Wollens

01803 832191

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.4/5 229 Customer Reviews 229
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

229 Customer Reviews

4.4/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    183
  • Very Good
    17
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    24

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Sue Witt
Sue Witt Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 10, 2019 20191010160713

Conveyancing

5

Nigel carried out an excellent service for us - we would definitely use him again.


(- see review M Wickens)

Solicitor named in this review: Nigel Wilkie

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

M C Wickens
M C Wickens Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 10, 2019 20191010160140

Four house purchases and sales and all faultless

5

I have used Wollens and Nigel Wilkie in four transactions over the last 10 years or so and on all occasions I have found him to be outstanding in all aspects of knowledge, efficiency and ease of contact. I can truly recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Nigel Wilkie

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Julia Simmons
Julia Simmons Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 18, 2019 20190918095047

Administration of my late parents estate

4

During a very emotional time for myself, Marinella took full control of the process relieving me of the pressure and stress. At the same time Marinella provided a very professional and knowledgeable service.

Solicitor named in this review: Marinella Hollies

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 20 September, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Angela smith
Angela smith Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 04, 2019 20190904114022

House sale made painless

4

Smooth process from start to finish on sale of my late fathers house, making whole process somewhat less painful.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 11 September, 2019

Thank you for your comments Angela - we are pleased we have been able to help you regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Nutt
Martin Nutt Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 04, 2019 20190904112948

Buying and selling

5

Buying and selling. All very good.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 11 September, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Thacker
Susan Thacker Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 21, 2019 20190821120229

Very Straight forward & painless

5

Competitive price. Good communication. Thank you

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 30 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris Bidmead
Chris Bidmead Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 14, 2019 20190814093132

Conveyancing with Wollens

5

The whole process was carried out in a very professional manner with minimal stress to ourselves.

Solicitor named in this review: Nigel Wilkie

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 August, 2019

Thanks Chris for sharing your thoughts Regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mrs M E Kennedy
Mrs M E Kennedy Added 4 months ago Report to admin
July 09, 2019 20190709144442

Dealing with half sisters estate for probate

4

Marinella Hollies took on my half sisters estate and dealt with everything, including probate , in a most professional manner, on my behalf, relieving me of the worries as to what needed to be done.

Solicitor named in this review: Marinella Hollies

Was this review helpful? Yes

David Rodd
David Rodd Added 5 months ago Report to admin
June 17, 2019 20190617102825

Sale of one house, purchase of another

5

Very thorough and timely professional service. Would not hesitate to recommend your firm and especially Mr David Brooking who did a splendid job on my behalf.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you David for your review - so pleased you are happy with our service Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 5 months ago Report to admin
June 05, 2019 20190605094934

A safe pair of hands for conveyancing jobs

5

Did three conveyancing jobs for my wife and I with great professionalism. We are happy to recommend and will use Wollens again ourselves.

Solicitor named in this review: Simon Wilson

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 06 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future. Kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Marion
Marion Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 06, 2019
Collected on
20190906150505

Marion

5

Really friendly, fast, efficient, no nonsense conveyancing. Have used several times, and also recommended to many family & friends - all happy and we would all use Wollens again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lydia
Lydia Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 05, 2019
Collected on
20190905200608

Lydia

5

Nigel Wilkie did my conveyancing which turned out to be a rocky ride but throughout Nigel was helpful, calm (unlike me) and professional. I highly recommend Nigel for conveyancing.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris
Chris Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 05, 2019
Collected on
20190905151510

Chris

5

Good and prompt service always kept advised of the progress of the flat sale
I think David Brooking needs a pay rise.

Chris Morton

Was this review helpful? Yes

Clive
Clive Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 02, 2019
Collected on
20190802091703

Clive

5

Martin Lamber did my divorce, he was excellent. 5 stars....

Was this review helpful? Yes

Clive
Clive Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 02, 2019
Collected on
20190802091703

Clive

5

Martin Lamber did my divorce, he was excellent. 5 stars....

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services
  • Leasehold properties
  • Domestic Violence
  • Professional trustees
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Fatal Accident
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Asbestosis
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Against The Council
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Architects
  • Fall From Height
  • Flexible Working
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Cycling Accident
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Family law
  • Divorce
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Notary
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Family Leave
  • Dog Bite
  • Chronic Pain
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Senior Executives
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Housing Management
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Child Access
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Financial advisors
  • Injunctions
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Children
  • Child Abduction
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pay Issue
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Property Disputes
  • Tribunal Claims
  • IT professionals
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Social Services
  • Car Accident
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Manual Handling
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Skiing Injury
  • Barristers
  • Sports Injury
  • Professional Negligence
  • Children's Accident
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Car Passenger
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Whiplash
  • Media and Sports
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Remortgaging
  • Trusts
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Redundancy
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Disputed Wills
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Buying at auction
  • Pension Law
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Separation Agreement
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Child Maintenance
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Military
  • Disputed Probate
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Trusts
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Housing Associations
  • International
  • Serious Injury
  • Accident At Work
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Financial Matters
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Annulment
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Dental Negligence
  • Employment Contracts
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Extending your Lease
  • TUPE
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Part Time Workers
  • Child contact
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Employment Law
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Insurance brokers
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Legal aid
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Repossessions
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Medical Negligence
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Family Mediation
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Surveyors
  • Employee Team Moves
  • International Divorce
  • Accident Abroad
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Amputation
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Accountants
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Planning
  • Housing disputes
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Tax consultants
  • Probate
  • Tinnitus
  • Valuers
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • No Win No Fee
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Child Custody
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Stress at Work
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Engineers
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Tax
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Professional Discipline
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Right to Manage
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Wills
  • Elderly care
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Separation
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Transfers of equity
  • Child Law
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Pension and property advice
  • Second charges
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Engineering contracts
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Finance
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Planning law
  • Rights of way issues
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Development agreements
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Charities
  • In-house training
  • Equestrian property
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Framework agreements
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Mediation
  • Commercial Leases
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Development plot sales
  • Developer disputes
  • Purchase of development land
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Construction
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Environmental policy law
  • Development loan facilities
  • Farming disputes
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Employment of farm workers

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000