Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Sills & Betteridge LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 90%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Sills & Betteridge LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 11%
About Right 88%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Sills & Betteridge LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Sills & Betteridge LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 92%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Sills & Betteridge LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Sills & Betteridge LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 92%
No 8%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Sills & Betteridge LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    1027
  • Very Good

    71
  • Average

    24
  • Poor

    7
  • Awful

    64

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Ennael

Matter Type:

Disputed Wills

Ennael

November 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Gina Flanigan

I work for the NHS and was offered a free will, so I took the opportunity to write one.
When it came to changing the Will I had a telephone appointment to change it, assuming the changes would be free due to it being a free written will.
Not once in the conversation was I informed there would be a charge .
They sent papers for me to sign and they called me to say the paperwork was wrong, when I signed and sent them back.
They sent another lot out but I refused to sign them because i was being charged £180.00 for them. (Why would I pay that if it was free)
I never signed them and called to cancel they said discard the papers.
A few weeks later I got another bill through even though I hadn’t agreed to changes again I questioned this and they said ignore it.
I wrote a new Will for free with another company.
However I then get another paper for a bill asking for payment,I called for the third time I was passed from pillar to post.
The spoke to Gina Flanagan who says because I agreed to a will change even though No papers were signed and the Will is now overwritten by other company, I still have to pay ???
Their lack of communication and pure greed have now got me paying £180.00 for nothing, I still haven’t signed papers and the Will does not stand!
They are clearly trying to catch people out , and have no respect, they make you feel undermined.
How they can sleep with the way they con people out of money especially after the year we have had is beyond me ! They should be ashamed!

Was this review helpful?

Metalicice

Matter Type:

Family law

Metalicice

October 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thank You Sills and Betteridge

I had a very difficult case and Mimi Hancott has been very helpful in providing excellent advice, Her efficient response time and proactively dealing with my case through court, I don't have words enough to thank her. She is above and beyond a very amazing, friendly and a great person. I would highly recommend Mimi as a good Professional and a good hearted individual. Overall all the team, from the reception to each Individual I spoke to in Sills and Betteridge are absolutely Brilliant. I will highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Ali

Matter Type:

Family law

Ali

October 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

An outstanding firm and impeccable service

There are little words that can express the quality and profesionalism of the service I have received in a recent family Law case, (Non Molestation Order).

Mimi Hancock was nothing short of amazing in the advice and guidance she was able to provide which led not only to a positive outcome for myself but also enabled so much more.

The precision and exacting nature of the service I received was not only efficient, I also was provided with th reassurance of empathy from Mimi as well.

It was clear from the outset that Mimi had a full understanding of not only the seriousness of the matter at hand bit also the immense emotional and mental distress it was causing me.

Having received the information I did in the way that I did I felt fully reassured (and aware there are no certainties) before moved forward to the final stage of my proceedings.

I was lucky enough have a positive outcome and am certain this would not have been the case without Mimi's help

Was this review helpful?

Josephine

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP.

Matter Type:

Probate

Josephine

October 06, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Would recommend without hesitation.

Could not fault the efficiency and just kind helpfulness. This was a difficult and challenging time but our Solicitor went out of her way to help us. I am so grateful. I would recommend, without hesitation both her and the Company for their friendly, helpful efficient service. Really can't praise them highly enough. Thankyou!

Was this review helpful?

Bei Bei

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP.

Matter Type:

Possession and repossession proceedings

Bei Bei

September 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service

Happy with the hard work done by Talisa and Jessica. Great service. Will use again and highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Phoebe

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Phoebe

August 10, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

The best!

Always prompt to attend to our matter. Very professional and helpful. Excellent communication. Couldn’t have asked for better. Because of the dedication and skill of Talisa and her team, we were able to complete during the stamp duty holiday.

Was this review helpful?

Sarah

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP.

Matter Type:

Renting and Tenancy Agreements

Sarah

July 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brilliant client care!

Talisa Hammond, Joanne Hinchley and Rachel Alexander acted for me in relation to the purchase of my house. It was a very stressful and long winded sale due to issues raised in the building survey and delays created by lenders. However Talisa, Joanne and Rachel were all brilliant. They kept me up to date with progress, provided ongoing advice throughout the purchase and towards the end when it seemed that the chain may collapse and the purchase wouldn’t complete, they went above and beyond to ensure that it did. I intend to use them for all future purchases. They were excellent!

Was this review helpful?

Poppy

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP.

Matter Type:

Buying at auction

Poppy

May 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very happy with our Solicitors

We have been very happy with the efficiency and communication with our solicitors at Sills and Betteridge, for both our sale and purchase. During this difficult time both our sale and purchase have completed very quickly with no issues.

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP.

Matter Type:

Buying at auction

Richard

April 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Not terrible.. just minimal help

The buyer of my house had a disastrous solicitor and had to change after about 5 months of inaction.
I was forced to contact s and b on a weekly basis just to prompt them to investigate what was going on. The estate agent was much more helpful and I have been permanently put off solicitors re. Conveyancing . We organised my brother's funeral and I don't see how I could do worse than s and b

Was this review helpful?

Bronwen

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP.

Matter Type:

Planning

Bronwen

April 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Highly Professional

Our experience of the Conveyancing Team at Sills was excellent - we moved during 'lockdown' which could have been a traumatic & difficult process, but the team made it as stress-free as possible with their calm efficiency & professional approach. It all went smoothly, efficiently & very rapidly - but no detail was missed & they drew our attention to the significant matters that could have caused us problems. Courteous & patient throughout - they made the whole process much easier than it could have been - thank you!

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

ilze

ilze

November 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

ilze

Ewan Paton made the best out of my situation. I was extremely lucky to have been able to have him as my solicitor.

Was this review helpful?

Metalicice

Metalicice

October 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Metalicice

I had a very difficult case and Mimi Hancott has been very helpful in providing excellent advice, Her efficient response time and proactively dealing with my case through court, I don't have words enough to thank her. She is above and beyond a very amazing, friendly and a great person. I would highly recommend Mimi as a good Professional and a good hearted individual. I highly recommend Mimi Hancott and Sills and Betteridge for showing such professionalism and responsiveness towards their clients.

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Andrew

October 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Andrew

Natalie provided all the information and advice to enable me to make the relevant decisions regarding my situation.
Her communications were prompt and efficient.
I would have no hesitation in recommending her.

Was this review helpful?

Lyndsey

Lyndsey

July 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lyndsey

Thankyou so much to Sills & Betteridge, this is the second time I have used this firm and they have always helped me and my case in the family courts. Big thanks to Dominic and Hannah, they are both very professional and courteous. Thankyou for everything ❤ 💖

Was this review helpful?

Leah

Leah

July 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Leah

Absolutely amazing solicitors, all members of the sills team have been friendly, professional and responsive.
I would definitely recommend Prerna Kapoor this lady is amazing she's helped me through a very difficult court case. Her input is very professional and she always as her clients best interests at heart.
Thank you Prerna 😊

Was this review helpful?

Sills & Betteridge LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Sills & Betteridge are proud to have been providing legal advice and services for more than 250 years. Over that time we have built up a wealth of experience and knowledge about what you, our clients, want from a solicitor. Our service is professional, our people approachable. We tailor our service to meet your requirements. We are highly committed to quality and constantly strive to adapt and improve all of our services. We are proud to have been recognised as a law firm of quality and experience through the award of the Legal Aid Agency’s Specialist Quality Mark, the Law Society’s Lexcel Quality Standard and the Law Society’s Conveyancing Quality Scheme accreditation. These three quality standards award firms for providing exceptional client service and excellence in practice management.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Employment
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Senior Executives
    • Tribunal Claims
  • Family Law
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
  • Housing & Property
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Leasehold properties
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Purchase and Sale
  • Immigration
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • Family Based Visas
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Professional Negligence
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills
Book an appointment