Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Machins Solicitors LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 89%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Machins Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Machins Solicitors LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 28%
About Right 71%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 90%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Machins Solicitors LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Machins Solicitors LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 90%
No 10%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 90%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Machins Solicitors LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Machins Solicitors LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 90%
No 10%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Machins Solicitors LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.5/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    163
  • Very Good

    7
  • Average

    5
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    18

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
karen

karen

July 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jackie Hand , knowledgeable , communicative conveyancer !

i first used Jackie Hand when i purchased my house last year ! i was very impressed with how my sale and purchase went ! paper work was sent out straight away and I always felt that she was one step ahead of everyone ! she was so efficient and great communication i always knew where we were in the process ! When i purchased a second property in the tricky london market which was a first for me ,she was the obvious choice ! Dealing with leases is not something i have come across before and she is so knowledgeable! i This transaction wasn’t the easiest as took me a while to find the right one ! iJackie has been amazing throughout , i have learnt so much from her ! Thank you Jackie it’s been a pleasure

Was this review helpful?

Kenneth mackenzie

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Machins Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Kenneth mackenzie

July 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent

Straight forward, quick , on the ball , easy , happy to advise this first time buyer . Any snags quickly dealt with .
Can't go wrong with Gurjit and her team .

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

May 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Employment Matter

It was a daunting task to consider taking my Multi MIllion Pound employer to tribunal, but even with my lack of legal knowledge of Employment Law I knew I was wronged. I contacted Machins and assigned to David Rushmore and Philip Bain. They made everything clear and rated my chances of success which agreed with my insurers assessment. After a little stalling, posturing and negotiation, as soon as the tribunal date was set my employer made an out of court settlement far above their first offer.

Was this review helpful?

marcio

Matter Type:

Discrimination at Work

marcio

April 25, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Remarkable Employment Solicitor

Employment solicitor Philip Bain helped me out of a very difficult LGBTQIA+ discrimination circumstance and secured a positive outcome for me. His finesse in handling the situation and emotions that evolved was remarkable.
I looked for an employment solicitor because I was lost under all the secrecy and hedging that my former employer applied over a discrimination situation. I had no voice to deal with it, however Phil was my voice. He listened, understood, clarified, and planned a strategy to deal with the case.
He is professional, understanding, and highly knowledgeable. A leader in his field, I would recommend Phil to everyone in need of employment issue.
Phil, thank you very much. Kind Regards. Marcio

Was this review helpful?

Jon

Matter Type:

Constructive/Unfair Dismissal

Jon

September 11, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

World class service

The service I received from Phillip and his team was exceptional. Supportive, friendly, balanced advice, great communication and very efficient are just a few words I’d use. At a difficult time Phillip and the team made it easy and stress free for me.

Was this review helpful?

Steven

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Steven

September 06, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Redundancy settlement

Philip Bain provided first class service, empathetic, and guided me through everything with knowledge and clear explanations. He was responsive and we completed the process together with ease. Thanks again Phil.

Was this review helpful?

h

h

May 15, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Not like it used to be

They seemed to be more interested in my ID, time and time again, rather than my reason for being there. This is not the old fashioned friendly family lawyer type of business but more of a large business focused on profit and expansion. Even though I gave permission, there was no communication between their various departments. To be fair I don't know if it is allowed due to confidentiality..

Was this review helpful?

Sonia

Matter Type:

Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews

Sonia

March 25, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Terrible service

We used Machins for an immigration matter. The lawyer lacked knowledge in his own field and we ended up paying over £5000 for an incomplete job. They then served us papers and refused to let us settle. I will never use them again.

Was this review helpful?

Darren

Darren

October 28, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Simply the best

Philip and Ramiya are amazing - quick reliable and wealth of knowledge.

Was this review helpful?

B

Matter Type:

Discrimination at Work

B

September 16, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

I have used this soliciters several times for other non dispute related reasons. I have always had a good experience with them, and had high hopes. I had a wonderful and friendly legal team, who helped me secure a positive outcome. 10/10 would recommend to all.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Johnathan

Johnathan

July 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Johnathan

I have just completed a divorce and a financial settlement, and I can't thank Laura Martin-Read enough. She provided great advice, was very supportive and she kept me up-to-date with developments. Her knowledge of Financial Remedy cases is first class.

If you need an excellent solicitor for a financial remedy case, look no further than Laura Martin-Read at Machins.

Was this review helpful?

Nicki

Nicki

July 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nicki

I was extremely happy with the way my matter was handled by Victoria at Machins. From the first phone call, I felt at ease and relieved that I had found somebody who could help. All of my emails were replied to promptly and the matter was dealt with quickly, efficiently and professional. I would definitely use her services again.

Was this review helpful?

Y

Matter Type:

Employment Contracts

Y

June 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

I employed the services of Philip who was simply outstanding. An absolute professional, compassionate and provided excellent advice. His speed of resolution was fantastic, couldn’t recommend more.

Was this review helpful?

Caitlin

Caitlin

May 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Caitlin

Highly recommend Machins, espically Jackie who has completed two of our sales! She’s absolutely exceptional! Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Jeremy

Jeremy

May 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jeremy

We were instructed by Holly Baker who was brilliant. She provided sound and well thought out advice, outstanding communication in letters to the other party and we would not hesitate to recommend Holly.

Was this review helpful?

Machins Solicitors LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Immigration Law
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Aviation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment