Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Slater Heelis Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Slater Heelis on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 1%
Overpriced 4%
About Right 94%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Slater Heelis and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Slater Heelis performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Slater Heelis and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Slater Heelis compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Slater Heelis offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    783
  • Very Good

    29
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    7
  • Awful

    13

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
sharon

sharon

June 30, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alexandra Goldrein

I have been incredibly fortunate to have Alexandra Goldrein acting as my lawyer. Divorce is never going to be easy, and being in lockdown/the pandemic added to the difficulty. Alex was a tower of strength and support to me during this time, and I genuinely would have struggled without her help.

Alex is razor sharp. She is a tactically astute family lawyer with incredible skill, gaining insight into your particular situation very quickly. Alex always acts with total professionalism and empathy. She is on the ball, very down to earth, and is one of the most genuinely caring people I have come across.

Alexandra Goldrein works tirelessly at a level way beyond her grade and is more than a match for anyone she comes up against - I would absolutely recommend her to anyone going through divorce, you will be in safe, skilled and supportive hands.

Was this review helpful?

Kimberley

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis.

Matter Type:

Military Accident Claim

Kimberley

June 24, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service and communication

My solicitor was very quick and efficient. The matter was resolved within a few days from starting and signing. Secretary was also very helpful and informative. Cannot fault.

Was this review helpful?

Stewart John

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Stewart John

June 22, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fees

Good attention to detail . I was a little bemused initially when having approached Mark he then took a bit of a back seat though he clearly had confidence in Kim who was very efficient.
Fees concerned me though with what appeared like a cost at every point of contact though the final amount was as budgeted .!
I liked the direct way they wanted to get me the best outcome with no pallypally inter solicitor conections.

Was this review helpful?

Hannah Susan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis.

Matter Type:

Military Accident Claim

Hannah Susan

June 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Highly recommend Kim Aucott

Kim was supportive and gave honest and sensible advice when I was going through court regarding finances. She was understanding and sensitive but would also be direct and clear with advice she gave which I appreciated. I would highly recommend Kim to anyone going through a divorce.

Was this review helpful?

Rachael

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis.

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Rachael

June 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Outstanding Service

We cannot thank SlaterHeelis enough. They were efficient, supportive and informative when helping us with our house sale and purchase. Ian, Alison and Lisa were always on hand to answer questions and guide us through the process. We felt supported all the way through. 5 star rating as it was faultless service.
Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Isobel Lucy

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis.

Matter Type:

Military Accident Claim

Isobel Lucy

June 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Sale

Very efficient professional team I definitely would recommend using Slaterheelis especially Ian Donnison and Lisa Watson .

Was this review helpful?

Paul wood

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis.

Matter Type:

Accidents In Public Places

Paul wood

June 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Highly recommend

Would highly recommend slaterheelis solicitors. They got my claim dealt with quickly and was really easy going. Richard was very helpful and professional in his work. Thanks again.

Was this review helpful?

Jane

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis.

Matter Type:

Military Accident Claim

Jane

June 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Peobate and house sale

Excellent prompt professional service with a lovely manner, will use if needed in the future for sure

Was this review helpful?

Denis Patrick

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Denis Patrick

June 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Purchase

This is the 3rd occasion we have used Slater Heelis in Timperley, Cheshire, for the conveyancing of our properties; on this occasion, we had a new solicitor from the team, but the standard was the exact same, simply exceptional. Don't even think of using another solicitor, as they will make the process as fast and painless as possible and will be chasing the other solicitors on your behalf without you having to ask.

Was this review helpful?

Ray

Matter Type:

Child Access

Ray

June 10, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

The Alexandra Goldrein review - Slater Heelis

You might think this review is fake because of how positive it is but I can assure you it’s not and it’s as genuine as it gets ! I’m only so passionate about this because I understand how it feels as a dad to be alienated from your child when you’ve done nothing wrong and you hit rock bottom so I’d like anyone seeing this that’s in a similar position to really listen.

I was panicking because I had just gotten rid of my old solicitor a week before my first court date in regards to contact with my son and Alexandra reached out to me after an enquiry.

I cannot stress that Alexandra had a week or so to get everything done that my previous solicitor at Harold G Walker had done poorly. Alexandra provided everything to a high quality along with providing me with what I believe the most important thing, honesty.

She also made me understand exactly where I stood and what I should do next etc and not only did it pay off but it actually made me understand exactly what’s going on and for someone who has no knowledge of this prior it was pretty clear.

Alexandra provided me with amazing communication and didn’t just view me as a money making scheme but as a human being going through genuine problems, this was reflected through her care when it came to approaching me with discussing finances and discussing the ongoing situation. I would definitely recommend her to anyone going through legal family troubles especially if you’re someone who is innocent and is being taken advantage of especially and in addition if you have the finances because she is definitely one of the very best you’ll find.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Linda

Linda

March 29, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Linda

I have instructed Slaterheelis on three separate occasions and I have dealt with Ashleigh on all three, dealing with two Wills and Probate. Ashleigh has been professional, friendly and extremely helpful on all occasions and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend her.

Was this review helpful?

Phillip

Phillip

March 01, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Phillip

Sold our late brother’s house through them, they sorted probate (intestate) and sale/conveyancing.

Quality work, recommended, special thanks to Charlotte Otton & Ian Donnison.

Was this review helpful?

Neeraj

Neeraj

November 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Neeraj

Professional service.

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Peter

September 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Peter

Good company, friendly staff, couldn't fault it.

Was this review helpful?

Gautam

Gautam

August 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Gautam

Good customer service

Was this review helpful?

Slater Heelis are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Slater Heelis is an established and friendly full-service law firm with roots in Manchester where we have 4 offices. We are now also operating nationally and have a by-appointment-only office in London. Our team of solicitors can advise you on many legal matters, as our broad service offering caters to individuals and businesses alike. We have been in business for almost 250 years and continue to grow and thrive, helping our clients to do the same.

Practice areas

Services for you: Family Law - Court of Protection - Residential Conveyancing - Personal Injury - Wills, Trusts & Probate Services for businesses: Corporate Law - Dispute Resolution - Employment Law & HR - Commercial Property - Construction & Engineering - Residential Construction Projects

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Domestic violence
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Harassment
    • Juvenile
    • Legal aid
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Prison law
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Sexual allegations including Rape and Sexual Assaults
    • Theft
  • Employment
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Gardening Leave
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Housing & Property
    • Buying at auction
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Housing Associations
    • Injunctions
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Remortgaging
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Money & Tax
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Skiing Injury
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Supermarket Accident
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Developer disputes
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Corporate Law
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
  • Construction
    • Construction
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Engineering contracts
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment