Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Barcan+Kirby LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Barcan+Kirby LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 60%
About Right 40%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Barcan+Kirby LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Barcan+Kirby LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Barcan+Kirby LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Barcan+Kirby LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Barcan+Kirby LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    1126
  • Very Good

    84
  • Average

    9
  • Poor

    9
  • Awful

    41

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

May 19, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Not at this time, however we will doubtless be in touch in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Alexandra

Matter Type:

Wills

Alexandra

May 11, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

kind and understanding solicitors

I just want to say a big thank you to Joelle Allen from this firm, as she was so understanding and kind to me. I was initially booked to see her in the morning and I missed it (entirely my fault) but she had no problem seeing me later in the day, without hesitation. She certified my documents with no fuss and understood my needs. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful?

Terence Rich.

Matter Type:

Wills

Terence Rich.

May 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Joelle was very Patient and understanding to our needs and did not try to influence us but gave us supportive information.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

May 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

myself and sister used the Kingswood and Clifton sights for two different reason's (will writing and buying a house ) we are both very happy with the support and work that has been done, from both sights, we will recommend Barcan+Kirby to anyone that needs a legal team.

Was this review helpful?

Jean Williams

Matter Type:

Wills

Jean Williams

May 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

I received excellent service with both my will & LPA Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

April 26, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Emily was friendly - understanding
Brilliant service.

Was this review helpful?

J Turbull

Matter Type:

Wills

J Turbull

April 25, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

as stated above as a 70 year old round not to familiar with modern IT telephone is my best form of contact.

Was this review helpful?

Sheila

Matter Type:

Wills

Sheila

April 25, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Very Professional team
i liked the eye contact to all people present.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Probate

Anonymous

April 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

An overall stratified but feel it should be made simpler for client if papers need to go abroad. the whole process was nonetheless handled professionally & would use Barcan + Kirby in future.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

April 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Gemma was very professional on each Zoom.

we has 3 will being dealt with.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Dave

Dave

April 01, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dave

B&K dealt with the sale and purchase of properties for myself and partner.

I found them to be professional, helpful,
with good communication throughout the process.

They were not one of the cheaper offers, but we would recommend as paying peanuts can sometimes get you monkeys.

Thank you SW

David and Anna

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Mark

March 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mark

I used Barcan+Kirby for conveyance services during the purchase of a Bristol property. I found my solicitor Farah and her colleague Abigail from the Kingswood office to be very personable and patient in answering my queries, as well as thorough and diligent in her work. The process took longer than I expected (hence not 5*), however I understand pressures outside of their control due to the pandemic did contribute to this. I would recommend their services.

Was this review helpful?

John

John

March 12, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

John

Excellent 👌

Was this review helpful?

Simon

Simon

February 28, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Simon

The team were amazing throughout the process of buying our current property. Communication was excellent and I would highly recommend this firm

Was this review helpful?

Another

Another

November 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Another

Very helpful and professional, would definitely use again. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Barcan+Kirby LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Barcan+Kirby is a firm of solicitors with a reputation for providing high quality, common sense advice. It offers a comprehensive range of legal services, delivered by expert lawyers and supported by a culture of respect and understanding. With six offices, conveniently located across Bristol and South Gloucestershire, the firm’s friendly and approachable team provide advice and guidance to both individuals and businesses within the South West and nationwide.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Employment
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Settlement Agreements
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Amputation
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Car Accident
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Cycling Accident
    • Dog Bite
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Serious Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Management buyouts
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
  • Construction
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant