Wollens

01626 332266

Also known as - Wollens

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.6/5 338 Customer Reviews 338 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

338 Customer Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    282
  • Very Good
    27
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    23

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Michael
Verified Michael Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
June 18, 2020 20200618123743

First class, professional & friendly will writing service.

5

We instructed Wollens to prepare wills for my wife and I. The service was excellent and Michael Cosgrave who we dealt with was so professional, friendly and efficient. He made the whole process so easy for us and his attention to detail was excellent. I would recommend Wollens.

Solicitor named in this review: Michael Cosgrave

Was this review helpful? Yes

Thelma
Thelma Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 28, 2020 20200428124459

Excellent service

5

Given the very difficult times in which we are currently living, I found the service I received was exceptionally helpful and gave me the utmost confidence in settling my needs.

Solicitor named in this review: Liz Crawford

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 29 April, 2020

Thank you for leaving your review we are pleased to be able to help you Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tony
Verified Tony Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 27, 2020 20200427151407

Professional

5

A worthy professional service

Solicitor named in this review: Shirley Tull

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 29 April, 2020

Thank you for your review Tony Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tracey
Verified Tracey Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 13, 2020 20200313104530

Obtaining probate for will.

5

We found Liz Crawford to be very approachable, friendly and down to earth as well as knowledgeable and extremely helpful with advice. the process was carried out smoothly and profesionally and resulted with a satisfactory conclusion.
We would definitely use Wollens again if needed in the future and would recommend them to others.

Solicitor named in this review: Liz Crawford

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 22 April, 2020

Many thanks for your review Tracey, we are pleased that we have been able to help. kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Charmaine
Verified Charmaine Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 13, 2020 20200313102758

Professional, friendly service

5

From the first meeting, a friendly approachable manner was given. Any question was answered in an understandable way. made a difficult situation bearable.
Thank you

Solicitor named in this review: Tom Calder

Was this review helpful? Yes

Angela
Verified Angela Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 13, 2020 20200313102328

Clarity and reassurance

5

My situation was complex and stressful. Mrs Wycliffe Jones took the time to clarify my objectives and to implement them. Her insights were comforting and re-assuring. I would recommend her to anyone in similar circumstances.

Solicitor named in this review: Carol Wycliffe-Jones

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 29 April, 2020

Thank you for your comments Angela - we were pleased to help. Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sarah
Sarah Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 11, 2020 20200311215324

Family Law

5

After experiencing a horrendous experience in my family life I needed to contact a family law solicitor to help me with my case. I was contacted by Victoria who was compassionate and professional from the first meeting and kept me informed of every step we had to take and made sure i understood what was happening and was happy with anything she had to present to the courts. As distressing as going to family court can be I would recommend Victoria to anyone as she kept me calm when all I wanted to do was be anywhere than the court

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 29 April, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Caroline
Caroline Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 04, 2020 20200304185839

Hilary Amesbury - Wollens

5

Hilary dealt with the sale of my property very efficiently. She was quick to respond to queries. All the information she sent to me was sent in an easy to understand format. Maybe more expensive than an online conveyancer but I felt reassured that I could call into Wollens office if I needed to. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Margaret
Verified Margaret Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 02, 2020 20200302153317

Making a Will

5

I found the whole experience to be simple, everything was explained and the final signing of my will was carried out at my home. This was most helpful as i am disabled and had only recently recovered from a serious chest infection.

Solicitor named in this review: Carol Wycliffe-Jones

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 4 months ago Report to admin
February 20, 2020 20200220162306

Good will

5

When we finally reached the decision that is was time to make our Wills our first through was which solicitor to use. In selecting Wollens we made the right choice to undertake the task. From the initial phone call to make an appointment and arriving at the office was a friendly and relaxed environment.
We were met by Mrs Anna Stanbridge. Anna made us feel comfortable, listened to the reasons we had come to in deciding the allocation of our possessions.
Anna guided us through the whole process from start to finish, including an amendment we made after the first draft of the will. We cannot praise the staff enough which we came in contact with at Wollens for their friendly professional service.
We will happily recommend Wollens in the future.

Solicitor named in this review: Anna Stanbridge

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Thomas
Thomas Added 5 months ago Report to admin
February 06, 2020
Collected on
20200206095353

Thomas

5

If it wasn't for Rachel Carter and the firm, I would not have my son home. I cannot thank them enough! So professional and knowledgeable, they knew from the beginning we had done nothing wrong and they soon proved it and got our kids back! I would recommend this firm to anybody who's child had had an ACCIDENT and are getting the finger pointed at them, trust me.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 25 February, 2020

Thank you Thomas - we are pleased that Rachel has been able to help you. kind regards Wollens

Thomas
Thomas Added 9 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
October 06, 2019
Collected on
20191006152904

Thomas

1

We used these solicitors a few years ago to buy our present house. The experience was so painful I have only now felt mentally prepared to write a review. They are slow and unprofessional, you will constantly have to chase them to get the most basic jobs completed. If you are selling or buying a home them avoid them like the plague!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 21 October, 2019

I am sorry to hear that you found the services slow - although you do say that this was a few years ago and so this is difficult for us to look into. Please let me know if there is anything else we can do to understand this better. kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens michelle.pugh@wollens.co.uk

Simon
Simon Added 10 months ago Report to admin
September 06, 2019
Collected on
20190906113029

Simon

3

This firm is frustrating to deal with at times; they are slow and inefficient. But when they do respond, their advice is very good and thorough.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kathryn
Kathryn Added 10 months ago Report to admin
September 06, 2019
Collected on
20190906102240

Kathryn

1

An experience I would not wish to repeat. Unprofessional individual behaviour by all I encountered except reception. Would never recommend this firm.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 11 September, 2019

Hello Kathryn - I am sorry to read your review, if you would like to make contact with further details I am happy to look into this for you ? Regards Michelle Pugh michelle.pugh@wollens.co.uk

Tariq
Tariq Added 11 months ago Report to admin
August 06, 2019
Collected on
20190806133409

Tariq

5

My review comes from an Estate Agent's perspective. Having dealt with countless conveyancing teams over the years I can genuinely say that Wollens in Newton Abbot are my preferred solicitor to work with, they are approachable, efficient and always communicate well, which is essential to us in our jobs as Estate Agents. I have had dealings with Hilary Amesbury and Karen Mariner, I have found both to be a pleasure to work with and couldn't recommend them enough

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 14 August, 2019

Thank you for your comments - very positive kind regards Wollens

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000