Sills & Betteridge LLP

01709 873321

Also known as - Sills & Betteridge Incorporating Trentside Legal,Moving Forward Lincolnshire,Sills Maclaren Britton,Frearsons,Sills & Betteridge Incorporating Frearsons,Bluebird Law,Mediation Matters,Trentside Legal,Sills & Betteridge

Sills & Betteridge offer the full range of legal services to both private individuals and business clients. We have offices in Lincoln, Nottingham, Boston, Sleaford, Gainsborough, Scunthorpe, Doncaster (plus Bawtry, Thorne and Wath Upon Dearne), Grimsby, Northampton, Skegness & Spilsby, though our clients are based all over the UK. We provide advice in a straightforward manner. We take the time to understand your needs and we are careful to explain things to you to make the process of dealing with us smooth and uncomplicated. We are here to help you.

4.6/5 824 Client Reviews 824 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Sills & Betteridge LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Sills & Betteridge LLP on ReviewSolicitors

824 Client Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    705
  • Very Good
    42
  • Average
    18
  • Poor
    5
  • Awful
    54

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Stewart
Stewart Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 26, 2021 20210226131446

Appalling and unprofessional service

1

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

While not a client, the buyer in our chain is using this appalling company.

2 weeks before our intended completion date and after all the draft contracts have been signed these clowns informed us that they wanted a "Covid Clause" inserted into the contracts. Bearing in mind their client is in rented accommodation and is therefore not time critical to move this seems strange.

Now to instigate this, all parties in the chain need to sign new contracts.... 8 working days before our hoped for completion date. When their client asked them not to proceed their response was "Head Office insist so we will not proceed without one except the day before completion."
So not only do they insist on additional clauses in contracts AFTER they have sent and received these back, they won't even take instructions from their clients.

They had 3 months to do this and managed to request 8 working days before completion when there is no chance of getting the entire chain to get signed contracts back.

I would not use this firm under any circumstances and I can only recommend that you avoid them like the plague.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Fraser
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP. Fraser Added 5 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 25, 2021 20210225141310

Conveyancing Service

5

Matter Type: Planning

Fast and reliable service, kept us up to date and infront of everything we needed to do, will 100% recommend to anyone who needs this service.

Solicitor named in this review: Tiffany Smith

A representative from Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 25 February, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Shannon
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP. Shannon Added 5 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 25, 2021 20210225122705

It was ok once the ball was rolling

3

Matter Type: Tenant Eviction

Diane was a lovely woman. Replied when she could. It just felt as though we had to nag them a lot for them to do something. Because when I did all of a sudden I’d get an email to sign a document. It was really hard for me as my partner works away so that was also a factor of time. But over all. It was ok. Stressful but buying a house is always stressful.

Solicitor named in this review: Diane Coultas

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paula
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP. Paula Added 6 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 24, 2021 20210224192823

None better

5

Matter Type: Planning

I have nothing but praise for the service that I have received from Kia Butterfield and, especially, Janet Bedford. Both have been exemplary, as have the receptionists. I recommend them with total confidence.

Solicitor named in this review: Kia Butterfield

A representative from Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 25 February, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paula
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP. Paula Added 6 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 24, 2021 20210224192755

None better

5

Matter Type: Planning

I have nothing but praise for the service that I have received from Kia Butterfield and, especially, Janet Bedford. Both have been exemplary, as have the receptionists. I recommend them with total confidence.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kathryn
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP. Kathryn Added 6 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 24, 2021 20210224133958

House buying

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

My experience with Sills has been very good
The team are so easy to contact and available for questions that pop up and are really approachable and helpful nothing seems too silly to ask and they are happy to help with things that come up making it all feel really smooth and easy
The process was totally new to me and it all went through seamlessly with regular updates and info shared by the team
I would definitely use again and recommend without doubt

Solicitor named in this review: Tracy Wray

A representative from Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 25 February, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

George
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP. George Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 23, 2021 20210223191346

Very proffesional and excellent service

5

Matter Type: Planning

We were recommended Sills and Betteridge by our estate agent and it was the best decision we have made. The conveyancing service that we received for buying and selling our house was very professional and excellent. Tiffany Smith and her team made what would normally be a very stressful time very manageable. We were kept fully informed for the entire process and I feel that we were represented in a manner that was far better than anyone else in our chain. Thank you and would highly recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Tiffany Smith

A representative from Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 25 February, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Emma
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP. Emma Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 23, 2021 20210223140345

Really helpful

5

Matter Type: Planning

We were kept informed along the way regularly. Never had any issues getting through on the phone and email responses were no longer than a day.

A representative from Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 25 February, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Elaine
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP. Elaine Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 23, 2021 20210223090104

Professional

5

Matter Type: Planning

I used Sills & Betteridege for the purchase of my new property and they were exceptionally efficient and most helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was done as quickly as possible under difficult circumstances under the covid pandemic. Would highly recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Alan Rousseau

A representative from Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 25 February, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alan
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP. Alan Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 23, 2021 20210223081153

Selling a property

5

Matter Type: Planning

Very professional and really helpful during the whole process.

Solicitor named in this review: Joanne Patten

A representative from Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 25 February, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Linda
Linda Added 1 year ago Report to admin
September 20, 2019
Collected on
20190920170844

Linda

3

Quite helpful. . Have needed this solicitor only occasionally so difficult to rate.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ann
Ann Added 3 years ago Report to admin
February 21, 2018
Collected on
20180221174523

Ann

4

No fuss service

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sophie
Sophie Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 01, 2021
Collected on
20210301113157

Sophie

5

Absolutely fantastic solicitors. Ive had 2 solicitors during my time using these and they have both been fantastic definitely recommend these to anyone needing a solicitors will definitely use again if needed

Was this review helpful? Yes

Thomas
Thomas Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 01, 2021
Collected on
20210301110947

Thomas

5

I can’t thank Chrystal enough, she took my case on with very little time and smashed it.. Great service all round, She did everything that we discussed and we got the result we wanted I couldn’t be happier.. Thank you once again Chrystal

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rich
Rich Added 5 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 25, 2021
Collected on
20210225184341

Rich

5

I couldn't be more happy with the service, I dealt with Natalie Munday, she made what I was expecting to be a pretty stressful situation (especially with lockdown), actually a very easy and pleasant experience. Would definitely recommend her to anyone. Thank You.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Sills & Betteridge are proud to have been providing legal advice and services for more than 250 years. Over that time we have built up a wealth of experience and knowledge about what you, our clients, want from a solicitor. Our service is professional, our people approachable. We tailor our service to meet your requirements. We are highly committed to quality and constantly strive to adapt and improve all of our services. We are proud to have been recognised as a law firm of quality and experience through the award of the Legal Aid Agency’s Specialist Quality Mark, the Law Society’s Lexcel Quality Standard and the Law Society’s Conveyancing Quality Scheme accreditation. These three quality standards award firms for providing exceptional client service and excellence in practice management.


Regulated By:

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000