Wollens

01626 332266

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.4/5 212 Customer Reviews 212
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

212 Customer Reviews

4.4/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    166
  • Very Good
    17
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    24

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Chris
Chris Added 1 week ago Report to admin
October 10, 2019 20191010161622

Excellent service

5

The whole matter was dealt with professionally. There was very easy communication with the fee earner who dealt with this matter. All matters and queries were dealt with quickly and efficiently.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 October, 2019

Dear Chris - thank you for your review , we hope to be able to help you in the future kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Trudy Humphries
Trudy Humphries Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 18, 2019 20190918095357

updating my will

5

Smooth & professional service that as a client made me feel values. Prompt response to questions and good communication at all times.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 20 September, 2019

Thank you Trudy for your comments kind regards Michelle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Samantha Davis
Samantha Davis Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 11, 2019 20190911094454

Pleasantly smooth first home purchase

5

I was recommended this solicitor by the estate agents I was buying through and although initially unsure I decided to proceed. I am extremely glad that I did - it was an incredibly smooth process from start to finish. Paperwork was sent regularly and I was kept informed throughout. This was a simple purchase with no chain but took 8 weeks from offer to completion. There was a slight bump in the road at the start and where the sellers withheld information to avoid paying for an indemnity and Karen handled this perfectly sourcing me the cover that I needed. it was a great experience and I highly recommend.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

K Wayte
K Wayte Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 11, 2019 20190911093716

Very Good service

5

Professional service, kept us well informed and prompt return of calls. Dealt with several different issues relating to sale of property. would recommend use of this service.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 20 September, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jon Ranjit
Jon Ranjit Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 06, 2019 20190906084511

Professional and Fast service

5

We have used Wollens as our solicitors since 1990 when we moved here.
Always professional informative and excellent knowledge.
Mr Morgan-Wynne has been very approachable and helpful.
The sale of the land went through very smoothly and quickly.
Overall we are very pleased with the service.

Solicitor named in this review: David Morgan-Wynne

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 11 September, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mr & Mrs C Blackler
Mr & Mrs C Blackler Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 06, 2019 20190906084019

Sale & Purchase of property

5

Mr Reuben Barnett who was our solicitor was extremely helpful & efficient and professional. Also front desk staff were very polite.

Solicitor named in this review: Reuben Barnett

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 11 September, 2019

Thank you for your comments - we hope to be able to help you in the future kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Julie Symonds
Julie Symonds Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 02, 2019 20190902152055

Difficult times

5

At the time of my aunts death, we were having problems ourselves. We live in Norfolk and my husband was having chemotherapy prior to surgery for cancer. Neighbors expressed great concerns about a keyholder - his honesty and money and valuables in the property. Owing to our circumstances we were unable to travel to Devon immediately. I instructed Tom Calder who dealt with this immediately on our behalf. We have thanks to the company and the service given to us.

Solicitor named in this review: Tom Calder

Was this review helpful? Yes

L m Bell-Copel
L m Bell-Copel Added 2 months ago Report to admin
August 16, 2019 20190816115131

Complete Satisfaction

5

I found Hilary to be most efficient, approachable & professional in all matters.. friendly and took the time to explain when I didn't understand. Hilarys direct dial number was always answered promptly. Keep up the excellent work.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Elaine Grist
Elaine Grist Added 2 months ago Report to admin
August 15, 2019 20190815114025

Easy Purchase

5

From start to finish my house purchase was most enjoyable. Wollens were so informative and exceptionally professional.
Thanks Karen Mariner

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin & Linda Hammett
Colin & Linda Hammett Added 2 months ago Report to admin
August 12, 2019 20190812115537

Writing a Will

5

Writing a Will is something that can so easily be put off 'to do later', but it is so important to be sure your wishes are carried out, when you are no longer here.
It can be quite daunting to engage in any legal matter, but Wollens made the whole process easy, with excellent guidance and advise throughout. We can rest assured now knowing that our personal possessions we have worked so hard to get, will be passed on to those we have chosen.

Solicitor named in this review: Isobel Yandle

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 August, 2019

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you are satisfied with the service. Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Thomas
Thomas Added 2 weeks ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 06, 2019
Collected on
20191006152904

Thomas

1

We used these solicitors a few years ago to buy our present house. The experience was so painful I have only now felt mentally prepared to write a review. They are slow and unprofessional, you will constantly have to chase them to get the most basic jobs completed. If you are selling or buying a home them avoid them like the plague!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 21 October, 2019

I am sorry to hear that you found the services slow - although you do say that this was a few years ago and so this is difficult for us to look into. Please let me know if there is anything else we can do to understand this better. kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens michelle.pugh@wollens.co.uk

Simon
Simon Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 06, 2019
Collected on
20190906113029

Simon

3

This firm is frustrating to deal with at times; they are slow and inefficient. But when they do respond, their advice is very good and thorough.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kathryn
Kathryn Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 06, 2019
Collected on
20190906102240

Kathryn

1

An experience I would not wish to repeat. Unprofessional individual behaviour by all I encountered except reception. Would never recommend this firm.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 11 September, 2019

Hello Kathryn - I am sorry to read your review, if you would like to make contact with further details I am happy to look into this for you ? Regards Michelle Pugh michelle.pugh@wollens.co.uk

Tariq
Tariq Added 2 months ago Report to admin
August 06, 2019
Collected on
20190806133409

Tariq

5

My review comes from an Estate Agent's perspective. Having dealt with countless conveyancing teams over the years I can genuinely say that Wollens in Newton Abbot are my preferred solicitor to work with, they are approachable, efficient and always communicate well, which is essential to us in our jobs as Estate Agents. I have had dealings with Hilary Amesbury and Karen Mariner, I have found both to be a pleasure to work with and couldn't recommend them enough

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 14 August, 2019

Thank you for your comments - very positive kind regards Wollens

Emma
Emma Added 6 months ago Report to admin
April 01, 2019
Collected on
20190401114132

Emma Wilreid

5

Excellent, top rated service. Cannot thank this company enough for their help. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 06 June, 2019

Thanks for the review Emma - we are happy to help and look forward to working with you again in the future kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Child contact
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Separation
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Leasehold properties
  • Trusts
  • Manual Handling
  • Car Passenger
  • Stress at Work
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Extending your Lease
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Car Accident
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Amputation
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Probate
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Medical Negligence
  • Insurance brokers
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • International Divorce
  • Transfers of equity
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • IT professionals
  • Injunctions
  • Whiplash
  • Professional Negligence
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Architects
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Surveyors
  • Separation Agreement
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Accident Abroad
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Cycling Accident
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Trusts
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Buying at auction
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Notary
  • Sports Injury
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Accident At Work
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Remortgaging
  • Second charges
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Pension Law
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Tinnitus
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Disputed Probate
  • Tax
  • Collaborative Law
  • Redundancy
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Against The Council
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Disputed Wills
  • Pay Issue
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Child Abduction
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Children's Accident
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Wills
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Valuers
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Chronic Pain
  • Repossessions
  • Lease Extensions
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Divorce
  • TUPE
  • Child Maintenance
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Planning
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Family Mediation
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Fatal Accident
  • Annulment
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Fall From Height
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Domestic Violence
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Property Disputes
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Professional trustees
  • Child Access
  • Engineers
  • Children
  • Family law
  • Elderly care
  • Asbestosis
  • Part Time Workers
  • Transfer of title
  • Dog Bite
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Skiing Injury
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Gardening Leave
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Employment Law
  • No Win No Fee
  • Right to Manage
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • International
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • MRSA Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Housing Associations
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Legal aid
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Military
  • Financial Matters
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Accountants
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Housing disputes
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Barristers
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Pension and property advice
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Media and Sports
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Financial advisors
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Child Custody
  • Social Services
  • Dental Negligence
  • Tax consultants
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Employment Contracts
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Serious Injury
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Child Law
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Equestrian property
  • Environmental policy law
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Engineering contracts
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Development agreements
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Developer disputes
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Purchase of development land
  • Mediation
  • Commercial Leases
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Planning law
  • Finance
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Framework agreements
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Construction
  • Development plot sales
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Development loan facilities
  • Rights of way issues
  • In-house training
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Farming disputes
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Charities

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000