Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Coodes Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 86%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coodes Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Coodes Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 22%
About Right 77%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 85%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Coodes Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Coodes Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 85%
No 15%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 86%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Coodes Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Coodes Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 86%
No 14%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Coodes Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.3/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    95
  • Very Good

    9
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    17

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Lee,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coodes LLP.

Lee,

February 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale of flat

Laura was very helpful and kept pushing the sale through, easy to get hold of, would recommend

Was this review helpful?

Jenkins-Wiley,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coodes LLP.

Jenkins-Wiley,

February 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Efficient and friendly

A very efficient and friendly service. I felt that Kate communicated well and we were always kept in the loop.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coodes LLP.

Anonymous

February 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent

A troubling problem which was concluded in a timely fashion.

Was this review helpful?

Morag,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coodes LLP.

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Morag,

February 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Professional Service

I have used Coodes Solicitors for over 20 years, in particular, for house sales and purchases with Kate Bayley. Their service is always very professional and efficient with great communication. I highly recommend Kate and Coodes!

Was this review helpful?

Jessica,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coodes LLP.

Jessica,

September 29, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service

Provided a great service, very approachable.

Was this review helpful?

Courtney

Matter Type:

Probate

Courtney

May 03, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Procrastination, break down in communication . St.Austell branch

This firm was not transparent concerning any upfront fees , communication problems and unreturned calls and emails, weeks and weeks of wasted time at the clients expense due to being “too busy” refusal of providing a complaints procedure when requested , we felt we were discriminated against and treated unfairly due to my circumstances of being signed off from being able to work by a doctor due to my ill health and recent loss of a loved one , I believe this is not a reason to be made to feel looked down upon and belittled , I believe my financial circumstances were viewed poorly due to this and I believe an assumption was made were the company refused to act for me hence wasting weeks of my precious time and I believe this has led to me being unable to approach further assistance for my legal requirements from another company due to this firm holding my paperwork which I hope has not been lost. Very distressing. I feel I have been treated unfairly and with a lack of respect, however the receptionists I have delt with within this firm have been delightful and very respectful and understanding.

Was this review helpful?

Suzanne

Matter Type:

Probate

Suzanne

February 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Probate - Truro office. DO NOT USE

From beginning to end, the lawyers we dealt with were unprofessional and offered a very bad service. We changed from one lawyer (who did no work on our file for 6 weeks) to a Partner who was just as poor and needed constant chasing to communicate. Her work needed to be double checked and corrected on every single email during a 7 month period. I would not recommend them. There was a constant lack of any attention to detail which could have resulted in us losing a great deal of money. To lose a Mum is bad enough without having to check up on someone you are paying to do a job that you end up doing yourself. Dreadful service. Re the star, I couldn't go lower than 1 star otherwise I would.

Was this review helpful?

Shena

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Shena

January 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Sale and Purchase

Having used Coodes Solicitors in Truro for selling a house and then eventually buying my new house, I cannot speak too highly of them and thoroughly recommend them.
They are courteous, friendly, professional and efficient, providing the detailed knowledge and expertise required to ensure a sale and purchase goes through smoothly and safely. They dealt efficiently with all the legalities and concerns and considering the vast amount of paperwork involved these days when selling or buying, that was very reassuring. During the covid pandemic things have moved more slowly than normal of course, but Coodes’ use of the most recent electronic solutions was always clear and reassuring with regard to it’s security and confidentiality.
Thank you Sophie and Tina for your wonderful calming and professional support throughout the whole process of selling and buying, particularly during tumultuous times.

Was this review helpful?

valerie

valerie

January 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

house sale

disgraceful, poor communication, lack of information. rude secretary,

Was this review helpful?

Delia

Matter Type:

Contractual Disputes

Delia

October 24, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

No win - no fee

I have had a terrible experience with this company, on my first appointment I made it clear that I had to go for a no win - no fee as I had lost all my money through a business. This was accepted so I went on with the appointment still making sure they knew I did not have any money. The procedure took time due to the solicitors talking to each other was long and drawn out. In the end my company was dissolved by company house and the other parties solicitor would not go any further unless I reopened the company. As I did not have any money this was not an option so walked away from the claim. I then get a court order to pay the outstanding debt to Codes for which I understood was a no win - no fee. They have lied to me all the way through and I now have a poor credit rating. I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE EVER.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Bow

Bow

January 21, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Bow

Debbie and Sophie are absolutely amazing! Iv used them twice and wouldn’t use anyone else. Quick efficient and always comes back to my emails and phone calls. Could not recommend enough

Was this review helpful?

Vics

Vics

February 21, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Vics

Very good solicitors. Worth trying them should you ever need them..they do all types of different kinds of law too

Was this review helpful?

James

James

September 26, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

James

Competent and highly efficient team. Fantastically knowledgeable in the leasehold sector. Hannah was particularly expeditious in answering all questions and queries. I will use again and highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Adam

Adam

August 27, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Adam

Coodes were used in my house sale and forward purchase. We really had a bad experience. One purchase fell through and almost a second which was simply down to them not getting the work done. So slow, over a year to get it done. Also just found out that there is still issues outstanding!

Was this review helpful?

Camilla

Camilla

June 30, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Camilla

Sophie Jones and Debbie Mills were wonderful. They were fast to reply, very thorough and efficient with our unusual circumstances. Thank you very much!

Was this review helpful?

Coodes Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

We provide legal advice across the entire spectrum of business and personal needs, delivered by highly-experienced lawyers, organised according to the needs of our clients. We are open, honest and direct. We strive to explain things in plain English and keep legal jargon to a minimum.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Sexual allegations including Rape and Sexual Assaults
    • Theft
  • Driving offences
    • Appeal driving conviction
    • Careless driving
    • Convicted in absence
    • Dangerous driving
    • Dangerous vehicle conditions
    • Death By Careless Driving
    • Death by dangerous driving
    • Discretionary disqualification
    • Disqualification removal
    • Drink driving
    • Driving Whilst Unfit
    • Driving Without Due Care
    • Driving whilst disqualified
    • Driving without a licence
    • Driving without insurance
    • Drug driving
    • Drunk in charge
    • Early return of driving licence
    • Exceptional Hardship
    • Failing to notify DVLA
    • Failure to furnish identification
    • Failure to provide a blood sample
    • Failure to provide a specimen
    • Goods vehicles - operators licence
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Mobile phone offences
    • New Driver Provisions
    • Notice of intended prosecution
    • Recognition of disqualification
    • Road rage incidents
    • Serious injury by dangerous driving
    • Signs and signal offences
    • Special Reasons
    • Speeding offences
    • Stopping and reporting
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
    • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Non Freezing Cold Injury
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Serious Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Mental Health
    • Mental Health Legal aid
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment