Poole Alcock LLP

01260 275337

We believe that our clients deserve to receive the highest possible standard of customer care and quality of legal advice. To achieve this, we ensure our lawyers and support team are highly skilled professionals with a passion for delivering excellent service which focusses on our clients’ individual needs and circumstances. We regularly ask our clients for feedback and how we could make our service even better, to make sure that we get it right every time. We leave nothing to chance and take nothing for granted. For these reasons we make an important commitment to all of our clients: The Committed to Excellence Promise.

4.4/5 367 Customer Reviews 367 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Poole Alcock LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Poole Alcock LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

367 Customer Reviews

4.4/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    290
  • Very Good
    24
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    45

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Milena
Verified Milena Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
May 19, 2020 20200519010000

Housing & Property

5

Milena recommends Poole Alcock LLP

Solicitor named in this review: Tania Zompi

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nina
Verified Nina Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
May 05, 2020 20200505010000

Housing & Property

5

Nina recommends Poole Alcock LLP

Solicitor named in this review: Tania Zompi

Was this review helpful? Yes

Claire
Verified Claire Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 30, 2020 20200430095821

Difficult times

5

We were trying to sell a house within the Covid-19 period of time which meant we were all working from home. The sale through up some difficulties which had to be resolved . Eventually we got through the sale and Poolealcock were helpful at every step

Solicitor named in this review: Sarah Miller

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 05 May, 2020

Thank you Claire for this review. Our aim throughout these times has been to continue working as close as possible to normal, whislt we are all working from home. I'm really glad we got you moving!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Patricia
Verified Patricia Added 8 months ago Report to admin
October 04, 2019 20191004092212

Efficient Professionsl Service

5

The conveyancing service was straight forward and efficient. Staff were friendly and provided regular updates on the progress of the sale.

Solicitor named in this review: Tania Zompi

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jean
Verified Jean Added 8 months ago Report to admin
October 01, 2019 20191001232546

Support whilst overseas

5

Great personal service ... I live in Australia and they kept me informed all way whilst completing the sale of my mother’s house , especially important as she is 80 years old . Special shout out to Amelia !!

Solicitor named in this review: Tania Zompi

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 02 October, 2019

Hi Jean, thank you so much for your comments and taking the time to leave a review. It's not often we get a "shout out" from overseas! We pride ourselves on delivering the high level of service that our clients expect irrespective of whether they're just down the road or the other side of the world, so it's really great to hear you say this. Let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rebecca
Verified Rebecca Added 8 months ago Report to admin
October 01, 2019 20191001070106

Great team!

5

Tanya and the team acted with great professionalism and patience. Could not recommend Tanya and team more highly.

Solicitor named in this review: Tania Zompi

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 02 October, 2019

Thank you for your 5 star review Rebecca. I have passed on your kind words to Tania and her head of department and I'm sure they will be thrilled to hear your feedback. Let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Josei
Verified Josei Added 10 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
July 30, 2019 20190730084110

Conveyancing

2

We all know what solicitors are like, but I really felt our experience with Poole Alcock Sandbach wasn’t the best at all. They were recommended by our estate agent who we had been impressed with, so had no reason to doubt who they were recommending to deal with the sale of our house.

From the start there was a severe lack of communication from our solicitor, and for every 4-5 calls we put in we might have received 1 back. We did question the receptionist early on if they were too busy to take on our sale, as we were struggling with actually speaking with the solicitor. The receptionists seemed to lack knowledge as well and felt like they weren’t passing on our messages, that’s if they answered the phone! One was really rude as well.

It took 4 months to complete our sale which really, although it worked out in the end was a long time, we were anxious things weren’t moving along and had to constantly chase. During our sale we purchased a property (that took nearly 10 weeks to complete) and I did tell the solicitor that I wanted to close the gap on our sale and purchase - which she did.
However as we got to week 7-8 of our purchase and we received a completion date for our sale (not heard from our solicitor but from a text message from our buyers), I asked our solicitor to pass on to our purchase solicitors. However this came as a shock to them who apparently weren’t expecting the completion date anytime soon and it seemed that my solicitor had not been communicating effectively.... she had been working on closing the gap so we could complete on our sale and purchase at the same time but hadn’t informed the other side of that. Due to this it was a horrendous couple of weeks not knowing if we could complete at the same time. AND our solicitor goes on holiday without telling us!! The week of completion! And every single day they had another solicitor covering her holiday, so every day up to completion I had to explain all over again to somebody new not the slightest bit interested in our case. I had to take time off work due to having to chase them so much that week and the stress.

The day before we completed on our sale at 3pm we managed to exchange contracts on our purchase as well, we had already made alternative arrangements and paid out for temporary accommodation and storage elsewhere but were happy to get into our new property and not have to move twice. However I think my mortgage advisor saved the day by jumping in and phoning my solicitors, and even escalated my case with my mortgage lender a couple of days before completion because Poole Alcock had been so last minute in asking for the release of funds. It should have been done quicker and even my mortgage advisor agreed with this. I had to beg for somebody covering for the solicitor to chase up the release of funds before she went on her lunch as it was getting so close time wise.

I have now got a slight issue with the bill and seem to be due some money back - although I have got my estate agent looking into this as well. I think the service was very overpriced and not great, I’m lucky to have any hair after this experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hilary
Verified Hilary Added 10 months ago Report to admin
July 30, 2019 20190730061602

At a difficult time

4

The solicitor handled probate in a discreet and professional manner.

Solicitor named in this review: Claire Ellis

Was this review helpful? Yes

Will
Verified Will Added 10 months ago Report to admin
July 20, 2019 20190720192505

Totally Professional

5

I don’t know if its correct to name the lawyer from this company who aided our situation, but I am going to do it anyway.

Sarah-Jane Dunhill is a true legal professional, who lawfully speaking was far better than any doctor in helping to rid us of a long-term pain in the backside. Sometimes the medicine was hard to swallow and yet our particular personal affliction was finally cured by the application of both her in-depth legal knowledge and professional judgement.

We are now pain free and we haven’t been able to say that for some considerable time.

I would recommend the services of Sarah-Jane Dunhill to anyone!

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Wow, what a wonderful review. Thank you Will! I have forwarded your comments to Sarah-Jane and they have made her day. Do let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sarah
Verified Sarah Added 10 months ago Report to admin
July 18, 2019 20190718193441

Very good

4

My house sale was dealt with in a timely manor and very smooth transaction on completion

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Thank you for your great review Sarah. I have passe your comments onto the team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Grant
Grant Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 14, 2020
Collected on
20200214113024

Grant

5

An excellent Solicitors firm in Congleton with other branches locally as well. We have had dealings with them a few times and have always found them to be professional, courteous and friendly at all times. We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this firm of solicitors for handing legal matters.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Darron
Darron Added 8 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
September 22, 2019
Collected on
20190922120436

Darron

1

Criminals! I was owed money and had no option but to take the debt to court. Sought legal advice from Poole Alcock and made the journey to Congleton to meet with a solicitor who specializes in my problem.
She couldn't be bothered to meet with me instead sent her clueless trainee who showed me how they'd collated all of my information into one of their fancy files.
Wouldn't give me any advice until I handed over £1200!
I paid the bill expecting this to be positive, but informed I had no chance of winning the claim 😮... Truly amazed that I couldn't have and not just been told this as part of the initial assessment I requested I meet with the solicitor and not trainee to see further clarity and relevant support for progressing this to court!
Guess what they wanted more, couldnt give me an accurate figure but anything up to £10k!!!
Given I was chasing a £5k debt and already paid a tidy sum left with the only advice I couldn't win ☹
So I went to court with only the knowledge I had resourced and acquired and guess what... I won and awarded a CCJ against the debt owed to me which is helping get my money back.... but not what I was conned out of by Poole Alcock!
My advice, save your money and do the research, don't give these crooks a single penny! 👍Stay well away or get a solicitor that actually cares and has the knowledge you see

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tracey
Tracey Added 8 months ago Report to admin
September 15, 2019
Collected on
20190915132504

Tracey

5

Used this company as we were moving home, very swift transaction with no issues! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Judith
Judith Added 1 year ago 4 found this helpful Report to admin
December 02, 2018
Collected on
20181202111318

Judith White

1

We purchased a property via the Congleton office. Countless errors in documentation, bad advice, unresponsive. We ended up giving them instructions as to what to do...avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paula
Paula Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 07, 2018
Collected on
20180707184921

Paula Longstaff

5

I needed documents signing and documenting. Very quick appointment. Same day. Cool offices. Staff very efficient and friendly. Everything completed in one visit. Very good

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Committed to Excellence We believe that our clients deserve to receive the highest possible standard of customer care and quality of legal advice. To achieve this, we ensure our lawyers and support team are highly skilled professionals with a passion for delivering excellent service which focusses on our clients’ individual needs and circumstances. We regularly ask our clients for feedback and how we could make our service even better, to make sure that we get it right every time. We leave nothing to chance and take nothing for granted. For these reasons we make an important commitment to all of our clients: The Committed to Excellence Promise. Why do we do this? We want our clients to stay with us. We also want to be your first port of call whenever you need legal assistance of any sort. In addition to this, we are proud of our firm and all of our people care deeply about the quality of the service which we provide. We really can look after you, whatever your legal need. We have a wide range of specialist teams and lawyers who can look after all of your legal needs. You will find that across all those teams and lawyers, and across all of our offices, everyone at Poole Alcock is working hard to deliver on our promise to provide a consistently excellent service.


Legal Services
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Sexual allegations including Rape and Sexual Assaults
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Asbestosis
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Skiing Injury
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Property Disputes
  • Professional Discipline
  • Education
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Probate
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Pension and property advice
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Transfer of title
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Child contact
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Professional Conduct
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Accident At Work
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Separation
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Housing disputes
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Family Mediation
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Fall From Height
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Family law
  • Theft
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Planning
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Consumer Rights
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Right to Manage
  • Business Crime
  • Injunctions
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • UK Employment Laws
  • No Win No Fee
  • Repossessions
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Amputation
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Harassment
  • Car Accident
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Tinnitus
  • Drugs offences
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Domestic violence
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Accident Abroad
  • Fatal Accident
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Social Services
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Children's Accident
  • Serious Injury
  • Redundancy
  • Financial Matters
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Senior Executives
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Chronic Pain
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Lease Extensions
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Housing Associations
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Prison law
  • Whiplash
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Wills
  • MRSA Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Part Time Workers
  • Trusts
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Media and Sports
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Dental Negligence
  • Dog Bite
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Fraud
  • Car Passenger
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • TUPE
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Legal aid
  • Separation Agreement
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Flexible Working
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Child Law
  • Gardening Leave
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Buying at auction
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Children
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Juvenile
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Pension Law
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Cycling Accident
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Litigation Law
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Sports Injury
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Criminal Damage
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Against The Council
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Medical Negligence
  • Assault
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Remortgaging
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Manual Handling
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Employment Contracts
  • Travel rights
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Commercial Law
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Credit Control
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Setting up a business
  • Farming disputes
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Health and Safety
  • Corporate Law
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Employment - business
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Development plot sales
  • Small businesses
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Development loan facilities
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Data Protection
  • Summary Judgment
  • Planning law
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Equestrian property
  • Insurance
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Share option schemes
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Purchase of development land
  • Competition law
  • Debt Recovery
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Rights of way issues
  • Statutory Demands
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Commercial Leases
  • Management buyouts
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Licensing
  • Finance
  • Environmental policy law
  • Development agreements
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Framework agreements
  • Contract law
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Agency agreements
  • In-house training
  • Mediation
  • Slander
  • Developer disputes
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Asset Tracing
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Intellectual Property
  • Construction
  • Engineering contracts
  • Charities
  • Tax
  • Corporate finance
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Franchising

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000