Sills & Betteridge LLP

01754 610101

Sills & Betteridge offer the full range of legal services to both private individuals and business clients. We have offices in Lincoln, Nottingham, Boston, Sleaford, Gainsborough, Scunthorpe, Doncaster, Grimsby, Northampton, Skegness & Spilsby, though our clients are based all over the UK. We provide advice in a straightforward manner. We take the time to understand your needs and we are careful to explain things to you to make the process of dealing with us smooth and uncomplicated. We are here to help you.

4.6/5 235 Customer Reviews 235
Recommended by
235 Verified Clients
like Joy and Tom
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Sills & Betteridge LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Sills & Betteridge LLP on ReviewSolicitors

235 Customer Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    204
  • Very Good
    6
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    20

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Ryan
Ryan Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 11, 2019 20190111000000

We were delighed with the serive we received.

5

Linda was very patient and covered our needs wonderfully well. We were delighed with the serive we received. Thank you very much

Was this review helpful? Yes

McCormick
McCormick Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 08, 2019 20190108000000

We feel confident in recommending the services of Sills and Betteridge for any conveyancing requirements.

5

 It’s our absolute pleasure to recommend both Tiffany and Dawn from the Scunthorpe branch of Sills and Betteridge LLP, for their endeavours in our recent sale/purchase transactions. Both are a truly valuable asset to Sills and Betteridge and would be a beneficial addition to any organization. We feel confident in recommending the services of Sills and Betteridge for any conveyancing requirements. Not only were they thoroughly professional, but also friendly, approachable and always willing to take the time to discuss our concerns and respond to any questions. Consequently, this made us feel at ease and therefore gave us confidence in their ability to provide an excellent service. Best wishes, Kev & Jan

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Richard Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 08, 2019 20190108000000

We would certainly recommend

5

We were extremely pleased with the way the Scunthorpe Branch dealt with our house purchase. We would certainly recommend them and especially Tiffany and Dawn who made the experience an easy one, always there to help with any queries in a quick and efficient manner.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Patricia
Patricia Added 5 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 20, 2018 20181220000000

excellent staff

5

I have found the service excellent,the staff very helpful and friendly,will happily recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Samantha
Samantha Added 5 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 19, 2018 20181219000000

Highly recommend!

5

Caroline from spilsby branch dud everything I wanted and more! Great person highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helen
Helen Added 5 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 14, 2018 20181214000000

Caroline is a star and a credit to Sills & Betteridge.

5

I would like to commend Caroline Gatenby at the Spilsby Office for her excellent care and service to my Mum when her house purchase ran into delays and a break-in before completion, she was there all the way spending lots of time sorting the problems out for us with the Vendor's Solicitors for a speedy resolution. My mum is now happily in her new home!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sam
Sam Added 5 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 11, 2018 20181211000000

I wanted to leave a personal thank you to Caroline Gatenby from your spilsby office .

5

We have completed our purchase of our new home today after a prolonged process due to a complex freehold and leasehold set up. Caroline has taken ownership of our purchase in recent weeks and has been excellent in every way. She has communicated clearly and is always happy to help and even listen to our frustrations and helped us find solutions. She is a credit to your business and we are very grateful for all of the help we have recieved since she took over the process .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brian
Brian Added 5 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 10, 2018 20181210000000

Thank you for a speedy conclusion to the sale.

5

Many thanks for the professional and efficient way in which you guided me through the sale of my house. I felt that there was always someone at hand who I could contact over any queries that arose.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Daynes
Daynes Added 5 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 09, 2018 20181209000000

10/10!!!

5

I was completely satisfied with your level of service. I feel the couty result was fair & just.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rebecca
Rebecca Added 5 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 08, 2018 20181208000000

I cannot thank you enough.

5

Thank you so much to Jessica Shaw and Rachael Lawson for being my first point of call for my solicitor enquiries and dealing with everything to do with the process of buying my first home! And i will definately recommend you both in the future or be using you both again! Couldnt of asked for a better service!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Joy
Joy Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 01, 2019
Collected on
20190301180338

Joy Ainsworth

5

Good

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tom
Tom Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 11, 2019
Collected on
20190211173253

Tom Morris

5

We used Sills & Betteridge Gainsborough for conveyancing, absolutely brilliant service, way better than any of the online firms. Claire North and her team were professional, courteous and very responsive from start to finish.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Francis
Francis Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 10, 2019
Collected on
20190210163559

Francis green

5

Great,, I had Angela Walker for my divorce. She knew all the little tricks to get me the most from it. Debie

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin
Colin Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 08, 2019
Collected on
20190208023252

Colin Halstead

5

Fantastic solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Neil
Neil Added 5 months ago Report to admin
December 20, 2018
Collected on
20181220090931

Neil Gentleman-Hobbs

5

Great advice and a simple reasonable pricing structure for business or personal matters

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Sills & Betteridge LLP

  • Emma Downing

    Following university and after graduating from Law School Emma completed her training contract at Frearsons Solicitors. After qualification Emma worked for several years in London where she dealt with a high volume of leasehold conveyancing and high value properties. After returning to Lincolnshire Emma rejoined Frearsons and helped to build up and develop the residential conveyancing department building links with local estate agents and establishing a large local client base. Frearsons merged with Sills & Betteridge on 1st October 2015 and Emma became an Associate of the firm on 1st June 2016.

  • Joanne Patten

    Joanne Patten joined Frearsons in 1987 as an office junior and worked in all departments gaining valuable experience. Joanne commenced her Legal Executive training in 1995 and qualified as a Fellow of Institute of Legal Executives in 2001. Frearsons merged with Sills and Betteridge on the 1st October 2015 and Joanne continues to work in the residential property department.

  • Tiffany Smith

    I have worked in the legal profession for over 20 years and have been with Sills & Betteridge for nearly 4 years. I run the Conveyancing Department in our Scunthorpe Office under the supervision of our Conveyancing Partners.

  • Kimberley Rose

    I qualified in 2012, and have over a decade of experience in the Residential Conveyancing sector. I have developed range of experience over that time including: - Shared ownership - New builds - Help to buy loans - Lease extension

  • Jessica Shaw

    Jessica is a conveyancer based at our Scunthorpe office. She deals with a range of residential conveyancing transactions including freehold sale and purchase, shared ownership, help to buy, forces help to buy, re-mortgaging and transfer of equity.

  • Talisa Hammond

    Talisa works in the Residential Property Department as a Conveyancing Executive in the Nottingham Office. Talisa has been working in Residential Property for over twelve years. She deals with a range of residential property transactions including freehold sales and purchases, right to buy purchases, leasehold sales, re-mortgages and transfers of equity.

  • Claire North

    “Claire and her assistants were professional, friendly and always helpful throughout the selling process. Thank you!” Mr B, Gainsborough

  • Sue Ross

    I am a Licensed Conveyancer based in the Sleaford Office. I began working for Jebb & Tunnard in 1986 and then moved to Godsons in 1994. I have over 25 years experience in conveyancing and is part of the Residential Property team at the Sleaford Office. I handle a caseload of residential conveyancing work covering all aspects of buying and selling properties. I qualified as a Licensed Conveyancer in March 2014.

  • Sarah Whinnerah

    Sarah is a Licensed Conveyancer, she joined Sills & Betteridge in 2014 as part of their residential conveyancing team based at the Spilsby Office. Sarah deals with transactions ranging from residential sales and purchases to re-mortgages and transfers of equity.

  • Karen French

    Karen French is a Chartered Legal Executive working in the Conveyancing Department at our Boston office. Karen is Boston born and bred and educated there also. She left school at 16 and took up immediate employment in the legal profession where she has been ever since. Karen qualified as a Legal Executive in 1994 and her area of law is Residential Conveyancing with some Commercial Property work.

  • Peter Burton

    Peter is a proper yellow belly having been born, raised and educated in Lincoln. He joined a local firm of solicitors straight from school in 1970 and remained there for 34 years before moving to Sills & Betteridge in 2004. Peter is a keen sportsman even though his playing days are now behind him. He is still secretary for the local cricket club that he played for for nearly 40 years and is a season ticket holder for Lincoln City Football Club whom he has supported since his early teens. He is also very keen on theatre and in his early days staged managed ‘ the Lincoln Cycle of Mystery plays’ and ‘Joseph and his Amazing Technicoloured Dream coat’ in the Lincoln Cathedral as well as many plays and musicals by local groups.

  • Edward Sharpe

    Edward specialises in property law and residential Conveyancing. After completing a degree in Biomedical Sciences Edward worked in London for 6 years before retraining as a lawyer. He completed his Law degree and LPC in London prior to moving to Lincolnshire to join Sills & Betteridge as a trainee solicitor. Edward qualified into the Wills, Trusts and Probate department and later moved to the Residential Property department. He became a Partner of Sills & Betteridge in June 2010.

  • Tracy Wray

    I started work in 1984 with Hodgson Carlyle & Co who merged with Sills & Betteridge in 1990 and have therefore worked in the legal profession for over 32 years. I handle a caseload of residential conveyancing work covering all aspects of buying and selling properties together with remortgages and transfers of equity.

  • Mathew Daurge

    Mathew works in the Residential property department as a conveyancing Executive in the Lincoln office. He acts for Developers in their sales of Plots and Freehold Sales & Purchases, Transfers of Equity and Remortgages.

About This Branch

Description

Sills & Betteridge are proud to have been providing legal advice and services for more than 250 years. Over that time we have built up a wealth of experience and knowledge about what you, our clients, want from a solicitor. Our service is professional, our people approachable. We tailor our service to meet your requirements. We are highly committed to quality and constantly strive to adapt and improve all of our services. We are proud to have been recognised as a law firm of quality and experience through the award of the Legal Aid Agency’s Specialist Quality Mark, the Law Society’s Lexcel Quality Standard and the Law Society’s Conveyancing Quality Scheme accreditation. These three quality standards award firms for providing exceptional client service and excellence in practice management.


Legal Services
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Transfers of equity
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Against The Council
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Planning
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Financial advisors
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Redundancy
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Trusts
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Drugs offences
  • Housing Management
  • Tenant Eviction
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Separation Agreement
  • Fraud
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Probate
  • Family Mediation
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Injunctions
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Pension and property advice
  • Assault
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Barristers
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Benefits
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Dental Negligence
  • Right to Manage
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Child Law
  • Valuers
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Military
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • IT professionals
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Collaborative Law
  • Legal aid
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Trusts
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • TUPE
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Housing disputes
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Leasehold properties
  • Stress at Work
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Property Disputes
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Social Services
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Theft
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Professional Conduct
  • Litigation Law
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Travel rights
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Business Crime
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Medical Negligence
  • Child contact
  • Transfer of title
  • Injunctions
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Pension Law
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Malicious falsehood
  • Professional Discipline
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Remortgaging
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Insurance brokers
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Gardening Leave
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Human rights
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Housing Associations
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Family law
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Housing
  • Criminal Damage
  • Tax
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional trustees
  • Tribunal Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Children
  • Part Time Workers
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Wills
  • Employment Contracts
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Pre-publication advice
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Development plot sales
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Tax
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Licensing
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Asset Tracing
  • Planning law
  • Agency agreements
  • Patents
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Debt Recovery
  • Statutory Demands
  • Corporate Law
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Mediation
  • Copyright
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Competition law
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Data Protection
  • Management buyouts
  • Health and Safety
  • Summary Judgment
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Share option schemes
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Employment - business
  • Corporate finance
  • Franchising
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Finance
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Equestrian property
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Domain Names
  • Commercial Law
  • Intellectual Property
  • Farming disputes
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Credit Control
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Setting up a business
  • Environmental policy law
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Purchase of development land
  • Rights of way issues
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Commercial Leases
  • Developer disputes
  • Slander
  • Landlord and tenant

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000