Poole Alcock LLP

01260 275337

We believe that our clients deserve to receive the highest possible standard of customer care and quality of legal advice. To achieve this, we ensure our lawyers and support team are highly skilled professionals with a passion for delivering excellent service which focusses on our clients’ individual needs and circumstances. We regularly ask our clients for feedback and how we could make our service even better, to make sure that we get it right every time. We leave nothing to chance and take nothing for granted. For these reasons we make an important commitment to all of our clients: The Committed to Excellence Promise.

4.3/5 227 Customer Reviews 227
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Poole Alcock LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Poole Alcock LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

227 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    171
  • Very Good
    18
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    3
  • Awful
    35

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Josei
Verified Josei Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 30, 2019 20190730084110

Conveyancing

2

We all know what solicitors are like, but I really felt our experience with Poole Alcock Sandbach wasn’t the best at all. They were recommended by our estate agent who we had been impressed with, so had no reason to doubt who they were recommending to deal with the sale of our house.

From the start there was a severe lack of communication from our solicitor, and for every 4-5 calls we put in we might have received 1 back. We did question the receptionist early on if they were too busy to take on our sale, as we were struggling with actually speaking with the solicitor. The receptionists seemed to lack knowledge as well and felt like they weren’t passing on our messages, that’s if they answered the phone! One was really rude as well.

It took 4 months to complete our sale which really, although it worked out in the end was a long time, we were anxious things weren’t moving along and had to constantly chase. During our sale we purchased a property (that took nearly 10 weeks to complete) and I did tell the solicitor that I wanted to close the gap on our sale and purchase - which she did.
However as we got to week 7-8 of our purchase and we received a completion date for our sale (not heard from our solicitor but from a text message from our buyers), I asked our solicitor to pass on to our purchase solicitors. However this came as a shock to them who apparently weren’t expecting the completion date anytime soon and it seemed that my solicitor had not been communicating effectively.... she had been working on closing the gap so we could complete on our sale and purchase at the same time but hadn’t informed the other side of that. Due to this it was a horrendous couple of weeks not knowing if we could complete at the same time. AND our solicitor goes on holiday without telling us!! The week of completion! And every single day they had another solicitor covering her holiday, so every day up to completion I had to explain all over again to somebody new not the slightest bit interested in our case. I had to take time off work due to having to chase them so much that week and the stress.

The day before we completed on our sale at 3pm we managed to exchange contracts on our purchase as well, we had already made alternative arrangements and paid out for temporary accommodation and storage elsewhere but were happy to get into our new property and not have to move twice. However I think my mortgage advisor saved the day by jumping in and phoning my solicitors, and even escalated my case with my mortgage lender a couple of days before completion because Poole Alcock had been so last minute in asking for the release of funds. It should have been done quicker and even my mortgage advisor agreed with this. I had to beg for somebody covering for the solicitor to chase up the release of funds before she went on her lunch as it was getting so close time wise.

I have now got a slight issue with the bill and seem to be due some money back - although I have got my estate agent looking into this as well. I think the service was very overpriced and not great, I’m lucky to have any hair after this experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hilary
Verified Hilary Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 30, 2019 20190730061602

At a difficult time

4

The solicitor handled probate in a discreet and professional manner.

Solicitor being reviewed: Claire Louise Ellis

Was this review helpful? Yes

Will
Verified Will Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 20, 2019 20190720192505

Totally Professional

5

I don’t know if its correct to name the lawyer from this company who aided our situation, but I am going to do it anyway.

Sarah-Jane Dunhill is a true legal professional, who lawfully speaking was far better than any doctor in helping to rid us of a long-term pain in the backside. Sometimes the medicine was hard to swallow and yet our particular personal affliction was finally cured by the application of both her in-depth legal knowledge and professional judgement.

We are now pain free and we haven’t been able to say that for some considerable time.

I would recommend the services of Sarah-Jane Dunhill to anyone!

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Wow, what a wonderful review. Thank you Will! I have forwarded your comments to Sarah-Jane and they have made her day. Do let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sarah
Verified Sarah Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 18, 2019 20190718193441

Very good

4

My house sale was dealt with in a timely manor and very smooth transaction on completion

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Thank you for your great review Sarah. I have passe your comments onto the team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Joseph
Verified Joseph Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 18, 2019 20190718084837

Sale of a house

5

Great commitment,first class , kept informed all the time,good soliter

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Thank you Joseph. I have let Sarah and her team know about your review. Please do get in touch if we can help you with anything else.

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
Verified James Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 17, 2019 20190717201523

Selling & buying

5

Sold and bought using Poole Alcock and everything went through quickly and smoothly, despite the odd query WE had Poole Alcock (Kate Heath) got back to us in good time and put our minds at rest informing us she would look into it for us or just simply reassuring us everything was still on schedule.

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Thank you so much James. Kate is on leave at the moment, however I'm sure it will make her return to work much more pleasant to see your excellent feedback.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Liam
Verified Liam Added 2 months ago Report to admin
July 09, 2019 20190709093356

Understanding

5

After explaining my situation to Dan a solution that was tailored to my circumstances and surprisingly much cheaper than I thought. I cannot thank Dan enough for his help in securing a long term solution to my needs with minimal fuss. No easy feat in itself considering my ex wife.

Solicitor being reviewed: Daniel Brooks

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Thank you for your review Liam! I have passed your comments to Dan Brooks. We're really pleased he did such a good job for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lynsey
Verified Lynsey Added 2 months ago Report to admin
July 09, 2019 20190709060759

Amazing service

5

Kate Heath and her team were outstanding and went over and above to ensure our complicated house purchase went through.
She was friendly, approachable and communicated frequently with us throughout a very stressful process.
Would high recommend this outstanding team, Thankyou

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stephen
Verified Stephen Added 4 months ago Report to admin
May 03, 2019 20190503131300

Very good service from the whole team

4

On the whole, the service we received was very good.
There were a couple of minor issues with confusion around what proofs of finances were need BUT, this was not major and was quickly resolved once fully explained.

We would definitely recommend Poole Alcock

Solicitor being reviewed: Tania Mary Zompi

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 03 May, 2019

Thank you for your feedback Stephen. Sorry to hear there was some confusion around the proof of funds required and I will feed back your comments to Tania's team. Glad we got things resolved for you though.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Grant
Verified Grant Added 4 months ago Report to admin
April 30, 2019 20190430070455

Brilliant outcome

5

Hannah Kelly is a little gem. Worked brilliantly, professionally and broke things down which i didnt understand so that i did.

Solicitor being reviewed: Hannah Elizabeth Kelly

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 03 May, 2019

Thank you Grant! I will make sure Hannah hears about your five star review!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Judith
Judith Added 9 months ago Report to admin
December 02, 2018
Collected on
20181202111318

Judith White

1

We purchased a property via the Congleton office. Countless errors in documentation, bad advice, unresponsive. We ended up giving them instructions as to what to do...avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paula
Paula Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 07, 2018
Collected on
20180707184921

Paula Longstaff

5

I needed documents signing and documenting. Very quick appointment. Same day. Cool offices. Staff very efficient and friendly. Everything completed in one visit. Very good

Was this review helpful? Yes

cover
cover Added 1 year ago Report to admin
March 11, 2018
Collected on
20180311105253

cover look

1

Extremely rude we used Jane and secretary and will never go back very uncomfortable and unpolite try somewhere else, as we had a better experience with other solicitors. Who ever is writing very pleasing reviews must be friends avoid please!!!.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mamgoe
Mamgoe Added 1 year ago Report to admin
February 28, 2018
Collected on
20180228165847

Mamgoe S

1

Poor communication, extremely slow and please if you want your property to be completed in time please AVOID. I regret using them

Was this review helpful? Yes

RS
RS Added 1 year ago Report to admin
February 24, 2018
Collected on
20180224121216

RS Gaming

5

Great solicitors happy to help and always polite highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Committed to Excellence We believe that our clients deserve to receive the highest possible standard of customer care and quality of legal advice. To achieve this, we ensure our lawyers and support team are highly skilled professionals with a passion for delivering excellent service which focusses on our clients’ individual needs and circumstances. We regularly ask our clients for feedback and how we could make our service even better, to make sure that we get it right every time. We leave nothing to chance and take nothing for granted. For these reasons we make an important commitment to all of our clients: The Committed to Excellence Promise. Why do we do this? We want our clients to stay with us. We also want to be your first port of call whenever you need legal assistance of any sort. In addition to this, we are proud of our firm and all of our people care deeply about the quality of the service which we provide. We really can look after you, whatever your legal need. We have a wide range of specialist teams and lawyers who can look after all of your legal needs. You will find that across all those teams and lawyers, and across all of our offices, everyone at Poole Alcock is working hard to deliver on our promise to provide a consistently excellent service.


Legal Services
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Remortgaging
  • Repossessions
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Social Services
  • Lease Extensions
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Skiing Injury
  • Right to Manage
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Juvenile
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Property Disputes
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Housing Management
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Fall From Height
  • No Win No Fee
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Criminal Damage
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Transfers of equity
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Against The Council
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Media and Sports
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Employment Contracts
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Domestic violence
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Separation
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Dog Bite
  • Stress at Work
  • Probate
  • Litigation Law
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Family Mediation
  • Family Leave
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Leasehold properties
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Housing disputes
  • Trusts
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Assault
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Extending your Lease
  • Cycling Accident
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Manual Handling
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Car Passenger
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Wills
  • Children's Accident
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Professional Discipline
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Serious Injury
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Amputation
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Senior Executives
  • Part Time Workers
  • Injunctions
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Legal aid
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child Law
  • Accident Abroad
  • Family law
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Prison law
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Children
  • Travel rights
  • Business Crime
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Redundancy
  • Child contact
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Asbestosis
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Fraud
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Sports Injury
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Fatal Accident
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Education
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Harassment
  • Medical Negligence
  • Housing Associations
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Chronic Pain
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Pension and property advice
  • Pension Law
  • Drugs offences
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Civil partnerships
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Professional Conduct
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Separation Agreement
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Theft
  • Car Accident
  • Accident At Work
  • Tinnitus
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • TUPE
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Collaborative Law
  • Dental Negligence
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Sexual allegations including Rape and Sexual Assaults
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Whiplash
  • Planning
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Development loan facilities
  • Slander
  • In-house training
  • Corporate finance
  • Finance
  • Development agreements
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Commercial Law
  • Farming disputes
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Tax
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Corporate Law
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Credit Control
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Data Protection
  • Developer disputes
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Asset Tracing
  • Equestrian property
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Rights of way issues
  • Small businesses
  • Construction
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Competition law
  • Framework agreements
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Purchase of development land
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Licensing
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Commercial Leases
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Environmental policy law
  • Mediation
  • Engineering contracts
  • Contract law
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Debt Recovery
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Health and Safety
  • Summary Judgment
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Agency agreements
  • Insurance
  • Setting up a business
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Share option schemes
  • Franchising
  • Employment - business
  • Planning law
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Charities
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Intellectual Property
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Management buyouts
  • Development plot sales
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Statutory Demands

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000