Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Ramsdens Solicitors LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 90%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ramsdens Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Ramsdens Solicitors LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 12%
Overpriced 12%
About Right 75%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 89%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ramsdens Solicitors LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Ramsdens Solicitors LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 89%
No 11%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 90%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ramsdens Solicitors LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Ramsdens Solicitors LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 90%
No 10%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Ramsdens Solicitors LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.5/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    594
  • Very Good

    21
  • Average

    5
  • Poor

    3
  • Awful

    59

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Sail

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Sail

April 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing,sold my property.

The process was straightforward and all done online and phone call, Always willing to help with advice and made everything really easy. Money in bank same day as exchange off contracts. Really great service.

Was this review helpful?

Julie

Julie

March 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service

We at Julies Homes in Farsley have used Steven Murgatroyd for over the 10 years.
We can't say enough good things about Steven. He's knowledgeable, professional, and has helped us in so many ways over the years. He became a good friend and we rely on him for any legal issues we may have. I would highly recommend him 😀😀

Was this review helpful?

Antony

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Antony

March 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent conveyance solicitor

Steven helped me in a very awkward house sale and separation from an ex partner, He was excellent in communication throughout.
If I ever need a solicitor again he is definitely my go to guy. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Sarah

Sarah

March 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent solicitor

I recently worked with Steven to facilitate my ex-partner buying me out of our property, and I couldn't be more satisfied with the experience. Steven demonstrated exceptional professionalism and expertise throughout the entire process. They were incredibly responsive to my questions and concerns, providing clear explanations and guidance every step of the way. Thanks to their expertise, the transaction was completed smoothly and efficiently. I highly recommend Steven for anyone in need of expert legal assistance.

Was this review helpful?

Zoe

Zoe

March 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Really great experience

When my father sadly passed away, Steven Murgatroyd was amazing, I couldn't have asked for anything better, professional, friendly, great advice & always had direct contact, whenever I needed him, highly recommend

Was this review helpful?

Jo

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ramsdens Solicitors LLP.

Jo

March 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Law services

Brilliant service ,great response and results

Was this review helpful?

Julie

Matter Type:

Disputed Probate

Julie

November 21, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills

Ramsdens Solicitors dealt with both my parents Wills, and where so very helpful at the time and after , that when it came the time for my Husband and Myself to make our Wills it was our first choice for peace of mind ,and to know it would be dealt with professionally by pleasant and helpful people.

Was this review helpful?

Huong

Matter Type:

Investment purchases and Buy to Let

Huong

November 28, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service

Fantastic service received from Lindsey Frith and Carol Shaw. They are a great team. I don’t know why I was panicking in the first place. Completion within timeline and delivery what was promised. Definitely, I ll use them again and I will recommend this company to everyone. Very experienced and knowledgeable in their field!! Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Margaret

Margaret

August 22, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Disrespectful

Very lax in dealing with matters he is responsible for as a trustee, which for the previous two years has caused delay in being able to submit my tax return to HMRC. Estimated figures by the trustees were submitted last year causing amendments to be made this year. Therefore, I’m having to pay an extra £120 to my accountants for the Trustees mistakes in order for Correct figures to be sent to HMRC.
Please don’t use Ramsdens for Trust work, they have caused much stress and extra expense for myself and family.

Was this review helpful?

J

J

May 20, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dismissive and uninformed

I contacted Ramsden's Solicitors via their website, seeking legal representation for a commercial dispute of > £45K. After receiving no reply I phoned to follow up on my enquiry. After being placed on hold for a long time, the staff member returned to inform me that Ramsden's wouldn't be willing to take on a case for such a small sum and that I should consider the small claims court. When I explained that the small claims court has an upper limit of £10K, the staff member cut me short and repeated that £45K is too small a sum for Ramsden's to assist with.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Louise

Louise

March 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Louise

Very rude and unprofessional in all matters

Was this review helpful?

Sue

Sue

February 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sue

Easy to find, all staff pleasant from the moment we walked in the office until the moment we left. The staff were pleasant and helpful on the phone regarding any questions we may have had.

Was this review helpful?

Nigel

Nigel

December 19, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nigel

Fantastic as the company pointed out that a part of the land that I was purchasing was not registered to anyone and this was not found by the previous owners, this has made it's own problems but nothing like it could have been.

Was this review helpful?

Carol

Carol

November 30, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Carol

Very good

Was this review helpful?

Becks33

Becks33

July 19, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Becks33

Brilliant! Can’t fault this firm at all. They have been excellent all the way through the process of buying a house. Professional, friendly, knowledgeable and always happy to take a call or get back to you. Would highly recommended they have been quick all through the process. Many thanks to Andrew and his team.

Was this review helpful?

Ramsdens Solicitors LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Ramsdens Solicitors is a leading, award-winning full-service law firm providing legal advice to individuals and businesses across Yorkshire. With a history in the region spanning back more than 150 years, we have expanded to employ more than 280 team members, each of whom are experts in their field. The firm is one of The Times top 250 law firms and ranked in the Legal 500. We can help clients across the UK, no matter who you are and what you require.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Manual Handling
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Serious Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Tinnitus
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
    • Mental Health
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment