Sills & Betteridge LLP

01604 330 710

Sills & Betteridge offer the full range of legal services to both private individuals and business clients. We have offices in Lincoln, Nottingham, Boston, Sleaford, Gainsborough, Scunthorpe, Doncaster, Grimsby, Northampton, Skegness & Spilsby, though our clients are based all over the UK. We provide advice in a straightforward manner. We take the time to understand your needs and we are careful to explain things to you to make the process of dealing with us smooth and uncomplicated. We are here to help you.

4.6/5 227 Customer Reviews 227
Recommended by
227 Verified Clients
like
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Sills & Betteridge LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Sills & Betteridge LLP on ReviewSolicitors

227 Customer Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    197
  • Very Good
    5
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    20

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Ryan
Ryan Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 11, 2019 20190111000000

We were delighed with the serive we received.

5

Linda was very patient and covered our needs wonderfully well. We were delighed with the serive we received. Thank you very much

Was this review helpful? Yes

McCormick
McCormick Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 08, 2019 20190108000000

We feel confident in recommending the services of Sills and Betteridge for any conveyancing requirements.

5

 It’s our absolute pleasure to recommend both Tiffany and Dawn from the Scunthorpe branch of Sills and Betteridge LLP, for their endeavours in our recent sale/purchase transactions. Both are a truly valuable asset to Sills and Betteridge and would be a beneficial addition to any organization. We feel confident in recommending the services of Sills and Betteridge for any conveyancing requirements. Not only were they thoroughly professional, but also friendly, approachable and always willing to take the time to discuss our concerns and respond to any questions. Consequently, this made us feel at ease and therefore gave us confidence in their ability to provide an excellent service. Best wishes, Kev & Jan

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Richard Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 08, 2019 20190108000000

We would certainly recommend

5

We were extremely pleased with the way the Scunthorpe Branch dealt with our house purchase. We would certainly recommend them and especially Tiffany and Dawn who made the experience an easy one, always there to help with any queries in a quick and efficient manner.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Patricia
Patricia Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 20, 2018 20181220000000

excellent staff

5

I have found the service excellent,the staff very helpful and friendly,will happily recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Samantha
Samantha Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 19, 2018 20181219000000

Highly recommend!

5

Caroline from spilsby branch dud everything I wanted and more! Great person highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helen
Helen Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 14, 2018 20181214000000

Caroline is a star and a credit to Sills & Betteridge.

5

I would like to commend Caroline Gatenby at the Spilsby Office for her excellent care and service to my Mum when her house purchase ran into delays and a break-in before completion, she was there all the way spending lots of time sorting the problems out for us with the Vendor's Solicitors for a speedy resolution. My mum is now happily in her new home!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sam
Sam Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 11, 2018 20181211000000

I wanted to leave a personal thank you to Caroline Gatenby from your spilsby office .

5

We have completed our purchase of our new home today after a prolonged process due to a complex freehold and leasehold set up. Caroline has taken ownership of our purchase in recent weeks and has been excellent in every way. She has communicated clearly and is always happy to help and even listen to our frustrations and helped us find solutions. She is a credit to your business and we are very grateful for all of the help we have recieved since she took over the process .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brian
Brian Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 10, 2018 20181210000000

Thank you for a speedy conclusion to the sale.

5

Many thanks for the professional and efficient way in which you guided me through the sale of my house. I felt that there was always someone at hand who I could contact over any queries that arose.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Daynes
Daynes Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 09, 2018 20181209000000

10/10!!!

5

I was completely satisfied with your level of service. I feel the couty result was fair & just.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rebecca
Rebecca Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 08, 2018 20181208000000

I cannot thank you enough.

5

Thank you so much to Jessica Shaw and Rachael Lawson for being my first point of call for my solicitor enquiries and dealing with everything to do with the process of buying my first home! And i will definately recommend you both in the future or be using you both again! Couldnt of asked for a better service!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Sandie
Sandie Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 01, 2019
Collected on
20190401233601

Sandie Bexon

1

Terrible solicitors! Mine have sent them 6 letters of f not more trying to get the 3 rd parties answers and they don't answer . DO NOT USE

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tracey
Tracey Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 01, 2019
Collected on
20190401205404

Tracey

5

Excellent Professional service both from Stephen Wilson & Kim Helm. Thank-you both so much in helping me through this time I am very grateful. I have no hesitation in highly recommending them to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mike
Mike Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 01, 2019
Collected on
20190401114721

Mike Hurley

5

I used Sills & Betteridge as my conveyancing lawyers for selling my property. The service I received from Mathew Daurge, at S&B, was personal and very professional. Once a price was agreed Mathew handled the legal process, and it was a pleasure to work with him. I would Recommend Sills & Betteridge as conveyancing lawyers, and if you can ask for Mathew Daurge.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Vincent
Vincent Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 29, 2019
Collected on
20190329143949

Vincent Thurston

1

Had nothing but hassle, kept paperwork from me which resulted in me payinv near £3000 for a boiler only for a month later to recive all the paerwork i needed, never using again

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 29 March, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you feel you have had cause to post a negative review of the firm and would like to resolve the matter with you. Our record for client satisfaction is extremely high and as such we are very concerned by the service you feel you experienced. Please contact the team you dealt with to discuss or if you wish to make a formal complaint, please call our Client Care Manager Alison Lowe on 01522 542211 or visit our website for our complaints procedure.

Sonia
Sonia Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 26, 2019
Collected on
20190326190956

Sonia Lumby

5

Both Tiffany and Dawn are extremely Knowledgeable at their work area, they have made the process of buying a house feel like easy with little stress despite the sale being a little complicated. They are a great team 100% recommend their service which is extremely professional and friendly as well as great value for money. They are always on hand by email and you get a very fast response to any question raised.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Sills & Betteridge LLP

  • Emma Downing

    Following university and after graduating from Law School Emma completed her training contract at Frearsons Solicitors. After qualification Emma worked for several years in London where she dealt with a high volume of leasehold conveyancing and high value properties. After returning to Lincolnshire Emma rejoined Frearsons and helped to build up and develop the residential conveyancing department building links with local estate agents and establishing a large local client base. Frearsons merged with Sills & Betteridge on 1st October 2015 and Emma became an Associate of the firm on 1st June 2016.

  • Joanne Patten

    Joanne Patten joined Frearsons in 1987 as an office junior and worked in all departments gaining valuable experience. Joanne commenced her Legal Executive training in 1995 and qualified as a Fellow of Institute of Legal Executives in 2001. Frearsons merged with Sills and Betteridge on the 1st October 2015 and Joanne continues to work in the residential property department.

  • Tiffany Smith

    I have worked in the legal profession for over 20 years and have been with Sills & Betteridge for nearly 4 years. I run the Conveyancing Department in our Scunthorpe Office under the supervision of our Conveyancing Partners.

  • Kimberley Rose

    I qualified in 2012, and have over a decade of experience in the Residential Conveyancing sector. I have developed range of experience over that time including: - Shared ownership - New builds - Help to buy loans - Lease extension

  • Jessica Shaw

    Jessica is a conveyancer based at our Scunthorpe office. She deals with a range of residential conveyancing transactions including freehold sale and purchase, shared ownership, help to buy, forces help to buy, re-mortgaging and transfer of equity.

  • Talisa Hammond

    Talisa works in the Residential Property Department as a Conveyancing Executive in the Nottingham Office. Talisa has been working in Residential Property for over twelve years. She deals with a range of residential property transactions including freehold sales and purchases, right to buy purchases, leasehold sales, re-mortgages and transfers of equity.

  • Claire North

    “Claire and her assistants were professional, friendly and always helpful throughout the selling process. Thank you!” Mr B, Gainsborough

  • Sue Ross

    I am a Licensed Conveyancer based in the Sleaford Office. I began working for Jebb & Tunnard in 1986 and then moved to Godsons in 1994. I have over 25 years experience in conveyancing and is part of the Residential Property team at the Sleaford Office. I handle a caseload of residential conveyancing work covering all aspects of buying and selling properties. I qualified as a Licensed Conveyancer in March 2014.

  • Sarah Whinnerah

    Sarah is a Licensed Conveyancer, she joined Sills & Betteridge in 2014 as part of their residential conveyancing team based at the Spilsby Office. Sarah deals with transactions ranging from residential sales and purchases to re-mortgages and transfers of equity.

  • Karen French

    Karen French is a Chartered Legal Executive working in the Conveyancing Department at our Boston office. Karen is Boston born and bred and educated there also. She left school at 16 and took up immediate employment in the legal profession where she has been ever since. Karen qualified as a Legal Executive in 1994 and her area of law is Residential Conveyancing with some Commercial Property work.

  • Peter Burton

    Peter is a proper yellow belly having been born, raised and educated in Lincoln. He joined a local firm of solicitors straight from school in 1970 and remained there for 34 years before moving to Sills & Betteridge in 2004. Peter is a keen sportsman even though his playing days are now behind him. He is still secretary for the local cricket club that he played for for nearly 40 years and is a season ticket holder for Lincoln City Football Club whom he has supported since his early teens. He is also very keen on theatre and in his early days staged managed ‘ the Lincoln Cycle of Mystery plays’ and ‘Joseph and his Amazing Technicoloured Dream coat’ in the Lincoln Cathedral as well as many plays and musicals by local groups.

  • Edward Sharpe

    Edward specialises in property law and residential Conveyancing. After completing a degree in Biomedical Sciences Edward worked in London for 6 years before retraining as a lawyer. He completed his Law degree and LPC in London prior to moving to Lincolnshire to join Sills & Betteridge as a trainee solicitor. Edward qualified into the Wills, Trusts and Probate department and later moved to the Residential Property department. He became a Partner of Sills & Betteridge in June 2010.

  • Tracy Wray

    I started work in 1984 with Hodgson Carlyle & Co who merged with Sills & Betteridge in 1990 and have therefore worked in the legal profession for over 32 years. I handle a caseload of residential conveyancing work covering all aspects of buying and selling properties together with remortgages and transfers of equity.

  • Mathew Daurge

    Mathew works in the Residential property department as a conveyancing Executive in the Lincoln office. He acts for Developers in their sales of Plots and Freehold Sales & Purchases, Transfers of Equity and Remortgages.

About This Branch

Description

Sills & Betteridge are proud to have been providing legal advice and services for more than 250 years. Over that time we have built up a wealth of experience and knowledge about what you, our clients, want from a solicitor. Our service is professional, our people approachable. We tailor our service to meet your requirements. We are highly committed to quality and constantly strive to adapt and improve all of our services. We are proud to have been recognised as a law firm of quality and experience through the award of the Legal Aid Agency’s Specialist Quality Mark, the Law Society’s Lexcel Quality Standard and the Law Society’s Conveyancing Quality Scheme accreditation. These three quality standards award firms for providing exceptional client service and excellence in practice management.


Legal Services
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Drugs offences
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Lease Extensions
  • Fraud
  • Remortgaging
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Business Crime
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Social Services
  • Transfers of equity
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Professional Conduct
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Children
  • Discrimination at Work
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Malicious falsehood
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Separation Agreement
  • Medical Negligence
  • Against The Council
  • Dental Negligence
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Tax
  • Professional Discipline
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Probate
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Barristers
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Part Time Workers
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • IT professionals
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Benefits
  • Redundancy
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Housing Associations
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Criminal Damage
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Trusts
  • Civil partnerships
  • Child contact
  • Property Disputes
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Leasehold properties
  • Housing
  • Family law
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Injunctions
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Planning
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Financial advisors
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Buying at auction
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Professional trustees
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Wills
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Human rights
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Valuers
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Military
  • Assault
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Pension and property advice
  • Legal aid
  • Trusts
  • TUPE
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Child Law
  • Family Mediation
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Insurance brokers
  • Extending your Lease
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Travel rights
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Theft
  • Housing disputes
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Pre-publication advice
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Litigation Law
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • MRSA Claims
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Right to Manage
  • Environmental policy law
  • Data Protection
  • Summary Judgment
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Intellectual Property
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Planning law
  • Management buyouts
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Domain Names
  • Commercial Leases
  • Corporate Law
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Tax
  • Corporate finance
  • Patents
  • Copyright
  • Credit Control
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Franchising
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Share option schemes
  • Licensing
  • Statutory Demands
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Mediation
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Purchase of development land
  • Farming disputes
  • Slander
  • Health and Safety
  • Finance
  • Equestrian property
  • Developer disputes
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Competition law
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Employment - business
  • Commercial Law
  • Setting up a business
  • Asset Tracing
  • Debt Recovery
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Agency agreements
  • Development plot sales
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Rights of way issues
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000