Poole Alcock LLP

01260 275337

We believe that our clients deserve to receive the highest possible standard of customer care and quality of legal advice. To achieve this, we ensure our lawyers and support team are highly skilled professionals with a passion for delivering excellent service which focusses on our clients’ individual needs and circumstances. We regularly ask our clients for feedback and how we could make our service even better, to make sure that we get it right every time. We leave nothing to chance and take nothing for granted. For these reasons we make an important commitment to all of our clients: The Committed to Excellence Promise.

4.3/5 281 Customer Reviews 281
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Poole Alcock LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Poole Alcock LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

281 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    217
  • Very Good
    19
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    5
  • Awful
    38

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Patricia
Verified Patricia Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 04, 2019 20191004092212

Efficient Professionsl Service

5

The conveyancing service was straight forward and efficient. Staff were friendly and provided regular updates on the progress of the sale.

Solicitor named in this review: Tania Zompi

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jean
Verified Jean Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 01, 2019 20191001232546

Support whilst overseas

5

Great personal service ... I live in Australia and they kept me informed all way whilst completing the sale of my mother’s house , especially important as she is 80 years old . Special shout out to Amelia !!

Solicitor named in this review: Tania Zompi

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 02 October, 2019

Hi Jean, thank you so much for your comments and taking the time to leave a review. It's not often we get a "shout out" from overseas! We pride ourselves on delivering the high level of service that our clients expect irrespective of whether they're just down the road or the other side of the world, so it's really great to hear you say this. Let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rebecca
Verified Rebecca Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 01, 2019 20191001070106

Great team!

5

Tanya and the team acted with great professionalism and patience. Could not recommend Tanya and team more highly.

Solicitor named in this review: Tania Zompi

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 02 October, 2019

Thank you for your 5 star review Rebecca. I have passed on your kind words to Tania and her head of department and I'm sure they will be thrilled to hear your feedback. Let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Josei
Verified Josei Added 3 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 30, 2019 20190730084110

Conveyancing

2

We all know what solicitors are like, but I really felt our experience with Poole Alcock Sandbach wasn’t the best at all. They were recommended by our estate agent who we had been impressed with, so had no reason to doubt who they were recommending to deal with the sale of our house.

From the start there was a severe lack of communication from our solicitor, and for every 4-5 calls we put in we might have received 1 back. We did question the receptionist early on if they were too busy to take on our sale, as we were struggling with actually speaking with the solicitor. The receptionists seemed to lack knowledge as well and felt like they weren’t passing on our messages, that’s if they answered the phone! One was really rude as well.

It took 4 months to complete our sale which really, although it worked out in the end was a long time, we were anxious things weren’t moving along and had to constantly chase. During our sale we purchased a property (that took nearly 10 weeks to complete) and I did tell the solicitor that I wanted to close the gap on our sale and purchase - which she did.
However as we got to week 7-8 of our purchase and we received a completion date for our sale (not heard from our solicitor but from a text message from our buyers), I asked our solicitor to pass on to our purchase solicitors. However this came as a shock to them who apparently weren’t expecting the completion date anytime soon and it seemed that my solicitor had not been communicating effectively.... she had been working on closing the gap so we could complete on our sale and purchase at the same time but hadn’t informed the other side of that. Due to this it was a horrendous couple of weeks not knowing if we could complete at the same time. AND our solicitor goes on holiday without telling us!! The week of completion! And every single day they had another solicitor covering her holiday, so every day up to completion I had to explain all over again to somebody new not the slightest bit interested in our case. I had to take time off work due to having to chase them so much that week and the stress.

The day before we completed on our sale at 3pm we managed to exchange contracts on our purchase as well, we had already made alternative arrangements and paid out for temporary accommodation and storage elsewhere but were happy to get into our new property and not have to move twice. However I think my mortgage advisor saved the day by jumping in and phoning my solicitors, and even escalated my case with my mortgage lender a couple of days before completion because Poole Alcock had been so last minute in asking for the release of funds. It should have been done quicker and even my mortgage advisor agreed with this. I had to beg for somebody covering for the solicitor to chase up the release of funds before she went on her lunch as it was getting so close time wise.

I have now got a slight issue with the bill and seem to be due some money back - although I have got my estate agent looking into this as well. I think the service was very overpriced and not great, I’m lucky to have any hair after this experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hilary
Verified Hilary Added 3 months ago Report to admin
July 30, 2019 20190730061602

At a difficult time

4

The solicitor handled probate in a discreet and professional manner.

Solicitor named in this review: Claire Ellis

Was this review helpful? Yes

Will
Verified Will Added 3 months ago Report to admin
July 20, 2019 20190720192505

Totally Professional

5

I don’t know if its correct to name the lawyer from this company who aided our situation, but I am going to do it anyway.

Sarah-Jane Dunhill is a true legal professional, who lawfully speaking was far better than any doctor in helping to rid us of a long-term pain in the backside. Sometimes the medicine was hard to swallow and yet our particular personal affliction was finally cured by the application of both her in-depth legal knowledge and professional judgement.

We are now pain free and we haven’t been able to say that for some considerable time.

I would recommend the services of Sarah-Jane Dunhill to anyone!

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Wow, what a wonderful review. Thank you Will! I have forwarded your comments to Sarah-Jane and they have made her day. Do let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sarah
Verified Sarah Added 3 months ago Report to admin
July 18, 2019 20190718193441

Very good

4

My house sale was dealt with in a timely manor and very smooth transaction on completion

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Thank you for your great review Sarah. I have passe your comments onto the team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Joseph
Verified Joseph Added 3 months ago Report to admin
July 18, 2019 20190718084837

Sale of a house

5

Great commitment,first class , kept informed all the time,good soliter

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Thank you Joseph. I have let Sarah and her team know about your review. Please do get in touch if we can help you with anything else.

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
Verified James Added 4 months ago Report to admin
July 17, 2019 20190717201523

Selling & buying

5

Sold and bought using Poole Alcock and everything went through quickly and smoothly, despite the odd query WE had Poole Alcock (Kate Heath) got back to us in good time and put our minds at rest informing us she would look into it for us or just simply reassuring us everything was still on schedule.

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Thank you so much James. Kate is on leave at the moment, however I'm sure it will make her return to work much more pleasant to see your excellent feedback.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Liam
Verified Liam Added 4 months ago Report to admin
July 09, 2019 20190709093356

Understanding

5

After explaining my situation to Dan a solution that was tailored to my circumstances and surprisingly much cheaper than I thought. I cannot thank Dan enough for his help in securing a long term solution to my needs with minimal fuss. No easy feat in itself considering my ex wife.

Solicitor named in this review: Daniel Brooks

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Thank you for your review Liam! I have passed your comments to Dan Brooks. We're really pleased he did such a good job for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Darron
Darron Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 22, 2019
Collected on
20190922120436

Darron

1

Criminals! I was owed money and had no option but to take the debt to court. Sought legal advice from Poole Alcock and made the journey to Congleton to meet with a solicitor who specializes in my problem.
She couldn't be bothered to meet with me instead sent her clueless trainee who showed me how they'd collated all of my information into one of their fancy files.
Wouldn't give me any advice until I handed over £1200!
I paid the bill expecting this to be positive, but informed I had no chance of winning the claim 😮... Truly amazed that I couldn't have and not just been told this as part of the initial assessment I requested I meet with the solicitor and not trainee to see further clarity and relevant support for progressing this to court!
Guess what they wanted more, couldnt give me an accurate figure but anything up to £10k!!!
Given I was chasing a £5k debt and already paid a tidy sum left with the only advice I couldn't win ☹
So I went to court with only the knowledge I had resourced and acquired and guess what... I won and awarded a CCJ against the debt owed to me which is helping get my money back.... but not what I was conned out of by Poole Alcock!
My advice, save your money and do the research, don't give these crooks a single penny! 👍Stay well away or get a solicitor that actually cares and has the knowledge you see

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tracey
Tracey Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 15, 2019
Collected on
20190915132504

Tracey

5

Used this company as we were moving home, very swift transaction with no issues! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Judith
Judith Added 11 months ago 4 found this helpful Report to admin
December 02, 2018
Collected on
20181202111318

Judith White

1

We purchased a property via the Congleton office. Countless errors in documentation, bad advice, unresponsive. We ended up giving them instructions as to what to do...avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paula
Paula Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 07, 2018
Collected on
20180707184921

Paula Longstaff

5

I needed documents signing and documenting. Very quick appointment. Same day. Cool offices. Staff very efficient and friendly. Everything completed in one visit. Very good

Was this review helpful? Yes

cover
cover Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 11, 2018
Collected on
20180311105253

cover look

1

Extremely rude we used Jane and secretary and will never go back very uncomfortable and unpolite try somewhere else, as we had a better experience with other solicitors. Who ever is writing very pleasing reviews must be friends avoid please!!!.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Committed to Excellence We believe that our clients deserve to receive the highest possible standard of customer care and quality of legal advice. To achieve this, we ensure our lawyers and support team are highly skilled professionals with a passion for delivering excellent service which focusses on our clients’ individual needs and circumstances. We regularly ask our clients for feedback and how we could make our service even better, to make sure that we get it right every time. We leave nothing to chance and take nothing for granted. For these reasons we make an important commitment to all of our clients: The Committed to Excellence Promise. Why do we do this? We want our clients to stay with us. We also want to be your first port of call whenever you need legal assistance of any sort. In addition to this, we are proud of our firm and all of our people care deeply about the quality of the service which we provide. We really can look after you, whatever your legal need. We have a wide range of specialist teams and lawyers who can look after all of your legal needs. You will find that across all those teams and lawyers, and across all of our offices, everyone at Poole Alcock is working hard to deliver on our promise to provide a consistently excellent service.


Legal Services
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Juvenile
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Transfer of title
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Legal aid
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Fatal Accident
  • Housing disputes
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Lease Extensions
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Extending your Lease
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Repossessions
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Chronic Pain
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Asbestosis
  • Cycling Accident
  • Theft
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Professional Conduct
  • Injunctions
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Harassment
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • TUPE
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Media and Sports
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Family Mediation
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Social Services
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Right to Manage
  • Fall From Height
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Planning
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Child contact
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Domestic violence
  • Travel rights
  • Probate
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Separation
  • Buying at auction
  • Litigation Law
  • Fraud
  • MRSA Claims
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Skiing Injury
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Manual Handling
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Pension Law
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Criminal Damage
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Assault
  • Remortgaging
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Children
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Drugs offences
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Trusts
  • Medical Negligence
  • Collaborative Law
  • Property Disputes
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Civil partnerships
  • Housing Associations
  • Transfers of equity
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Whiplash
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Consumer Rights
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Redundancy
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Flexible Working
  • Senior Executives
  • Part Time Workers
  • Sports Injury
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Accident At Work
  • Family Leave
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Against The Council
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Prison law
  • Children's Accident
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Financial Matters
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Sexual allegations including Rape and Sexual Assaults
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Amputation
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Business Crime
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Dental Negligence
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Car Accident
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child Law
  • Car Passenger
  • Wills
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Accident Abroad
  • No Win No Fee
  • Pension and property advice
  • Injunctions
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Housing Management
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Serious Injury
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Education
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Family law
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Dog Bite
  • Tinnitus
  • Employment Contracts
  • Leasehold properties
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • In-house training
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Purchase of development land
  • Commercial Law
  • Slander
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Summary Judgment
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Licensing
  • Corporate Law
  • Planning law
  • Finance
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Development agreements
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Credit Control
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Small businesses
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Farming disputes
  • Rights of way issues
  • Debt Recovery
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Competition law
  • Development loan facilities
  • Commercial Leases
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Agency agreements
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Construction
  • Engineering contracts
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Environmental policy law
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Management buyouts
  • Framework agreements
  • Intellectual Property
  • Statutory Demands
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Setting up a business
  • Insurance
  • Development plot sales
  • Asset Tracing
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Tax
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Developer disputes
  • Data Protection
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Mediation
  • Contract law
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Employment - business
  • Corporate finance
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Franchising
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Equestrian property
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Health and Safety
  • Share option schemes
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Charities

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000