Poole Alcock LLP

01260 275337

We believe that our clients deserve to receive the highest possible standard of customer care and quality of legal advice. To achieve this, we ensure our lawyers and support team are highly skilled professionals with a passion for delivering excellent service which focusses on our clients’ individual needs and circumstances. We regularly ask our clients for feedback and how we could make our service even better, to make sure that we get it right every time. We leave nothing to chance and take nothing for granted. For these reasons we make an important commitment to all of our clients: The Committed to Excellence Promise.

4.3/5 290 Customer Reviews 290
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Poole Alcock LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Poole Alcock LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

290 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    225
  • Very Good
    20
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    5
  • Awful
    38

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Patricia
Verified Patricia Added 4 months ago Report to admin
October 04, 2019 20191004092212

Efficient Professionsl Service

5

The conveyancing service was straight forward and efficient. Staff were friendly and provided regular updates on the progress of the sale.

Solicitor named in this review: Tania Zompi

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jean
Verified Jean Added 4 months ago Report to admin
October 01, 2019 20191001232546

Support whilst overseas

5

Great personal service ... I live in Australia and they kept me informed all way whilst completing the sale of my mother’s house , especially important as she is 80 years old . Special shout out to Amelia !!

Solicitor named in this review: Tania Zompi

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 02 October, 2019

Hi Jean, thank you so much for your comments and taking the time to leave a review. It's not often we get a "shout out" from overseas! We pride ourselves on delivering the high level of service that our clients expect irrespective of whether they're just down the road or the other side of the world, so it's really great to hear you say this. Let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rebecca
Verified Rebecca Added 4 months ago Report to admin
October 01, 2019 20191001070106

Great team!

5

Tanya and the team acted with great professionalism and patience. Could not recommend Tanya and team more highly.

Solicitor named in this review: Tania Zompi

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 02 October, 2019

Thank you for your 5 star review Rebecca. I have passed on your kind words to Tania and her head of department and I'm sure they will be thrilled to hear your feedback. Let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Josei
Verified Josei Added 6 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
July 30, 2019 20190730084110

Conveyancing

2

We all know what solicitors are like, but I really felt our experience with Poole Alcock Sandbach wasn’t the best at all. They were recommended by our estate agent who we had been impressed with, so had no reason to doubt who they were recommending to deal with the sale of our house.

From the start there was a severe lack of communication from our solicitor, and for every 4-5 calls we put in we might have received 1 back. We did question the receptionist early on if they were too busy to take on our sale, as we were struggling with actually speaking with the solicitor. The receptionists seemed to lack knowledge as well and felt like they weren’t passing on our messages, that’s if they answered the phone! One was really rude as well.

It took 4 months to complete our sale which really, although it worked out in the end was a long time, we were anxious things weren’t moving along and had to constantly chase. During our sale we purchased a property (that took nearly 10 weeks to complete) and I did tell the solicitor that I wanted to close the gap on our sale and purchase - which she did.
However as we got to week 7-8 of our purchase and we received a completion date for our sale (not heard from our solicitor but from a text message from our buyers), I asked our solicitor to pass on to our purchase solicitors. However this came as a shock to them who apparently weren’t expecting the completion date anytime soon and it seemed that my solicitor had not been communicating effectively.... she had been working on closing the gap so we could complete on our sale and purchase at the same time but hadn’t informed the other side of that. Due to this it was a horrendous couple of weeks not knowing if we could complete at the same time. AND our solicitor goes on holiday without telling us!! The week of completion! And every single day they had another solicitor covering her holiday, so every day up to completion I had to explain all over again to somebody new not the slightest bit interested in our case. I had to take time off work due to having to chase them so much that week and the stress.

The day before we completed on our sale at 3pm we managed to exchange contracts on our purchase as well, we had already made alternative arrangements and paid out for temporary accommodation and storage elsewhere but were happy to get into our new property and not have to move twice. However I think my mortgage advisor saved the day by jumping in and phoning my solicitors, and even escalated my case with my mortgage lender a couple of days before completion because Poole Alcock had been so last minute in asking for the release of funds. It should have been done quicker and even my mortgage advisor agreed with this. I had to beg for somebody covering for the solicitor to chase up the release of funds before she went on her lunch as it was getting so close time wise.

I have now got a slight issue with the bill and seem to be due some money back - although I have got my estate agent looking into this as well. I think the service was very overpriced and not great, I’m lucky to have any hair after this experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hilary
Verified Hilary Added 6 months ago Report to admin
July 30, 2019 20190730061602

At a difficult time

4

The solicitor handled probate in a discreet and professional manner.

Solicitor named in this review: Claire Ellis

Was this review helpful? Yes

Will
Verified Will Added 7 months ago Report to admin
July 20, 2019 20190720192505

Totally Professional

5

I don’t know if its correct to name the lawyer from this company who aided our situation, but I am going to do it anyway.

Sarah-Jane Dunhill is a true legal professional, who lawfully speaking was far better than any doctor in helping to rid us of a long-term pain in the backside. Sometimes the medicine was hard to swallow and yet our particular personal affliction was finally cured by the application of both her in-depth legal knowledge and professional judgement.

We are now pain free and we haven’t been able to say that for some considerable time.

I would recommend the services of Sarah-Jane Dunhill to anyone!

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Wow, what a wonderful review. Thank you Will! I have forwarded your comments to Sarah-Jane and they have made her day. Do let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sarah
Verified Sarah Added 7 months ago Report to admin
July 18, 2019 20190718193441

Very good

4

My house sale was dealt with in a timely manor and very smooth transaction on completion

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Thank you for your great review Sarah. I have passe your comments onto the team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Joseph
Verified Joseph Added 7 months ago Report to admin
July 18, 2019 20190718084837

Sale of a house

5

Great commitment,first class , kept informed all the time,good soliter

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Thank you Joseph. I have let Sarah and her team know about your review. Please do get in touch if we can help you with anything else.

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
Verified James Added 7 months ago Report to admin
July 17, 2019 20190717201523

Selling & buying

5

Sold and bought using Poole Alcock and everything went through quickly and smoothly, despite the odd query WE had Poole Alcock (Kate Heath) got back to us in good time and put our minds at rest informing us she would look into it for us or just simply reassuring us everything was still on schedule.

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Thank you so much James. Kate is on leave at the moment, however I'm sure it will make her return to work much more pleasant to see your excellent feedback.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Liam
Verified Liam Added 7 months ago Report to admin
July 09, 2019 20190709093356

Understanding

5

After explaining my situation to Dan a solution that was tailored to my circumstances and surprisingly much cheaper than I thought. I cannot thank Dan enough for his help in securing a long term solution to my needs with minimal fuss. No easy feat in itself considering my ex wife.

Solicitor named in this review: Daniel Brooks

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Thank you for your review Liam! I have passed your comments to Dan Brooks. We're really pleased he did such a good job for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Grant
Grant Added 6 days ago Report to admin
February 14, 2020
Collected on
20200214113024

Grant

5

An excellent Solicitors firm in Congleton with other branches locally as well. We have had dealings with them a few times and have always found them to be professional, courteous and friendly at all times. We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this firm of solicitors for handing legal matters.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Darron
Darron Added 5 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
September 22, 2019
Collected on
20190922120436

Darron

1

Criminals! I was owed money and had no option but to take the debt to court. Sought legal advice from Poole Alcock and made the journey to Congleton to meet with a solicitor who specializes in my problem.
She couldn't be bothered to meet with me instead sent her clueless trainee who showed me how they'd collated all of my information into one of their fancy files.
Wouldn't give me any advice until I handed over £1200!
I paid the bill expecting this to be positive, but informed I had no chance of winning the claim 😮... Truly amazed that I couldn't have and not just been told this as part of the initial assessment I requested I meet with the solicitor and not trainee to see further clarity and relevant support for progressing this to court!
Guess what they wanted more, couldnt give me an accurate figure but anything up to £10k!!!
Given I was chasing a £5k debt and already paid a tidy sum left with the only advice I couldn't win ☹
So I went to court with only the knowledge I had resourced and acquired and guess what... I won and awarded a CCJ against the debt owed to me which is helping get my money back.... but not what I was conned out of by Poole Alcock!
My advice, save your money and do the research, don't give these crooks a single penny! 👍Stay well away or get a solicitor that actually cares and has the knowledge you see

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tracey
Tracey Added 5 months ago Report to admin
September 15, 2019
Collected on
20190915132504

Tracey

5

Used this company as we were moving home, very swift transaction with no issues! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Judith
Judith Added 1 year ago 4 found this helpful Report to admin
December 02, 2018
Collected on
20181202111318

Judith White

1

We purchased a property via the Congleton office. Countless errors in documentation, bad advice, unresponsive. We ended up giving them instructions as to what to do...avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paula
Paula Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 07, 2018
Collected on
20180707184921

Paula Longstaff

5

I needed documents signing and documenting. Very quick appointment. Same day. Cool offices. Staff very efficient and friendly. Everything completed in one visit. Very good

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Committed to Excellence We believe that our clients deserve to receive the highest possible standard of customer care and quality of legal advice. To achieve this, we ensure our lawyers and support team are highly skilled professionals with a passion for delivering excellent service which focusses on our clients’ individual needs and circumstances. We regularly ask our clients for feedback and how we could make our service even better, to make sure that we get it right every time. We leave nothing to chance and take nothing for granted. For these reasons we make an important commitment to all of our clients: The Committed to Excellence Promise. Why do we do this? We want our clients to stay with us. We also want to be your first port of call whenever you need legal assistance of any sort. In addition to this, we are proud of our firm and all of our people care deeply about the quality of the service which we provide. We really can look after you, whatever your legal need. We have a wide range of specialist teams and lawyers who can look after all of your legal needs. You will find that across all those teams and lawyers, and across all of our offices, everyone at Poole Alcock is working hard to deliver on our promise to provide a consistently excellent service.


Legal Services
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Separation
  • Repossessions
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Dental Negligence
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Manual Handling
  • Medical Negligence
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Tinnitus
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • No Win No Fee
  • Leasehold properties
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Domestic violence
  • Part Time Workers
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Injunctions
  • Amputation
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Chronic Pain
  • Whiplash
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Family law
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child contact
  • Housing Associations
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Car Passenger
  • Fraud
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • TUPE
  • Probate
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Social Services
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Prison law
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Legal aid
  • Professional Conduct
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Fall From Height
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Theft
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Dog Bite
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Wills
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Housing disputes
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Pension Law
  • Flexible Working
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Media and Sports
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Redundancy
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Planning
  • Drugs offences
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Accident Abroad
  • Professional Discipline
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Car Accident
  • Injunctions
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Business Crime
  • Serious Injury
  • Accident At Work
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Financial Matters
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Skiing Injury
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Property Disputes
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Litigation Law
  • Children
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Fatal Accident
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Child Law
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Transfer of title
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Cycling Accident
  • Harassment
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Juvenile
  • Transfers of equity
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Children's Accident
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Sexual allegations including Rape and Sexual Assaults
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Remortgaging
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Criminal Damage
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Against The Council
  • Sports Injury
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Right to Manage
  • Travel rights
  • Buying at auction
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Assault
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Pension and property advice
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Separation Agreement
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Asbestosis
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Trusts
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Housing Management
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Senior Executives
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Employment Contracts
  • Education
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Family Mediation
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Civil partnerships
  • Gardening Leave
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Construction
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Small businesses
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Licensing
  • In-house training
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Farming disputes
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Commercial Leases
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Insurance
  • Slander
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Intellectual Property
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Management buyouts
  • Credit Control
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Asset Tracing
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Data Protection
  • Developer disputes
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Mediation
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Debt Recovery
  • Planning law
  • Development agreements
  • Development loan facilities
  • Setting up a business
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Summary Judgment
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Corporate Law
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Charities
  • Health and Safety
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Equestrian property
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Rights of way issues
  • Agency agreements
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Competition law
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Share option schemes
  • Corporate finance
  • Tax
  • Commercial Law
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Contract law
  • Purchase of development land
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Engineering contracts
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Employment - business
  • Development plot sales
  • Finance
  • Statutory Demands
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Franchising
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Environmental policy law
  • Framework agreements

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000