Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP

01206 369889

Gepp Solicitors can trace its lineage back to 1768 when Edward Gepp, Attorney, set up his first office in one of the rooms of his house in Chelmsford High Street. Today the firm is a Full-Service Law Firm with over 100 staff which has a reputation for finding the right advice for their clients. Providing an excellent service is one of their goals and the team at Gepp Solicitors review their feedback in order to improve both the quality of service and legal advice they offer.

4.8/5 669 Customer Reviews 669 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors

669 Customer Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    599
  • Very Good
    44
  • Average
    8
  • Poor
    3
  • Awful
    13

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Linda Lowe
Verified Linda Lowe Added 2 days ago Report to admin
February 22, 2020 20200222205203

Litigation / Dispute Resolution

5

I found Mr Emerson of Gepps to be professional and knowledgeable and felt confident in his ability to deal with the issues I raised with him.

Solicitor named in this review: Justin Emerson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 3 days ago Report to admin
February 21, 2020 20200221205203

Residential Conveyancing

5

The service value for money exceeded my expectations as this is not a local solicitor.

Solicitor named in this review: Bakshi Dhanda

Was this review helpful? Yes

Edith Mason
Verified Edith Mason Added 3 days ago Report to admin
February 21, 2020 20200221205202

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Happy with Danny Carter, advice and help.

Solicitor named in this review: Danny Carter

Was this review helpful? Yes

Denise Wallis
Verified Denise Wallis Added 5 days ago Report to admin
February 19, 2020 20200219205202

Residential Conveyancing

5

No problems with your service. Completely satisfied.

Solicitor named in this review: Bakshi Dhanda

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 20 February, 2020

Dear Denise, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We're glad that you had a positive experience with Bakshi and her team. Please do not hesitate to return to us in the future if we can ever assist with anything else. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Caroline Dunn
Verified Caroline Dunn Added 5 days ago Report to admin
February 19, 2020 20200219205202

Residential Conveyancing

5

Very pleased with the service we received from the team. Made the process very easy and stress free.

Solicitor named in this review: Bakshi Dhanda

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 20 February, 2020

Dear Caroline, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We're glad that you had a positive experience with Bakshi and her team. Please do not hesitate to return to us in the future if we can ever assist with anything else. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jade Stephens
Verified Jade Stephens Added 1 week ago Report to admin
February 12, 2020 20200212205202

Residential Conveyancing

5

We are really pleased with the whole process and it made being a first time buyer so much easier.

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 February, 2020

Dear Jade, Thank you for the positive review! We're glad that you are happy with the service our Conveyancing team provided. Please do not hesitate to return to us if there is anything we can help you with in the future. Best. Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin Calverley
Verified Colin Calverley Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
January 31, 2020 20200131205203

Residential Conveyancing

5

A very professional and courteous service. Everyone in Bakshi's team was very helpful and polite in every aspect of the service provided. Thank you Bakshi and team for all your support during a very stressful time.

Solicitor named in this review: Bakshi Dhanda

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 03 February, 2020

Dear Colin, Thank you for the positive review. We're glad that you had a positive experience with our residential team. Please do return to us in the future if there is anything else that we can help you with. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

David Turner
Verified David Turner Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 23, 2020 20200123205217

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Professional, friendly and informative.

Solicitor named in this review: Gregory John

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 February, 2020

Dear David, Thank you for the positive review, we will pass on your kind comments to Gregory. Please do return to us if ever we can help in the future. Best, Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Elizabeth Omari
Verified Elizabeth Omari Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 23, 2020 20200123205210

Family

5

Overall I am very satisfied with the services that I received and would gladly recommend this firm

Solicitor named in this review: Sally Ward

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 February, 2020

Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for the positive review. We're glad that you are happy with the service that Sally provided. Please do return to us if there is anything we can help you with in the future. Best. Gepp Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jacqueline Whapplington
Verified Jacqueline Whapplington Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 23, 2020 20200123205209

Residential Conveyancing

5

Fantastic service from Reema Battu with our property purchase. Would not hesitate to recommend or use again. Thank you.

A representative from Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Harriet
Harriet Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 11, 2020
Collected on
20200211163758

Harriet

5

Swift, compassionate and straightforward. Michael Callaghan, Partner, assisted me with a matter I wanted turned around in just one week even though he was clearly very busy at the time. I could not recommend Gepp enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 11 February, 2020

Dear Harriet, Thank you very much for your five star review! We will pass on your kind comments to Michael Callaghan, who will be very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the service provided. Please do return to us in the future if there is anything else that we can help you with in the future. Best, Gepp Solicitors

trudy
trudy Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 23, 2020
Collected on
20200123123533

trudy

1

don't go on review sites but felt I had to as very unhappy with Gepps so only one star

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 February, 2020

Dear Trudy, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We are sorry that the service we offered did not meet with your expectations. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please contact me at daviss@gepp.co.uk or 01245 228133. Kind regards, Spencer Davis

A
A Added 3 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 20, 2019
Collected on
20191120190931

A client

1

My wife and I, first time buyers tried to buy a house and we decided to use Gepps as our solicitors. This was a big mistake and resulted on us losing the house. We will try to be as honest as possible and say exactly what happened.
After requesting quotes from different solicitors we were happy with the quote Gepps gave us so we paid the deposit. After this moment, things changed and we found ourselves chasing them from day 1. We were expecting a supportive and friendly solicitor to help us with a transaction we had never made, however Mrs Worley was very unhelpful, unwilling to give us guidance and quite rude on the phone, always unhappy to talk. We felt that they were no longer interested in us since they had our deposit.
At some point we raised these concerns and communication improved on her part, however we had to chase her all the time and we always felt unguided and unsupported.

However, the real issue was that they didn't calculate the stamp duty correctly and we realised, the day before exchanging contracts, that we had to pay approx. £10000 more than expected. This is something we couldn't afford, we were told that there had been a mistake on their part and that they might be able to look into the case and try to reduce this amount but it was far too late for us. We couldn’t complete the transaction due to their terrible service and we were extremely disappointed, however not totally surprised because we could see the lack of support and communication from day 1 and now we wonder why we didn't see this coming. We never got one single apology from Mrs Worley who showed arrogance at all times, lack of support and lack of professionalism and she even accused us of not being honest with our bank.

We were gutted and very disappointed with Gepps so we decided to raise a formal complaint. We had to wait quite a long time but to be fair we have to say that we felt that they the complaint team took us seriously (for the 1st time) and looked at our concerns in detail. We were offered a refund and a £200 compensation (approx.). They also assured us that they would look into putting measures in place to avoid this happening to more people.

We do hope that our story, which is as honest as it can possibly be, help other people to choose the right solicitor and avoid Gepps.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 26 November, 2019

Dear Alvaro and Sara, I am sorry to learn of your frustration with the service that you received from our conveyancer, Charlotte Worley, during the unsuccessful purchase of your property. The comprehensive review you have posted has allowed me to examine what happened and given me the opportunity to reply personally. I apologise that the level of service that you received was not at the level that we should have provided. In light of your feedback, we have met to address your concerns and have made changes to the way that we tell clients about any increases in the Stamp Duty Land Tax (SDLT) that they may have to pay. Unfortunately, SDLT has become increasingly complex and we realise that we could have done more to help you understand the amount that you would have to pay at an earlier stage of the process. Once again, I am sorry that you have had a poor experience but I'm pleased that you felt that our complaints partner listened to you and resolved your formal complaint in a way that was acceptable to you. If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me. Best, Mike Cubbin, CEO

Nikki
Nikki Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 01, 2019
Collected on
20191001213104

Nikki

5

We used Gepp for conveyancing after having an awful experience elsewhere and they have been simply excellent. We've had two purchases fall through (difficult vendors) and have now completed on our dream home. Our solicitor Reema and her assistant Demi have been excellent! Fast to respond and push things through to completion. We can't thank Reema enough and I would highly recommend Gepp for conveyancing - most efficient service you'll ever get!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 08 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Tracey
Tracey Added 5 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 19, 2019
Collected on
20190919234940

Tracey

5

Wonderful and welcoming staff. Worth your buck.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gepp & Sons Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 26 November, 2019

Dear Tracey, Thank you for the lovely review! Please do return to us in the future if we can help you with anything else. Best, Gepp Solicitors

About This Branch

Description

Gepp Solicitors can trace its lineage back to 1768 when Edward Gepp, Attorney, set up his first office in one of the rooms of his house in Chelmsford High Street. Today the firm is a Full-Service Law Firm with over 100 staff which has a reputation for finding the right advice for their clients. Providing an excellent service is one of their goals and the team at Gepp Solicitors review their feedback in order to improve both the quality of service and legal advice they offer. The Firm is organised into several different departments; Commercial Law, Criminal Law, Dispute Resolution, Employment Law, Military Law, Family Law, Private Client (dealing with Wills, Probate and Trusts as well as tax, estate and succession planning), Commercial and Residential Property and Rural Services (Agriculture Law). With its main office in Chelmsford and a smaller office in Colchester, the firm is well placed to offer its services to clients across the County of Essex. Serving business and private clients, Gepp Solicitors pride themselves on offering a traditional personal service. Very few businesses reach their 250th birthday. They have, and they believe the reason for their longevity is that their blend of the highest levels of service, professionalism and legal advice has won the trust of the County after faithfully serving it for generations.


Legal Services
  • Recognition of disqualification
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Military
  • Stress at Work
  • Financial Matters
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Serious injury by dangerous driving
  • Financial advisors
  • Theft
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Redundancy
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Drink driving
  • Professional Discipline
  • Housing Management
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Civil partnerships
  • Death By Careless Driving
  • Tax
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Housing Associations
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Appeal driving conviction
  • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Business Crime
  • Drunk in charge
  • Goods vehicles - operators licence
  • Accountants
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Leasehold properties
  • Driving without a licence
  • Social Services
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Property Disputes
  • Trusts
  • Taxi offences
  • Professional Conduct
  • Lease Extensions
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Failure to provide a specimen
  • Restoration of licence
  • Part Time Workers
  • Driving Whilst Unfit
  • Senior Executives
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Extending your Lease
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Surveyors
  • Assault
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Pension and property advice
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Valuers
  • Injunctions
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Professional Negligence
  • Criminal Damage
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Convicted in absence
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Architects
  • Exceptional Hardship
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Engineers
  • Drugs offences
  • Dangerous driving
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Family Leave
  • Employment Contracts
  • Injunctions
  • Driving Without Due Care
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Death by dangerous driving
  • Driving whilst disqualified
  • Dangerous vehicle conditions
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • TUPE
  • Probate
  • Litigation Law
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Planning
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Family Mediation
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Family law
  • Housing disputes
  • Tax consultants
  • Flexible Working
  • Professional trustees
  • Early return of driving licence
  • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Notice of intended prosecution
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Collaborative Law
  • Mobile phone offences
  • Disqualification removal
  • Gardening Leave
  • Fraud
  • Repossessions
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Separation
  • Remortgaging
  • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Consumer Rights
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Stopping and reporting
  • New Driver Provisions
  • Transfer of title
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Right to Manage
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Special Reasons
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Road rage incidents
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Failure to furnish identification
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Barristers
  • Wills
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Speeding offences
  • Drug driving
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Discretionary disqualification
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Pension Law
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Child Law
  • Driving without insurance
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Travel rights
  • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Careless driving
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Trusts
  • IT professionals
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Media and Sports
  • Failing to notify DVLA
  • Child contact
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Insurance brokers
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Separation Agreement
  • Failure to provide a blood sample
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Transfers of equity
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Signs and signal offences
  • Children
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Agency agreements
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Employment - business
  • Share option schemes
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Setting up a business
  • Data Protection
  • Commercial Law
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Purchase of development land
  • Asset Tracing
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Credit Control
  • Competition law
  • Rights of way issues
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Finance
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Development plot sales
  • Corporate finance
  • Commercial Leases
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Tax
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Corporate Law
  • Developer disputes
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Farming disputes
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Mediation
  • Summary Judgment
  • Environmental policy law
  • Equestrian property
  • Management buyouts
  • Intellectual Property
  • Statutory Demands
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Franchising
  • Planning law
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Shareholder Agreements

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000