• Devonshire House
  • EX31 1QN
  • 01271 341 000
  • www.wollens.co.uk

Wollens

01271 341 000

WE THINK IN FULL COLOUR, BUT KEEP THINGS BLACK & WHITE We’re the A-Z, the ABC and 1, 2, 3 of legal advice. From our origins in the 19th century advising Devon landowners, farmers and sea traders, we’ve grown into one of the largest solicitors in the South West, with exceptional specialists across private client matters as well as company and commercial law. North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. We’re unusual for a South West law firm, because we’re based right across Devon, which means you’re never far from one of our five locations in Barnstaple, Dartmouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot and Torquay.

4.4/5 171 Customer Reviews 171
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Wollens compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wollens on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

171 Customer Reviews

4.4/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    135
  • Very Good
    11
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    21

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Dawn Jackson
Dawn Jackson Added 4 days ago Report to admin
August 15, 2019 20190815113621

Smooth Process

5

I approached Wollens after receiving notification of divorce proceedings. The support and advice i received over the following months were professional yet tailored to meet my needs.
Everything was explained clearly and efficiently - I felt confident in Wollens abilities and supported to achieve a positive outcome.

Solicitor being reviewed: Martin Derek Lambert

Was this review helpful? Yes

Margaret & Brian Cooper
Margaret & Brian Cooper Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
August 02, 2019 20190802104221

Will

5

Friendly service. Karen was very patient and explained everything to us in terms we could understand. Fees were quoted to us up front - a stress free experience.
Thank you

Solicitor being reviewed: Karen Michele Miller

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 14 August, 2019

Thank you for your review - we look forward to working with you again. kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

C R Lunt
C R Lunt Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
August 01, 2019 20190801141958

Provision of new Will

5

Prompt service. Sympathetic & knowledgeable approach. Utterly professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jean Bone
Jean Bone Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
August 01, 2019 20190801141537

Making a new Will

5

I found my solicitor very helpful and very easy to understand.

Solicitor being reviewed: Wendy Mansell

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dan Green
Dan Green Added 2 months ago Report to admin
June 07, 2019 20190607151640

My will

5

Wendy Mansell was really helpful in preparing my new will.

Solicitor being reviewed: Wendy Mansell

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 10 June, 2019

Thank you Dan for the positive feedback Kind regards Wollens

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lloyd
Lloyd Added 5 months ago Report to admin
March 08, 2019 20190308113415

First House Purchase

5

My partner and I were purchasing our first property and wanted a reliable and local solicitor. We were recommended Wollen Michelmore by our parents and also a close friend, and it is safe to say they did not disappoint, and in particular, our Conveyancing Executive, Karen Mariner. From day one, Karen went above and beyond to ensure our first purchase went smoothly and efficiently, and I can safely say, that is exactly how it went. Karen was both approachable by email and telephone calls and always kept us in the loop. I would 100% recommend Karen and the firm to deal with any house purchase and would use them again in the future.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 21 March, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

John
John Added 7 months ago Report to admin
January 10, 2019 20190110000000

Been a customer for many years.

5

friendly, efficient and always ready to listen and give advice.

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 04 March, 2019

Really appreciated your review John. Look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 7 months ago Report to admin
January 10, 2019 20190110000000

Smooth from start to finish.

5

Everything seemed to run smoothly from start to finish. I will recommend and will definitely use your firm in future

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 04 March, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 7 months ago Report to admin
January 08, 2019 20190108000000

My review is for Mark Alford and James Spear

5

My family recommended that I'd use Wollen Michelmore Solicitors. Such an efficient law firm, you were both excellent!

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 04 March, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 7 months ago Report to admin
January 07, 2019 20190107000000

I have dealt with your firm for many years

5

Have always found everyone very helpful in dealing with all our matters

A representative from Wollens responded to this review on 04 March, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Samantha
Samantha Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 15, 2018
Collected on
20180815213139

Samantha Smith

5

Recommend for conveyancing

Was this review helpful? Yes

George
George Added 2 years ago Report to admin
March 06, 2017
Collected on
20170306185328

George Kadi

5

Great conveyancing professionals

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tariq
Tariq Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 06, 2019
Collected on
20190806133409

Tariq

5

My review comes from an Estate Agent's perspective. Having dealt with countless conveyancing teams over the years I can genuinely say that Wollens in Newton Abbot are my preferred solicitor to work with, they are approachable, efficient and always communicate well, which is essential to us in our jobs as Estate Agents. I have had dealings with Hilary Amesbury and Karen Mariner, I have found both to be a pleasure to work with and couldn't recommend them enough

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollens responded to this review on 14 August, 2019

Thank you for your comments - very positive kind regards Wollens

Clive
Clive Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 02, 2019
Collected on
20190802091703

Clive

5

Martin Lamber did my divorce, he was excellent. 5 stars....

Was this review helpful? Yes

Clive
Clive Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 02, 2019
Collected on
20190802091703

Clive

5

Martin Lamber did my divorce, he was excellent. 5 stars....

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Neither too big, nor too small – we’re perfectly formed. With nearly 200 bright people, we think we’re a genuine alternative to much larger firms and with significantly more to offer than smaller, high street solicitors. Yet we never lose sight of what’s most important: to provide the best possible guidance in a no-nonsense, approachable and accessible way. Because no two clients are the same, we don’t paint by numbers. What is the secret formula for being a great lawyer? To actually listen to your client and take the time we need to get to the nub of the matter. It’s why getting to really know you is at the heart of our service philosophy. Because if we don’t try to understand you, how can we possibly give you the best, tailored advice? A diverse family united by a common goal. We’re from all walks of life, but we’re kindred spirits when it comes to our aim of being the complete opposite of a stereotypical lawyer. We always try to give you less waffle, more clarity and no grey areas in between. What’s more we’ll treat you as an equal – our relationship should be open and honest, built on trust and dialogue. Playing our part in our colourful community. When we’re not advising about law, we’re often helping or supporting local charities, good causes or community projects and events. By getting widely involved with the colourful melting pot that is our community and, hopefully, enriching the lives of others, the reward is that we’ll be enriched too. Helping our clients, gaining recognition from our peers. Doing the best for our clients will always be our driving force, but we’re also pretty proud of our haul of industry awards over the years – such as winning the top prize for Excellence in Private Client Practice at the Law Society’s Excellence Awards and Law Firm of the Year at the Devon and Somerset Law Society Legal Awards.


Legal Services
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Repossessions
  • Fall From Height
  • Child Access
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Second charges
  • Lease Extensions
  • Child Abduction
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Amputation
  • Professional Negligence
  • Fatal Accident
  • Legal aid
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Divorce
  • Transfer of title
  • Buying at auction
  • Redundancy
  • Architects
  • Tenant Eviction
  • IT professionals
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Tax
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Chronic Pain
  • Injunctions
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Right to Manage
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Medical Negligence
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Accountants
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Manual Handling
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Children's Accident
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Tax consultants
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Social Services
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Employment Contracts
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Extending your Lease
  • Professional trustees
  • Wills
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Employment Law
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Pay Issue
  • Car Passenger
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Accident At Work
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Whiplash
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Notary
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Family law
  • Pension Law
  • Surveyors
  • Valuers
  • Property Holding Structures
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Annulment
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Housing disputes
  • Tinnitus
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • International
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • MRSA Claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Property Disputes
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Child Custody
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Insurance brokers
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Children
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • International Divorce
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Housing Associations
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Dental Negligence
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Financial advisors
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Engineers
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Dog Bite
  • Media and Sports
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Separation
  • Remortgaging
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Part Time Workers
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Military
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Stress at Work
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Cycling Accident
  • Trusts
  • Domestic Violence
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Accident Abroad
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Collaborative Law
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Financial Matters
  • Child Maintenance
  • Child Law
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Disputed Probate
  • Asbestosis
  • Senior Executives
  • Family Mediation
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Disputed Wills
  • Injunctions
  • Elderly care
  • Probate
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Sports Injury
  • Barristers
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Child contact
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Against The Council
  • No Win No Fee
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Serious Injury
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Leasehold properties
  • Trusts
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Pension and property advice
  • Inheritance Tax
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Skiing Injury
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Car Accident
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Planning
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • TUPE
  • Flexible Working
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Development plot sales
  • Equestrian property
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Mediation
  • Finance
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Charities
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Environmental policy law
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Framework agreements
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Rights of way issues
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Farming disputes
  • Development loan facilities
  • Construction
  • Purchase of development land
  • Developer disputes
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Planning law
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Commercial Leases
  • Development agreements
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Engineering contracts
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • In-house training

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000