Sills & Betteridge LLP

01302 220 009

Sills & Betteridge offer the full range of legal services to both private individuals and business clients. We have offices in Lincoln, Nottingham, Boston, Sleaford, Gainsborough, Scunthorpe, Doncaster, Grimsby, Northampton, Skegness & Spilsby, though our clients are based all over the UK. We provide advice in a straightforward manner. We take the time to understand your needs and we are careful to explain things to you to make the process of dealing with us smooth and uncomplicated. We are here to help you.

4.6/5 257 Customer Reviews 257
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Sills & Betteridge LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Sills & Betteridge LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

257 Customer Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    222
  • Very Good
    7
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    22

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Ryan
Ryan Added 7 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 11, 2019 20190111000000

We were delighed with the serive we received.

5

Linda was very patient and covered our needs wonderfully well. We were delighed with the serive we received. Thank you very much

Was this review helpful? Yes

McCormick
McCormick Added 7 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 08, 2019 20190108000000

We feel confident in recommending the services of Sills and Betteridge for any conveyancing requirements.

5

 It’s our absolute pleasure to recommend both Tiffany and Dawn from the Scunthorpe branch of Sills and Betteridge LLP, for their endeavours in our recent sale/purchase transactions. Both are a truly valuable asset to Sills and Betteridge and would be a beneficial addition to any organization. We feel confident in recommending the services of Sills and Betteridge for any conveyancing requirements. Not only were they thoroughly professional, but also friendly, approachable and always willing to take the time to discuss our concerns and respond to any questions. Consequently, this made us feel at ease and therefore gave us confidence in their ability to provide an excellent service. Best wishes, Kev & Jan

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Richard Added 7 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 08, 2019 20190108000000

We would certainly recommend

5

We were extremely pleased with the way the Scunthorpe Branch dealt with our house purchase. We would certainly recommend them and especially Tiffany and Dawn who made the experience an easy one, always there to help with any queries in a quick and efficient manner.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Patricia
Patricia Added 8 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 20, 2018 20181220000000

excellent staff

5

I have found the service excellent,the staff very helpful and friendly,will happily recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Samantha
Samantha Added 8 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 19, 2018 20181219000000

Highly recommend!

5

Caroline from spilsby branch dud everything I wanted and more! Great person highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helen
Helen Added 8 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 14, 2018 20181214000000

Caroline is a star and a credit to Sills & Betteridge.

5

I would like to commend Caroline Gatenby at the Spilsby Office for her excellent care and service to my Mum when her house purchase ran into delays and a break-in before completion, she was there all the way spending lots of time sorting the problems out for us with the Vendor's Solicitors for a speedy resolution. My mum is now happily in her new home!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sam
Sam Added 8 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 11, 2018 20181211000000

I wanted to leave a personal thank you to Caroline Gatenby from your spilsby office .

5

We have completed our purchase of our new home today after a prolonged process due to a complex freehold and leasehold set up. Caroline has taken ownership of our purchase in recent weeks and has been excellent in every way. She has communicated clearly and is always happy to help and even listen to our frustrations and helped us find solutions. She is a credit to your business and we are very grateful for all of the help we have recieved since she took over the process .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brian
Brian Added 8 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 10, 2018 20181210000000

Thank you for a speedy conclusion to the sale.

5

Many thanks for the professional and efficient way in which you guided me through the sale of my house. I felt that there was always someone at hand who I could contact over any queries that arose.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Daynes
Daynes Added 8 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 09, 2018 20181209000000

10/10!!!

5

I was completely satisfied with your level of service. I feel the couty result was fair & just.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rebecca
Rebecca Added 8 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 08, 2018 20181208000000

I cannot thank you enough.

5

Thank you so much to Jessica Shaw and Rachael Lawson for being my first point of call for my solicitor enquiries and dealing with everything to do with the process of buying my first home! And i will definately recommend you both in the future or be using you both again! Couldnt of asked for a better service!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Mark
Mark Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 16, 2019
Collected on
20190816153524

Mark

5

Many thanks to Sally (Probate) and Rebecca (Conveyancing) and their respective Teams for all their assistance and guidance in the matter of my late Mother’s probate application and recent sale of her property. All concerned were very professional, diligent and knowledgeable thus making both processes run as smoothly as can be expected. We would have no hesitation recommending them both to anyone looking for similar legal expertise. Mark & Morna Holliday

Was this review helpful? Yes

Patricia
Patricia Added 5 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 12, 2019
Collected on
20190812185927

Patricia

5

I was very pleased with Sills & Betteridge Solicitors they did a first class job kept us up to date with what was going on, very approachable and friendly. I would recommend this company.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Victoria
Victoria Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 07, 2019
Collected on
20190807125636

Victoria

5

I had the pleasure of using the conveyancing services of the Scunthorpe branch of Sills & Betteridge, earlier this year, whilst selling my home.

The lovely ladies that I have spoken to in this department, Dawn and Tiffany, could not have been more helpful and understanding. The sale of my property was all very straight forward and they explained everything that was going on, at every step of the process.

I had been holding off writing this review as my self and my partner are in the process of looking to buy somewhere together, still. I could not, however, recommend their services highly enough and have already to some colleagues also going through the conveyancing process. I very much look forward to using them again when we eventually have an offer accepted.

Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes

M
M Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 03, 2019
Collected on
20190803195636

A client

1

We dealt with an apparently award winning solicitor in Karen Bower Brown who made little effort on our case, did not seem interested in fighting our case and simply didn't believe we would win, she even put in her notes that she thought we'd made stuff up (frankly, quite insulting!). The bill for very little work was horrendous, so much so we made an official complaint about her and her approach to our case, we received a refund.
A few years later, lots of paperwork and some hard graft, we won the case ourselves.
If this is the standard Sills and Betteridge provide, I'd rather do it all myself. I would not recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tyne
Tyne Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 01, 2019
Collected on
20190801130658

Tyne

5

I could not have been happier with the exceptional service I received from Sills and Betteridge!
Professional, friendly and efficient.
Overall excellent and I would definitely use their services again and recommended James Proctor to anyone.
I could not thank them enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Sills & Betteridge are proud to have been providing legal advice and services for more than 250 years. Over that time we have built up a wealth of experience and knowledge about what you, our clients, want from a solicitor. Our service is professional, our people approachable. We tailor our service to meet your requirements. We are highly committed to quality and constantly strive to adapt and improve all of our services. We are proud to have been recognised as a law firm of quality and experience through the award of the Legal Aid Agency’s Specialist Quality Mark, the Law Society’s Lexcel Quality Standard and the Law Society’s Conveyancing Quality Scheme accreditation. These three quality standards award firms for providing exceptional client service and excellence in practice management.


Legal Services
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Flexible Working
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Against The Council
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Valuers
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Trusts
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Housing Associations
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Right to Manage
  • Part Time Workers
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Family law
  • Children
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Redundancy
  • Travel rights
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Collaborative Law
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Dental Negligence
  • Legal aid
  • Matrimonial finance
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Criminal Damage
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Housing
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Employment Contracts
  • Remortgaging
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Barristers
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Human rights
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Medical Negligence
  • Civil partnerships
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Transfer of title
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Fraud
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Tax
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Stress at Work
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Injunctions
  • MRSA Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Injunctions
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Business Crime
  • Gardening Leave
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Malicious falsehood
  • Senior Executives
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Trusts
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Financial advisors
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • IT professionals
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Child Law
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Social Services
  • Child contact
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Separation Agreement
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Pension Law
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Pension and property advice
  • Housing disputes
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Property Disputes
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Benefits
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Theft
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Insurance brokers
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Assault
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Professional Conduct
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Military
  • Litigation Law
  • Pre-publication advice
  • Drugs offences
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Extending your Lease
  • Family Mediation
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Housing Management
  • Transfers of equity
  • Consumer Rights
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Professional trustees
  • Financial Matters
  • Wills
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Planning
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • TUPE
  • Probate
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Purchase of development land
  • Intellectual Property
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Farming disputes
  • Employment - business
  • Commercial Leases
  • Management buyouts
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Statutory Demands
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Commercial Law
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Finance
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Share option schemes
  • Developer disputes
  • Data Protection
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Rights of way issues
  • Equestrian property
  • Franchising
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Setting up a business
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Planning law
  • Tax
  • Credit Control
  • Debt Recovery
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Domain Names
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Asset Tracing
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Corporate Law
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Environmental policy law
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Competition law
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Development plot sales
  • Health and Safety
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Copyright
  • Mediation
  • Summary Judgment
  • Slander
  • Corporate finance
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Licensing
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Agency agreements
  • Patents

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000