Wollens

01803 832191

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.4/5 139 Customer Reviews 139
Recommended by
139 Verified Clients
like David Rodd and Mrs M E Kennedy
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

139 Customer Reviews

4.4/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    107
  • Very Good
    11
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    17

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Mrs M E Kennedy
Mrs M E Kennedy Added 1 week ago Report to admin
July 09, 2019 20190709144442

Dealing with half sisters estate for probate

4

Marinella Hollies took on my half sisters estate and dealt with everything, including probate , in a most professional manner, on my behalf, relieving me of the worries as to what needed to be done.

Solicitor being reviewed: Marinella Albina Hollies

Was this review helpful? Yes

David Rodd
David Rodd Added 1 month ago Report to admin
June 17, 2019 20190617102825

Sale of one house, purchase of another

5

Very thorough and timely professional service. Would not hesitate to recommend your firm and especially Mr David Brooking who did a splendid job on my behalf.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you David for your review - so pleased you are happy with our service Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin
June 05, 2019 20190605094934

A safe pair of hands for conveyancing jobs

5

Did three conveyancing jobs for my wife and I with great professionalism. We are happy to recommend and will use Wollens again ourselves.

Solicitor being reviewed: Simon James Ross Wilson

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 06 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future. Kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mr & Mrs F Brayley
Mr & Mrs F Brayley Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 15, 2019 20190715151207

Codicil / Will update

5

First class friendly service, the paper work was made very easy.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicola
Nicola Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 12, 2019 20190712112034

Medical negligence

5

They've helped me alot to prove that negligence had happened to me when I went for a routine operation. The hospital denied at first it happened then Wollens got the truth.

Solicitor being reviewed: Elizabeth Marjorie Anne Larner

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 12 July, 2019

Thank you for your review Nicola - I'm pleased that we have been able to help you Regards Michelle Pugh

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 12, 2019 20190712091737

Legal services after spouse death

5

Wollens were very efficient & helpful at a time when help and advice needed.
Nothing was too much trouble.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 12 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 12, 2019 20190712091313

Estate of my late husband

5

Christopher Linton showed great compassion and understanding following the death of my darling husband, he helped me through the process of probate in a helpful and sympathetic way. I felt that he was always available should I need any clarification or guidance. My late husbands estate was dealt with quickly and efficiently. I would highly recommend Wollens,

Solicitor being reviewed: Christopher Martyn Linton

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 12 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christine
Christine Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 11, 2019 20190711133304

Conveyancing

5

Having moved multiple times in recent years, the most recent becoming a nightmare due to unnecessary obstructions, so it was a relief and a pleasure to find someone who was as good as her word in picking up our purchase and moving this through to completion. Simply said, but the manner delivered was transparent - actual and effective communication throughout, accessibility with follow without protraction or avoidance. This was someone that was onside and working in harmony with the client to deliver the objective quickly and effectively. The Paralegal in question was Daisy Otton - someone that should be seen as a local benchmark for others to attain.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Pat Fleming
Pat Fleming Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 09, 2019 20190709145957

Very easy, helpful, pain free conveyancing.

5

I found the whole process of having Wollens handle my home sale as excellent, very easy, helpful and indeed pain free !
Thank you

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 12 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Joanne Duffen
Joanne Duffen Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 09, 2019 20190709143935

Rowcroft Will Week

5

My husband and I made mirror wills each on Rowcroft Will Week. It was straight forward and Faye kept us in touch with advice on slight amendments made. The whole process was smooth and efficient.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 12 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Robin
Robin Added 1 week ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 14, 2019
Collected on
20190714205951

Robin

1

It's a shame they didn't appear appear to put as much effort into protecting our interests, as they have since for trying to refute our claim for alleged professional negligence. They didn't even get my name correct on some paperwork. Diabolical, cavalier, self-preserving attitude. I would definitely NOT recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris
Chris Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 11, 2019
Collected on
20190711121925

Chris

5

Having moved multiple times in recent years, suffering the frustrations of Estate Agents and Conveyancing Solicitors, it was a pleasant surprise to find one that was not only as good to her word, but operated completely transparently - communication was full and meaningful without the need to chase, fully accessible and for once we felt as if there was someone working for you rather than against. The company was Wollens in Exeter and the Paralegal in question was Daisy Otton - highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 11 July, 2019

Thanks for your review Chris - so pleased to hear your views on Daisy. We look forward to working with you again. Kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens

Mike
Mike Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 04, 2019
Collected on
20190704115232

Mike

5

I cannot speak highly enough of the Team at Wollens. We dealt specifically with Mark Iddles and Jodie Everard, both whom are so friendly, polite, professional and approachable - all of which made the whole drawn out process of house sale and purchase a lot easier to deal with. They had some awkward moments in the process to deal with on our behalf and managed the whole thing brilliantly. Add to that the very competitive price as well for such transactions. If you are looking for honest and reliable then please be assured that this company will do what they say and when they say.
Mark & Jodie - THANK YOU.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 12 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Lorraine
Lorraine Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 26, 2019
Collected on
20190626144203

Lorraine

5

Jodie Everard was exceptional in her dealings with my house purchase and sale. I would highly recommend her and Wollens.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sandra
Sandra Added 3 weeks ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 25, 2019
Collected on
20190625175815

Sandra

1

It’s a shame there isn’t a zero-star rating available, as that’s what I feel they deserve. I feel they are the worst solicitors we have ever used.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 25 June, 2019

Hello Sandra, I'm sorry to read your review and would like to know more - please contact me on michelle.pugh@wollens.co.uk with further information and we will look into this. kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Redundancy
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Child Custody
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Car Accident
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Tinnitus
  • Child Law
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Right to Manage
  • Injunctions
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Dog Bite
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Collaborative Law
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Wills
  • Accident At Work
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Pay Issue
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Separation Agreement
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Sports Injury
  • Separation
  • Valuers
  • International
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Family Leave
  • Barristers
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Financial Matters
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Housing Associations
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Dental Negligence
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Whiplash
  • Surveyors
  • International Divorce
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Elderly care
  • Engineers
  • Leasehold properties
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Medical Negligence
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Amputation
  • Asbestosis
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Disputed Wills
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Injunctions
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Professional trustees
  • Pension Law
  • Second charges
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Divorce
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Fall From Height
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • No Win No Fee
  • Serious Injury
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • IT professionals
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Fatal Accident
  • Employment Law
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Manual Handling
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Transfers of equity
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Car Passenger
  • Probate
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • TUPE
  • Child Maintenance
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Pension and property advice
  • Extending your Lease
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Trusts
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Planning
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Legal aid
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Notary
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Chronic Pain
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Remortgaging
  • Housing disputes
  • Family Mediation
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Family law
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Children's Accident
  • Media and Sports
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Stress at Work
  • Domestic Violence
  • Gardening Leave
  • Child Abduction
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Military
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Part Time Workers
  • Insurance brokers
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Social Services
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Children
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Civil partnerships
  • Disputed Probate
  • Property Disputes
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Accountants
  • Tax
  • Child Access
  • Architects
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Cycling Accident
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Professional Negligence
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Annulment
  • Skiing Injury
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Trusts
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Child contact
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Financial advisors
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Tax consultants
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Accident Abroad
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Transfer of title
  • Senior Executives
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Against The Council
  • Framework agreements
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Developer disputes
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Environmental policy law
  • Engineering contracts
  • Planning law
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Construction
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Rights of way issues
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Finance
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Development loan facilities
  • Equestrian property
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Development plot sales
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Mediation
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Commercial Leases
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Development agreements
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Charities
  • In-house training
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Farming disputes
  • Purchase of development land
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Employment of farm workers

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000