Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Slater Heelis Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Slater Heelis on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 94%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Slater Heelis and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Slater Heelis performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Slater Heelis and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Slater Heelis compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Slater Heelis offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    583
  • Very Good

    22
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    7
  • Awful

    10

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Jack

Jack

May 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Successful case for young driver.

As a young driver with little experience, but sadly required to attend court for a driving offence, Rachel offered an extremely high level of professionalism and knowledgeable advise throughout my case. She explored every aspect of evidence both holistically and professionally and fought for me to get an opportunity of a fair decision from court and looked at every opportunity to build positivity in my favour.... references, relative points to protect my employment and to appeal for the minimum level of penalty. She obtained an outstanding result! She was very professional throughout and went above and beyond her role as she demonstrated her understanding that some people can simply make a mistake. She would always be highly recommended and I cannot thank her enough for not only saving employment opportunities but also my driving independence. You will not regret having Rachel on your team.

Was this review helpful?

Joanne

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis LLP.

Matter Type:

Domestic Violence

Joanne

May 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

My experience with Slater Heelis

I think whenever we need solicitor’s to represent us, it is usually going to be a difficult time for us.
I have found Mark Heptinstall of Slater Heelis, calm, understanding, proffesional,he has looked after me and given the best advice, at this difficult time . Many thanks .

Was this review helpful?

Donna

Matter Type:

Criminal defence - All

Donna

April 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Highly recommended

Once again its a five out of five. Having been messed about on several occasions before instructing Rachel, I am pleased to say she restored my faith in the legal profession. She is bright, personable, sensible, and highly unusually tries to keep fees to a minimum. It took a huge leap of faith to trust another solicitor but my faith was not misplaced and she (with the assistant of very capable counsel) got me a great result. She is also very friendly, down to earth and doesn't judge. If only I'd have instructed her in the first instance. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Karen

Karen

April 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Criminal fraud case

I first approached Rachel fletcher when she worked at a different firm. when Rachel told me she was leaving I practically begged her to let me stay with her .
I had never dealt with any aspect of the law before and not only was Rachel able to defend me from a horrible situation, her calm & empathetic demeanour offered emotional succour to myself and my family.

I will always say, “I had the best solicitor” to fight my cause.

Thank you so much Rachel

Was this review helpful?

Norashikin

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis LLP.

Matter Type:

Family law

Norashikin

March 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent

I had sent in an urgent enquiry in regards to family law matters not realising it was a weekend, and Mr Mark Heptinstall went well out of his way to attend to my query and had organised for legal advice to be organised on the next working day, which gave me great relief and put my worries at bay. He was a natural at handling my situation in assuring me and I could not be more grateful to him and his colleagues, Ms Claire Higham and Lisa Woodworth, in following up with my legal needs.
They definitely have my vote of confidence.

Was this review helpful?

Mane

Mane

March 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rachel managed to recover a large sum of cash seized

Super happy with the service received. Rachel managed to recover a large sum of cash which had been seized by the boarder force. Within a short amount of time she had drafted up a letter and 1 day after sending it to the investigation officer she had the good news that she had managed to recover the sum. Very happy client, many thanks for Rachel's hard work!.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Assault

Anonymous

March 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Common Assault - Controlling and Coercive Behaviour

My ex-wife abandoned me and fled with our 6 months old son. She then filed a false complaint of Common Assault and Controlling and Coercive Behaviour against me. Every effort to contact my son was futile and I even missed his 1st birthday!

Rachel with her passion and knowledge worked commendably to uncover the falsity of allegations by getting transcripts from the Police and compiling all the evidence and witness statements in order to disprove them. She raised insurmountable defence and prepared me for the trial. I was totally impressed that no stone was left unturned to fight my case. Moreover, with Rachel’s proficiency, I was found not-guilty at the first trial itself. Rachel was not just focussed on the case but was very empathetic for which I will always be grateful!

If it was not for Rachel, I may have lost my job, my otherwise spotless record may have been tarnished. Most importantly winning this case will greatly enhance my ability to establish contact with my son sooner than expected.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis LLP.

Matter Type:

Criminal defence - All

Anonymous

February 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sometimes trusting a stranger is what you are forced to do, we are fortunate because for us that was Rachel

Dealing with the emotional turmoil of a teenager, the police, social services and our own turmoil of “where did we go wrong as parents” the one constant and grounding through the whole ordeal was Rachel.

No matter how well or not so educated one is, what sector of employment you are in or not, when it comes to your child, and your faced with an incident like our ours, as a parent you become lost, you feel like you are drowning and you don’t know where to turn to for help.

We automatically expected to be privy to all conversations that were taking place around us because our child was under the age of 16…… we thought we had a right to be there when he was being questioned (but not under caution) what ever that meant.

No one explains what is going on and no one explains the terminology that is being used, your hearing words like caution and warrants and seizing assets! It can only be described as a bomb being dropped, it exploding, and being left to process what happened and to pick up the pieces.

That was day one… Day two we engaged the services of Rachel who met us at a time which was convenient for us (after school less disruption as social services parting words were “try and keep some routine and don’t worry yourself until we know more”), Rachel went through everything that happened, the what, the why, and more importantly what happens next.

When you are left in a position like this you need someone that takes control of the situation, I know it's their job, but there’s doing your job (paying lip service) and doing your job (meeting us at 4pm, agreeing to meet us at the weekend if that was easier for OUR LIVES).

As a parent you have to ask yourself “ am I comfortable with what is happening” and “can I give this control to someone I don’t really know, to help my child” with Rachel it was an easy decision… YES

She made our child feel at ease, she made our child feel safe and she was honest with our child, (nothing presented through rose tinted glasses, this could be bad!).

When we had to meet Rachel we could feel the tension in the car and walking to Slater Heelis or where ever we were meeting Rachel. The journey home was always the opposite, no tension a relaxed child that was actually feeling happier even with all this going on.

Roll on a year, Rachel has maintained contact with our child and us, each time being updated with where we are today, and a reminder of what is supposed to happen.

As parents we don’t know what the conversations were like with the police and social services nor do we want to, as parents without the help of Rachel we acknowledge that we could not have had the outcome that we now have.

Sometimes trusting a stranger is what you are forced to do, we are fortunate because for us that was Rachel, someone that we knew very little about but now owe a huge thanks to.

Would we refer Rachel…. we wouldn’t want anyone to experience what we did BUT 100% yes, we can’t explain the relief that we as parents now feel, it is in the past now and we can close that chapter down and move on.

As for our child, one thing that we have said is that this is a huge learning experience, one that he is lucky that he had Rachel to help with, if ever a friend needs help with something similar pass on Rachel’s details and tell them your story, scary as it may be try and help someone else because they won’t know where to turn to for help!

Thanks again Rachel…. Our child can now be a 16 (almost 17) year old teenager!

Was this review helpful?

Joanna

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis LLP.

Matter Type:

Out Of Court Divorce

Joanna

February 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great support when needed

A big thank you to Kim who has helped me no end. Great communication and support when really needed it. Many thanks

Was this review helpful?

Antony Shaw

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Slater Heelis LLP.

Matter Type:

Child Access

Antony Shaw

January 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Family Law - Child Access

I found Charlotte really professional and very approachable. She always kept me up to date with all ongoing issues and was always available to discuss my case.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Edwina

Edwina

February 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Edwina

We worked with Mike from Slater Heelis to purchase our first home and the whole process was very smooth and response times where very fast, would recommend!

Was this review helpful?

Sam

Sam

February 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sam

Thank you so much to Charlotte Beck in family law. Very approachable, helpful and insightful. Contacted me within a couple of hours of emailing with advice on how to proceed with my divorce.

Was this review helpful?

Mrs

Mrs

January 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mrs

Im not usually one for reviews but I felt compelled to write one - after contacting a different organisation on a very personal family matter they passed my details on to Slater Heelis - within hours I was in the safe, secure reassuring professional hands of Mark Heptinstal. Mark's knowledge of the law and compassionate approach really was a shining light. Thank you so much! X

Was this review helpful?

steven

steven

December 03, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

steven

dealing with Mr Stern was a pleasure start to finish and a nice little case win, i continue o work with this solicitor and the service is always very professional and fantastic. thanks Slater Heelis

Was this review helpful?

Daniel

Daniel

August 17, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Daniel

I cannot reccomend Daniel Stern more highly. He is an absolute tireless & rutheless litagator. Daniel has been representing me for over 12 months and during this time his approach really made the difference. He has a genuire care towards his clients and this reflects in his work. He is honest, provides quality advice and delivers on what he says. I cannot stress enough how much Daniel's determination to get the right result in the right way makes what should be a very stressful situation, that much more bearable. A true gentleman and a true professional.

Was this review helpful?

Slater Heelis are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Slater Heelis is an established and friendly full-service law firm in Manchester and Cheshire, with offices in the city centre, Sale and Timperley. Our team of solicitors can advise you on many legal matters, as our broad service offering caters to individuals and businesses alike.

Practice areas

Services for you: Family Law - Court of Protection - Residential Conveyancing - Personal Injury - Wills, Trusts & Probate Services for businesses: Corporate Law - Dispute Resolution - Employment Law & HR - Commercial Property - Construction & Engineering - Residential Construction Projects

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Domestic violence
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Harassment
    • Juvenile
    • Legal aid
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Prison law
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Sexual allegations including Rape and Sexual Assaults
    • Theft
  • Employment
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Gardening Leave
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Housing & Property
    • Buying at auction
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Housing Associations
    • Injunctions
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Remortgaging
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Money & Tax
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Skiing Injury
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Supermarket Accident
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Developer disputes
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Corporate Law
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
  • Construction
    • Construction
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Engineering contracts
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety

Opening times

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • 0830 - 1700
  • Closed
  • Closed
Book an appointment