Wollens

01626 332266

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.4/5 175 Customer Reviews 175
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

175 Customer Reviews

4.4/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    138
  • Very Good
    12
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    21

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
L m Bell-Copel
L m Bell-Copel Added 1 week ago Report to admin
August 16, 2019 20190816115131

Complete Satisfaction

5

I found Hilary to be most efficient, approachable & professional in all matters.. friendly and took the time to explain when I didn't understand. Hilarys direct dial number was always answered promptly. Keep up the excellent work.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Elaine Grist
Elaine Grist Added 1 week ago Report to admin
August 15, 2019 20190815114025

Easy Purchase

5

From start to finish my house purchase was most enjoyable. Wollens were so informative and exceptionally professional.
Thanks Karen Mariner

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin & Linda Hammett
Colin & Linda Hammett Added 1 week ago Report to admin
August 12, 2019 20190812115537

Writing a Will

5

Writing a Will is something that can so easily be put off 'to do later', but it is so important to be sure your wishes are carried out, when you are no longer here.
It can be quite daunting to engage in any legal matter, but Wollens made the whole process easy, with excellent guidance and advise throughout. We can rest assured now knowing that our personal possessions we have worked so hard to get, will be passed on to those we have chosen.

Solicitor being reviewed: Isobel Louise Hanson Yandle

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 August, 2019

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you are satisfied with the service. Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tariq
Tariq Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
August 06, 2019 20190806143153

Repeat Business for Years

5

I Have dealt with various conveyancing teams over the years I can genuinely say that Wollens in Newton Abbot are my preferred solicitor to work with, they are approachable, efficient and always communicate well. I have had dealings with Hilary Amesbury and Karen Mariner, I have found both to be a pleasure to work with and couldn't recommend them enough

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 August, 2019

Thank you so much for your review - we are pleased to hear your positive comments regarding the service from Newton Abbot Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alan Woolly
Alan Woolly Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
August 02, 2019 20190802141222

Excellent Service, Highly knowledgeable

5

the advice given was highly knowledgeable and direct and to the point. The service was lively and comprehensive and cost advice was given in advance.

Solicitor being reviewed: Tom Heywood Calder

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rebecca
Rebecca Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
August 02, 2019 20190802103722

Conveyancing service

5

Wollens handled both our property sale and purchase. we were very impressed with the service. We would definitely use them again.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Elaine Hall Roberts
Elaine Hall Roberts Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
August 02, 2019 20190802101431

Will Update

5

Very satisfied with the information and professionalism of department as a whole.

Solicitor being reviewed: Carol Wycliffe-Jones

Was this review helpful? Yes

Pat Fleming
Pat Fleming Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 09, 2019 20190709145957

Very easy, helpful, pain free conveyancing.

5

I found the whole process of having Wollens handle my home sale as excellent, very easy, helpful and indeed pain free !
Thank you

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 12 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Beryl Back
Beryl Back Added 2 months ago Report to admin
June 21, 2019 20190621095525

Help with will

5

Helped me find a good price with Rowcroft Hospice will scheme which was good of them so not all solicitors are about money.

Solicitor being reviewed: Isobel Louise Hanson Yandle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ann
Ann Added 2 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 21, 2019 20190821120516

Updating a Will

5

Service was good, advice given where needed. very professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Tariq
Tariq Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
August 06, 2019
Collected on
20190806133409

Tariq

5

My review comes from an Estate Agent's perspective. Having dealt with countless conveyancing teams over the years I can genuinely say that Wollens in Newton Abbot are my preferred solicitor to work with, they are approachable, efficient and always communicate well, which is essential to us in our jobs as Estate Agents. I have had dealings with Hilary Amesbury and Karen Mariner, I have found both to be a pleasure to work with and couldn't recommend them enough

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 14 August, 2019

Thank you for your comments - very positive kind regards Wollens

Emma
Emma Added 4 months ago Report to admin
April 01, 2019
Collected on
20190401114132

Emma Wilreid

5

Excellent, top rated service. Cannot thank this company enough for their help. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 06 June, 2019

Thanks for the review Emma - we are happy to help and look forward to working with you again in the future kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens

Ian
Ian Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 27, 2019
Collected on
20190327054805

Ian Sale

3

Yeah spot on and don't mess around with words. Ring them and see for yourself

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stephen
Stephen Added 5 months ago Report to admin
March 19, 2019
Collected on
20190319090907

Stephen Furze

4

Good reputable solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 21 March, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Jacqueline
Jacqueline Added 6 months ago Report to admin
February 24, 2019
Collected on
20190224214954

Jacqueline Denbow

5

Hilary Amesbury dealt with our house sale and purchase. An exemplary service throughout. Hilary was highly professional, efficient and kept us fully informed at all times. We would certainly recommend her. A first class service, thank you!

Jacqueline Denbow

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 04 March, 2019

Thank you for your review Jacqueline. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services
  • TUPE
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Financial advisors
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Car Accident
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Engineers
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Elderly care home fees
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Serious Injury
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Second charges
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Pension Law
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Planning
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Child Maintenance
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Accident Abroad
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Housing disputes
  • Elderly care
  • Separation Agreement
  • Cycling Accident
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Part Time Workers
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Tax consultants
  • Extending your Lease
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Surveyors
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Fatal Accident
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Stress at Work
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Collaborative Law
  • Employment Law
  • Family Mediation
  • Legal aid
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Employment Contracts
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Wills
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Flexible Working
  • Child Custody
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Transfer of title
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Media and Sports
  • Valuers
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Pension and property advice
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Fall From Height
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Redundancy
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Tinnitus
  • Tax
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Child Abduction
  • Gardening Leave
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Domestic Violence
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • International Divorce
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Housing Associations
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Child Law
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Disputed Probate
  • Amputation
  • Architects
  • Chronic Pain
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Trusts
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Professional trustees
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Medical Negligence
  • Property Disputes
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Family Leave
  • Injunctions
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Accountants
  • Barristers
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Dental Negligence
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • MRSA Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • IT professionals
  • Trusts
  • Separation
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Disputed Wills
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Car Passenger
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Against The Council
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Remortgaging
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Probate
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Accident At Work
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Sports Injury
  • Buying at auction
  • Civil partnerships
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Divorce
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Manual Handling
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Military
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Child Access
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Right to Manage
  • Notary
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Repossessions
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Professional Negligence
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • International
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Asbestosis
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Dog Bite
  • Children
  • Family law
  • Annulment
  • Skiing Injury
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Children's Accident
  • Insurance brokers
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Pay Issue
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Whiplash
  • No Win No Fee
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Transfers of equity
  • Child contact
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Social Services
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Farming disputes
  • Mediation
  • Construction
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • In-house training
  • Development plot sales
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Developer disputes
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Engineering contracts
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Commercial Leases
  • Planning law
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Equestrian property
  • Framework agreements
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Rights of way issues
  • Finance
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Development agreements
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Charities
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Development loan facilities
  • Environmental policy law
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Purchase of development land

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000