Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP

01376 386232

Also known as - Gepp Solicitors

4.8/5 706 Customer Reviews 706 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors

706 Customer Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    631
  • Very Good
    47
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    3
  • Awful
    14

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Ronald Edwards
Verified Ronald Edwards Added 1 week ago Report to admin
March 21, 2020 20200321205203

Residential Conveyancing

5

Jacqui Gurden very helpful.

Solicitor named in this review: Shah Bakar

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kabir
Verified Kabir Added 1 week ago Report to admin
March 18, 2020 20200318205203

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

I settled on Gepp Solicitors to handle Probate for my Mother's Estate, having read through online reviews and deciding that they seemed like a well-respected and considerate firm. I cannot rate them highly enough, from the moment I walked in to the completion of the process they were incredible. They dealt with a very delicate matter with compassion, efficiency and most importantly, with empathy. From one case of Probate, growing to five people as things became apparent, throughout Julie Flight was amazing.

Solicitor named in this review: Julie Flight

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Verified Mark Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 07, 2020 20200307205203

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Everything is treated in a professional and efficent way, staff are friendly and approachable . Always a warm welcome at the bright ,clean and modern premises in Chelmsford.

Solicitor named in this review: Julie Flight

Was this review helpful? Yes

Marian Clark
Verified Marian Clark Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 07, 2020 20200307205203

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

My only issue was when I telephoned it went straight to voicemail and these were not picked up until at least the next day. That is no good if one needs to speak to someone on the same day.

Solicitor named in this review: Gregory John

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Held
Verified Susan Held Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 07, 2020 20200307205203

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Excellent, friendly service with all legal angles explained enabling us to make informed decisions, particularly to ensure we did not accidentally become intestate.

Solicitor named in this review: Gregory John

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 05, 2020 20200305205203

Wills, Trusts and Probate

4

I needed a long established, trustworthy firm. Although expensive, Gepp met this criteria.

Solicitor named in this review: Georgia Bolton

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sarah Matthews
Verified Sarah Matthews Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 26, 2020 20200226205203

Residential Conveyancing

5

I'm extremely grateful for the help of Rahela and the team, who made the conveyancing for buying our first property much less stressful than anticipated. Everyone has been friendly and responsive throughout. Very many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Audrey Mather
Verified Audrey Mather Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 26, 2020 20200226205203

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Very Satisfied.

Solicitor named in this review: Lisa Carter

Was this review helpful? Yes

Matthew Robinson
Verified Matthew Robinson Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 11, 2020 20200211205203

Residential Conveyancing

5

Following our third transaction with Gepp. We continue to be impressed with their capability to get the job done, with minimal fuss and a supportive approach.

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 February, 2020

Dear Matthew, Thank you for the positive review! We're glad that you are happy with the service our Conveyancing team provided. Please do not hesitate to return to us if there is anything we can help you with in the future. Best. Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 months ago Report to admin
January 23, 2020 20200123205218

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

All my queries were dealt with promptly and professionally and in a friendly helpful manner. Having the costs outlined at the beginning of the legal advice was most helpful.

Solicitor named in this review: Georgia Bolton

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Jane
Jane Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 12, 2020
Collected on
20200312122930

Jane

5

Excellent service, provided by Michael Callaghan and his team to resolve our problem very promptly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

lynn
lynn Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 03, 2020
Collected on
20200303125249

lynn

5

I would like to thank Michael the Notary for his help in sorting out our property sale (overseas) I found him professional polite and very informative, especially as I have never used a Notary before I would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 03 March, 2020

Dear Lynn, Thank you very much for your five star review! Our Notary service is relatively new, so this feedback is most welcome; we are glad that we could make the process informative and easy for you. We will pass on your kind comments to Michael Callaghan. Please do return to us in the future if there is anything else that we can help you with. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Harriet
Harriet Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 11, 2020
Collected on
20200211163758

Harriet

5

Swift, compassionate and straightforward. Michael Callaghan, Partner, assisted me with a matter I wanted turned around in just one week even though he was clearly very busy at the time. I could not recommend Gepp enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 11 February, 2020

Dear Harriet, Thank you very much for your five star review! We will pass on your kind comments to Michael Callaghan, who will be very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the service provided. Please do return to us in the future if there is anything else that we can help you with in the future. Best, Gepp Solicitors

trudy
trudy Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 23, 2020
Collected on
20200123123533

trudy

1

don't go on review sites but felt I had to as very unhappy with Gepps so only one star

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 February, 2020

Dear Trudy, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We are sorry that the service we offered did not meet with your expectations. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please contact me at daviss@gepp.co.uk or 01245 228133. Kind regards, Spencer Davis

A
A Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 20, 2019
Collected on
20191120190931

A client

1

My wife and I, first time buyers tried to buy a house and we decided to use Gepps as our solicitors. This was a big mistake and resulted on us losing the house. We will try to be as honest as possible and say exactly what happened.
After requesting quotes from different solicitors we were happy with the quote Gepps gave us so we paid the deposit. After this moment, things changed and we found ourselves chasing them from day 1. We were expecting a supportive and friendly solicitor to help us with a transaction we had never made, however Mrs Worley was very unhelpful, unwilling to give us guidance and quite rude on the phone, always unhappy to talk. We felt that they were no longer interested in us since they had our deposit.
At some point we raised these concerns and communication improved on her part, however we had to chase her all the time and we always felt unguided and unsupported.

However, the real issue was that they didn't calculate the stamp duty correctly and we realised, the day before exchanging contracts, that we had to pay approx. £10000 more than expected. This is something we couldn't afford, we were told that there had been a mistake on their part and that they might be able to look into the case and try to reduce this amount but it was far too late for us. We couldn’t complete the transaction due to their terrible service and we were extremely disappointed, however not totally surprised because we could see the lack of support and communication from day 1 and now we wonder why we didn't see this coming. We never got one single apology from Mrs Worley who showed arrogance at all times, lack of support and lack of professionalism and she even accused us of not being honest with our bank.

We were gutted and very disappointed with Gepps so we decided to raise a formal complaint. We had to wait quite a long time but to be fair we have to say that we felt that they the complaint team took us seriously (for the 1st time) and looked at our concerns in detail. We were offered a refund and a £200 compensation (approx.). They also assured us that they would look into putting measures in place to avoid this happening to more people.

We do hope that our story, which is as honest as it can possibly be, help other people to choose the right solicitor and avoid Gepps.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 26 November, 2019

Dear Alvaro and Sara, I am sorry to learn of your frustration with the service that you received from our conveyancer, Charlotte Worley, during the unsuccessful purchase of your property. The comprehensive review you have posted has allowed me to examine what happened and given me the opportunity to reply personally. I apologise that the level of service that you received was not at the level that we should have provided. In light of your feedback, we have met to address your concerns and have made changes to the way that we tell clients about any increases in the Stamp Duty Land Tax (SDLT) that they may have to pay. Unfortunately, SDLT has become increasingly complex and we realise that we could have done more to help you understand the amount that you would have to pay at an earlier stage of the process. Once again, I am sorry that you have had a poor experience but I'm pleased that you felt that our complaints partner listened to you and resolved your formal complaint in a way that was acceptable to you. If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me. Best, Mike Cubbin, CEO

About This Branch

Legal Services
  • Recognition of disqualification
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Discretionary disqualification
  • Lease Extensions
  • Injunctions
  • Children
  • Failure to provide a specimen
  • Architects
  • Travel rights
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • New Driver Provisions
  • Driving Without Due Care
  • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
  • Wills
  • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Separation
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Surveyors
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Tax
  • Leasehold properties
  • Early return of driving licence
  • Disqualification removal
  • Drunk in charge
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Drink driving
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Death By Careless Driving
  • Valuers
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Criminal Damage
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Engineers
  • Exceptional Hardship
  • Pension and property advice
  • Remortgaging
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Litigation Law
  • Theft
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Senior Executives
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Civil partnerships
  • Tax consultants
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Appeal driving conviction
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Trusts
  • Gardening Leave
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Driving without insurance
  • Trusts
  • Speeding offences
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Accountants
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Stress at Work
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Child contact
  • Housing Associations
  • Part Time Workers
  • Driving whilst disqualified
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Special Reasons
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • IT professionals
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Separation Agreement
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Social Services
  • Serious injury by dangerous driving
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Professional Conduct
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Goods vehicles - operators licence
  • Redundancy
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Fraud
  • Transfers of equity
  • Financial advisors
  • Stopping and reporting
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Notice of intended prosecution
  • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Drugs offences
  • Professional trustees
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Failure to provide a blood sample
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Family law
  • Probate
  • Media and Sports
  • Business Crime
  • Collaborative Law
  • Financial Matters
  • Injunctions
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Planning
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Driving Whilst Unfit
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Property Disputes
  • Convicted in absence
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Housing Management
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Military
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Family Leave
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
  • Driving without a licence
  • Pension Law
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Right to Manage
  • Barristers
  • Road rage incidents
  • Extending your Lease
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Professional Negligence
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Repossessions
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Insurance brokers
  • Death by dangerous driving
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Taxi offences
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Failing to notify DVLA
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Failure to furnish identification
  • Drug driving
  • Family Mediation
  • Mobile phone offences
  • Dangerous vehicle conditions
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • TUPE
  • Employment Contracts
  • Transfer of title
  • Signs and signal offences
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Careless driving
  • Buying at auction
  • Consumer Rights
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Assault
  • Flexible Working
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Dangerous driving
  • Restoration of licence
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Child Law
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Housing disputes
  • Asset Tracing
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Employment - business
  • Rights of way issues
  • Credit Control
  • Intellectual Property
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Farming disputes
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Share option schemes
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Planning law
  • Management buyouts
  • Agency agreements
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Tax
  • Environmental policy law
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Equestrian property
  • Purchase of development land
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Setting up a business
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Commercial Leases
  • Corporate Law
  • Development plot sales
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Developer disputes
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Corporate finance
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Finance
  • Statutory Demands
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Competition law
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Franchising
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Commercial Law
  • Mediation
  • Data Protection
  • Summary Judgment
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Buying and selling a farm