Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Hewitts Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Hewitts on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Hewitts. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 1%
About Right 97%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Hewitts and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Hewitts performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Hewitts and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Hewitts compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Hewitts offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    559
  • Very Good

    34
  • Average

    5
  • Poor

    5
  • Awful

    21

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
william Johnson

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hewitts.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

william Johnson

July 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Sale/Conveyancing

A professional service though out.
This firm made a stressful time much easier during the time taken to sell my property.

Was this review helpful?

Audrey Symes

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hewitts.

Matter Type:

Wills

Audrey Symes

July 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will & Power of Attorney

Miss Hammond attended my home as at the age of 98 the office was too far.
She was exactly on time accompanied by a trainee solicitor. Both were very attentive to my proposals and made various suggestions which have been most helpful.
Miss Hammond has acknowledged payment of my account and confirmed that my will is kept in a safe place until needed.

Was this review helpful?

Enid Hewitson

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hewitts.

Matter Type:

Wills

Enid Hewitson

July 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional but friendly

Hewitts provided a professional and yet still friendly service when completing a new will. They gave good and clear advice for drawing up a Power of Attorney.
Easy to talk to and gave clear and sensible advice.
Listened to what I wanted.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hewitts.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

July 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale

Good solicitors to use but can be a little slow when replying to queries. However, all in all sale went through and fair price also for fees.

Was this review helpful?

Colin Elrick

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hewitts.

Matter Type:

Totting Up Driving Ban

Colin Elrick

June 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

MOTORING OFFENCE - NOT BANNED

I recently was caught speeding which ended up in me having to go to court to keep my licence, realising I would require a Solicitor I reached out to Hewitt's and made an appointment with Callum Terry.
Callum was the excellent from start to finish and the day at the magistrates when i really thought i would get a 56 day ban, Callum fought my case and i ended up with six points but importantly kept my licence.
I have used Hewitt's for a couple of things now and i highly recommend their services.

Many thanks

Colin Elrick

Was this review helpful?

Abigail

Matter Type:

Family law

Abigail

June 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Grateful

I went to Hewitts for support through family court. They have been a pillar of support for me and my family throughout the entire process. They gave me guidance and kept me informed.
I’m glad my case has come to an end with their fantastic support.

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hewitts.

Matter Type:

Litigation Law

Andrew

June 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

First Class Service

I had multiple legal matters to deal with at the same time and after contacting Hewitt's about one of them Rebecca took on my case and I was so impressed with how she dealt with it right from the onset going well above and beyond what I was expecting, so much so that before it had even been concluded I had decided to bring my other outstanding legal matters to Hewitt's (despite having an appointment already booked elsewhere for one).
My second matter was delt with by another of solicitor 'Sarah' she also provided a fantastic service and was able to complete mine and my wife's wills within just a few weeks, explaining everything to us and answer all questions along the way.
If I could rate the service I've had from these two solicitors and Hewitt's as a whole with 10 stars I would, but as I can't one thing I can and will certainly be doing is using Hewitt's for all my future legal matter going forward.

Was this review helpful?

Marion Scott

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hewitts.

Matter Type:

Wills

Marion Scott

June 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will

My Solicitor Miss Stephanie Wilson was very knowledgeable, efficient and friendly. I would recommend her to anyone looking to make a will.

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hewitts.

Matter Type:

Litigation Law

Andrew

June 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic all round Service

I had multiple legal matters to deal with at the same time and after contacting Hewitt's about one of them Rebecca took on my case and I was so impressed with how she dealt with it right from the onset going well above and beyond what I was expecting, so much so that before it had even been concluded I had decided to bring my other outstanding legal matters to Hewitt's (despite having an appointment already booked elsewhere for one).
My second matter was delt with by another of solicitor 'Sarah' she also provided a fantastic service and was able to complete mine and my wife's wills within just a few weeks, explaining everything to us and answer all questions along the way.
If I could rate the service I've had from these two solicitors and Hewitt's as a whole with 10 stars I would, but as I can't one thing I can and will certainly be doing is using Hewitt's for all my future legal matter going forward.

Was this review helpful?

Ann

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hewitts.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Ann

June 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rating Danielle's professionalism

Putting respect, knowledge and friendliness towards myself was appreciated.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Andrew

Matter Type:

Remortgaging

Andrew

July 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Andrew

Used Hewitts for a remortgage and have been really pleased with the service. Was discussed timescales and provided a clear breakdown of the fees upfront. Felt as though I was kept up to date with the progress throughout. Really good service, would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Christabel

Matter Type:

Remortgaging

Christabel

May 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Christabel

The branch was brilliant and extremley efficient in organising our remortgage, in particular Kate would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Nelli

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Nelli

April 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nelli

Everything went smoothly and very quickly with house purchase. Danielle was excellent. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Jamie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Jamie

July 26, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jamie

Great experience when buying my house earlier this year! Danielle was the conveyancing socilitor handling the legals and she was amazing. Made the process less stressful and would take the time to explain the process and reassure us as 1st time buyers. The price was very fair and there were no unexpected fees.

Massive thanks from Jamie and Nathan x

Was this review helpful?

Dave

Matter Type:

Disputed Probate

Dave

July 18, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dave

It was my first time going to a solicitors and I must say my solicitor Ben green was really helpful he talked me though the whole process and the reseptionist were very helpful hence the 5 stars

Was this review helpful?

Hewitts are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

We are an expert in this field Many people are reluctant to speak to solicitors for a number of reasons but unnecessary delays can make the situation worse. As part of Hewitts commitment to our clients, we offer a free initial telephone consultation to discuss your problem and explain where you stand. If we believe legal proceedings are not in your best interests we will advise you not to go ahead. If you have a case, and wish to proceed, we will give you a clear quote of the cost. And if your case is eligible for legal aid you can leave the arrangements to us.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Domestic violence
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Harassment
    • Juvenile
    • Legal aid
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Sexual allegations including Rape and Sexual Assaults
    • Theft
  • Driving offences
    • Appeal driving conviction
    • Careless driving
    • Convicted in absence
    • Dangerous driving
    • Dangerous vehicle conditions
    • Death By Careless Driving
    • Death by dangerous driving
    • Discretionary disqualification
    • Disqualification removal
    • Drink driving
    • Driving Whilst Unfit
    • Driving Without Due Care
    • Driving whilst disqualified
    • Driving without a licence
    • Driving without insurance
    • Drug driving
    • Drunk in charge
    • Early return of driving licence
    • Exceptional Hardship
    • Failing to notify DVLA
    • Failure to furnish identification
    • Failure to provide a blood sample
    • Failure to provide a specimen
    • Goods vehicles - operators licence
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Mobile phone offences
    • New Driver Provisions
    • Notice of intended prosecution
    • Restoration of licence
    • Road rage incidents
    • Serious injury by dangerous driving
    • Signs and signal offences
    • Special Reasons
    • Speeding offences
    • Stopping and reporting
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
    • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Legal aid
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Serious Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Credit Control
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
  • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety