Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP

01376 386232

4.8/5 620 Customer Reviews 620
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors

620 Customer Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    553
  • Very Good
    42
  • Average
    8
  • Poor
    3
  • Awful
    12

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Mark Brian
Verified Mark Brian Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
November 21, 2019 20191121205202

Other

5

Extremely knowledgeable and explained matters in a way that it was easy for me to understand. I was always kept up to date and the service that I received was friendly and extremely helpful.

Solicitor named in this review: Marc Dorsett

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 26 November, 2019

Hi Mark, Thank you for the five star review. We're glad that you had a positive experience with Marc. Please do return to us in the future if we can help you with anything else. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Beverley
Verified Beverley Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 28, 2019 20190928205201

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

very friendly and professional service.

Solicitor named in this review: Lisa Carter

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 08 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anthony & Yvonne Williams
Verified Anthony & Yvonne Williams Added 5 months ago Report to admin
July 13, 2019 20190713205203

Residential Conveyancing

5

A very thorough and competent team, good communication and supportive throughout

Solicitor named in this review: Harjot Grewal

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 03 September, 2019

Dear Anthony & Yvonne , Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. We are pleased to have been of service. If we can be of any further help in the future, please do not hesitate to come back to us. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robert
Verified Robert Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 18, 2018 20180618211502

Robert Bache Driving Offence

5

The information I received during my brief consultation was frank and the advise was 'wise' and I was happy to follow it with out reservation.

Solicitor named in this review: Roger Brice

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 12 September, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified David Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 14, 2019 20191214141317

Separation agreement

5

Filomena is very professional and astute solicitor. Importantly, for me, she had great empathy and had to time to not only hear me, but also listen to me. I didn’t feel rushed in explaining myself.

Solicitor named in this review: Filomena Sterkaj

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robert
Verified Robert Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 05, 2019 20191205205202

Crime

4

Following a potential worrying report to the Police and my employer being advised I was extremely worried about the situation. I was able to quickly consult the appropriate solicitor who fully discussed the matter with me, The law as it stands, Police procedure in relation to the matter and advising me that nothing further is likely to occur and no offence occurred. Nearly 18 months have passed and I have heard nothing further concerning the matter.

Solicitor named in this review: Roger Brice

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steven
Verified Steven Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 27, 2019 20191127205203

Family

4

I found that Gepp and Co treated me with the utmost respect at all times and always did as I requested.

Solicitor named in this review: Sally Ward

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 04 December, 2019

Dear Steven, Thank you very much for your kind words. We're glad that you had a positive experience with Sally and that we could help you. Please do return to us in the future if there is anything else that we can help you with. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mandy Jeeves
Verified Mandy Jeeves Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 26, 2019 20191126205202

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Gepps provided an excellent service. They wee extremely helpful. I have already recommended them to friends and family.

Solicitor named in this review: Georgia Bolton

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 04 December, 2019

Dear Mandy, Thank you very much for your lovely review, and for recommending us to your family and friends. We're glad that you had a positive experience with Georgia. Please do return to us in the future if there is anything else that we can help you with. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Patricia Mills
Verified Patricia Mills Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 26, 2019 20191126205202

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

I really do not look forward to discussing my will but Mr Carter put me at ease and made it bearable.

Solicitor named in this review: Danny Carter

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 04 December, 2019

Dear Patricia, Thank you very much for your kind words. We're glad that you had a positive experience with Danny, and that he could make the process much easier for you. Please do return to us in the future if there is anything else that we can help you with. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Pauline Pryor
Verified Pauline Pryor Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 26, 2019 20191126205202

Wills, Trusts and Probate

4

Friendly reception staff. Excellent advice, help and support from Solicitor. Prompt, clear correspondence always with a SAE - much appreciated.

Solicitor named in this review: Georgia Bolton

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 04 December, 2019

Dear Pauline, Thank you very much for your kind words. We will pass them on to Georgia. Please do return to us in the future if there is anything else that we can help you with. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

A
A Added 3 weeks ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 20, 2019
Collected on
20191120190931

A client

1

My wife and I, first time buyers tried to buy a house and we decided to use Gepps as our solicitors. This was a big mistake and resulted on us losing the house. We will try to be as honest as possible and say exactly what happened.
After requesting quotes from different solicitors we were happy with the quote Gepps gave us so we paid the deposit. After this moment, things changed and we found ourselves chasing them from day 1. We were expecting a supportive and friendly solicitor to help us with a transaction we had never made, however Mrs Worley was very unhelpful, unwilling to give us guidance and quite rude on the phone, always unhappy to talk. We felt that they were no longer interested in us since they had our deposit.
At some point we raised these concerns and communication improved on her part, however we had to chase her all the time and we always felt unguided and unsupported.

However, the real issue was that they didn't calculate the stamp duty correctly and we realised, the day before exchanging contracts, that we had to pay approx. £10000 more than expected. This is something we couldn't afford, we were told that there had been a mistake on their part and that they might be able to look into the case and try to reduce this amount but it was far too late for us. We couldn’t complete the transaction due to their terrible service and we were extremely disappointed, however not totally surprised because we could see the lack of support and communication from day 1 and now we wonder why we didn't see this coming. We never got one single apology from Mrs Worley who showed arrogance at all times, lack of support and lack of professionalism and she even accused us of not being honest with our bank.

We were gutted and very disappointed with Gepps so we decided to raise a formal complaint. We had to wait quite a long time but to be fair we have to say that we felt that they the complaint team took us seriously (for the 1st time) and looked at our concerns in detail. We were offered a refund and a £200 compensation (approx.). They also assured us that they would look into putting measures in place to avoid this happening to more people.

We do hope that our story, which is as honest as it can possibly be, help other people to choose the right solicitor and avoid Gepps.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 26 November, 2019

Dear Alvaro and Sara, I am sorry to learn of your frustration with the service that you received from our conveyancer, Charlotte Worley, during the unsuccessful purchase of your property. The comprehensive review you have posted has allowed me to examine what happened and given me the opportunity to reply personally. I apologise that the level of service that you received was not at the level that we should have provided. In light of your feedback, we have met to address your concerns and have made changes to the way that we tell clients about any increases in the Stamp Duty Land Tax (SDLT) that they may have to pay. Unfortunately, SDLT has become increasingly complex and we realise that we could have done more to help you understand the amount that you would have to pay at an earlier stage of the process. Once again, I am sorry that you have had a poor experience but I'm pleased that you felt that our complaints partner listened to you and resolved your formal complaint in a way that was acceptable to you. If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me. Best, Mike Cubbin, CEO

Nikki
Nikki Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 01, 2019
Collected on
20191001213104

Nikki

5

We used Gepp for conveyancing after having an awful experience elsewhere and they have been simply excellent. We've had two purchases fall through (difficult vendors) and have now completed on our dream home. Our solicitor Reema and her assistant Demi have been excellent! Fast to respond and push things through to completion. We can't thank Reema enough and I would highly recommend Gepp for conveyancing - most efficient service you'll ever get!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 08 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Tracey
Tracey Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 19, 2019
Collected on
20190919234940

Tracey

5

Wonderful and welcoming staff. Worth your buck.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 26 November, 2019

Dear Tracey, Thank you for the lovely review! Please do return to us in the future if we can help you with anything else. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Carol
Carol Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 31, 2019
Collected on
20190831074328

Carol

5

Excellent service from all the staff

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 03 September, 2019

Dear Carol, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are pleased to have been of service. If we can be of any further help in the future please do not hesitate to come back to us. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Shirley
Shirley Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 03, 2019
Collected on
20190803113159

Shirley

5

Excellent, service received from Tina Mawa and her team from start to finish.
Dealt with all aspects in a very prompt, courteous and professional manner and always kept us well informed.
We have no hesitation in recommending their services.
Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 08 August, 2019

Dear Shirley, Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review. We are pleased to have been of service, and will pass your kind words on to Tina and her team. If we can be of any further help in the future please do not hesitate to come back to us. Kind Regards

About This Branch

Legal Services
  • Disqualification removal
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Social Services
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Drunk in charge
  • Extending your Lease
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Trusts
  • Transfers of equity
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Signs and signal offences
  • Wills
  • Tax
  • Injunctions
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Goods vehicles - operators licence
  • Gardening Leave
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Insurance brokers
  • Pension and property advice
  • Failure to furnish identification
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • IT professionals
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Death By Careless Driving
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Housing Associations
  • Child contact
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Engineers
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Careless driving
  • Exceptional Hardship
  • Driving whilst disqualified
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Failing to notify DVLA
  • Buying at auction
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Failure to provide a specimen
  • Professional Conduct
  • Leasehold properties
  • Media and Sports
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Architects
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Driving without insurance
  • Recognition of disqualification
  • Financial advisors
  • Redundancy
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Lease Extensions
  • Business Crime
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Children
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Convicted in absence
  • Speeding offences
  • Serious injury by dangerous driving
  • Consumer Rights
  • Failure to provide a blood sample
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Repossessions
  • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Professional trustees
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Property Disputes
  • Pension Law
  • Travel rights
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • TUPE
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Restoration of licence
  • Criminal Damage
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Trusts
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Driving Whilst Unfit
  • Transfer of title
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Taxi offences
  • Remortgaging
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Collaborative Law
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Early return of driving licence
  • Stress at Work
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Civil partnerships
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Fraud
  • Discretionary disqualification
  • Stopping and reporting
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Drugs offences
  • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
  • Housing Management
  • Driving Without Due Care
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Housing disputes
  • Probate
  • Child Law
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Right to Manage
  • Mobile phone offences
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Valuers
  • Assault
  • Financial Matters
  • Theft
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Notice of intended prosecution
  • Tax consultants
  • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Road rage incidents
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Senior Executives
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Flexible Working
  • New Driver Provisions
  • Military
  • Driving without a licence
  • Family Leave
  • Employment Contracts
  • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
  • Drink driving
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Appeal driving conviction
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Accountants
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Surveyors
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Separation Agreement
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
  • Injunctions
  • Special Reasons
  • Dangerous driving
  • Professional Negligence
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Death by dangerous driving
  • Planning
  • Family law
  • Family Mediation
  • Dangerous vehicle conditions
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Litigation Law
  • Professional Discipline
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Barristers
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Separation
  • Drug driving
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Part Time Workers
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Finance
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Commercial Law
  • Planning law
  • Rights of way issues
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Share option schemes
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Corporate Law
  • Agency agreements
  • Setting up a business
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Credit Control
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Statutory Demands
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Farming disputes
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Corporate finance
  • Franchising
  • Management buyouts
  • Commercial Leases
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Asset Tracing
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Environmental policy law
  • Intellectual Property
  • Developer disputes
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Purchase of development land
  • Summary Judgment
  • Tax
  • Competition law
  • Data Protection
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Mediation
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Development plot sales
  • Equestrian property
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Employment - business
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures