Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Thackray Williams LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Thackray Williams LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Thackray Williams LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 6%
Overpriced 6%
About Right 87%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Thackray Williams LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Thackray Williams LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Thackray Williams LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Thackray Williams LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Thackray Williams LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    423
  • Very Good

    19
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    3
  • Awful

    9

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
David

David

May 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Successful Sale and Purchase

During the sale and purchase we received a first class service from Alisha Maidment and Claudia Ware. Even although there was a transition of Solicitor from Claudia to Alisha at the midway point, it was a seamless process and communication did not falter. This is the second occasion that we have used the services of Thackray Williams LLP and have been thoroughly impressed with both interactions. Buying and selling property is regarded as one of the most stressful events you will experience throughout life, individuals such as Claudia Ware and Alisha Maidment make this process all the more digestible.

Was this review helpful?

Victoria Dennis

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thackray Williams LLP.

Victoria Dennis

May 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great Communication and professional service received

I had a follow up query on completion regarding an amount held on possible arrears we may have owed on service charges in our previous property. We did not owe any money and Melanie from Thackray Williams contacted our buyers solicitors and we received the money in a matter of days. Would highly recommend Thackray Williams for their great communication and professional service.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thackray Williams LLP.

Anonymous

May 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thanks!

I had a good experience with this firm and in particular helpful, practical advice when the buyer behaved badly in the final stages. We held firm and got the price we had agreed in the end.

Was this review helpful?

Carl

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thackray Williams LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Carl

April 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Needed to make a Will

Needed to draw up a Will but wasn't sure what type was required.
After having a consultation with Charlene and the team at TW
Everything was explained clearly and responded to swiftly so I had total confidence in their work.
Charlene kept me updated accordingly so that the will got drawn up to my specific specifications.
I would highly recommend TW to friends and family.

Was this review helpful?

Jack Edwards

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thackray Williams LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Jack Edwards

April 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

First Class!

Marcus & his team have been nothing short of amazing! The thing we loved was with previous solicitors trying to contact them has been near on impossible! Marcus & team would take the time to speak with you on the phone and dispense genuine advise! Nothing was ever too much trouble and we were made to feel very valued. We would have no hesitation on using Thackray Williams again and we will be more than happy to recommend to family and friends.

Was this review helpful?

Delia B

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thackray Williams LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Delia B

April 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent collaboration

We decided to go with them at a developer's recommendation, and we weren't disapointed.
We had both a property buy and a sale to do, and the support given throughout the whole process was excellent. We had some hiccups along the way, which were dealt with very professionally.
I totally recommend TW and I will deffinitely work with them again, if needed.

Was this review helpful?

Amanda

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thackray Williams LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Amanda

April 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale and Purchase - Excellent service

I can not praise Marcus and Lauren enough. The communication was great, everything was really quick and Marcus was always there with professional and practical advise. Marcus really helped to make a very stressful situation less so.
I would highly recommend him and will definitely use him when I move in future.
Thanks!

Was this review helpful?

Lee

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thackray Williams LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Lee

April 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House move/sale

Seamless process in what is supposed to be the most stressful thing to do in life.

Was this review helpful?

Brian Dearing

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thackray Williams LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Brian Dearing

March 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent communication and service

Laura Masters was a tremendous help to enable the exchange and completion to come to fruition after a long series of hold ups and problems she very helpful competent and excellent communication skills and worked very hard to get the completion down before Easter her customer service was excellent something which seems to get overlooked these days from some solicitors

Was this review helpful?

John Giannini

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thackray Williams LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

John Giannini

March 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Made the conveyancing process as easy as possible

I found the support and assistance throughout the sale process, fast and easy to understand. They were responsive and more than happy to provide answers to any queries or concerns I had along the way. Claudia and Melanie did a great job looking after us throughout. I would have no issues recommending them.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Jonathan

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Jonathan

April 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jonathan

Alisha Maidment handled our lease extension.

Despite coming onto the case mid transaction, she quickly got acquainted with the details of the case. Once she joined, I felt the transaction moved quicker and smoother.

She used effective, clear and concise communications skills to explain the details of our lease which put us in the best position to progress with our purchase.

She used great people skills to manage delays caused by the other party in a way that kept the transaction progressing.

I can’t commend her enough on her professionalism, knowledge and approachable character and would recommend to others.

Was this review helpful?

Denisa

Denisa

February 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Denisa

Amit Bhangham is our go to solicitor. Highly responsive, works with us and our client to ensure that our client is protected and is able to close a transaction in a remarkably fast manner, a lot more efficiently than the current industry standard, and that often means life or death to a property transaction so his expertise and commitment are next to none and invaluable.

Was this review helpful?

Tash

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Tash

November 09, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tash

I had an excellent experience with this company on a house sale. I was lucky enough to get Claudia and Mel acting for me and they managed to balance being extremely professional and efficient with being totally human and user friendly. Couldn't have asked for more, thanks to both of them.

Was this review helpful?

Toby

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Toby

June 25, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Toby

Absolutely brilliant service, couldn’t ask for a better team to help me as a first time buyer for my flat. Marcus is amazing, replies so quickly and is thorough, professional and very down to earth. Explains things to make them easy to understand and great service from the whole team especially Lauren and Marcus.

Was this review helpful?

Rebecca

Rebecca

February 11, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rebecca

I’ve been represented by Thackray Williams for over a decade and have always been happy with the service and advice I’ve received. I’ve worked for some years with Tom Coling who has been excellent, always professional, has gone above and beyond and has given exceptional advice in all that time. I’ve been able to trust Tom to manage incredibly difficult circumstances for me.

Was this review helpful?

Thackray Williams LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Extraordinary circumstances demand exceptional people. Thoughtful, intuitive, determined individuals. Approachable, insightful professionals who can quickly get to the heart of your needs to deliver results that mean as much to us as they do to you. It's these qualities that define us and have built our reputation as a leading full-service law firm that cares. Find out how our team can turn challenges into opportunities tailored around you.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Aviation
    • Energy
    • Maritime and Shipping
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment