Wollens

01626 332266

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.4/5 108 Customer Reviews 108
Recommended by
108 Verified Clients
like Emma and Stephen
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

108 Customer Reviews

4.4/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    84
  • Very Good
    7
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    13

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
David Rodd
David Rodd Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 17, 2019 20190617102825

Sale of one house, purchase of another

5

Very thorough and timely professional service. Would not hesitate to recommend your firm and especially Mr David Brooking who did a splendid job on my behalf.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you David for your review - so pleased you are happy with our service Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gillian Edes
Gillian Edes Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 17, 2019 20190617102332

Handling of review of my will and preparation of new will

5

I have used Wollens as my solicitors for many years and have never had cause to doubt the advice I have received, both recently in redoing my will, and in the past when I and my husband had our own business in Torquay. It is a relief to know that i can call on Wollens at any time I need a solicitor. I know i will get great service both now , and after i am no longer here as you are my executors!

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you Gillian Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicholas Woodall
Nicholas Woodall Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 14, 2019 20190614090719

Advice re purchase of freehold & purchase of flat

5

Very thorough & professional advice provided explaining a very complicated subject. Efficient service regarding the flat purchase. Always quick to answer any questions.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brian Montgomery
Brian Montgomery Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 14, 2019 20190614085640

Satisfied client

5

Will service using Steve Bell - very satisfied

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you Brian for your review Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan Brophy
Susan Brophy Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 10, 2019 20190610123401

Wills Instruction

5

We found Miss Faye Newcombe very helpful and professional in all that we required. We were at ease with her and she explained everything in a way so we fully understood.
Faye Newcombe is an excellent trainee.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you Susan for your review Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christine Knowles
Christine Knowles Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 07, 2019 20190607153019

Making a will

5

Everything was done with the minimum amount of fuss. Great service.

Solicitor being reviewed: Marinella Albina Hollies

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 10 June, 2019

Thank you for your review - we hope to work with you in the future Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dan Green
Dan Green Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 07, 2019 20190607151640

My will

5

Wendy Mansell was really helpful in preparing my new will.

Solicitor being reviewed: Wendy Mansell

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 10 June, 2019

Thank you Dan for the positive feedback Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Clare Smart
Clare Smart Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 07, 2019 20190607151008

Will

5

Marinella was very helpful in sorting out my will for me.

Solicitor being reviewed: Marinella Albina Hollies

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 10 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 05, 2019 20190605094934

A safe pair of hands for conveyancing jobs

5

Did three conveyancing jobs for my wife and I with great professionalism. We are happy to recommend and will use Wollens again ourselves.

Solicitor being reviewed: Simon James Ross Wilson

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 06 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future. Kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michelle
Michelle Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 10, 2019 20190510185402

Conveyancing

5

Mark Iddles and the property team at Wollens were excellent and dealt with my sale and purchase really efficiently .
As a team they work together well and are experienced in all aspects which means that questions or problems are dealt with swiftly.
The Wollens service is personable and very professional.
My sale and purchase went through in weeks - thank you to the team !

Solicitor being reviewed: Mark Iddles

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 06 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Emma
Emma Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 01, 2019
Collected on
20190401114132

Emma Wilreid

5

Excellent, top rated service. Cannot thank this company enough for their help. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 06 June, 2019

Thanks for the review Emma - we are happy to help and look forward to working with you again in the future kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens

Ian
Ian Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 27, 2019
Collected on
20190327054805

Ian Sale

3

Yeah spot on and don't mess around with words. Ring them and see for yourself

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stephen
Stephen Added 3 months ago Report to admin
March 19, 2019
Collected on
20190319090907

Stephen Furze

4

Good reputable solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 21 March, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Jacqueline
Jacqueline Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 24, 2019
Collected on
20190224214954

Jacqueline Denbow

5

Hilary Amesbury dealt with our house sale and purchase. An exemplary service throughout. Hilary was highly professional, efficient and kept us fully informed at all times. We would certainly recommend her. A first class service, thank you!

Jacqueline Denbow

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 04 March, 2019

Thank you for your review Jacqueline. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Trevor
Trevor Added 4 months ago Report to admin
February 12, 2019
Collected on
20190212153003

Trevor Furze

4

Pretty good solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 04 March, 2019

Thank you for your review Trevor. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services
  • Dental Negligence
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Social Services
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Domestic Violence
  • Property Disputes
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Extending your Lease
  • Tinnitus
  • Tax consultants
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Surveyors
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Media and Sports
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Tax
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Dog Bite
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Sports Injury
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Architects
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Buying at auction
  • Second charges
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Housing disputes
  • Probate
  • Trusts
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Professional trustees
  • Chronic Pain
  • International Divorce
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Insurance brokers
  • Children's Accident
  • Accountants
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Divorce
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Against The Council
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Annulment
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Family law
  • Right to Manage
  • Separation
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Disputed Wills
  • Family Mediation
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Notary
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Child Access
  • No Win No Fee
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Pay Issue
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Medical Negligence
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Skiing Injury
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Trusts
  • Child Custody
  • Accident At Work
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Part Time Workers
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Legal aid
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Financial advisors
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Professional Negligence
  • Child Law
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Asbestosis
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Leasehold properties
  • Child Abduction
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Car Passenger
  • Redundancy
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Car Accident
  • Pension and property advice
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Planning
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Amputation
  • MRSA Claims
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Fall From Height
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Lease Extensions
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Osteoarthritis
  • TUPE
  • Flexible Working
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Transfers of equity
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Gardening Leave
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Cycling Accident
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Engineers
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Serious Injury
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Elderly care
  • Fatal Accident
  • Separation Agreement
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Children
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Child Maintenance
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Civil partnerships
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Wills
  • Employment Contracts
  • Manual Handling
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Accident Abroad
  • IT professionals
  • Child contact
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Remortgaging
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Military
  • Employment Law
  • Collaborative Law
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Disputed Probate
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Whiplash
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Barristers
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Valuers
  • Transfer of title
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Housing Associations
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • International
  • Commercial Leases
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Equestrian property
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Planning law
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Development plot sales
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Development agreements
  • Framework agreements
  • In-house training
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Finance
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Rights of way issues
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Developer disputes
  • Engineering contracts
  • Development loan facilities
  • Purchase of development land
  • Mediation
  • Construction
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Environmental policy law
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Farming disputes
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Charities
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Buying and selling a farm

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000