Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Barcan+Kirby LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Barcan+Kirby LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Barcan+Kirby LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 32%
About Right 68%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Barcan+Kirby LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Barcan+Kirby LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Barcan+Kirby LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Barcan+Kirby LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Barcan+Kirby LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    1853
  • Very Good

    135
  • Average

    19
  • Poor

    14
  • Awful

    56

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
JOHN

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

JOHN

June 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Residential Conveyancing

We had serious issues with selling our leasehold property,this is Bristol baby,but B&K proved themselves to be worth every penny.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

June 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Other

The legal services provided are professional and responsible.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

June 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

straight forward, Efficient prompt service to prepare new wills.

Was this review helpful?

P.J. Lacey

Matter Type:

Wills

P.J. Lacey

June 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Every thing done was as i expected. very quick & efficient. The member of staff was very kind.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Trusts

Anonymous

June 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Other

Emily Price was great, got back to us very quickly and helped us sort out DoT very quickly.

Was this review helpful?

Mrs J Hamer

Matter Type:

Wills

Mrs J Hamer

June 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Every possible help was available at all times.

Was this review helpful?

SC

Matter Type:

Corporate Law

SC

June 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Business / Commercial

The service was very responsive and flexible while the work was being scoped at short notice, and B+K were completely clear around expected outcomes. Thank you again (used you in October/November 2023 and was equally happy)

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Mental Health - Court of protection

Anonymous

June 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Court of Protection

Everything was well explained to the regards procedures and possible outcomes etc.. i was kept well informed throughout and had the right outcome. highly recommend!

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

May 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

Our family would like to thank Joelle for providing an excellent service, keeping matters simple, easy to understand and putting her client at ease.
A great experience! Thanks Joelle

Was this review helpful?

Margaret

Matter Type:

Wills

Margaret

May 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Trusts and Probate

i found it really easy to talk to and helpful

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Carla

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Carla

June 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Carla

We had no issues using Barcan+Kirby when buying our first home - we weren't really sure about how the whole process would be and it can be really daunting committing yourself to such a big purchase when you're going in with limited knowledge on the matter. We felt guided through the entire process and communication was always really good - we felt that whatever questions we did have were answered in a timely fashion and explained in a way that we would understand. We would recommend anyone looking for a solicitors to help them purchase a home to use them as their local branch. Special thanks to Vicky who made sure timeframes were met accordingly to our expectations.

Was this review helpful?

Olly

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Olly

May 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Olly

Barcan & Kirby were great to work with. Very communicative throughout the entire sale process and have recommended them to multiple friends and colleagues.

I will definitely be using their services again.

Was this review helpful?

Stuart

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Stuart

April 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stuart

Barcan+Kirby have been really helpful when we sold our house. We have now used their services twice and both times they have been excellent.

Was this review helpful?

Maisie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Maisie

April 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Maisie

Used for the purchase of a property. Got all the documentation done in good time. Thanks to Stephen for pushing the sale through as quickly as possible. Very quick at responding to emails.

Was this review helpful?

Barcan+Kirby LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Barcan+Kirby is a firm of solicitors with a reputation for providing high quality, common sense advice. It offers a comprehensive range of legal services, delivered by expert lawyers and supported by a culture of respect and understanding. With six offices, conveniently located across Bristol and South Gloucestershire, the firm’s friendly and approachable team provide advice and guidance to both individuals and businesses within the South West and nationwide.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Employment
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Settlement Agreements
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Amputation
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Car Accident
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Cycling Accident
    • Dog Bite
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Serious Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Management buyouts
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
  • Construction
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant