Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Poole Alcock LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Poole Alcock LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Poole Alcock LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 100%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Poole Alcock LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Poole Alcock LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Poole Alcock LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Poole Alcock LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Poole Alcock LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    2356
  • Very Good

    157
  • Average

    18
  • Poor

    10
  • Awful

    65

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Alex

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Poole Alcock LLP.

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Alex

April 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Simple process and a great result

Jamie and the team are great to deal with, clear and quick communication to help me with completing a settlement agreement in a very short time frame.

Was this review helpful?

JaySaint

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Poole Alcock LLP.

Matter Type:

Child Arrangements Following Divorce

JaySaint

March 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent!

After initially starting the court process without representation I googled best Family Law Solicitor in Chester, I was pleased to be allocated Richard (despite giving short notice) as he's head of that department.

I was unsure whether to be represented as I felt I had a good case and confidence to present but as the opponent added representation at a late stage - I decided to proceed!

Like most I feared the costs but Richard astutely played the only bargaining tool I had in a way I hadn't considered. I achieved Shared Care of my children and was shielded throughout from the ex's lowly attempts at besmirching my character.

Employing Richard's services delivered so well that he will have covered the legal costs outlay in reduced child maintenance within just 2 years!

Delighted and eternally grateful!

The rest of the team were also excellent, had excellent communication throughout and billing was smooth.

I recommend you make the investment!

Was this review helpful?

Jenny

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Poole Alcock LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Jenny

March 01, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Really Helpful

Really helpful, very informative.

Was this review helpful?

Alan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Poole Alcock LLP.

Matter Type:

Commercial Leases

Alan

February 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent

Excellent, user friendly service showing clear understanding of customers needs- AS EVER!

Was this review helpful?

Ollie Guest

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Poole Alcock LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Ollie Guest

January 31, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Requested call back

I requested a call back from Eve after originally sending me a quote for my remortgage within a day. Eve was very friendly & informative over the phone.

Was this review helpful?

Carl

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Poole Alcock LLP.

Matter Type:

Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements

Carl

January 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Separation advice

Very clear and informative. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Poole Alcock LLP.

Matter Type:

Mediation

Anonymous

January 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review of Poole Alcock solicitor Sarah-Jane Dunhill.

Poole Alcock was our original solicitor in 1988/89 to assist with emigration. When I then required representation 3 decades later I did not hesitate to return to them. Sarah- Jane Dunhill has been a wonderful in supporting me and offering the best guidance. Thanks to late night calls and the internet Sarah Jane and 2 of her P.A,s. have steered me through a very difficult episode. They have been excellent in their professional knowledge but also in the empathic way they have given advice both written and spoken to me and my family. I would give this firm the highest recommendation possible.

Was this review helpful?

Dre Cristini

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Poole Alcock LLP.

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Dre Cristini

January 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Settlement agreement

Jamie and his team went above and beyond to make sure all the particulars of my case were handled promptly. Would fully recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Mr Davies

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Poole Alcock LLP.

Matter Type:

Litigation Law

Mr Davies

December 04, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

The advice given by Sarah-Jane was of the highest standard. She always responded quickly, accurately and displayed a high degree of professional care and knowledge.

Was this review helpful?

Wendy

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Poole Alcock LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Wendy

November 27, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Amazingly efficient

Kind, thoughtful, and very impressive. I was recommended to them by a friend and so glad for that. Super efficient and professional at all times. They took me through the complicated process of buying and selling my home, calming me down when I was worried and giving me confidence along the way. I recommend them without reservation. Thank you to James and his team.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

S

Matter Type:

Family law

S

February 02, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

The tears, fears, and anxieties one experineces in the unknows of family law is insanely disturbing... I'd like to thank Helen Stoller and Rosemary Taylor for their undivided attentivness to a childs life. Helen's firm and level headed approach with a hint of humour saw me through 23 months of the most traumatic time of my life. I was represented genuinely through my life experinece, given the best legal advice and guided though the process at every step. Rose smashed it with the eye for detail, the pure diligence and showed immense passion for my case. I couldnt have wished for better representation. I'd like to thank the many members of the team throughout who have contributed to my case coming to an end. HAPPY MUM. XXX

Was this review helpful?

Paul

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Paul

January 26, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Paul

Exceptionally friendly and professional. I dealt mostly with Emily whose response to queries was always rapid and thorough. Would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful?

emily

Matter Type:

Family law

emily

January 07, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

emily

I highly recommend the divorce team and especially Amie Pine. Excellent client care and service. Really responsive and caring.

Was this review helpful?

Lee

Matter Type:

Separation

Lee

August 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lee

Excellent meeting with Nicola Jones. Explained all of the options available to me regarding my separation and took the time to fully understand my circumstances. Followed up with a full record of the meeting and the areas I needed to consider.

Was this review helpful?

Phil

Matter Type:

Commercial Law

Phil

August 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Phil

Amazing service, knowledge and professionalism from Eve on a very tricky subject, great work, thank you very much.

Was this review helpful?

Poole Alcock LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Committed to Excellence We believe that our clients deserve to receive the highest possible standard of customer care and quality of legal advice. To achieve this, we ensure our lawyers and support team are highly skilled professionals with a passion for delivering excellent service which focusses on our clients’ individual needs and circumstances. We regularly ask our clients for feedback and how we could make our service even better, to make sure that we get it right every time. We leave nothing to chance and take nothing for granted. For these reasons we make an important commitment to all of our clients: The Committed to Excellence Promise. Why do we do this? We want our clients to stay with us. We also want to be your first port of call whenever you need legal assistance of any sort. In addition to this, we are proud of our firm and all of our people care deeply about the quality of the service which we provide. We really can look after you, whatever your legal need. We have a wide range of specialist teams and lawyers who can look after all of your legal needs. You will find that across all those teams and lawyers, and across all of our offices, everyone at Poole Alcock is working hard to deliver on our promise to provide a consistently excellent service.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Collective Actions
    • Consumer Credit
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Non Freezing Cold Injury
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Litigation for Holiday and Residential Parks
    • Management buyouts
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Copyright
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
  • Regulations
    • Alcohol Licensing
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment