Bell Lamb & Joynson

03444 124348

Bell Lamb and & Joynson Solicitors were established in 1821 and so we have nearly 200 years’ worth of experience and expertise to call upon in assisting you in your legal matters. It’s not just our age and experience that makes us unique. Despite our longevity we use the latest technology and case management systems to provide an efficient and cost-effective service and we are a forward thinking and progressive law firm. The firms Criminal Department is highly respected with over 150 years combined experience within the team. The family department is dedicated to looking after all matters of family law and with particular expertise in care proceedings. In so far as the firm’s private client departments you can rest assured that whether it’s the first time you are buying a house or you are moving onto your subsequent home, if its making a will or lasting power of attorney or dealing with the probate of a loved one’s estate we at BLJ are here to help and support you across our office network in, Liverpool, Runcorn and Warrington.

5/5 11 Customer Reviews 11
Recommended by
14 Verified Clients
like Lydia and Nick
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
11 Customer Reviews

5/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Nick
Verified Nick Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
October 22, 2018 20181022091934

Excellent personal service

5

The team at BLJ (especially Peter Green and Jeremy Rawson) provided me with excellent service throughout the duration of my case

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bell Lamb & Joynson Solicitors responded to this review on 04 November, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Lydia
Verified Lydia Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
October 19, 2018 20181019200209

Family law and also criminal law

5

At first I was recommended BLJ by a friend during a rather difficult period with my ex partner father of my child, which ended up in the family courts. I then also used them for criminal law and again advice regarding my family during that time. The solicitor s I had we’re brilliant honest, helpful and hardworking for me and my family.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bell Lamb & Joynson Solicitors responded to this review on 04 November, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Margaret
Verified Margaret Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 18, 2018 20180918212748

House purchase and sale

5

All went smoothly with my house purchase and selling my solicitor and assistant were very good .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bell Lamb & Joynson Solicitors responded to this review on 19 September, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

David
Verified David Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 01, 2018 20181101184543

Convincing

5

After being surprised by the amount my previous solicitor had up their prices for convincing I did a search on the internet Not only did the price come in on my budget but I was pleasantly surprised by the follow up phone call And how friendly but professional Bell Lamb and Joynson are
I used the liverpool office for my convenience and the front office staff were friendly yet professional the solicitor that dealt with my purchase Ciara was really nice answer my concerns either by e mail or phone which ever was Appropriate and the property purchase was dealt with in great time
I would definitely recommend and with use Bell Lamb and Joynson again thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bell Lamb & Joynson Solicitors responded to this review on 04 November, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Cameron
Verified Cameron Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 31, 2018 20181031103754

CSM

5

Youth case handled by ML in Liverpool Youth Court - October 2018 - very professional and confident - helped CSM and family throughout case

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bell Lamb & Joynson Solicitors responded to this review on 04 November, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Ian
Ian Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 06, 2018 20181006072245

Fantastic

5

I had been accused of a serious crime that I did not commit! Peter Green was my solicitor during this 18 month ordeal, he was fully supportive always available when I needed him (whenever that would be)
Having seen the accusation he worked so hard to build my case, and always kept me up to date with what was happening with regards to my barrister Mr Davies.
Mr Green believed in me and that helped so much as I felt hopeless at times. His secretary Maureen was so kind and friendly making me feel welcome each and every time I had an appointment.

I didn’t feel like I was just another client. Through this terrible time both Mr Green, Mr Davies and Maureen were nothing but outstanding. The truth prevailed and I was found not guilty in the crown court!

Thankyou

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bell Lamb & Joynson Solicitors responded to this review on 04 November, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Mel
Verified Mel Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 05, 2018 20181005141318

House Sale and purchase

5

I used this firm to purchase my first house and they were professional and efficient. I then used them again to sell and buy a house and I could not fault them. I would have no hesitations in recommending this firm to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bell Lamb & Joynson Solicitors responded to this review on 05 October, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Stan
Verified Stan Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 27, 2018 20180927133353

IHT, probate and conveyance

5

Friendly, professional at a competitive cost

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bell Lamb & Joynson Solicitors responded to this review on 27 September, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Emma
Verified Emma Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 21, 2018 20180921135834

Excellent and professional service

5

We worked with Bell Lamb and Joynson Solicitors for the sale of our house and purchase of another property. They were prompt, extrememly professional and delivered great service. Thank you! I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bell Lamb & Joynson Solicitors responded to this review on 21 September, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Samantha
Verified Samantha Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 18, 2018 20180918211543

Buying our first home

5

Bell lamb & joynson made everything run so smoothly with happy helpful staff. Nothing was ever too much they helped us through every stage seemlessly.
Wouldn’t hesitate in recommending Bell Lamb & Joynson to my friends and family.
Thank you so so much for helping us purchase our dream home .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bell Lamb & Joynson Solicitors responded to this review on 19 September, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Solicitors who work at Bell Lamb & Joynson

  • Julian Tutchener-Ellis

    Julian qualified as a solicitor in 1998 and has specialised in criminal litigation and advocacy ever since. He has been a panel Duty Solicitor since 1999 and has acquired the Higher Rights of Audience qualification which facilitates representation in all criminal courts across the land. He has operated as a defence lawyer in West Mercia and Staffordshire prior to coming to Cheshire and has a wide ranging experience which encompasses all criminal matters ranging from minor road traffic offences and public disorder incidents to offences involving drug trafficking, and . Although Julian specialises in criminal cases he also advises and assists clients on Powers of Attorney, Court of Protection, Wills and Probate. In his spare time, Julian spends time with his family and even works out at the gym when time permits!

  • Jannina Barker

    Jannina joined the firm in October 2017 and specialises in the preparation of Wills, Lasting Powers of Attorney and the administration of estates. Jannina is a Graduate Chartered Legal Executive with over 8 years of experience in this area and 15 years of experience working in Law. Jannina’s clients often comment on her friendly and approachable manner. Seeing a Lawyer can often be very daunting and she aims to make the whole process as easy as possible. Jannina takes great pride in her work and in helping her clients through very sensitive and difficult times. Peace of mind is vital and Jannina strives to make a difference in her clients lives whether that be planning for their own future or helping with a bereavement.

  • Laura Cartwright

    Laura joined Bell Lamb & Joynson in 1989 initially as a Legal Secretary. Since then, Laura has benefited in the firms continued investment in its staff and In 2012 she qualified as a Chartered Legal Executive and is experienced in all aspects of residential conveyancing including remortgages, shared ownership, new build and leasehold properties. In 2018 Laura became department head of conveyancing. Laura also has many years experience in making Wills and dealing with the Administration of Estates.

  • Mike Leeman

    Mike attended Calday Grange Grammar school on the Wirral and then studied at Sheffield Hallam University followed by the University of Sheffield before starting his training contract with the firm in 1996 qualifying as a solicitor in 1998. Mike became a partner in 2001 and is head of the criminal department and is the firms COLP. Mike specialises in Criminal and Motoring Law and has vast experience in this field having started advising suspects in police stations from 1993 whilst studying at University. As a higher court advocate Mike can represent clients in cases from the Magistrate courts right through to the Court of Appeal. Mike has vast experience in all criminal cases ranging from simple theft allegations right up to High Profile Murders, allegations, Fraud and Drug supply cases and has an exceptional understanding of allegations that involve information technology. Away from the office Mike lives in Lydiate with his partner and has 2 children. A sports fanatic having played football and rugby but with a real passion for Tennis, which he still plays and competes on a regular basis. Mike is actively involved as a volunteer within the sport and is a qualified Tennis referee.

  • Peter Green

    Peter joined the firm in 1992 and after qualifying as a Solicitor in 1995 chose to specialise in criminal and personal injury cases. Peter is a member of the Duty Solicitor Scheme and undertakes a broad criminal case load ranging from simple motoring offences to the most serious cases of robbery, and in the Crown Court. Peter continues to undertake Police Station attendances and is an important member of the BLJ Criminal team who operate a rota system to ensure that clients can be represented at any time of any day in any Police Station 365 days of the year. Peter also conducts a wide range of personal injury cases specialising in Road Traffic accidents, tripping and slipping cases and accidents at work. Peter believes in personal contact with his clients and will always ensure that he is available to see his clients when they need to see him. PERSONAL: Peter has been an Everton season ticket holder for over 20 years and has a passion for rock music, regularly attending concerts, he has also more recently become a keen and enthusiastic golfer .

  • Teleri Jones

    Teleri studied Philosophy and Ethics at degree and Masters level and taught at a secondary school for 5 years before converting to Law in 2005. She studied the Graduate Diploma in Law and the LPC at the College of Law in Chester and received a distinction in each. In 2007 she moved to Liverpool to complete her training contract and began specialising in Family Law in 2008. She qualified as a solicitor in 2009. Since then she has represented clients in all aspects of family law and can advise on private law Children, Divorce and Financial Order matters. Teleri’s passion is public law children matters and became a member of the Children Law Panel in November 2015. After almost 10 years in Liverpool Teleri joined BLJ in May 2017. Teleri is an experienced advocate and enjoys representing her clients at court from the start of the case to the end. Personal: As her name suggests, Teleri is from Wales and is fluent in Welsh and passionate about all things Welsh. She is a mother of 2 little boys who keep her very busy in her spare time. She is interested in music, art, cooking, history, travelling and reading when time permits.

  • Michael Ogden

    Mike joined Bell Lamb & Joynson in March 2017 and work as a residential conveyancing solicitor in the Runcorn office. He specialises in sales and purchases, re-mortgages, equity releases and transfers of equity. He has previously worked in number of firms in the North West, both city centre and on the high street. Mike completed his Law Degree at Sheffield University and his Legal Practice Course with the College of Law in Chester. Mike’s hobbies include going to the gym (if that can be can be called a hobby), playing football (in the loose sense of the word) and socialising with friends. He is another of the growing band of Liverpool FC supporters within the firm.

  • Suzanne Daley

    Suzanne qualified as a Family Solicitor in 2005 and has had experience in dealing with matters involving children, divorce, financial remedy and domestic violence. Suzanne joined the firm in 2012 and quickly became a partner in the family department. Suzanne works out of the Walton Vale and Liverpool City Centre offices. She specialises in Private and Public Law Children Matters and is a member of the Law Society’s Children Panel, Family Law Panel and Resolution. Suzanne is also a trained Mediator.

  • Ruth Scarisbrick

    Ruth joined the firm in November 1985 after completing her articles with Hereford City Council where she was fortunate to receive a broad training in all aspects of civil law. Ruth quickly found her aptitude was for family law and has specialised in divorce, children and care work for the past twenty years. Ruth has been a member of the Law Society’s Children Panel since 1996 and was one of the first Resolution accredited specialists. Ruth is keen to see her cases through from start to finish and wherever possible conducts her own advocacy in the Family Proceedings, County and High Courts. PROFESSIONAL QUALIFICATIONS 1982 BA (Hons) Law North Staffs Polytechnic 1985 Admitted as a solicitor 1996 Children Panel 1989 Resolution (formerly Solicitors’ Family Law Association) Accredited Specialist PERSONAL: Ruth married Stuart in 1987 and at the same time took up supporting Widnes Rugby League Club. She continues to be a season ticket holder. Ruth’s other hobbies (when time permits) are reading, music (she is a regular attender at Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra concerts and also contemporary music concerts, both classical and popular) and travel.

  • Jeremy Rawson

    Jeremy Rawson has been a partner in the firm for 25 years. He specializes in crime and family work. He has been qualified as a Higher Court Advocate for 10 years and conducts the bulk of the firm’s Liverpool Crown Court cases. He has successfully conducted a number of appeals in the Court of Appeal and was a member of the team in the House of Lords case of R v Deitchmann. He has conducted cases at all levels from motoring to . As a solicitor he represented the Defendant in the high profile Alice Rye and one of the Defendants in the Reservoir Dogs . He has been a duty solicitor since 1985 and was a founder member of the South Sefton and Crosby Scheme.He is also an accredited advocate and supervisor on the VHCC panel. PERSONAL: JIn Family work he is a member of the Law Society’s advanced panel. He has conducted a number of complex family/care cases and was solicitor for the father in the leading House of Lords case of O&N. He was educated at Birkenhead School and obtained his LL.B from Manchester University. He was articled to the firm in its Liverpool office and remained with the firm after he qualified. He is married. In his spare time he plays squash and is a keen horseman.

  • Cíara Furey

    Cíara joined the firm in October 2017 and is based in our Walton Vale office. A native of County Tyrone in Ireland she studied Law at Queen’s University Belfast and her Post Graduate Diploma in Professional Legal Education at Ulster University, Derry before moving to Liverpool in 2016. Cíara has experience in various aspects of agricultural law and farmland conveyancing however she now specialises in all areas of residential Conveyancing including Sales, Purchases, Right to Buy and Transfers of Equity. In her spare time Cíara is a keen crossfitter and runner. She enjoys travelling and reading/watching all things true crime.

  • Tammy Mitchell

    Tammy joined Bell, Lamb & Joynson Solicitors in 2017. She qualified as a Solicitor in 2008 dealing with Criminal Law matters in Cheshire before joining our firm where she now assists our clients in Sefton, Liverpool and beyond. Tammy is a Duty Solicitor and Solicitor-Advocate. She advises and represents clients in the Magistrates’, Youth and Crown Courts. She also can provide advice and assistance in Police Station Interview and other interviews under caution. She is able to assist both legally aided and privately paying clients in a wide range of Criminal Matters.

  • Julian Tutchener-Ellis

    Julian qualified as a solicitor in 1998 and has specialised in criminal litigation and advocacy ever since. He has been a panel Duty Solicitor since 1999 and has acquired the Higher Rights of Audience qualification which facilitates representation in all criminal courts across the land. He has operated as a defence lawyer in West Mercia and Staffordshire prior to coming to Cheshire and has a wide ranging experience which encompasses all criminal matters ranging from minor road traffic offences and public disorder incidents to offences involving drug trafficking, and . Although Julian specialises in criminal cases he also advises and assists clients on Powers of Attorney, Court of Protection, Wills and Probate. In his spare time, Julian spends time with his family and even works out at the gym when time permits!

  • Jannina Barker

    Jannina joined the firm in October 2017 and specialises in the preparation of Wills, Lasting Powers of Attorney and the administration of estates. Jannina is a Graduate Chartered Legal Executive with over 8 years of experience in this area and 15 years of experience working in Law. Jannina’s clients often comment on her friendly and approachable manner. Seeing a Lawyer can often be very daunting and she aims to make the whole process as easy as possible. Jannina takes great pride in her work and in helping her clients through very sensitive and difficult times. Peace of mind is vital and Jannina strives to make a difference in her clients lives whether that be planning for their own future or helping with a bereavement.

  • Laura Cartwright

    Laura joined Bell Lamb & Joynson in 1989 initially as a Legal Secretary. Since then, Laura has benefited in the firms continued investment in its staff and In 2012 she qualified as a Chartered Legal Executive and is experienced in all aspects of residential conveyancing including remortgages, shared ownership, new build and leasehold properties. In 2018 Laura became department head of conveyancing. Laura also has many years experience in making Wills and dealing with the Administration of Estates.

About This Branch

Description

Our biggest strength and why we are continually recommended by clients is the personal approach that we provide together with treating clients as individuals and their issues as our own. This ethos has clearly stood the test of time. Our fee earners are supported not only by our systems, but also by a driven support staff, all wanting to go that extra mile to provide a service which is second to none. As a firm we do have specialist 24 hour, 365 days a year criminal department with solicitors that are highly respected leaders in their field having being involved in some of the most prominent criminal trials in the North West of England and beyond. A family department dealing with all aspects of public and private family law with vastly experienced solicitors on hand to assist you in complexities of the issues surrounding your family. In so far as the firm’s private client departments you can rest assured that whether it’s the first time you are buying a house or you are moving onto your subsequent home, if its making a will or lasting power of attorney or dealing with the probate of a loved one’s estate we at BLJ are here to help and support you across our office network in, Liverpool, Runcorn and Warrington.


Practice Area

Criminal Law, Conveyancing, Family Law, Motor & Road Traffic Law, Personal Injury, Powers of Attorney, Wills & Probate.


Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000