Wollens

01626 332266

Also known as - Wollens

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.6/5 462 Client Reviews 462 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

462 Client Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    376
  • Very Good
    54
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    24

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Joyce
Verified Joyce Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
November 03, 2020 20201103091012

Very pleased

5

Matter Type: Wills

I was very happy to meet Miss Wycliffe-Jones and I felt I could have had no better.
I have used Wollens in the past and have always felt that I was most important.

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Wycliffe-Jones

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 18 November, 2020

Thank you for your response we are pleased to have been able to assist. kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
Verified James Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
October 31, 2020 20201031181032

Sensible advice.

5

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale

Would use again.

Solicitor named in this review: Nigel Wilkie

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 18 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hill
Verified Hill Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
October 30, 2020 20201030163832

Review for Wollens Solicitors

4

Matter Type: Wills

Friendly, efficient and honest service.

Solicitor named in this review: Helen Jarvis

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 30 October, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sara
Sara Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 20, 2020 20200920150657

Poor communication

3

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

We decided to use Wollens for 2 separate house purchase and sale transactions, as we wanted a local solicitor, having used online conveyancing in the past. Most communication was by email sent by my husband with me copied in a joint vendor and purchaser. Wollens repeatedly failed to copy me into the replies/emails sent by them, despite a specific instruction from me to do so. As a joint client, I feel they have failed in their duty of care to me by not Including me in all communications.

There were also some delays with us being sent enquiries from the other side’s solicitors. When we finally received them, the email from the other solicitor had the date redacted, which seemed unnecessary and we felt may have been done so we could not see how long Wollens had been sitting on this. Finally an issue about an indemnity was over complicated. We were sent a long and complicated letter when really it was a straightforward issue which we resolved very quickly when we phoned Wollens for clarification.

I am disappointed with the service received and would not recommend or use Wollens again. This is regrettable as we were trying to support a local business by using Wollens.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 22 September, 2020

Good morning Sara We are sorry to read your review and see that you have had difficulties, your comments are most unusual to hear. This has been raised with the solicitors involved and the head of our conveyancing department who will be in direct contact with you. kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 18, 2020 20200818094800

I would use this firm again

4

Matter Type: Probate

I would use this firm again because of their friendly and professional approach to my matter.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 11 September, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin
Verified Colin Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 06, 2020 20200806093820

Making a will

5

Matter Type: Wills

I was helped to make my will by Carol Wycliffe-Jones and she was very pleasant and explained everything in a manner which I was able to understand easily. Would recommend Wollens to others.

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Wycliffe-Jones

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 18 August, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Daphne
Verified Daphne Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 05, 2020 20200805164126

First class service

5

Matter Type: Lasting power of attorney

Shirley was a pleasure to deal with!

Solicitor named in this review: Shirley Tull

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 18 August, 2020

Thank you for your comments. Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

D
Verified D Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 05, 2020 20200805162759

5/5 would recommend

5

Matter Type: Wills

A straight forward process which was very refreshing...

Solicitor named in this review: Amanda Angus

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 18 August, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Maureen
Verified Maureen Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 05, 2020 20200805160541

Have been given peace of mind.

5

Matter Type: Wills

so pleased how smooth everything has been. My only issue was not having a higher seat with arms in the reception!

Solicitor named in this review: Karen Miller

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 18 August, 2020

Thank you for your comments Maureen. Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Margaret
Verified Margaret Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 05, 2020 20200805155702

Wollens

5

Matter Type: Wills

I found this firm fantastic. First class service + would use again

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 18 August, 2020

Thank you Margaret for your comments - we are pleased to have been able to help. kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Thomas
Thomas Added 9 months ago Report to admin
February 06, 2020
Collected on
20200206095353

Thomas

5

If it wasn't for Rachel Carter and the firm, I would not have my son home. I cannot thank them enough! So professional and knowledgeable, they knew from the beginning we had done nothing wrong and they soon proved it and got our kids back! I would recommend this firm to anybody who's child had had an ACCIDENT and are getting the finger pointed at them, trust me.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 25 February, 2020

Thank you Thomas - we are pleased that Rachel has been able to help you. kind regards Wollens

Thomas
Thomas Added 1 year ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
October 06, 2019
Collected on
20191006152904

Thomas

1

We used these solicitors a few years ago to buy our present house. The experience was so painful I have only now felt mentally prepared to write a review. They are slow and unprofessional, you will constantly have to chase them to get the most basic jobs completed. If you are selling or buying a home them avoid them like the plague!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 21 October, 2019

I am sorry to hear that you found the services slow - although you do say that this was a few years ago and so this is difficult for us to look into. Please let me know if there is anything else we can do to understand this better. kind regards Michelle Pugh Wollens michelle.pugh@wollens.co.uk

Simon
Simon Added 1 year ago Report to admin
September 06, 2019
Collected on
20190906113029

Simon

3

This firm is frustrating to deal with at times; they are slow and inefficient. But when they do respond, their advice is very good and thorough.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kathryn
Kathryn Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 06, 2019
Collected on
20190906102240

Kathryn

1

An experience I would not wish to repeat. Unprofessional individual behaviour by all I encountered except reception. Would never recommend this firm.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 11 September, 2019

Hello Kathryn - I am sorry to read your review, if you would like to make contact with further details I am happy to look into this for you ? Regards Michelle Pugh michelle.pugh@wollens.co.uk

Tariq
Tariq Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 06, 2019
Collected on
20190806133409

Tariq

5

My review comes from an Estate Agent's perspective. Having dealt with countless conveyancing teams over the years I can genuinely say that Wollens in Newton Abbot are my preferred solicitor to work with, they are approachable, efficient and always communicate well, which is essential to us in our jobs as Estate Agents. I have had dealings with Hilary Amesbury and Karen Mariner, I have found both to be a pleasure to work with and couldn't recommend them enough

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 14 August, 2019

Thank you for your comments - very positive kind regards Wollens

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000