Wollens

01803 832191

Also known as - Wollens

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.6/5 338 Customer Reviews 338 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

338 Customer Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    282
  • Very Good
    27
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    23

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Karen Ryder
Verified Karen Ryder Added 3 months ago Report to admin
March 13, 2020 20200313092443

First Rate

5

First rate service.

Solicitor named in this review: David Brooking

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 29 April, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mike Pillin
Verified Mike Pillin Added 4 months ago Report to admin
February 20, 2020 20200220160344

Selling a property made easy

5

A hightly professional and approachable practice providing a timely service, meeting client instructions. Communication second to none throughout the process. Sensisble charges. Would recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: David Brooking

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 25 February, 2020

Thank You Mike for your review - we are pleased that David was able to help you Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Clive Pickton
Verified Clive Pickton Added 5 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 17, 2020 20200117162743

Competent and professional

5

Wollens carried out the conveyancing on our sale or our apartment in Dartmouth. The process took a while as two initial buyers had to drop out due to funding problems, but throughout he year that it took to sell the property, our solicitor was communicative, professional and on the ball. I would happily recommend their service.

Solicitor named in this review: David Brooking

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 31 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Louise
Louise Added 5 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 11, 2020 20200111090811

A Big thank you to Ellie Lorimer

5

Ellie gave very sound advice from the beginning and all the way through. It was quite a complex case and I am so grateful that she was able to help me get the outcome I needed to give me peace of mind for my daughter.
I would recommend Ellie to anyone and everyone as a superb family law solicitor.

Solicitor named in this review: Ellie Lorimer

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew Flint
Verified Andrew Flint Added 7 months ago Report to admin
November 28, 2019 20191128113657

Conveyancing and probate

4

Conveyancing was very professional. I was kept advised throughout. A great service from David Brooking. Probate was handled very well by Shirley Tull. As a joint executor she was also very professional to deal with. Contact was very easy and quick, Shirley progressed probate in a trouble free manner.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 12 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sue Witt
Verified Sue Witt Added 8 months ago Report to admin
October 10, 2019 20191010160713

Conveyancing

5

Nigel carried out an excellent service for us - we would definitely use him again.


(- see review M Wickens)

Solicitor named in this review: Nigel Wilkie

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

M C Wickens
Verified M C Wickens Added 8 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 10, 2019 20191010160140

Four house purchases and sales and all faultless

5

I have used Wollens and Nigel Wilkie in four transactions over the last 10 years or so and on all occasions I have found him to be outstanding in all aspects of knowledge, efficiency and ease of contact. I can truly recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Nigel Wilkie

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Julia Simmons
Verified Julia Simmons Added 9 months ago Report to admin
September 18, 2019 20190918095047

Administration of my late parents estate

4

During a very emotional time for myself, Marinella took full control of the process relieving me of the pressure and stress. At the same time Marinella provided a very professional and knowledgeable service.

Solicitor named in this review: Marinella Hollies

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 20 September, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Angela smith
Verified Angela smith Added 10 months ago Report to admin
September 04, 2019 20190904114022

House sale made painless

4

Smooth process from start to finish on sale of my late fathers house, making whole process somewhat less painful.

Solicitor named in this review: David Brooking

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 11 September, 2019

Thank you for your comments Angela - we are pleased we have been able to help you regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Nutt
Verified Martin Nutt Added 10 months ago Report to admin
September 04, 2019 20190904112948

Buying and selling

5

Buying and selling. All very good.

Solicitor named in this review: David Brooking

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 11 September, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Roc
Roc Added 1 week ago Report to admin
June 26, 2020
Collected on
20200626175210

Roc

2

Everything they were supposed to do for my parents power of attorneys was either NOT filed or incorrect POA forms. Had to pay extra money to move files to Bartons in Kingsbridge.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kevin
Kevin Added 3 months ago Report to admin
March 09, 2020
Collected on
20200309232835

Kevin

5

Totally recommend Ellie. My Divorce was dealt with so easily with Ellie handling everything and dealing with challenges we faced. A stressful process was made so much easier and stress free. A totally professional service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 29 April, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Geoffrey
Geoffrey Added 6 months ago Report to admin
December 25, 2019
Collected on
20191225091139

Geoffrey

5

Hired them to conduct our conveyancing when we bought our Devon home in September. Did a great job.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 30 December, 2020

Thanks for your review Geoffrey - we are pleased to be able to help Regards Wollens

Marion
Marion Added 10 months ago Report to admin
September 06, 2019
Collected on
20190906150505

Marion

5

Really friendly, fast, efficient, no nonsense conveyancing. Have used several times, and also recommended to many family & friends - all happy and we would all use Wollens again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lydia
Lydia Added 10 months ago Report to admin
September 05, 2019
Collected on
20190905200608

Lydia

5

Nigel Wilkie did my conveyancing which turned out to be a rocky ride but throughout Nigel was helpful, calm (unlike me) and professional. I highly recommend Nigel for conveyancing.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000