Sills & Betteridge LLP

01522 542 211

Also known as - Sills & Betteridge Incorporating Trentside Legal,Moving Forward Lincolnshire,Sills Maclaren Britton,Frearsons,Sills & Betteridge Incorporating Frearsons,Bluebird Law,Mediation Matters,Trentside Legal,Sills & Betteridge

Sills & Betteridge offer the full range of legal services to both private individuals and business clients. We have offices in Lincoln, Nottingham, Boston, Sleaford, Gainsborough, Scunthorpe, Doncaster (plus Bawtry, Thorne and Wath Upon Dearne), Grimsby, Northampton, Skegness & Spilsby, though our clients are based all over the UK. We provide advice in a straightforward manner. We take the time to understand your needs and we are careful to explain things to you to make the process of dealing with us smooth and uncomplicated. We are here to help you.

4.6/5 832 Client Reviews 832 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Sills & Betteridge LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Sills & Betteridge LLP on ReviewSolicitors

832 Client Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    713
  • Very Good
    42
  • Average
    18
  • Poor
    5
  • Awful
    54

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Stewart
Stewart Added 1 week ago Report to admin
February 26, 2021 20210226131446

Appalling and unprofessional service

1

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

While not a client, the buyer in our chain is using this appalling company.

2 weeks before our intended completion date and after all the draft contracts have been signed these clowns informed us that they wanted a "Covid Clause" inserted into the contracts. Bearing in mind their client is in rented accommodation and is therefore not time critical to move this seems strange.

Now to instigate this, all parties in the chain need to sign new contracts.... 8 working days before our hoped for completion date. When their client asked them not to proceed their response was "Head Office insist so we will not proceed without one except the day before completion."
So not only do they insist on additional clauses in contracts AFTER they have sent and received these back, they won't even take instructions from their clients.

They had 3 months to do this and managed to request 8 working days before completion when there is no chance of getting the entire chain to get signed contracts back.

I would not use this firm under any circumstances and I can only recommend that you avoid them like the plague.

A representative from Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 04 March, 2021

We have read your review and considered the comments you have made. We can make no apology for acting in our client's best interests.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Katie
Katie Added 1 week ago Report to admin
February 20, 2021 20210220211454

Mat Daurge- Sale and purchase of property

5

Mat has recently completed a sale and purchase of a property for us. He was professional and thorough in his approach at all times. His advice was based on our needs and requirements. Throughout the process there was clear communication and always quick at responding to questions that were answered in full. I was impressed at his extremely proactive approach and showing to always being one step ahead.
This is the second time we have used Mat and on both occasions have been really pleased with the service we have received, which is also reasonably priced. Highly recommend- will be using again in the future.

Solicitor named in this review: Mat Daurge

A representative from Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 22 February, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter
Peter Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
February 10, 2021 20210210155945

Building plots at East Keal

5

Matter Type: New home purchases and sales

Mat has sorted the solicitor bits on 2of the 3 plots and is just started on the 3 rd he does a great job and would recommend him.

Solicitor named in this review: Mat Daurge

A representative from Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 22 February, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP. Mark Added 3 months ago Report to admin
November 20, 2020 20201120172728

Conveyancing above and beyond

5

Matter Type: Evicting Squatters and Trespassers

The conveyancing department, especially Mathew Daurge, went above and beyond to assist on our linked sale and purchase. Through trials and tribulations worthy of a soap opera, they overcame obstacles and helped keep the chain together. Nothing was ever too much and they were always prompt to respond and assist. We could not have got to completion day without them!

Solicitor named in this review: Mat Daurge

A representative from Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 23 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP. Andrew Added 3 months ago Report to admin
November 16, 2020 20201116142406

Brilliant Service

5

Matter Type: Buying at auction

I chose Sills & Betteridge to act as conveyancer for the purchase of my first home. I was allocated Mathew Duarge and my solicitor and he was very helpful throughout the process. As this was my first time buying a house I had no idea of the process. Mathew was a massive help and I felt like I had a good idea of what was going on throughout. Mathew would always reply to my emails and questions quickly and clearly and he helped ensure everything went through very smoothly. I would 100% recommend Sills and Betteridge and Mathew.

Solicitor named in this review: Mat Daurge

A representative from Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 17 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bradley
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP. Bradley Added 3 months ago Report to admin
November 10, 2020 20201110161504

Brilliant Service

5

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale

Using Sils and Betteridge LLP was a great decision as Mathew Daurge, our appointed contact was exceptional and worked incredibly our conveyancing and to ensure we were moved within our target date to apply for school applications.

I would highly recommend Sils and Betteridge and thank them and in particular Mathew for exceptional service.

Solicitor named in this review: Mat Daurge

A representative from Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 11 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kevin
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Sills & Betteridge LLP. Kevin Added 4 months ago Report to admin
November 04, 2020 20201104170415

Conveyancing

4

Matter Type: Evicting Squatters and Trespassers

I used sills and Betteridge to buy my new house witch completed recently , I have no complaints at all there was good contact with updates threw out .
The case took longer than it normally wld but as expected during COVID.
No reason to complain the job got done professionally by the team .

Solicitor named in this review: Tracy Wray

A representative from Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 05 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jonathan
Jonathan Added 4 months ago Report to admin
October 20, 2020 20201020084510

Professional Service

5

Matter Type: Evicting Squatters and Trespassers

My wife and I bought and sold our first property using Sills and Betteridge conveyancing service. Tracy Wray and her team at the Lincoln branch guided us through the process every step of the way and their professionalism and regular communication was first class. We would certainly use Sills and Betteridge again in the future and happily recommend them to others.

Solicitor named in this review: Tracy Wray

A representative from Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 20 October, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Julia
Julia Added 4 months ago Report to admin
October 13, 2020 20201013082911

House sale

5

Matter Type: Planning

Excellent service with things done quickly and efficiently to enable the exchange and completion of the property on the same day - which is quite rare ! Highly recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Tracy Wray

A representative from Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 14 October, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sean
Sean Added 4 months ago Report to admin
October 07, 2020 20201007201129

Excellent experience dealing with House Sale and purchase

5

Matter Type: Planning

We had a experience experience using sills & betteridge for the sale of one house and dealing with the purchase of another. The solicitor was professional and always there to answer are questions and enquires thought the process.

I would highly recommend them to friends and family in the future.

Thank you

Solicitor named in this review: Tracy Wray

A representative from Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 08 October, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Sam
Sam Added 1 week ago Report to admin
February 25, 2021
Collected on
20210225094459

Sam

5

We used Sills & Betteridge conveyancing solicitors for our property sale and purchase. Throughout the process the team, in particular Hayley, Bethany and Elizabeth were incredibly professional, responsive and helpful, with their assistance making any issues that arose much easier to work through. We cannot fault their service and would highly recommend and definitely consider using them again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 25 February, 2021

Many thanks for your kind feedback Sam, we really appreciate it.

Lara
Lara Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 22, 2021
Collected on
20210122160349

Lara

1

What a joke! Absolutely awful service! Do not use them if you actually want your matter to be addressed!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sills & Betteridge LLP responded to this review on 25 January, 2021

We are sorry you feel disappointed with the outcome of your matter.

Perrie-Leigh
Perrie-Leigh Added 11 months ago Report to admin
March 18, 2020
Collected on
20200318134210

Perrie-Leigh

5

Very professional and received great advice. I would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

John
John Added 11 months ago Report to admin
March 11, 2020
Collected on
20200311163518

John

5

Excellent 👌

Was this review helpful? Yes

Fiona
Fiona Added 1 year ago Report to admin
February 02, 2020
Collected on
20200202125107

Fiona

5

Always helpful with good advice

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Sills & Betteridge are proud to have been providing legal advice and services for more than 250 years. Over that time we have built up a wealth of experience and knowledge about what you, our clients, want from a solicitor. Our service is professional, our people approachable. We tailor our service to meet your requirements. We are highly committed to quality and constantly strive to adapt and improve all of our services. We are proud to have been recognised as a law firm of quality and experience through the award of the Legal Aid Agency’s Specialist Quality Mark, the Law Society’s Lexcel Quality Standard and the Law Society’s Conveyancing Quality Scheme accreditation. These three quality standards award firms for providing exceptional client service and excellence in practice management.


Regulated By:

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000