Request an appointment

Request an appointment

Wake Smith Solicitors Limited

0114 2666660

Also known as :

  • Wake Smith Solicitors
View map
Wake Smith Solicitors Limited

How Wake Smith Solicitors Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 85%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wake Smith Solicitors Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 2%
Overpriced 19%
About Right 78%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 76%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Wake Smith Solicitors Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Wake Smith Solicitors Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 76%
No 24%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 82%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Wake Smith Solicitors Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Wake Smith Solicitors Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 82%
No 18%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Wake Smith Solicitors Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Wake Smith Solicitors Limited only have 36 reviews listed here

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.6/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    32
  • Very Good

    0
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    4

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Jerome

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Jerome

February 22, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic Conveyancing

Very good service - always prompt replies - would recommend.

Was this review helpful?

John

Matter Type:

Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims

John

February 01, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Random choice proved to be an excellent decision

Graham, my civil partner died from lower gut cancer in June 2016, and it took me the best part of a year to recover from the shock of it all before I selected Wake Smith randomly from the internet to advise me as I have little legal knowledge. It proved to be an excellent decision. I inquired and then instructed my solicitor to act for me in claiming clinical negligence. Graham had first complained of a lump in his lower gutl over 12 months earlier, a finding also reported by his GP and so he was sent for a sigmoidoscopy scan in July 2015, some 11 months earlier. The report from the sigmoidoscopy (which did not arrive until late September) stated “no sign at all of histological features”, “area has been fully assessed” and “I think we can be fully reassured”. Well, we were only fully reassured for another 5 months or so by which time Graham’s cancer had spread until he developed clear symptoms of illness. A second sigmoidoscopy revealed malignant tumour in the same position as the lump described by Graham and his GP previously. However, this diagnosis was now too late to plan any curative treatment and the palliative treatment did not significantly prolong his life. The defence admitted their error in not finding and diagnosing the tumour in the first instance; but even if they had, they argued that it would have been too late; the cancer was already too advanced. The opinions of expert witnesses became central to the case which fortunately was settled to the satisfaction of all sides before having to go to court.
My solicitor (Scott Haslam) was very efficient at keeping me updated, receiving, and sending documents, finding first class expert witnesses, obtaining medical records etc. The delays in the case (it took 5 years to resolve) were due to the Covid pandemic, the complexity of the case and the defence asking for a number of extensions. My legal team (barrister, solicitor, expert witnesses, legal agents) were all 1st class and I would have no hesitation in using them again.

Was this review helpful?

Scott

Scott

December 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Change of name & staturoy declaration - wonderful, effience and helpful service

I instructed Wake Smith to assist me with a change of name deed and a statutory declaration. My circumstances were a little unusual and I wasn't sure what documents I needed. Victoria Walker responded to my initial inquiry. She immediately understood my situation and was able to advise me accordingly. She was very knowledgeable and professional as well as extremely helpful, and didn't miss a beat when I changed my mind about my instruction. The entire process ran incredibly smoothly, and Victoria made everything very easy for me - including organising my visit to Wake Smith to sign and receive documents and having these witnessed by a neighbouring law firm. I would definitely recommend Wake Smith, and would happily use them again.

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Andrew

December 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Poor service

After researching around for conveyance solicitors for my first property, I chose wakesmith. On believing the above average reviews, I believed I had made a good decision. They were very slow and poor response throughout the transaction. They failed to deliver on my help to buy isa despite paying for the service. They lacked knowledge on the legal requirements for a help to buy isa and as such, I was unable to take advantage of an isa I had been paying into for several years. They also lost my paperwork which I emailed twice and hand delivered 3 times!!! Terrible!! Avoid this company if you don’t want a prolonged purchase with rude staff!

Was this review helpful?

John

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

John

October 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Look no further

Wake Smith solicitors were recommended to us by a friend. The experience from start to finish was smooth and trouble free. They were 100% efficient at keeping us updated, sending documents etc. Tom Weightman was absolutely 1st class and I have no hesitation in using them again. If you want a company of solicitors that provide the very best service at reasonable prices, look no further.

Was this review helpful?

Tim

Matter Type:

Child Maintenance

Tim

October 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Maintenance Enforcement

I needed advice regarding maintenance payments and initially contacted Victoria, who very quickly and efficiently set up a meeting with Deborah Marsh in family law. Deborah was very personable, switched on and informative of the cost implications in possible scenarios. She quickly brought the case to a satisfactory solution. I would thoroughly recommend her

Was this review helpful?

Bonno147

Bonno147

October 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Changing my sons name

I used wake Smith Solicitors to change my sons and they were really efficient with communication and booking the appointment. Everything went smoothly and took the stress away would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Alice

Alice

October 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very professional and friendly service

I used Wake Smith Solicitors to legally change my name and they made the process incredibly quick and straightforward. Victoria was in contact throughout - superb communication. Lindsey went through the paperwork with me and she was very helpful answering any questions I had. I would definitely recommend Wake Smith Solicitors and I will be using them again in future!

Was this review helpful?

Sallyann

Matter Type:

Change of name

Sallyann

August 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Absolutely amazing!

Wake Smith were recommended to me by another Solicitor, which straight away made me feel comfortable at approaching them.

A change of name request, which took less than 24 hours from initial enquiry to closure of the case. Yes, I'm very sure that this isn't usual practice and we fell very lucky, but from start to finish, the Secretary and Solicitor were kind, considerate and professional throughout. Understanding of our needs and were able to provide clarity on everything, i simply cannot recommend them enough for the work the have done for us.

So very thankful for their time, energy and professionalism ... and the box of tissues on the table, that were used as we sobbed at the joy of it been done and dusted.

Was this review helpful?

Jeanne

Matter Type:

Hospital Negligence Claims

Jeanne

July 31, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent

Wake Smith has been excellent in helping my husbands claim after obtaining a horrendous pressure ulcer in being in hospital for a few weeks. We are constantly updated on the process and are now happily to advise that we have had a successful claim. Can't recommend them enough and would highly recommend them!

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Human rights
    • Human rights
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Computer and IT Law
    • GDPR
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing