete her training contract and began specialising in Family Law in 2008. She qualified as a solicitor in 2009. Since then she has represented clients in all aspects of family law and can advise on private law Children, Divorce and Financial Order matters. Teleri’s passion is public law children matters and became a member of the Children Law Panel in November 2015. After almost 10 years in Liverpool Teleri joined BLJ in May 2017. Teleri is an experienced advocate and enjoys representing her clients at court from the start of the case to the end. Personal: As her name suggests, Teleri is from Wales and is fluent in Welsh and passionate about all things Welsh. She is a mother of 2 little boys who keep her very busy in her spare time. She is interested in music, art, cooking, history, travelling and reading when time permits.

About This Branch

Description

As a firm we have specialist 24 hour, 365 days a year criminal department with solicitors that are highly respected leaders in their field having being involved in some of the most prominent criminal trials in the North West of England and beyond. We are in the top 20% of criminal law providers by volume in England and Wales. A family department dealing with all aspects of public and private family law with vastly experienced solicitors on hand to assist you in complexities of the issues surrounding your family. In so far as the firm’s private client departments you can rest assured that whether it’s the first time you are buying a house or you are moving onto your subsequent home, if its making a will or lasting power of attorney or dealing with the probate of a loved one’s estate we at BLJ are here to help and support you across our office network in, Liverpool, Runcorn and Warrington.


Practice Area

Criminal Law, Conveyancing, Family Law, Motor & Road Traffic Law, Personal Injury, Powers of Attorney, Wills & Probate.


Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000