Sills & Betteridge Solicitors

01754 610101

Sills & Betteridge offer the full range of legal services to both private individuals and business clients. We have offices in Lincoln, Nottingham, Boston, Sleaford, Gainsborough, Scunthorpe, Doncaster, Grimsby, Northampton, Skegness & Spilsby, though our clients are based all over the UK. We provide advice in a straightforward manner. We take the time to understand your needs and we are careful to explain things to you to make the process of dealing with us smooth and uncomplicated. We are here to help you.

4.6/5 222 Customer Reviews 222
Recommended by
222 Verified Clients
like Joy and Tom
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Sills & Betteridge Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Sills & Betteridge Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

222 Customer Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    194
  • Very Good
    5
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    18

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Ryan
Ryan Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 11, 2019 20190111000000

We were delighed with the serive we received.

5

Linda was very patient and covered our needs wonderfully well. We were delighed with the serive we received. Thank you very much

Was this review helpful? Yes

McCormick
McCormick Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 08, 2019 20190108000000

We feel confident in recommending the services of Sills and Betteridge for any conveyancing requirements.

5

 It’s our absolute pleasure to recommend both Tiffany and Dawn from the Scunthorpe branch of Sills and Betteridge LLP, for their endeavours in our recent sale/purchase transactions. Both are a truly valuable asset to Sills and Betteridge and would be a beneficial addition to any organization. We feel confident in recommending the services of Sills and Betteridge for any conveyancing requirements. Not only were they thoroughly professional, but also friendly, approachable and always willing to take the time to discuss our concerns and respond to any questions. Consequently, this made us feel at ease and therefore gave us confidence in their ability to provide an excellent service. Best wishes, Kev & Jan

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Richard Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 08, 2019 20190108000000

We would certainly recommend

5

We were extremely pleased with the way the Scunthorpe Branch dealt with our house purchase. We would certainly recommend them and especially Tiffany and Dawn who made the experience an easy one, always there to help with any queries in a quick and efficient manner.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Patricia
Patricia Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 20, 2018 20181220000000

excellent staff

5

I have found the service excellent,the staff very helpful and friendly,will happily recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Samantha
Samantha Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 19, 2018 20181219000000

Highly recommend!

5

Caroline from spilsby branch dud everything I wanted and more! Great person highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helen
Helen Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 14, 2018 20181214000000

Caroline is a star and a credit to Sills & Betteridge.

5

I would like to commend Caroline Gatenby at the Spilsby Office for her excellent care and service to my Mum when her house purchase ran into delays and a break-in before completion, she was there all the way spending lots of time sorting the problems out for us with the Vendor's Solicitors for a speedy resolution. My mum is now happily in her new home!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sam
Sam Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 11, 2018 20181211000000

I wanted to leave a personal thank you to Caroline Gatenby from your spilsby office .

5

We have completed our purchase of our new home today after a prolonged process due to a complex freehold and leasehold set up. Caroline has taken ownership of our purchase in recent weeks and has been excellent in every way. She has communicated clearly and is always happy to help and even listen to our frustrations and helped us find solutions. She is a credit to your business and we are very grateful for all of the help we have recieved since she took over the process .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brian
Brian Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 10, 2018 20181210000000

Thank you for a speedy conclusion to the sale.

5

Many thanks for the professional and efficient way in which you guided me through the sale of my house. I felt that there was always someone at hand who I could contact over any queries that arose.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Daynes
Daynes Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 09, 2018 20181209000000

10/10!!!

5

I was completely satisfied with your level of service. I feel the couty result was fair & just.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rebecca
Rebecca Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 08, 2018 20181208000000

I cannot thank you enough.

5

Thank you so much to Jessica Shaw and Rachael Lawson for being my first point of call for my solicitor enquiries and dealing with everything to do with the process of buying my first home! And i will definately recommend you both in the future or be using you both again! Couldnt of asked for a better service!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Joy
Joy Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 01, 2019
Collected on
20190301180338

Joy Ainsworth

5

Good

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tom
Tom Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 11, 2019
Collected on
20190211173253

Tom Morris

5

We used Sills & Betteridge Gainsborough for conveyancing, absolutely brilliant service, way better than any of the online firms. Claire North and her team were professional, courteous and very responsive from start to finish.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Francis
Francis Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 10, 2019
Collected on
20190210163559

Francis green

5

Great,, I had Angela Walker for my divorce. She knew all the little tricks to get me the most from it. Debie

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin
Colin Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 08, 2019
Collected on
20190208023252

Colin Halstead

5

Fantastic solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Neil
Neil Added 3 months ago Report to admin
December 20, 2018
Collected on
20181220090931

Neil Gentleman-Hobbs

5

Great advice and a simple reasonable pricing structure for business or personal matters

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Sills & Betteridge Solicitors

  • Emma Downing

    Following university and after graduating from Law School Emma completed her training contract at Frearsons Solicitors. After qualification Emma worked for several years in London where she dealt with a high volume of leasehold conveyancing and high value properties. After returning to Lincolnshire Emma rejoined Frearsons and helped to build up and develop the residential conveyancing department building links with local estate agents and establishing a large local client base. Frearsons merged with Sills & Betteridge on 1st October 2015 and Emma became an Associate of the firm on 1st June 2016.

  • Joanne Patten

    Joanne Patten joined Frearsons in 1987 as an office junior and worked in all departments gaining valuable experience. Joanne commenced her Legal Executive training in 1995 and qualified as a Fellow of Institute of Legal Executives in 2001. Frearsons merged with Sills and Betteridge on the 1st October 2015 and Joanne continues to work in the residential property department.

  • Tiffany Smith

    I have worked in the legal profession for over 20 years and have been with Sills & Betteridge for nearly 4 years. I run the Conveyancing Department in our Scunthorpe Office under the supervision of our Conveyancing Partners.

  • Kimberley Rose

    I qualified in 2012, and have over a decade of experience in the Residential Conveyancing sector. I have developed range of experience over that time including: - Shared ownership - New builds - Help to buy loans - Lease extension

  • Jessica Shaw

    Jessica is a conveyancer based at our Scunthorpe office. She deals with a range of residential conveyancing transactions including freehold sale and purchase, shared ownership, help to buy, forces help to buy, re-mortgaging and transfer of equity.

  • Talisa Hammond

    Talisa works in the Residential Property Department as a Conveyancing Executive in the Nottingham Office. Talisa has been working in Residential Property for over twelve years. She deals with a range of residential property transactions including freehold sales and purchases, right to buy purchases, leasehold sales, re-mortgages and transfers of equity.

  • Claire North

    “Claire and her assistants were professional, friendly and always helpful throughout the selling process. Thank you!” Mr B, Gainsborough

  • Sue Ross

    I am a Licensed Conveyancer based in the Sleaford Office. I began working for Jebb & Tunnard in 1986 and then moved to Godsons in 1994. I have over 25 years experience in conveyancing and is part of the Residential Property team at the Sleaford Office. I handle a caseload of residential conveyancing work covering all aspects of buying and selling properties. I qualified as a Licensed Conveyancer in March 2014.

  • Sarah Whinnerah

    Sarah is a Licensed Conveyancer, she joined Sills & Betteridge in 2014 as part of their residential conveyancing team based at the Spilsby Office. Sarah deals with transactions ranging from residential sales and purchases to re-mortgages and transfers of equity.

  • Karen French

    Karen French is a Chartered Legal Executive working in the Conveyancing Department at our Boston office. Karen is Boston born and bred and educated there also. She left school at 16 and took up immediate employment in the legal profession where she has been ever since. Karen qualified as a Legal Executive in 1994 and her area of law is Residential Conveyancing with some Commercial Property work.

  • Peter Burton

    Peter is a proper yellow belly having been born, raised and educated in Lincoln. He joined a local firm of solicitors straight from school in 1970 and remained there for 34 years before moving to Sills & Betteridge in 2004. Peter is a keen sportsman even though his playing days are now behind him. He is still secretary for the local cricket club that he played for for nearly 40 years and is a season ticket holder for Lincoln City Football Club whom he has supported since his early teens. He is also very keen on theatre and in his early days staged managed ‘ the Lincoln Cycle of Mystery plays’ and ‘Joseph and his Amazing Technicoloured Dream coat’ in the Lincoln Cathedral as well as many plays and musicals by local groups.

  • Edward Sharpe

    Edward specialises in property law and residential Conveyancing. After completing a degree in Biomedical Sciences Edward worked in London for 6 years before retraining as a lawyer. He completed his Law degree and LPC in London prior to moving to Lincolnshire to join Sills & Betteridge as a trainee solicitor. Edward qualified into the Wills, Trusts and Probate department and later moved to the Residential Property department. He became a Partner of Sills & Betteridge in June 2010.

  • Tracy Wray

    I started work in 1984 with Hodgson Carlyle & Co who merged with Sills & Betteridge in 1990 and have therefore worked in the legal profession for over 32 years. I handle a caseload of residential conveyancing work covering all aspects of buying and selling properties together with remortgages and transfers of equity.

  • Mathew Daurge

    Mathew works in the Residential property department as a conveyancing Executive in the Lincoln office. He acts for Developers in their sales of Plots and Freehold Sales & Purchases, Transfers of Equity and Remortgages.

About This Branch

Description

Sills & Betteridge are proud to have been providing legal advice and services for more than 250 years. Over that time we have built up a wealth of experience and knowledge about what you, our clients, want from a solicitor. Our service is professional, our people approachable. We tailor our service to meet your requirements. We are highly committed to quality and constantly strive to adapt and improve all of our services. We are proud to have been recognised as a law firm of quality and experience through the award of the Legal Aid Agency’s Specialist Quality Mark, the Law Society’s Lexcel Quality Standard and the Law Society’s Conveyancing Quality Scheme accreditation. These three quality standards award firms for providing exceptional client service and excellence in practice management.


Legal Services
  • Pension and property advice
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Redundancy
  • Professional trustees
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Business Crime
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Pre-publication advice
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Civil partnerships
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Right to Manage
  • Benefits
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Buying at auction
  • Financial Matters
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Drugs offences
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Malicious falsehood
  • Child contact
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Valuers
  • Financial advisors
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Travel rights
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Fraud
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Dental Negligence
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Lease Extensions
  • Criminal Damage
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Trusts
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Family law
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Probate
  • TUPE
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Property Disputes
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Stress at Work
  • Wills
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Insurance brokers
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Trusts
  • Against The Council
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Social Services
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Employment Contracts
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Extending your Lease
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Barristers
  • MRSA Claims
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Senior Executives
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Separation Agreement
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Legal aid
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Injunctions
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Human rights
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Litigation Law
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Planning
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Professional Conduct
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Remortgaging
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Housing Associations
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Part Time Workers
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Repossessions
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Tax
  • Family Mediation
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Housing disputes
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Injunctions
  • Children
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Medical Negligence
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Gardening Leave
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Housing
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Family Leave
  • Military
  • Child Law
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • IT professionals
  • Transfer of title
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Theft
  • Assault
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Agency agreements
  • Patents
  • Summary Judgment
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Intellectual Property
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Copyright
  • Corporate finance
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Domain Names
  • Commercial Leases
  • Franchising
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Corporate Law
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Purchase of development land
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Development plot sales
  • Setting up a business
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Rights of way issues
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Management buyouts
  • Competition law
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Developer disputes
  • Statutory Demands
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Slander
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Data Protection
  • Health and Safety
  • Environmental policy law
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Farming disputes
  • Commercial Law
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Finance
  • Equestrian property
  • Planning law
  • Tax
  • Asset Tracing
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Mediation
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Licensing
  • Debt Recovery
  • Share option schemes
  • Employment - business
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Credit Control
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000