Sills & Betteridge Solicitors

01604 330710

Sills & Betteridge offer the full range of legal services to both private individuals and business clients. We have offices in Lincoln, Nottingham, Boston, Sleaford, Gainsborough, Scunthorpe, Doncaster, Grimsby, Northampton, Skegness & Spilsby, though our clients are based all over the UK. We provide advice in a straightforward manner. We take the time to understand your needs and we are careful to explain things to you to make the process of dealing with us smooth and uncomplicated. We are here to help you.

4.6/5 218 Customer Reviews 218
Recommended by
218 Verified Clients
like
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Sills & Betteridge Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Sills & Betteridge Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

218 Customer Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    190
  • Very Good
    5
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    18

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Ryan
Ryan Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 11, 2019 20190111000000

We were delighed with the serive we received.

5

Linda was very patient and covered our needs wonderfully well. We were delighed with the serive we received. Thank you very much

Was this review helpful? Yes

McCormick
McCormick Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 08, 2019 20190108000000

We feel confident in recommending the services of Sills and Betteridge for any conveyancing requirements.

5

 It’s our absolute pleasure to recommend both Tiffany and Dawn from the Scunthorpe branch of Sills and Betteridge LLP, for their endeavours in our recent sale/purchase transactions. Both are a truly valuable asset to Sills and Betteridge and would be a beneficial addition to any organization. We feel confident in recommending the services of Sills and Betteridge for any conveyancing requirements. Not only were they thoroughly professional, but also friendly, approachable and always willing to take the time to discuss our concerns and respond to any questions. Consequently, this made us feel at ease and therefore gave us confidence in their ability to provide an excellent service. Best wishes, Kev & Jan

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Richard Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 08, 2019 20190108000000

We would certainly recommend

5

We were extremely pleased with the way the Scunthorpe Branch dealt with our house purchase. We would certainly recommend them and especially Tiffany and Dawn who made the experience an easy one, always there to help with any queries in a quick and efficient manner.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Patricia
Patricia Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 20, 2018 20181220000000

excellent staff

5

I have found the service excellent,the staff very helpful and friendly,will happily recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Samantha
Samantha Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 19, 2018 20181219000000

Highly recommend!

5

Caroline from spilsby branch dud everything I wanted and more! Great person highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helen
Helen Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 14, 2018 20181214000000

Caroline is a star and a credit to Sills & Betteridge.

5

I would like to commend Caroline Gatenby at the Spilsby Office for her excellent care and service to my Mum when her house purchase ran into delays and a break-in before completion, she was there all the way spending lots of time sorting the problems out for us with the Vendor's Solicitors for a speedy resolution. My mum is now happily in her new home!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sam
Sam Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 11, 2018 20181211000000

I wanted to leave a personal thank you to Caroline Gatenby from your spilsby office .

5

We have completed our purchase of our new home today after a prolonged process due to a complex freehold and leasehold set up. Caroline has taken ownership of our purchase in recent weeks and has been excellent in every way. She has communicated clearly and is always happy to help and even listen to our frustrations and helped us find solutions. She is a credit to your business and we are very grateful for all of the help we have recieved since she took over the process .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brian
Brian Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 10, 2018 20181210000000

Thank you for a speedy conclusion to the sale.

5

Many thanks for the professional and efficient way in which you guided me through the sale of my house. I felt that there was always someone at hand who I could contact over any queries that arose.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Daynes
Daynes Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 09, 2018 20181209000000

10/10!!!

5

I was completely satisfied with your level of service. I feel the couty result was fair & just.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rebecca
Rebecca Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 08, 2018 20181208000000

I cannot thank you enough.

5

Thank you so much to Jessica Shaw and Rachael Lawson for being my first point of call for my solicitor enquiries and dealing with everything to do with the process of buying my first home! And i will definately recommend you both in the future or be using you both again! Couldnt of asked for a better service!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Nikki
Nikki Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 17, 2019
Collected on
20190217085655

Nikki Cooke

5

Professional polite friendly helpful staff staff

Was this review helpful? Yes

Samuel
Samuel Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 12, 2019
Collected on
20190212183119

Samuel Herbert

5

Professional, lots of experience, very responsive, would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tom
Tom Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 11, 2019
Collected on
20190211173253

Tom Morris

5

We used Sills & Betteridge Gainsborough for conveyancing, absolutely brilliant service, way better than any of the online firms. Claire North and her team were professional, courteous and very responsive from start to finish.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Francis
Francis Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 10, 2019
Collected on
20190210163559

Francis green

5

Great,, I had Angela Walker for my divorce. She knew all the little tricks to get me the most from it. Debie

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin
Colin Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 08, 2019
Collected on
20190208023252

Colin Halstead

5

Fantastic solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alexandra
Alexandra Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 06, 2019
Collected on
20190206235613

Alexandra Ranshaw

5

After being thrown into a situation which was completely alien and frightening for me, I turned to the family department of Sills and Betterage.

The team helped me through the process with their knowledge and support.

Mo Hayes has been fantastic and achieved the outcome I needed expertly and efficiently. Billy and Lauren have also been great. ( it makes such a big difference to be looked after by a well functioning and skilful team)

Thank you very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brian
Brian Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 25, 2019
Collected on
20190125151338

Brian Richardson

5

I have been dealing with Lyn Heaton and found her really good and she has been so helpful throughout the whole case. And would recommend her to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes

Katie
Katie Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 21, 2019
Collected on
20190121170010

Katie Devine

5

I would like to highly recomened Crystal Theofanous and her team and would like to thank them all for helping me with my family case ,
with greats results
Katie.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Donald
Donald Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 22, 2018
Collected on
20181222184905

Donald Seremwe

5

EXCELLENT SERVICES....

Was this review helpful? Yes

Donna
Donna Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 21, 2018
Collected on
20181221101935

Donna Young

5

Jessica and Rachel have been dealing with our house move I could not recommend them enough we had a very long drawn out affair but they both made our lives so much easier at this stressful time 5* all the way Donna Young

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Sills & Betteridge Solicitors

  • Emma Downing

    Following university and after graduating from Law School Emma completed her training contract at Frearsons Solicitors. After qualification Emma worked for several years in London where she dealt with a high volume of leasehold conveyancing and high value properties. After returning to Lincolnshire Emma rejoined Frearsons and helped to build up and develop the residential conveyancing department building links with local estate agents and establishing a large local client base. Frearsons merged with Sills & Betteridge on 1st October 2015 and Emma became an Associate of the firm on 1st June 2016.

  • Joanne Patten

    Joanne Patten joined Frearsons in 1987 as an office junior and worked in all departments gaining valuable experience. Joanne commenced her Legal Executive training in 1995 and qualified as a Fellow of Institute of Legal Executives in 2001. Frearsons merged with Sills and Betteridge on the 1st October 2015 and Joanne continues to work in the residential property department.

  • Tiffany Smith

    I have worked in the legal profession for over 20 years and have been with Sills & Betteridge for nearly 4 years. I run the Conveyancing Department in our Scunthorpe Office under the supervision of our Conveyancing Partners.

  • Kimberley Rose

    I qualified in 2012, and have over a decade of experience in the Residential Conveyancing sector. I have developed range of experience over that time including: - Shared ownership - New builds - Help to buy loans - Lease extension

  • Jessica Shaw

    Jessica is a conveyancer based at our Scunthorpe office. She deals with a range of residential conveyancing transactions including freehold sale and purchase, shared ownership, help to buy, forces help to buy, re-mortgaging and transfer of equity.

  • Talisa Hammond

    Talisa works in the Residential Property Department as a Conveyancing Executive in the Nottingham Office. Talisa has been working in Residential Property for over twelve years. She deals with a range of residential property transactions including freehold sales and purchases, right to buy purchases, leasehold sales, re-mortgages and transfers of equity.

  • Claire North

    “Claire and her assistants were professional, friendly and always helpful throughout the selling process. Thank you!” Mr B, Gainsborough

  • Sue Ross

    I am a Licensed Conveyancer based in the Sleaford Office. I began working for Jebb & Tunnard in 1986 and then moved to Godsons in 1994. I have over 25 years experience in conveyancing and is part of the Residential Property team at the Sleaford Office. I handle a caseload of residential conveyancing work covering all aspects of buying and selling properties. I qualified as a Licensed Conveyancer in March 2014.

  • Sarah Whinnerah

    Sarah is a Licensed Conveyancer, she joined Sills & Betteridge in 2014 as part of their residential conveyancing team based at the Spilsby Office. Sarah deals with transactions ranging from residential sales and purchases to re-mortgages and transfers of equity.

  • Karen French

    Karen French is a Chartered Legal Executive working in the Conveyancing Department at our Boston office. Karen is Boston born and bred and educated there also. She left school at 16 and took up immediate employment in the legal profession where she has been ever since. Karen qualified as a Legal Executive in 1994 and her area of law is Residential Conveyancing with some Commercial Property work.

  • Peter Burton

    Peter is a proper yellow belly having been born, raised and educated in Lincoln. He joined a local firm of solicitors straight from school in 1970 and remained there for 34 years before moving to Sills & Betteridge in 2004. Peter is a keen sportsman even though his playing days are now behind him. He is still secretary for the local cricket club that he played for for nearly 40 years and is a season ticket holder for Lincoln City Football Club whom he has supported since his early teens. He is also very keen on theatre and in his early days staged managed ‘ the Lincoln Cycle of Mystery plays’ and ‘Joseph and his Amazing Technicoloured Dream coat’ in the Lincoln Cathedral as well as many plays and musicals by local groups.

  • Edward Sharpe

    Edward specialises in property law and residential Conveyancing. After completing a degree in Biomedical Sciences Edward worked in London for 6 years before retraining as a lawyer. He completed his Law degree and LPC in London prior to moving to Lincolnshire to join Sills & Betteridge as a trainee solicitor. Edward qualified into the Wills, Trusts and Probate department and later moved to the Residential Property department. He became a Partner of Sills & Betteridge in June 2010.

  • Tracy Wray

    I started work in 1984 with Hodgson Carlyle & Co who merged with Sills & Betteridge in 1990 and have therefore worked in the legal profession for over 32 years. I handle a caseload of residential conveyancing work covering all aspects of buying and selling properties together with remortgages and transfers of equity.

  • Mathew Daurge

    Mathew works in the Residential property department as a conveyancing Executive in the Lincoln office. He acts for Developers in their sales of Plots and Freehold Sales & Purchases, Transfers of Equity and Remortages.

About This Branch

Description

Sills & Betteridge are proud to have been providing legal advice and services for more than 250 years. Over that time we have built up a wealth of experience and knowledge about what you, our clients, want from a solicitor. Our service is professional, our people approachable. We tailor our service to meet your requirements. We are highly committed to quality and constantly strive to adapt and improve all of our services. We are proud to have been recognised as a law firm of quality and experience through the award of the Legal Aid Agency’s Specialist Quality Mark, the Law Society’s Lexcel Quality Standard and the Law Society’s Conveyancing Quality Scheme accreditation. These three quality standards award firms for providing exceptional client service and excellence in practice management.


Legal Services
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Social Services
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Right to Manage
  • Housing disputes
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Professional Discipline
  • Senior Executives
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Theft
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Part Time Workers
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Tax
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Professional Conduct
  • Redundancy
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Professional trustees
  • Trusts
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Housing Associations
  • Lease Extensions
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Gardening Leave
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Legal aid
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Family law
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Trusts
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Financial advisors
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Pension and property advice
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Extending your Lease
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Assault
  • Leasehold properties
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Fraud
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Property Disputes
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Financial Matters
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Litigation Law
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Business Crime
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Wills
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Planning
  • Repossessions
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Child Law
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Remortgaging
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Inheritance Tax
  • MRSA Claims
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Child contact
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Dental Negligence
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Travel rights
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Probate
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Drugs offences
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Barristers
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Insurance brokers
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Human rights
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Housing
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Criminal Damage
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Military
  • Flexible Working
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Pension Law
  • TUPE
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Family Mediation
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Collaborative Law
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Against The Council
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Separation Agreement
  • Transfers of equity
  • Stress at Work
  • Medical Negligence
  • Valuers
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Benefits
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Injunctions
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Employment Contracts
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Children
  • Housing Management
  • Malicious falsehood
  • Civil partnerships
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • IT professionals
  • Pre-publication advice
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Franchising
  • Debt Recovery
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Commercial Leases
  • Tax
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Corporate Law
  • Credit Control
  • Agency agreements
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Developer disputes
  • Statutory Demands
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Health and Safety
  • Domain Names
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Copyright
  • Mediation
  • Management buyouts
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Asset Tracing
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Planning law
  • Slander
  • Equestrian property
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Setting up a business
  • Finance
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Development plot sales
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Employment - business
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Summary Judgment
  • Licensing
  • Patents
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Purchase of development land
  • Competition law
  • Corporate finance
  • Rights of way issues
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Commercial Law
  • Farming disputes
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Share option schemes
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Environmental policy law
  • Intellectual Property
  • Data Protection

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000