Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Howells LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Howells LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Howells LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Howells LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Howells LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Howells LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Howells LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    244
  • Very Good

    12
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Maggie

Matter Type:

Dispute resolution - civil mediation

Maggie

September 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

NO MORE HARASSMENT

It was very upsetting to suffer online harassment for several years, not knowing what to do about it. I had no previous experience of this and everyone said to ignore it. Until it became very threatening to my family and home. I shouldn’t have hesitated. Graham made a telephone appointment with me, cut through all the complications of the case and the two page letter which he sent to the harasser worked immediately. He could not believe that action was being taken against him which resulted in hearing no more from him. Graham could not have been more efficient, approachable and knowledgeable. I would not hesitate in recommending him, I only wish I had not waited so long.

Was this review helpful?

Angela

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells LLP.

Matter Type:

Child Custody

Angela

September 06, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Family

I was very satisfied with the customer service

Was this review helpful?

John

Matter Type:

Separation

John

September 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Efficient, effective & human too

In October 2020 I separated from my wife after 28 years together. Since then I have stayed with various friends & their families before moving into my new apartment this week. To say it’s been a turbulent year doesn’t come close to how difficult this time has been.
I was lucky that one of the friends I stayed with recommended Howells to manage my separation & subsequent divorce. For nearly 12 months John Clegg & his team have been quite superb in providing me with good, quality legal advice. I’ve found them to be professional, competent & very understanding in helping me navigate a route through very choppy waters
Thank you Howells & to John in particular. Their & his ability to put across complex issues, whilst always being aware of how I was coping during a very difficult year, is a rare & unique talent
Without hesitation I would recommend Howells to anyone needing good sound advice

Was this review helpful?

Gem

Matter Type:

Litigation Law

Gem

August 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Marvellous Service!

Brilliant, can't recommend enough! Graham was so helpful and very informative, dealt with my claim so efficiently, I am so grateful! Thank you !

Was this review helpful?

Brittany bell

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells LLP.

Matter Type:

Child Custody

Brittany bell

August 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Child arrangement

Would like to leave a very good review on my experience here at Howells with liz, from the start to finish I couldn’t have ask anyone better to represent me and help me all way through my case, it’s been a pleasure having liz by my side.

Was this review helpful?

Linda

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells LLP.

Matter Type:

Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship

Linda

August 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic help

I was having issues with a family matter and needed a solicitor ASAP and spoke to Liam who has helped me and my family throughout our whole process, he kept me informed and updated the whole time, I would highly recommend Liam and Howells and can’t thank him enough

Was this review helpful?

Tokunbo Adeloye

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells LLP.

Matter Type:

Family law

Tokunbo Adeloye

July 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Experience of Howells

Howells was very helpful and insightful about my case and this assisted me to go through all the procedural issues involved.

Was this review helpful?

C F

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells LLP.

Matter Type:

Child Access

C F

July 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service

Cannot recommend Howells Solicitors enough amazing experience from start to finish, my case was handled with sensitivity and very professional. I was continually in contact through out the process and Liam was always there to answer any queries.

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Matter Type:

Divorce

Mark

July 21, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very helpful through a difficult time.

Alyson was an immense help through a protracted divorce compounded by the fact I was living and working overseas throughout. Alyson was able to make me feel comfortable in times I had doubts and always offered welcome pragmatic advice whilst still listening to my own feelings on the matter and how I would like to see the outcome. Her experience in this field is evident and gave me confidence that the matter was progressing as it should be and in a fair manner. She is supported by a great team and I would definitely recommend Alyson and her team to anyone who is going through a divorce. As a result I will be using Howells in the future for any legal work I may require such as will making or property purchase. Thanks to all for a great job.

Was this review helpful?

Liam

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells LLP.

Matter Type:

Family law

Liam

July 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic service

Very supportive, they answered all my questions quickly and clearly. They made a difficult process much easier.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Owen

Owen

September 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Owen

A close friend recommended Howells to me as they had dealt with the conveyancing of his property. They also had a competitive quote, lower than some others I'd seen so I was happy to instruct them in regards to the conveyancing of my own first home.

My solicitors were Pauline (who has since left Howells) and Caroline (who has since changed department). Had they been my solicitors the entire way through this would have been a 1 or 2 star review. Pauline was doing the work correctly but her communication with us was awful. I try to avoid ringing solicitors constantly for updates as they need to get on with the job. However, in 4 months I'm not sure if I spoke to Pauline even once. No introductory phone call, few updates. Every time I rang I couldn't get through and didn't get a call back. My emails were often not responded to. Caroline was incompetent, ignoring my mortgage broker and not dealing with simple issues. My mortgage lender took 3 months to get some documents through to the solicitors but to this day I'm not sure whether it was the lender not sending them or Howells not looking for them properly.

Then things all changed. I was told that Pauline and Caroline had left. Emma Burnham started dealing with my case as an interim and she got the documents sorted, was so much more helpful and responsive and actually took accountability. She actually seemed to care and would pick up the phone or call me back and keep me in the loop.

Then Stephen Taylor took over our case and was brilliant. Made us feel like we were his only clients. Communicative, pleasant and efficient. Made the whole process easy and changed my perception completely. No stress, plenty of updates and just professional, honest work.

On that basis, since Stephen and Emma are still handling conveyancing and Pauline and Caroline aren't, I'm happy to recommend Howells. I should also add that everyone on the reception in Sheffield (Bridge Street) and on reception over the phone were lovely. All the work done correctly and we're grateful that we've now completed on our home.

Was this review helpful?

Weifeng

Weifeng

August 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Weifeng

Mr. Chris Wong is soooo good. I never thought that a partner of a law firm could reply to my information so quickly. Thank you Again.

Was this review helpful?

dean

dean

June 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

dean

Chris wrong! Is the best solicitors at howells ! He like a god of solicitors 🙏?

Was this review helpful?

a

a

June 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

Just had Chris Wong as my solicitor in court fantastic solicitor thanks TCP

Was this review helpful?

emma

emma

June 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

emma

From start to finish Howells was brilliant with my case and Mohammed was very professional and went into details when I asked questions ,definitely will use again if needed and will recommend Mohammed ,fab work guys

Was this review helpful?

Howells LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Howells Solicitors has more than 40 years’ experience of providing high quality legal advice. We have expert solicitors in key areas of personal law from family and matrimonial to personal injury, wills, probate and clinical negligence as well as residential conveyancing, employment and taxi licensing. We also have a highly experienced criminal defence department to give advice and representation in all areas including arrest and court appearances. Howells is committed to offering expert legal advice to every individual who seeks it, to improving access to justice and our clients’ experience of the law, and to deliver a customer-focused, value-based service at all times. We are different at Howells. You are at the heart of what we do, which is why we pride ourselves on being friendly and approachable and making sure that you always get personal attention and a top quality service, whether you are a private paying client or are receiving publicly funded legal aid. The vast range of services we offer means that we can help you in all key stages of life, as well as the times that you hadn’t planned for.

Practice areas

Property & Conveyancing Wills, Trusts and Probate Family Law Divorce and Separation Medical Negligence Accident and Personal Injury Care Proceedings Employment Law Inheritance Tax Planning and Trusts Lasting Powers of Attorney Actions against the Police Human Rights Inquests Housing Benefits and Credits Criminal Defence

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Actions against the police
    • Actions against the police
    • Excessive force or assault
    • Human rights breaches
    • Malicious prosecution
    • Police negligence
    • Wrongful arrest or false imprisonment
  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Domestic violence
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Harassment
    • Juvenile
    • Legal aid
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Sexual allegations including Rape and Sexual Assaults
    • Theft
  • Driving offences
    • Appeal driving conviction
    • Careless driving
    • Convicted in absence
    • Dangerous driving
    • Dangerous vehicle conditions
    • Death By Careless Driving
    • Death by dangerous driving
    • Discretionary disqualification
    • Disqualification removal
    • Drink driving
    • Driving Whilst Unfit
    • Driving Without Due Care
    • Driving whilst disqualified
    • Driving without a licence
    • Driving without insurance
    • Drunk in charge
    • Early return of driving licence
    • Exceptional Hardship
    • Failing to notify DVLA
    • Failure to furnish identification
    • Failure to provide a blood sample
    • Failure to provide a specimen
    • Goods vehicles - operators licence
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Mobile phone offences
    • New Driver Provisions
    • Notice of intended prosecution
    • Recognition of disqualification
    • Restoration of licence
    • Road rage incidents
    • Serious injury by dangerous driving
    • Signs and signal offences
    • Special Reasons
    • Speeding offences
    • Stopping and reporting
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
    • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
  • Human rights
    • Human rights
    • Judicial review
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Cycling Accident
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Serious Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
    • Mental Health
    • Mental Health Legal aid
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills
Book an appointment