Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Clifford Johnston & Co Compares

Value for money

This firm - 98%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Clifford Johnston & Co on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Clifford Johnston & Co. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 5%
Overpriced 5%
About Right 88%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Clifford Johnston & Co and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Clifford Johnston & Co performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Clifford Johnston & Co and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Clifford Johnston & Co compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Clifford Johnston & Co offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    373
  • Very Good

    14
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    1

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Mohammed

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Clifford Johnston & Co.

Mohammed

April 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Good services

She explained everyone properly and clearly has I have learning difficulties,
She was good at her job and I would use here again so thank you

Was this review helpful?

Sakir Mahmud

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Clifford Johnston & Co.

Sakir Mahmud

April 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

Horup Khan dealt with my case, as he has done many times previously. From start to finish the communication was clear. I have been happy with the service provided.

Was this review helpful?

Mohammed Farhan Goni

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Clifford Johnston & Co.

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Mohammed Farhan Goni

April 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service and extremely professional.

Horup provided an excellent service and was very professional. He was very prompt helping with any queries I had, making the whole process swift. I am extremely satisfied with the service he provided and will definitely recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful?

Roger B

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Clifford Johnston & Co.

Roger B

March 21, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House conveyancing

I was extremely satisfied with the house conveyancing conducted on my behalf. All information has been provided in a timely fashion with sound advice. Clifford Johnston steered the process very efficiently despite the most recent transaction being somewhat frustrated by issues with the chain.

The reason that I only award 4 stars is that I also used a solicitor at Clifford Johnston for a lasting POA, but I found communication was not as good as I would have expected it to be

Was this review helpful?

Danielle

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Clifford Johnston & Co.

Danielle

March 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Informative and very helpful

Within my circumstances of needed a solicitor they were very helpful and gave me as much information as I needed. Kept me in the loop with the process and were very friendly.
Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Clifford Johnston & Co.

Anonymous

March 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Breach case

Estelle was amazing, she is very professional and does her job amazingly, and gets results, communication prior was really good, and she is very honest

Was this review helpful?

Wayne Thompson

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Clifford Johnston & Co.

Wayne Thompson

March 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great Service

I've sold numerous properties using Clifford Johnson & Co Solicitors. I usually deal with Horup Khan. House buying and selling can be stressful, so its important to have a good legal team on your side sorting out all your conveyancing. And I've always found this company slick, efficient and they always get the job done with little fuss.

Was this review helpful?

Nikki

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Clifford Johnston & Co.

Nikki

March 01, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Efficient and minimal stress

Horup worked with me through my flat sale. He was always very quick to get back to my emails and concerns and was also very efficient with getting things sorted with the buyers solicitors. I would definitely recommend working with him.

Was this review helpful?

Hayley

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Clifford Johnston & Co.

Hayley

February 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Exceptional Firm, Exceptional Solicitor, and Exceptional service.

I honestly can't recommend Clifford Johnston and Co solicitors more, and I think my feedback here won’t do justice how much respect, gratitude and appreciation I have for this firm and particularly Jared McNally.
From my first meeting with Jared I felt completely at ease, and it was clear to see he was exceptionally knowledgeable in regards to his advice and the information he provided.
I have now been a client of Jared for the past two years, and I can’t praise his persistence and guidance throughout my case enough. I honestly feel if it wasn’t for him I wouldn’t have achieved the outcome that I did.
It’s difficult to express in a review just how much I have appreciated his service, his excellent communication skills, his perseverance and his thoroughness throughout the case, whilst also having complete faith and belief in me and my abilities as his client. Jared has gave me the confidence I needed throughout the case as well as providing very open and honest feedback, at every single stage of the process.
Jared was also able to recommend a fantastic and highly experienced barrister, and ensured excellent communication between the three parties throughout.
I actually cant thank Jared enough for what he has done for me over the past two years and the amazing result I received, which I never thought would be possible, he has honestly help change my life.
If I could give more than 5 stars to Clifford Johnston & co solicitors, I really would.

Was this review helpful?

Kirsty Williams

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Clifford Johnston & Co.

Kirsty Williams

February 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Amazing

Estelle was open and honestly with every step. She was contactable and reasonable. Her support throughout was heartwarming. As never needed a solicitor before, she guided me through supporting myself and my family, making us feel extremely comfortable in her presence. Im very grateful for the support from Estelle, couldn’t be more thankful. Lovely lady

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Natalka

Natalka

March 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Natalka

Excellent service, professional, efficient and friendly.

Was this review helpful?

S

S

March 01, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

Very grateful to Andrea for flawlessly managing the conveyancing on my recent house sale. She truly went above and beyond. The depth of her skill and experience and responsive communication really helped to make the experience less stressful.

Was this review helpful?

Jawad

Jawad

November 15, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jawad

Estelle Parkhouse She is top professional at Clifford Johnston solicitors I would definitely recommend her services ..very helpful very professional

Was this review helpful?

Olga

Olga

September 11, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Olga

I worked with solicitor Naila Kosar, who has been really helpful and accommodating all the way through, offering good and realistic advice and even finding a slot on a Sunday evening to discuss my situation (online) so that I could make my deadline. She is very knowledgeable and in my case she even raised potential issues I had not thought about so that I could make an informed decision. She was happy to answer a few other queries by email after I had submitted my application too, being available for me during the whole process. In my experience, she is a great professional and I would not hesitate to work with her again.

Was this review helpful?

Ayman

Ayman

August 25, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ayman

I used Clifford Johnson twice now to help me apply for my UK residence visa. Naila Kosar was the solicitor who advices me she was very helpful.
Listened and understood my situation, for both applications I was in a different situation but with her support and guidance I successfully received my UK residence.
Thank you Naila
Ayman

Was this review helpful?

Clifford Johnston & Co are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Clifford Johnston & Co. is a highly qualified and specialist law firm with offices in Stockport & Manchester. We are committed to providing the best legal advice and advocacy. Our practice is founded on exceptional values and excellent standards of client care. Belshaws Solicitors merged with Clifford Johnston & Co Solicitors with effect from 1st Feb 2020. The merger brings additional strength and depth to the combined team at Clifford Johnston & Co.

Practice areas

Conveyancing Elderly client Probate Wills Crime Regulatory Professional Discipline Family Mediation Inquests Immigration Mental Health Contempt of Court

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Domestic violence
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Harassment
    • Juvenile
    • Legal aid
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Sexual allegations including Rape and Sexual Assaults
    • Theft
  • Driving offences
    • Appeal driving conviction
    • Careless driving
    • Convicted in absence
    • Dangerous driving
    • Dangerous vehicle conditions
    • Death By Careless Driving
    • Death by dangerous driving
    • Discretionary disqualification
    • Disqualification removal
    • Drink driving
    • Driving Whilst Unfit
    • Driving Without Due Care
    • Driving whilst disqualified
    • Driving without a licence
    • Driving without insurance
    • Drug driving
    • Drunk in charge
    • Early return of driving licence
    • Exceptional Hardship
    • Failing to notify DVLA
    • Failure to furnish identification
    • Failure to provide a blood sample
    • Failure to provide a specimen
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Mobile phone offences
    • New Driver Provisions
    • Notice of intended prosecution
    • Recognition of disqualification
    • Restoration of licence
    • Road rage incidents
    • Serious injury by dangerous driving
    • Signs and signal offences
    • Special Reasons
    • Speeding offences
    • Stopping and reporting
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
    • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Employment
    • Professional Discipline
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Human rights
    • Human rights
    • Judicial review
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Asylum and Deportation
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • Further leave to remain applications
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Human Rights
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Refugee Family Reunion
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Mental Health
    • Mental Health - Court of protection
    • Mental Health Legal aid
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment