Barcan+kirby LLP

  • www.barcankirby.co.uk
4.7/5 488 Customer Reviews Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Barcan+kirby LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Barcan+kirby LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Become Verified

Barcan+kirby LLP only have 488 reviews listed here

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors

Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You


488 Customer Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    426
  • Very Good
    33
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    5
  • Awful
    13
Anonymous
Click to rate
Fern
Fern Added 1 week ago Report to admin
December 04, 2019 20191204134451

First time buyer

5

Barcan + Kirby are a great team . They really guided me through my sales process smoothly . I would highly recommend them and kerryanne if your looking for solicitors for purchasing a property

A representative from Barcan+kirby LLP responded to this review on 04 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael Fisher
Verified Michael Fisher Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 28, 2019 20191128205204

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

The service was first class. Joelle Allen is a very efficient & caring person. she dealt with the sale of my mother-Law's property & now our lasing power of attorney.

Solicitor named in this review: Joelle Allen

Was this review helpful? Yes

B Bridges
Verified B Bridges Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
November 22, 2019 20191122205202

Residential Conveyancing

5

Very professional, kept us up to date , and responded quickly to any queries/questions we had.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Carla
Verified Carla Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
November 19, 2019 20191119205203

Personal Injury / Insurance

5

I would highly recommend this company. Very good communication, supportive and listened to our concerns and worries. we felt well represented throughout our claim.

Solicitor named in this review: Amie Prowle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Julie Thatcher
Verified Julie Thatcher Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
November 19, 2019 20191119205203

Wills, Trusts and Probate

4

I needed my will updated quickly as I was due to go back into hospital. it was produced when required and it was easy to complete. it has put my mind at rest that my wishes will be carried out if the worst happens.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rachel
Verified Rachel Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
November 19, 2019 20191119205203

Family

5

Barcan+Kirby were extremely professional and proficient when resolving my case, I would highly recommend them as solicitors.

Solicitor named in this review: Kirsten Hale

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rob Hudson
Verified Rob Hudson Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
November 19, 2019 20191119205203

Commercial Property

4

already provided Facebook review.

Solicitor named in this review: Daniel Lander

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dilruba
Dilruba Added 1 month ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
November 09, 2019 20191109142247

AVOID! if you don't want to put money down the drain !!!!

1

These solicitors are greedy and rip you off your money without providing anything useful.

I can't express how disappointed and angry I am with their service.

We had an initial consultation for a discounted price (£180, after that £264) with one of their associates.

What seemed to be a nice and understanding solicitor in the beginning, then ripped us off an additional £460 for nothing we could use for our case.

During the initial consultation, the solicitor provided us with some useful information regarding an ongoing neighbour dispute.

After that, we tried getting in touch with the lawyer again via email and phone and all attempts to get in touch were in vain.

We then decided to put £500 as a retainer on their account, just in case we would need them in the future to write a formal letter to our neighbours - nothing was agreed on though at that point. My husband was just too good-hearted to think that they would reimburse us the money if we did not take their service.

However, when we ONLY ASKED FOR A QUOTE for said letter in an email where my husband spent ages researching himself what should be included, the solicitor got back to us with a quote stating it would take her 6-7 hours to write said letter (appalling if you think how much their hourly rate is). At that point in time, we thought this is part of providing a free quote, as asking for a quote should not cost.

(That was also the point when they asked us to leave a review on Google, considering we were still happy with their service - how hypocritical to rip us off afterwards).

We did not agree to the quote and did not contact them again at that point in time, as we went on holiday when the worst of all things happened. While being on our babymoon holiday with me being 7 months pregnant, we received an email from said lawyer stating that they issued us with an invoice of approximately £460 for 'all the work that had been done'.

Receiving useful information in a consultation and paying for it is fine. But being charged for email correspondence where the solicitor only gives you a quote for POTENTIAL work to be done and being charged £460 for it is simply DISGUSTING.

Dealing with Barcan + Kirby caused anxiety, distress and panic for me and they well knew/know that I am pregnant. Even after writing a complaint email, they still insisted on charging us for nothing they provided. We were left with no letter, but £460 less on our account that would have been more useful to spend on our baby.

Conclusion:

1. AVOID AVOID AVOID these greedy people as there must be better lawyers in this world who do not rip you off for no service provided and actually care about you as a person.

2. Do not bother to hire this firm as they only respond even to simple queries if you pay them upfront. Otherwise, they don't bother to call back or reply to emails.

3. Be ready to be charged for no outcome at all if you decide against their quote. It is as if you wiped your bottom with £460 and flushed it down the toilet.

4. I would have given -5 stars if I had the chance - NEVER AGAIN !!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jenny Bhambri Lyte
Verified Jenny Bhambri Lyte Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 23, 2019 20191023205202

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Barcan & Kirby were very professional and we always had confidence that they would deliver what they promised.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Pippa
Verified Pippa Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 23, 2019 20191023205202

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

fantastic service, personable and down to earth. Everything was explained incredibly well. Will be using again.

Solicitor named in this review: Gwyn Pritchard

Was this review helpful? Yes

Other Bristol Solicitors