Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Slater Heelis Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Slater Heelis on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Slater Heelis. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Slater Heelis and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Slater Heelis performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Slater Heelis and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Slater Heelis compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Slater Heelis offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    1314
  • Very Good

    49
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    11
  • Awful

    24

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Ceri

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis.

Matter Type:

Personal Injury Law

Ceri

June 21, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Personal Injury

Clear advice given from start to finish first class service received from them nothing to much has kept informed during each stage would recommend to family and friends if needed

Was this review helpful?

spencer

Matter Type:

Criminal defence - All

spencer

June 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Glad you were in my corner

Lady Justice is meant to be impartial. She is not. She fails miserably daily.

Having found myself being dragged through the law courts by Norfolk Constabulary and their crooked Police Constables, I needed expert representation.

Slater Heelis Solicitors were highly recommended. Which is where I met Rachel Fletcher.

Rachel was not only the light at the end of a very dark tunnel, but she also brought with her a bonfire, burning fiercely with such a sense for justice and integrity.

I did not only feel but I knew I was getting the best person for the battle ahead. Rachel and her team- Richard Orme- Rachel Mason-Hunter Grey all fought and got justice for me.

With a big smile and a nod, THANK YOU x

Was this review helpful?

Ashley

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Ashley

June 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Superb From Offer to Completion

Our sale was handled with the upmost professional and care. All parties involved in the transaction were able to talk to whoever they needed to, when ever they needed to. First class service.

Was this review helpful?

C

Matter Type:

Criminal defence - All

C

June 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Hannah Costley- highly recommended

I recently engaged Hannah Costley after being asked to attend a voluntary police interview. Having never been in trouble of any kind before I was incredibly distressed, Hannah recognised this and was proactive in immediately making contact with the police and taking as much of the stress away as she could. Hannah was understanding, compassionate and most importantly she listened to me. Her advice was broken down in a clear and concise way so that I had a clear understanding of next steps and she kept me fully up to date with where things were upto. Thankfully and no doubt thanks to Hannah's representations the matter was closed hours after my interview however Hannah continued to advocate for me after the fact when the police tried to impose unfair conditions. When already in a very distressing situation it can feel even more overwhelming having to reach out to a legal representative for help for fear of being judged however I can assure anyone finding themselves in a similar situation to the one I was in, after just the first few minutes of speaking with Hannah you will feel completely supported and the burden will feel less! I can't thank you or recommend you enough Hannah!

Was this review helpful?

Nik

Matter Type:

Criminal defence - All

Nik

June 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Terrible experience with RSPCA

I contacted Hannah after using a solicitor that wasn't helpful at all. Hannah helped me from day one. She is caring, compassionate, honest and was just amazing. She defended me throughout an unjust prosecution and finally got them to drop the charges before it went to trial. I wish I could give six stars as she's worth her weight in gold. Highly recommended from me!

Was this review helpful?

Connor

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis.

Matter Type:

Criminal defence - All

Connor

June 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Driving Offences

Couldn’t recommend this firm enough. Made contact with very short notice for a court date and they couldn’t do enough for me. Clear communication throughout and got me the best barrister and the best outcome I could ask for in difficult circumstances. Highly recommend and price was very good compared to other firms I had spoke to charging 3x the price.

Was this review helpful?

Arun Muthappan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis.

Matter Type:

Family law

Arun Muthappan

June 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Non molestation order

My ex wife put in another non molestation order against me. Her report was full of false claims and accusations, which were highly upsetting. Also I was just given a few days to prepare before the hearing due to a clerical error by the courts. Chloe was extremely profession and efficient. She showed great empathy and put my anxieties to rest. She rapidly reviewed all the notes and briefed my counsel all within a matter of hours. I don't know what I would have done without her support and help. The case was rightly dismissed due to her wonderful work and the sterling presentation of David McCormick who she arranged as my counsel.

Was this review helpful?

Judith Wood

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis.

Matter Type:

Housing disputes

Judith Wood

June 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Daniel Stern

Daniel provided excellent advice and guidance. His commitment to my case was of the highest standard.

Was this review helpful?

Laura Drury

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Laura Drury

June 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

In summary, my experience with Helen Taylor for conveyancing was outstanding. Helen is professional, client-focused and provided us with knowledgeable advice. Her consistent communication made the process smooth and hassle-free. I highly recommend Helen Taylor to anyone in need of conveyancing services. We will be using her services again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis.

Matter Type:

Criminal defence - All

Anonymous

June 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very professional and genuinely cared about my case

I spoke to Rachel in relation to a criminal matter that I had been arrested for. I had never been in this situation before and found it extremely distressing. Rachel dealt with my case without judgement and was very helpful, reassuring and professional throughout. She took over all communication with the police which took a lot of the stress out of the situation. This resulted in no charge being made and the matter being dropped by the police with no further action.

I cant recommend Rachel highly enough.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Lunel

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Lunel

June 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lunel

Slater Heelis got me through my first house purchase. David and the team brought their experience to ensure that every last detail was considered. I would recommend this team for your solicitor needs.

Was this review helpful?

Sheila

Sheila

June 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sheila

Very disappointing. I rang to ask what I think is a simple question about some work that was done for us a while ago and no-one has bothered to return my call.

Was this review helpful?

Robert

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Robert

March 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Robert

Daniel did an excellent job with the purchase of our first home. He was a great advocate and well informed. He was able to give fast and reliable advice and was readily available to answer any concerns we had. He is the only solicitor that came recommended and he is the only person I would use for a house purchase going forward. Thank you Daniel.

Was this review helpful?

Debbie

Debbie

February 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Debbie

I was helped very recently by Daniel Stern, he was brilliant and got me the result I was looking for. He is exceptionally knowledgeable but also listened to my concerns and tried to mitigate them with the advice he gave. He's very accessible and responsive to calls and emails. I would most definitely use him again and certainly recommend him. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Shere

Shere

January 21, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Shere

Slater Heelis quoted around £800 for a neighbourhood dispute letter! He claimed they need to charge these sorts of fees to open a case and quipped we're not a forwarding service. The letter was in my grammar! Not exactly nuclear physics for Slater H!
Quickly got an SRA solicitor to do the job for £400, in Trafford, expeditiously.

Was this review helpful?

Slater Heelis are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Slater Heelis is an established and friendly full-service law firm with roots in Manchester where we have 4 offices. We are now also operating nationally and have a by-appointment-only office in London. Our team of solicitors can advise you on many legal matters, as our broad service offering caters to individuals and businesses alike. We have been in business for almost 250 years and continue to grow and thrive, helping our clients to do the same.

Practice areas

Services for you: Family Law - Court of Protection - Residential Conveyancing - Personal Injury - Wills, Trusts & Probate Services for businesses: Corporate Law - Dispute Resolution - Employment Law & HR - Commercial Property - Construction & Engineering - Residential Construction Projects

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Consumer
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Domestic violence
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Harassment
    • Juvenile
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Prison law
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Sexual allegations including Rape and Sexual Assaults
    • Theft
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Armed Forces Compensation Scheme
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Military Accident Claim
    • Military Hearing Loss
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Non Freezing Cold Injury
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Mental Health - Court of protection
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Litigation for Holiday and Residential Parks
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Engineering contracts
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment