Poole Alcock LLP

01270 762325

We believe that our clients deserve to receive the highest possible standard of customer care and quality of legal advice. To achieve this, we ensure our lawyers and support team are highly skilled professionals with a passion for delivering excellent service which focusses on our clients’ individual needs and circumstances. We regularly ask our clients for feedback and how we could make our service even better, to make sure that we get it right every time. We leave nothing to chance and take nothing for granted. For these reasons we make an important commitment to all of our clients: The Committed to Excellence Promise.

4.4/5 417 Client Reviews 417 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Poole Alcock LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Poole Alcock LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

417 Client Reviews

4.4/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    331
  • Very Good
    26
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    6
  • Awful
    52

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Bria
Bria Added 2 weeks ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 03, 2020 20200903195205

What an absolute nightmare!

1

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

Poole Alcock were recommended to us by our estate agents as they highly rate them. However, we have had the WORST service I've ever received. We were initially in Kate's team but then without being told were moved to Vicki's team. Since the transition to Vicki's team, we cannot seem to get hold of anyone - no answer on the phone or replies to emails. My husband tried ringing over 50 times yesterday and still no luck. We were due to move last Friday and are still no further ahead in the sale of our house and the purchase of our new one. I cannot believe how unprofessional and unorganised these solicitors are. The communication has been non-existent and we are the ones now facing losing out on the sale of our house thanks to the lack of service we have received. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lisa
Lisa Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 10, 2020 20200810163323

House sale and purchase

1

Currently using for sale of house and new purchase had Jill then transferred to Emily makes no difference do not respond to emails or call you back . When we do get an email doesn’t answer any of of the questions I’ve asked. Now 10 days until the date we have all agreed to move and can’t get anyone to call us back!!! Used Thirdfort but took 4 weeks to tell us they had got the information they needed !! No communication! I spoke to Hilary last Friday who said I hadn’t been rang back because she had a bad day with no reception with someone attempting to move ! Unprofessional!! Rang over 2 hours ago as 10 days until supposed move and still no reply.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Phillip
Verified Phillip Added 2 months ago Report to admin
June 24, 2020 20200624190547

Excellent Service

5

Matter Type: Repossessions

Excellent service from Poole Alcock in relation to our house conveyance during the Covid 19 lock down period. Strongly recommend their service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Josephine
Verified Josephine Added 2 months ago Report to admin
June 22, 2020 20200622084942

House purchase

4

Matter Type: Repossessions

Really good service especially under the current conditions.

Solicitor named in this review: Kate Heath

Was this review helpful? Yes

Cameron
Verified Cameron Added 3 months ago Report to admin
June 18, 2020 20200618112744

Stress Free House Move

5

Matter Type: Repossessions

Very happy with the service. At no point did we feel stressed, constant communication and overall have no complaints.
Victoria M was our contact and was amazing. Replied to all our questions very promptly and received regular communication.

Solicitor named in this review: Victoria Moetamedi

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Verified Andrew Added 3 months ago Report to admin
June 17, 2020 20200617213156

X

5

Matter Type: Repossessions

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Solicitor named in this review: Kate Heath

Was this review helpful? Yes

Marilyn
Verified Marilyn Added 3 months ago Report to admin
June 17, 2020 20200617152219

Selling of property

5

Matter Type: Repossessions

I was completely satisfied with the service l received, even under the difficult Covid19 conditions. The team were pleasant and helpful and easy to deal with.

Solicitor named in this review: Victoria Moetamedi

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicola
Nicola Added 3 months ago Report to admin
June 16, 2020 20200616090832

Do not use this service

1

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

The conveyancing I payed for was second rate . I did not get any feedback & it took phone call after phone one call to chase up every single change . Once I had agreed to the contract it appeared I was put to the back of the queue & felt fobbed off every time I contacted Poole Alcock . I was really disappointed with the service I received & it soured the whole experience of buying my own home .

A representative from Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 16 June, 2020

Hi Nicola, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We have sent you a request for some further details so we can locate your file and address some of the points you have raised with us. We are sorry that your experience with us has not been the best and we would like to investigate further and see where things went wrong.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Karen
Verified Karen Added 3 months ago Report to admin
June 10, 2020 20200610010000

Housing & Property

5

Matter Type: Exclusivity and lock-out agreements

Karen recommends Poole Alcock LLP

Solicitor named in this review: Kate Heath

Was this review helpful? Yes

Krzysztof
Verified Krzysztof Added 3 months ago Report to admin
June 10, 2020 20200610010000

Agriculture

5

Matter Type: Buying and selling a farm

Krzysztof recommends Poole Alcock LLP

Solicitor named in this review: Kate Heath

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Andrea
Andrea Added 9 months ago Report to admin
November 27, 2019
Collected on
20191127085426

Andrea

5

Excellent and professional service once again nothing is dragged out no extra charges always efficent and thorough. Highly recommended especially Helen & Cherry.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 07 December, 2019

Thank you Andrea for your 5 star review. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Phil
Phil Added 10 months ago Report to admin
October 27, 2019
Collected on
20191027155545

Phil

5

Good service and help me out more than you imagine

Was this review helpful? Yes

Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 07 December, 2019

Thanks Phil for the excellent review, we're really pleased we could help you out.

Carl
Carl Added 11 months ago Report to admin
October 02, 2019
Collected on
20191002203231

Carl

3

Average service

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jonathan
Jonathan Added 1 year ago 6 found this helpful Report to admin
September 17, 2019
Collected on
20190917140210

Jonathan

1

Recently dealt with my divorce. My solicitor was very good but the charges were extortionate. Charged for the other parties solicitor sending them an email(don’t even know what the email contained)£25. £25 for putting a stamp on an envelope and reposting a document. Charged for work I didn’t want doing to the sum of £50. Charged for a reply on an email which didn’t require any work£25 I was enquiring about a cost. I understand charges being applied if work done but these I feel were in just. All plus VAT

Was this review helpful? Yes

Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 20 September, 2019

Hi Jonathan, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I am pleased to hear that you thought that your solicitor was very good. We are very proud of the quality of service that our family team provides. I'm sorry that you feel that our charging was too high. I would say that all of our pricing is transparent and explained at the outset of the case. We are of course happy to discuss your case if you would like to contact us directly. Kind Regards Chris Joseph Partner

katy
katy Added 1 year ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin
August 02, 2019
Collected on
20190802085010

katy

1

Terrible comms and unreasonable fees

Had many company mortgages over the years, all of which charge £100 plus VAT extra on top of the conveyancing fee. Poole Alcock decided it would be £250 plus VAT (£300) extra even though they'd originally said to the company that got me the quote it would be £100 (and he had called them to check before confirming the quote - so the conveyancer was simply taking the mick by adding the fee. She seemed aloof in her attitude and unprofessional. When I challenged the fees she ignored me. She never answered her phone when I tried to call to discuss).

They also wanted to charge a leasehold fee when this is a "peppercorn rent" lease - in other words no work involved as there is just one sheet of paper to read. Other solicitors I've dealt with did not charge me for this.

Overall £390 on fees ABOVE the original quote.

When I complained and wanted to cancel they said they'll keep the fee at the original agreed price 🤔 - so I requested they updated my file so I could commence proceedings and complete their electronic document. Completely ignored.

They did nothing for days again. With other solicitors I would have searches done by now, but with Poole Alcock they haven't even sent the revised instruction document to open the file! So they can forget it.... Going elsewhere

Was this review helpful? Yes

Poole Alcock LLP responded to this review on 02 August, 2019

Hi Katy, Many thanks for your feedback. It is unfortunate that you found our fees to be high and that there was some confusion and delay over communicating our fees with you. We have followed up your comments with our team. We are confident that had you chosen to instruct us you would have been happy with the service you received. Our fees reflect our high level of service as evidenced through the reviews on Google, ReviewSolicitors.co.uk and Trustpilot where we enjoy ratings of "excellent" and we have been listed as a top 10 law firm nationally for property services. Thanks again and we wish you the best with your move.

About This Branch

Description

Committed to Excellence We believe that our clients deserve to receive the highest possible standard of customer care and quality of legal advice. To achieve this, we ensure our lawyers and support team are highly skilled professionals with a passion for delivering excellent service which focusses on our clients’ individual needs and circumstances. We regularly ask our clients for feedback and how we could make our service even better, to make sure that we get it right every time. We leave nothing to chance and take nothing for granted. For these reasons we make an important commitment to all of our clients: The Committed to Excellence Promise. Why do we do this? We want our clients to stay with us. We also want to be your first port of call whenever you need legal assistance of any sort. In addition to this, we are proud of our firm and all of our people care deeply about the quality of the service which we provide. We really can look after you, whatever your legal need. We have a wide range of specialist teams and lawyers who can look after all of your legal needs. You will find that across all those teams and lawyers, and across all of our offices, everyone at Poole Alcock is working hard to deliver on our promise to provide a consistently excellent service.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000