Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Talbots Law Ltd Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 81%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Talbots Law Ltd on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Talbots Law Ltd. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 33%
About Right 66%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 79%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Talbots Law Ltd and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Talbots Law Ltd performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 79%
No 21%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 77%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Talbots Law Ltd and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Talbots Law Ltd compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 77%
No 23%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Talbots Law Ltd offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.0/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    2026
  • Very Good

    122
  • Average

    23
  • Poor

    33
  • Awful

    337

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Deena

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Deena

August 30, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Outstanding Service

Absolutely outstanding service and good value for money. I was kept informed from start to finish by Lisa Barton and Debbie Green of my house sale. Will definitely be using them again

Was this review helpful?

Fran

Fran

May 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service

Connie Smith was fantastic throughout. She answered all queries immediately and kept us informed. Great service Connie with the sale of a house.

Was this review helpful?

Karen

Karen

May 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Pulled out all the stops

Both Liz Hullard and Connie Smith were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and when we needed to speed things up because of my husbands hospital commitments, they pulled out all the stops. Highly recommend to friends and family.

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Richard

May 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Excellent service especially considering the amount of pressure they must be under at the moment due to the Coronavirus and the time restraints on the stamp duty holiday.Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Tom

Tom

April 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Good

It was good considering this was during lockdown and circumstances are difficult.

Was this review helpful?

Paul

Paul

April 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

All managed effectively remotely

Simple and hassle free to deal with, all managed effectively remotely during a very busy time for conveyancing. More than matched my expectations, which was very much appreciated in the stress of moving house. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

David

David

March 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Went the extra mile

I looked you for help in respect of being the executor of a will with difficult issues the solicitor explained the law and the process and obtained probate on the will. She also went the extra mile to ensure that everything was completed as far as she could up to the present time. I will certainly use your services again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Allison

Allison

March 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very supportive

Excellent service from start to finish. both Lisa Shaw and Sanjeev Sunder were very supportive throughout the process. Both responded to queries quickly and all questions that I had in relation to the process were answered in a way that I could understand. A big thank you to you both!

Was this review helpful?

Lynnette

Lynnette

February 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Outstanding service

Outstanding service from Jodi Flint. Jodi was able to provide great clarity when explaining issues arising and worked patiently and efficiently with us throughout. Even the last minute changes, were handled fluently and promptly. We felt in safe hands. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Mira

Matter Type:

Divorce

Mira

February 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great Solicitor

Very professional and approachable nothing was too much for him. I always got a quick response back and James was very efficient. My divorce came through in less than 3 months.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Connor

Matter Type:

Remortgaging

Connor

May 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Connor

We were going through a not so standard remortgage process that was intertwined with the fulfilment of various requirements in a deed of trust as well as the transfer of equity in accordance with the remortgage. At the outset of the process we made the mistake of going with our lenders default conveyancer, Enact, who after 7 weeks of poor communication, contradictory requests and imposing endless hoops to jump through, informed us they were in fact unable to handle our case. With a separate house purchase dependent on a fairly swift release of funds via the remortgage we were quite concerned at having wasted nearly 2 months and effectively being back at the start.

This is when we reached out to Talbots and were put in contact with Siritta. From the start of the process Siritta and the team understood our circumstances perfectly, explained in detail and lamen terms what we needed to provide, when, and how best to do so. At all times Siritta was in contact, providing advice, and going above and beyond to ensure things moved as swiftly as possible.

We cannot fault the work undertaken and felt the fee's paid were more than reasonable given our situation and the speed at which we were able to complete.

Was this review helpful?

Clare

Matter Type:

Children

Clare

April 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Clare

Nirmal was fantastic throughout my family court proceedings. Highly recommend she was professional and guided me through the whole process. I couldn’t have done this without them. Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Stacey

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Stacey

October 04, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stacey

Went with Talbots for my first time purchase of a home. The process was smooth and always got prompt replies and updates; Sara and Jo were absolutely amazing.

Was this review helpful?

Lee

Lee

October 03, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lee

Talbots is slow, incompetent and unresponsive - they just don't care. Avoid for your own sanity

Summary: I am 16+ weeks into a straightforward conveyancing (no chain, <50% LTV). Talbots is slow, incompetent and unresponsive. Seller is justifiably upset and has threatened to pull out, Talbots is unsympathetic.

They just don't care - Between 6th to 14th of September 2023 there was a flurry of communications between seller's agent and me (which Talbots was copied into / forwarded / called and told live) where the seller expressed deep frustration at the delay and threatened to pull out. For context, this was 12-13 weeks after offer accepted. Talbots seems completely unhurried and unbothered by this. I asked for 2 simple things which I got dismissive / evasive answers to. I am still chasing them for clear answers almost a month later.
1. Can you give me a rough timeline / a clear roadmap to completion so we can reassure the seller (asked multiple times): responses ranged from being straight up ignored to boilerplate corporate speak / legalese to say no e.g., "when working with 3rd parties we cannot confirm a timeline"; to be clear, I would have be satisfied with something like x,y,z actions remain of which x is awaiting the seller's lawyers, then we will review y and you approve at z etc.
2. There is only 1 enquiry left open, and I wanted them to confirm that no more enquiries needed to be submitted / only additional enquiries are related to the 1 open enquiry. Basically wanted confirmation that they had received all they need from me / the seller, reviewed and submitted all necessary enquiries. I thought this was reasonable as they have had 3-4months to do this, and the seller had communicated multiple times over the last months that they had submitted all that was asked for. Again I get just evasive / non-answers (if I even get them!) like: "there was only 1 enquiry left… the last time I reviewed the file", "We will be ready to set completion dates… once all enquiries are satisfied", "There is 1 open enquiry.. Then we'll review your file again and there may or may not be more we need to raise". Completely unsympathetic to the urgency of the situation.

Wrong / absent legal advice
1. I got a legal advice letter from them saying my SDLT was £0 -> my email to clarify that this was indeed the case was not responded to -> I only managed to reach them ~2 weeks later by phone to find out that actually its 10s of thousands . To be clear, I knew the cost from outside sources but its not confidence inspiring when your lawyers give clearly wrong legal advice
2. They had submitted a request to vary the deed to include the roof terrace in my lease without discussing with me at all. I already knew the roof terrace was not demised and had made the offer with that in mind. The request caused a lot of angst with seller who thought I was trying to reopen negotiations - to give context, that would have doubled the size of my apartment, the price we agreed upon would not have been appropriate
3. They identified an issue about ground rent / service charge arrears, notice periods for eviction and mortgage protection. Suggested a variation of deed to solve. Did not consult me again and created a lot of frustration with the seller for the following reasons
3a. Their solution cost £1000 and they asked the seller to pay for it without checking with me first – I then got ambushed by the seller and asked why I was asking them to spend £1000. I was not able to answer because Talbots did not tell me what it was
3b. I then tried to find out – no response to email – called and was only asked if I wanted to split in half, no advice on who usually pays and why. I agreed thinking it would solve issue but it did not. Finally gave up and said I’d pay the full £1000 after getting a rough sense of what this is and how it would benefit me
3c. Worth mentioning that the seller’s solicitors disagreed with this solution, believed there was a quicker and cheaper way -> I of course could not get in touch with anyone to discuss so no idea if true or not

Was this review helpful?

Michelle

Michelle

July 31, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Michelle

Very helpful and actioned my request very promptly

Was this review helpful?

Talbots Law Ltd are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

We’re open 10 hours a day / 5 days a week, and some offices are open Saturdays 9.00am - 12.00pm – that’s longer than most local solicitors because we want to make it easy for you. Easy to get the legal advice you need, when you need it. We were one of the first law firms locally to gain the Lexcel quality mark. This is our promise to you. Our promise to provide you with the very best legal advice in a way that is easy to understand. We love what we do – it’s our passion. Legal advice can sometimes seem dull. But helping our customers resolve problems and making a small difference to their lives is what we love to do. 9 out of 10 people* say they would recommend Talbots. This shows we're doing the right thing by our customers – and that matters to us. We may be a business but we’re here to provide a service. From your very first call until your legal problem is resolved. How can we help you today?

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Domestic violence
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Harassment
    • Legal aid
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Prison law
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Sexual allegations including Rape and Sexual Assaults
    • Theft
  • Driving offences
    • Appeal driving conviction
    • Careless driving
    • Convicted in absence
    • Dangerous driving
    • Dangerous vehicle conditions
    • Death By Careless Driving
    • Death by dangerous driving
    • Discretionary disqualification
    • Disqualification removal
    • Drink driving
    • Driving Whilst Unfit
    • Driving Without Due Care
    • Driving whilst disqualified
    • Driving without a licence
    • Driving without insurance
    • Drug driving
    • Drunk in charge
    • Early return of driving licence
    • Exceptional Hardship
    • Failure to furnish identification
    • Failure to provide a blood sample
    • Failure to provide a specimen
    • Goods vehicles - operators licence
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Mobile phone offences
    • New Driver Provisions
    • Notice of intended prosecution
    • Recognition of disqualification
    • Restoration of licence
    • Road rage incidents
    • Serious injury by dangerous driving
    • Signs and signal offences
    • Special Reasons
    • Speeding offences
    • Stopping and reporting
    • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Non Freezing Cold Injury
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Serious Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Mental Health
    • Mental Health - Court of protection
    • Mental Health Legal aid
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Aviation
    • Energy
    • Maritime and Shipping
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety