Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Sills & Betteridge LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 90%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Sills & Betteridge LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 11%
About Right 88%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Sills & Betteridge LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Sills & Betteridge LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 92%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Sills & Betteridge LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Sills & Betteridge LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 92%
No 8%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Sills & Betteridge LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    1010
  • Very Good

    70
  • Average

    24
  • Poor

    7
  • Awful

    64

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Heather

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Heather

October 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

We were relieved to exchange contracts

Sills & Betteridge recently handled our sale & purchase.

Things were a bit slow at first (but that’s what we wanted!) but Alan Rossau and team were always there to answer any questions and advised us about any issues we raised.

It was such a relief to get exchange of contracts and we’re grateful to the team for being there for us 😁

Was this review helpful?

Ryan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP.

Matter Type:

Renting and Tenancy Agreements

Ryan

October 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Feedback

Brilliant service, prompt, professional and really friendly.. you don’t need to fear the complicated ways of transition or words and phrases you don’t get with these guys!! It’s easily communicated in a simple manor, broken down and simple!! A breath of fresh air by a brilliant team!! I’d highly recommend and we already have to family members!! #goteamalan

Was this review helpful?

Daniel

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP.

Matter Type:

Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges

Daniel

September 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Perfect every time

Sills & Betteridge recently acted as our Solicitor during the sale of our house. They were very prompt and acted quickly at every opportunity. They reached out to us to when we weren't sure of anything and always put our minds at ease. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend at all.

Was this review helpful?

Adam

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP.

Matter Type:

Planning

Adam

April 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic Service

Brilliant service received from Alan and his colleagues in the purchase of our new property. Kept informed throughout and excellent explanation and guidance when appropriate. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Elaine

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP.

Matter Type:

Planning

Elaine

February 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional

I used Sills & Betteridege for the purchase of my new property and they were exceptionally efficient and most helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was done as quickly as possible under difficult circumstances under the covid pandemic. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Christine

Christine

September 28, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

Selling and Purchasing is never easy and Ellinor, Ed and Clare dealt with mine in a friendly and profession manner.
It was a challenging transaction to say the least but they ensured everything was covered.
Thank you so much

Was this review helpful?

Joanne

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Joanne

August 15, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Purchase

I recently purchased a property and the experience I encountered was disappointing. I would not recommend this solicitor.

Was this review helpful?

David

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP.

Matter Type:

Exclusivity and lock-out agreements

David

July 13, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Purchase made simple

Fantastic experience, Claire North and her team were simply brilliant, professional, approachable and thorough which made the whole process feel extremely simple.

Was this review helpful?

Philip

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Philip

June 23, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

Me and my wife have just finished use sills & betteridge’s Gainsborough branch, for our house sale, in this difficult time they have been brilliant in keeping us informed of what is going on and letting us know what steps to take and when, the whole team have been amazing, both my self and my wife can’t thank them enough a brilliant service

Was this review helpful?

Ruth

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Ruth

April 21, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Efficient friendly service

Claire and her team at Sills & Betteridge again navigate a very lengthy difficult sale following a death. I have used there services regularly in recent years and this sale was very difficult for me. They were always accessible and friendly, helping me through quite a complicated case smoothly.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Carrie

Carrie

June 10, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Carrie

Very professional and helpful I'm very grateful for all the help they have given me anything during the process I didnt understand was helpful answering all my emails and I got the resolution I was after

Was this review helpful?

BLev69

BLev69

December 28, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

BLev69

If I could vote zero stars I would. Claire N in particular made our home move a nightmare. Errors in paperwork, missing paperwork & missed deadlines are just a few experiences you can expect if you take on conveyancing services from this company. We actually received some compensation from their head office after we complained as they agreed that the service was unacceptable. I'm surprised there aren't more bad reviews, maybe we had a bad experience but I would never recommend this solicitors (for conveyancing at least).

Was this review helpful?

Istvan

Istvan

August 06, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Istvan

Professionals on all areas. Received support from Shan, regarding employment law questions. Really flexible and professional. Excellent customer service. A true enthusiastic with broad knowledge. Quick response, easy to talk with. Definitely recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Scott

Scott

October 14, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Scott

if you end up going to this "law firm" please be cautious! Claire is very unprofessional, does not read case files on time, does not adhere to call backs, sends 84 pages of paperwork, asks you to read them within 45 minutes of your appointment time & is baffled when you say no (because we can all read a 84 page document with an average read time of 35 seconds per page)
Even now... after completion of the case, the paperwork sent to the other solicitors is wrong & missing bits. Not worth the money 7 certainly not worth the stress. AVOID!!!

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Mark

September 15, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mark

Amazing place brilliant staff

Was this review helpful?

Sills & Betteridge LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Sills & Betteridge are proud to have been providing legal advice and services for more than 250 years. Over that time we have built up a wealth of experience and knowledge about what you, our clients, want from a solicitor. Our service is professional, our people approachable. We tailor our service to meet your requirements. We are highly committed to quality and constantly strive to adapt and improve all of our services. We are proud to have been recognised as a law firm of quality and experience through the award of the Legal Aid Agency’s Specialist Quality Mark, the Law Society’s Lexcel Quality Standard and the Law Society’s Conveyancing Quality Scheme accreditation. These three quality standards award firms for providing exceptional client service and excellence in practice management.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Employment
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Senior Executives
    • Tribunal Claims
  • Family Law
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
  • Housing & Property
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Leasehold properties
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Purchase and Sale
  • Immigration
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • Family Based Visas
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Professional Negligence
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills
Book an appointment